Metascore
66

Mixed or average reviews - based on 70 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 70
  2. Negative: 4 out of 70
  1. Jul 27, 2012
    96
    With this HD update, the Pro Skater franchise is back on top. Check this out as soon as humanly possible.
  2. Jul 20, 2012
    90
    Tony Hawk's Pro Skater HD reminds us why the original THPS games reigned supreme, with its near-perfect control scheme and (for the most part) well designed stages. It does feel admittedly light on content, and there are a few missing pieces that seem like they should have been obvious inclusions. Still, if you want to relive the glory days of the THPS series, fifteen bucks isn't too much to ask.
  3. Jul 18, 2012
    90
    With endless hours of online multiplayer and constant leaderboard score tracking, this beautiful remake takes the cake for classic re-releases and will have you grinding for hours.
  4. Jul 23, 2012
    85
    Tony Hawk Pro Skater is a great skate down memory lane that will hopefully lead this franchise to a much needed reboot. Not only does this HD edition provide a sturdy gaming engine but it modernises one of the world's best skating games on modern consoles. It's worth every penny!
  5. 80
    Great flashback from the late nineties proves that old games were worth playing and except for the visuals there is no need to change anything. [Sept 2012]
  6. Sep 23, 2012
    80
    This kind of purity is exactly what's been missing from the series for years. [Issue#89,p.77]
  7. Aug 21, 2012
    80
    It's certainly not perfect, but it's a wonderful attempt that captures a lot of what made the games fun in the first place. It's a strong entry in a storied series, and will hopefully be a guiding light for a resurgence of the franchise.
  8. Aug 8, 2012
    80
    Tony Hawk's Pro Skater HD may accomplish all of its goals, but there is still a lot to be desired. The graphics are outdated, the gameplay is missing a key component, there aren't enough levels and the create-a-character mode has been removed entirely. If you can get around these disappointments, you'll find a good, but not great, skating game for cheap!
  9. Aug 2, 2012
    80
    Despite being a great game, it is still just a re-release, and hasn't done anything major from the originals except improve the paintwork
  10. Aug 1, 2012
    80
    This comeback is exactly what was needed: pared down, cheap and distilled to its irresistible essence.
  11. 80
    The simple recipe of great level design, great controls and great gameplay still holds up better than most things, and we can only hope that Activision realizes that.
  12. Jul 26, 2012
    80
    Tony Hawk is back. Robomodo has made a great working upgrading the first two chapters of the Tony Hawk original saga, creating a game as entertaining as in 1999. Direct, no-brains skate, with great scenarios and some great songs, and classic and addictive gameplay.
  13. Jul 19, 2012
    80
    So the classics have been resurrected in one nice package, and while it's not a total home run, it'll scratch that itch you might've been feeling for something - anything - like the original Tony Hawk games.
  14. 80
    We can't tear ourselves away from the purity of the trick system, the pleasure of exercising long-dormant 'hardcore gaming' abilities and the tantalising target that is the top of the Live friends leaderboard.
  15. Jul 18, 2012
    80
    Tony Hawk is finally moving in a good direction again, and that's enough to give Pro Skater HD a solid thumbs up. Perfect it's not, but it retains a lot of the goodness that made the original games such a hit, and for us, close definitely counts.
  16. Jul 18, 2012
    80
    Proof positive that sometimes all you really need to kickstart a series is to go back to its roots.
  17. 80
    Though we question these changes to the tried-and-true gameplay, the majority of Tony Hawk's Pro Skater HD works as well as (or better than) the originals did when they first captivated us nearly 15 years ago. This update isn't all it could have been, but it's the best take on those early games we've had yet.
  18. Jul 24, 2012
    78
    If you played the classic versions like I did, chances are you will be disappointed with all the things that Robomodo left out. There was so much potential but not enough was delivered to live up to it. All in all, Tony Hawk's Pro Skater HD is still fun, but not worth its $15 price tag.
  19. Aug 2, 2012
    75
    The updated visuals give the dated games a fresh look, but the exclusion of levels and options like the park editor are sorely missed.
  20. Jul 25, 2012
    75
    Tony Hawk's Pro Skater HD, while not perfect, is a great game that features some of the best levels from the first two Tony Hawk's games.
  21. Jul 20, 2012
    75
    There are major problems with this release however, that will turn off many long time fans. You can't create custom parks or skaters. You can't customize (or even skip single songs) the soundtrack, and the soundtrack itself isn't the full track listing from both games. Not every level from both games is included (where's Mexico?). As previously mentioned, multiplayer is online only, strangely with no sign of local split-screen play.
  22. Jul 18, 2012
    75
    Tony Hawk's Pro Skater HD recreates the gameplay that made the franchise famous, but to mixed results. It lands the trick, but doesn't do it cleanly.
  23. Jul 18, 2012
    75
    Despite the fact that Tony Hawk's Pro Skater HD does seem to have a number of holes that could have been filled with content from the original games, the controls, tricks, and levels have been given a lot of attention, and play out like the original two titles they're meant to represent.
  24. Jul 26, 2012
    74
    Tony Hawk's Pro Skater HD has no offline multiplayer, no HORSE mode, ugly graphics, not full track listing of from both games and you can't create own skaters. So many things are left out, however it is still a good game, because when you play it, you will get those old feelings of the early games.
  25. Jul 19, 2012
    74
    Those who grew up with later installments in the series may lament the lack of an open world, split-screen support, create-skater option, level editor, or moves such as the revert, but the best part of the original games--working toward mastery of particular techniques and levels--remains a compelling reason to revisit the past.
  26. Jul 20, 2012
    73
