Tony Hawk's Pro Skater HD Xbox 360


Mixed or average reviews - based on 70 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 70
  2. Negative: 4 out of 70
  1. Jul 26, 2012
    Tony Hawk's Pro Skater HD has no offline multiplayer, no HORSE mode, ugly graphics, not full track listing of from both games and you can't create own skaters. So many things are left out, however it is still a good game, because when you play it, you will get those old feelings of the early games.
  2. Jul 19, 2012
    Those who grew up with later installments in the series may lament the lack of an open world, split-screen support, create-skater option, level editor, or moves such as the revert, but the best part of the original games--working toward mastery of particular techniques and levels--remains a compelling reason to revisit the past.
  3. Jul 20, 2012
    It´s not perfect by any means, but this HD version of the classic Tony Hawk´s franchise has its moments and it´s fun to play (albeit its hard difficulty level).
  4. Aug 15, 2012
    Despite the changes, the game remains largely the same, which is its biggest strength and its biggest weakness. The core gameplay remains the same, but with better physics, which makes the game as entertaining and challenging as the original, but in many ways the game is too old to endure as a modern title.
  5. Jul 19, 2012
    This is pure skating, without façade climbing, without jackass, without useless cars or non-functioning skate hardware. At its core the mechanics are outdated, though.
  6. Jul 18, 2012
    Sure, some of the objective design really bogs down the progression, but that's just a facade. The real progression happens with a fully maxed out character and a player that's willing to engage with the design. That's when THPS HD is at its best.
  7. Sep 25, 2012
    All in all, Tony Hawk HD proves that while you can't always go back, it certainly can be a lot of run to reminisce. Definitely worth a short-term pickup or for a quick break from reality… long term though? Not really.
  8. CD-Action
    Aug 29, 2012
    Young skateboarding enthusiasts will be better off playing Skate 3, which is a better game in every aspect. THPS HD might be fun for those who remember the original Tony Hawk's Pro Skater. [10/2012, p.58]
  9. Aug 24, 2012
    While the game invokes memories with those who grew up playing the Neversoft games, the content is a bit skimpy and the gameplay behind its time.
  10. Aug 19, 2012
    This edition is composed of the best bits we loved from the first two Tony Hawk games, but at the same time there is an absence of some major characteristics (no offline multiplayer and only 7 stages) that's completely unjustified.
  11. Jul 20, 2012
    I had a good nostalgic time with Tony Hawk's Pro Skater HD. Sure, it may be missing some key elements, but for $15, you can still relive some of your favorite levels while listening to old ska and punk bands (with a little Public Enemy) playing in the background.
  12. Jul 24, 2012
    It's got the great Tony Hawk's classic gameplay and good online support, but with too little in the way of content and no local multiplayer it's a half-successful revival.
  13. Nov 16, 2012
    With just seven levels-three of which have serious problems working with the current control scheme-it's not like the game has a wealth of content, and its hostility to new players prevents me from recommending it to any but the hardcore.
  14. Aug 20, 2012
    Tony Hawk's Pro Skater HD is the perfect remake of the first two chapters of the series. While not adding anything new to the original package, Robomodo has successfully managed to reproduce the settings, modes and gameplay of a magnificent gaming generation.
  15. Aug 2, 2012
    Taking elements from the first two titles of the IP, Tony Hawk's Pro Skater HD returns to basics especially regarding its gameplay and the music used to entertain our ears. Even if the game is developed for those who are nostalgic for the PSOne era, Tony Hawk's Pro Skater HD has nothing revolutionnary to offer.
  16. Jul 24, 2012
    Tony Hawk's Pro Skater HD turned out quite good. A purely acrade gameplay has aged well and modern looks leave little to be desired. A small amount of content can be painful, but if you haven't had the opportunity to discover this great series – THPS HD makes for a great beginning. In case you are a veteran – this game works like a nostalgic time machine and a couple of minutes is enough to feel like it's 1999.
  17. Jul 23, 2012
    THPS HD is certainly good enough, but it's at least a half rotation away from being worthy of the record books.
  18. Jul 20, 2012
    Robomodo tries to reinvent Tony Hawk's first chapters, but unfortunately the game can't shine because of some terrible technical issues.
  19. Jul 19, 2012
    The saving grace then is a big one: the amazing, still fluid, tremendously enjoyable trick system. The conversion might be Dana Scully but the foundation trick system and level design whips out an excellent welcome speech for those that missed THPS 1 and 2 or for those wishing to relive past glories.