    It´s not perfect by any means, but this HD version of the classic Tony Hawk´s franchise has its moments and it´s fun to play (albeit its hard difficulty level).
  27. Aug 15, 2012
    72
    Despite the changes, the game remains largely the same, which is its biggest strength and its biggest weakness. The core gameplay remains the same, but with better physics, which makes the game as entertaining and challenging as the original, but in many ways the game is too old to endure as a modern title.
  28. Jul 19, 2012
    71
    This is pure skating, without façade climbing, without jackass, without useless cars or non-functioning skate hardware. At its core the mechanics are outdated, though.
  29. Jul 18, 2012
    71
    Sure, some of the objective design really bogs down the progression, but that's just a facade. The real progression happens with a fully maxed out character and a player that's willing to engage with the design. That's when THPS HD is at its best.
  30. Sep 25, 2012
    70
    All in all, Tony Hawk HD proves that while you can't always go back, it certainly can be a lot of run to reminisce. Definitely worth a short-term pickup or for a quick break from reality… long term though? Not really.
  31. Aug 29, 2012
    70
    Young skateboarding enthusiasts will be better off playing Skate 3, which is a better game in every aspect. THPS HD might be fun for those who remember the original Tony Hawk's Pro Skater. [10/2012, p.58]
  32. Aug 24, 2012
    70
    While the game invokes memories with those who grew up playing the Neversoft games, the content is a bit skimpy and the gameplay behind its time.
  33. Aug 19, 2012
    70
    This edition is composed of the best bits we loved from the first two Tony Hawk games, but at the same time there is an absence of some major characteristics (no offline multiplayer and only 7 stages) that's completely unjustified.
  34. Jul 20, 2012
    70
    I had a good nostalgic time with Tony Hawk's Pro Skater HD. Sure, it may be missing some key elements, but for $15, you can still relive some of your favorite levels while listening to old ska and punk bands (with a little Public Enemy) playing in the background.
  35. Jul 24, 2012
    68
    It's got the great Tony Hawk's classic gameplay and good online support, but with too little in the way of content and no local multiplayer it's a half-successful revival.
  36. Nov 16, 2012
    65
    With just seven levels-three of which have serious problems working with the current control scheme-it's not like the game has a wealth of content, and its hostility to new players prevents me from recommending it to any but the hardcore.
  37. Aug 20, 2012
    65
    Tony Hawk's Pro Skater HD is the perfect remake of the first two chapters of the series. While not adding anything new to the original package, Robomodo has successfully managed to reproduce the settings, modes and gameplay of a magnificent gaming generation.
  38. Aug 2, 2012
    65
    Taking elements from the first two titles of the IP, Tony Hawk's Pro Skater HD returns to basics especially regarding its gameplay and the music used to entertain our ears. Even if the game is developed for those who are nostalgic for the PSOne era, Tony Hawk's Pro Skater HD has nothing revolutionnary to offer.
  39. Jul 24, 2012
    65
    Tony Hawk's Pro Skater HD turned out quite good. A purely acrade gameplay has aged well and modern looks leave little to be desired. A small amount of content can be painful, but if you haven't had the opportunity to discover this great series – THPS HD makes for a great beginning. In case you are a veteran – this game works like a nostalgic time machine and a couple of minutes is enough to feel like it's 1999.
  40. Jul 23, 2012
    65
    THPS HD is certainly good enough, but it's at least a half rotation away from being worthy of the record books.
  41. Jul 20, 2012
    65
    Robomodo tries to reinvent Tony Hawk's first chapters, but unfortunately the game can't shine because of some terrible technical issues.
  42. Jul 19, 2012
    65
    The saving grace then is a big one: the amazing, still fluid, tremendously enjoyable trick system. The conversion might be Dana Scully but the foundation trick system and level design whips out an excellent welcome speech for those that missed THPS 1 and 2 or for those wishing to relive past glories.
  43. Jul 18, 2012
    65
    Tony Hawk's Pro Skater HD looks good on the surface, but some particularly frustrating design and gameplay quirks can drastically cut down on the enjoyment.
  44. Aug 23, 2012
    61
    Lacking features and crucial improvements. [Oct 2012, p.85]
  45. Aug 27, 2012
    60
    Despite the unsatisfying work done by Robomodo, those who long waited for a Pro Skater for consoles of this generation will be reasonably satisfied with Tony Hawk's Pro Skater HD.
  46. Aug 3, 2012
    60
    A remake of a classic that never reaches its full potential, mostly due to messed up graphics and buggy physics. It's still quite fun, but not as great as it should have been.
  47. Jul 25, 2012
    60
    Mild Tony Hawk's first episodes HD mash-up. Control system is arcaic and not on par with Skate, poor single player mode and glitchy graphic engine. Online is a lot of fun.
  48. Jul 24, 2012
    60
    In a perfect world, Tony Hawk's Pro Skater HD will lead to a brand new game in the series, because the core mechanics are just as fun as ever. But the bare-bones presentation around those mechanics may not be quite the return to form for which fans had hoped.
  49. Jul 22, 2012
    60
    Most of the mistakes like the visuals or the faulty physics can be forgiven. One does to just forget about them after a while. But while the skating is just plain fun and veterans will almost be swept away by the nostalgia there is just not enough content in this one.
  50. Jul 21, 2012
    60
    Tony Hawk's Pro Skater HD just about nails the feel of vintage Tony Hawk, but it's a lean package that fails to capitalize on that foundation.
  51. Jul 20, 2012
    60
    Some of it is down to the execution, which is mostly competent but lacks the spark and energy of Neversoft's original work.
  52. Jul 19, 2012
    60
    At first sight it seems that everything's in place, but a few seconds will be enough for an experienced player to notice that there's stuff that doesn't work well and make this a rather missed opportunity.
  53. Jul 19, 2012
    60
    Fun for the most part, but infuriating control issues, crazy bugs and various omissions make you wonder why a game that isn't an untouched HD port wasn't bolstered and expanded upon in some way.
  54. Jul 18, 2012
    60
    A terrific idea that just doesn't pan out as well as it feels like it should. All the little tweaks and decisions, from level list to the soundtrack to the decisions about which moves to include or exclude eventually start to weigh on the overall experience in a meaningful way. It turns something that should have been a joyous update and revival of a tarnished franchise into something that simply misses the mark.
  55. Jul 26, 2012
    57
    Tony Hawk Pro Skater HD misses most of the iconic parts of the Tony Hawk franchise and has a messy finish. The improved graphics and the nostalgic value aside, this game never really manages to capture the pure Tony Hawk experience of the old days.
  56. Jul 28, 2012
    55
    Two of the most awesome games from a few generations back are stripped down to almost nothing and are distributed full of bugs. Even the thirteen year old originals are technically better than this remake. On the other hand, it is a great blast from the past and a reminder of how cool the Tony Hawk games used to be.
  57. Aug 8, 2012
    50
    It doesn't entirely make sense as a whole product. The best thing that can be said is it's the best Tony Hawk Robomodo's made.
  58. Aug 2, 2012
    50
    With only seven levels and a very thin soundtrack I am somewhat underwhelmed by the nostalgic remake that is Tony Hawk Pro Skater HD. The lack of local multiplayer and a faulty online experience make this a very average XBLA game with a lot of unused potential.
  59. Jul 31, 2012
    50
    It's this feeling, the one of crushing disappointment, that riddles this HD update with frustration. Activision killed the series for a reason, and there's nothing here to suggest that decision was a bad one.
  60. 50
    Sure it is fun to return to a game that I enjoyed so much in the late 90's, but does that make it worth the $15? Not in this case. Great source material and decent mechanics are marred by sloppy execution and limited extras, both which make this a decidedly average game.
  61. Jul 25, 2012
    50
    While Neversoft's course design holds up, its objectives sadly don't; setting high scores is as thrilling and rewarding as ever, but we're less forgiving of being asked to collect five objects dotted around a level without a right-stick camera than we were at the turn of the millennium.
  62. Jul 23, 2012
    50
    Tony Hawk's Pro Skater HD makes us doubt the quality of the original games, but it turns out that this is just an average, thinned out version of two classics.
  63. Jul 20, 2012
    50
    Apart from better graphics, the 12 year old originals are still the better games.
  64. Jul 19, 2012
    50
    While the concept is good, Tony Hawk's Pro Skater HD fails on execution. The game just can't hold a candle to its predecessors. Playing the remake is like listening to a classic band on a reunion tour. The song lyrics haven't changed, but the magic just isn't there.
  65. Jul 18, 2012
    50
    Lag is relentless, a problem for a game which requires precise controls.
  66. Jul 18, 2012
    50
    For anyone with an itch to play Tony Hawk again, know what you're getting into. THPS HD is a remake that opted to leave what cost too much in the past, consequently hemorrhaging that which we've come to know and love.
  67. Jul 18, 2012
    45
    In a world where THPS 2X is still readily available for less than $10 on eBay, it's hard to give this HD downgrade any sort of recommendation. The original games earned our nostalgia, while this release abuses it. It's short on content, quality, and personality. This is not the Tony Hawk I remember spending middle-school summers with.
  68. Sep 18, 2012
    40
    Thanks to screwy physics, dated design practices, and a series of poor decisions, this Hawk is a real turkey. [Oct 2012, p.64]
  69. Jul 19, 2012
    40
    Tony Hawk's Pro Skater in name only, this will infuriate old timers reliving their youth and seem archaically simplistic to everyone else.
  70. Jul 18, 2012
    40
    It may sound odd, but we'd gladly trade HD's so-so graphics and unruly physics for straight ports of Tony's first two PS1 installments.
User Score
5.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 71 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 28
  2. Negative: 11 out of 28
  1. Jul 18, 2012
    3
    24 hours ago I would have told anyone who would listen that you can't screw up the original TH's. Boy was I wrong. Clunky controls, horrible lit levels, and messed up physics are just a few things that have messed this game up. This could have been one of the best XBLA arcade game in existence all they had to do was a straight port of of the original instead they decided to take a dump all over it. Do yourself a favor and go buy a copy of the original PS1 or N64 versions and skip this. Full Review »
  2. Jul 18, 2012
    5
    I should preface this review by saying that I was a MASSIVE fan of the originals. Now, I've been playing this for the last few hours and I have to say I'm massively disappointed. I played every Hawk game (except the Wii ones) and something about this just feels wrong. The mechanics just don't seem to work as they should, and I'm bailing when I KNOW I shouldnt be. I've bought stats and almost levelled my character up completely which has helped a little, but it still doesn't feel right. I was a bit of a Tony Hawk's master back in the day, even though I do say so myself, and this feels really clunky and glitchy. Also, if you were a fan up until the most recent Hawk titles, you WILL miss things like reverts, wallplants, double-tap tricking, spine-transfering and the overall smoothness of the later Hawk games. The updated graphics are nothing to write home about, it still looks old. The 360 D-pad doesn't help either, wish I'd waited for PS3 version, but I wanted to play it today. Also, I'm less than impressed with the selection of levels. Out of the 7, they've included 2 of the worst, most restrictive stages ever, the mall and downhill jam, which were corridor levels basically. Overall, for a game that tries to capture the nostalgia of the early games, it's done just that but at the cost of taking a huge step backwards gameplay-wise. Full Review »
  3. Jul 18, 2012
    3
    I have been waiting weeks for this to come out, holding on to my points just so I could give it a try. I was a major Tony Hawk addict when it first came out and all the way to 3, with some underground later...

    After the terrible Tony Hawk Shred series of games, I expected a return to the classic style and not only that but actual already made levels and gameplay, this should be a big hit. Luckily for me I downloaded the trial version instead of buying it straight up and I was so close.

    The game demo basically shows off all I needed to see from the game. The graphics while higher res but it seemed like they cut back on the actual animations. Everything felt a bit clunky and landing moves was not the same smooth endeavor that it once was. The character animations almost seem like they are missing frames and jump to certain animations at odd angles.

    Another thing to note is the music. It is downright offensive to your ears. Absolutely the worst trash I have ever heard with the exception of a few. Most of the old music that is engrained into our brains that says "this is tony hawk" is not in the game. The music that when you hear the song, you remember doing grinds in certain levels.

    I did not buy the game to try the multiplayer, but have heard that the online play is atrocious with brutal combo shattering lag burts. I am going to stay far away from this game and just remember it.

    If you never got to experience the real tony hawk 1 & 2, please get a PS1 and find a copy of the game. It is far superior to this in nearly every way.

    One thing that this game has going for it however that was not in the old classics is leaderboards. In a game like Tony Hawk, leaderboards make the game re-playability go on for quite some time.

    Please please please try before you buy. If you go into this with nostalgic reasons you will be burned because it is not quite the game you remember.
    Full Review »