  20. Jul 18, 2012
    Tony Hawk's Pro Skater HD looks good on the surface, but some particularly frustrating design and gameplay quirks can drastically cut down on the enjoyment.
  21. Games Master UK
    Aug 23, 2012
    Lacking features and crucial improvements. [Oct 2012, p.85]
  22. Aug 27, 2012
    Despite the unsatisfying work done by Robomodo, those who long waited for a Pro Skater for consoles of this generation will be reasonably satisfied with Tony Hawk's Pro Skater HD.
  23. Aug 3, 2012
    A remake of a classic that never reaches its full potential, mostly due to messed up graphics and buggy physics. It's still quite fun, but not as great as it should have been.
  24. Jul 25, 2012
    Mild Tony Hawk's first episodes HD mash-up. Control system is arcaic and not on par with Skate, poor single player mode and glitchy graphic engine. Online is a lot of fun.
  25. Jul 24, 2012
    In a perfect world, Tony Hawk's Pro Skater HD will lead to a brand new game in the series, because the core mechanics are just as fun as ever. But the bare-bones presentation around those mechanics may not be quite the return to form for which fans had hoped.
  26. Jul 22, 2012
    Most of the mistakes like the visuals or the faulty physics can be forgiven. One does to just forget about them after a while. But while the skating is just plain fun and veterans will almost be swept away by the nostalgia there is just not enough content in this one.
  27. Jul 21, 2012
    Tony Hawk's Pro Skater HD just about nails the feel of vintage Tony Hawk, but it's a lean package that fails to capitalize on that foundation.
  28. Jul 20, 2012
    Some of it is down to the execution, which is mostly competent but lacks the spark and energy of Neversoft's original work.
  29. Jul 19, 2012
    At first sight it seems that everything's in place, but a few seconds will be enough for an experienced player to notice that there's stuff that doesn't work well and make this a rather missed opportunity.
  30. Jul 19, 2012
    Fun for the most part, but infuriating control issues, crazy bugs and various omissions make you wonder why a game that isn't an untouched HD port wasn't bolstered and expanded upon in some way.
  31. Jul 18, 2012
    A terrific idea that just doesn't pan out as well as it feels like it should. All the little tweaks and decisions, from level list to the soundtrack to the decisions about which moves to include or exclude eventually start to weigh on the overall experience in a meaningful way. It turns something that should have been a joyous update and revival of a tarnished franchise into something that simply misses the mark.
  32. Jul 26, 2012
    Tony Hawk Pro Skater HD misses most of the iconic parts of the Tony Hawk franchise and has a messy finish. The improved graphics and the nostalgic value aside, this game never really manages to capture the pure Tony Hawk experience of the old days.
  33. Jul 28, 2012
    Two of the most awesome games from a few generations back are stripped down to almost nothing and are distributed full of bugs. Even the thirteen year old originals are technically better than this remake. On the other hand, it is a great blast from the past and a reminder of how cool the Tony Hawk games used to be.
  34. Aug 8, 2012
    It doesn't entirely make sense as a whole product. The best thing that can be said is it's the best Tony Hawk Robomodo's made.
  35. Aug 2, 2012
    With only seven levels and a very thin soundtrack I am somewhat underwhelmed by the nostalgic remake that is Tony Hawk Pro Skater HD. The lack of local multiplayer and a faulty online experience make this a very average XBLA game with a lot of unused potential.
  36. Jul 31, 2012
    It's this feeling, the one of crushing disappointment, that riddles this HD update with frustration. Activision killed the series for a reason, and there's nothing here to suggest that decision was a bad one.
  37. Jul 26, 2012
    Sure it is fun to return to a game that I enjoyed so much in the late 90's, but does that make it worth the $15? Not in this case. Great source material and decent mechanics are marred by sloppy execution and limited extras, both which make this a decidedly average game.
  38. Jul 25, 2012
    While Neversoft's course design holds up, its objectives sadly don't; setting high scores is as thrilling and rewarding as ever, but we're less forgiving of being asked to collect five objects dotted around a level without a right-stick camera than we were at the turn of the millennium.
  39. Jul 23, 2012
    Tony Hawk's Pro Skater HD makes us doubt the quality of the original games, but it turns out that this is just an average, thinned out version of two classics.
  40. Jul 20, 2012
    Apart from better graphics, the 12 year old originals are still the better games.
  41. Jul 19, 2012
    While the concept is good, Tony Hawk's Pro Skater HD fails on execution. The game just can't hold a candle to its predecessors. Playing the remake is like listening to a classic band on a reunion tour. The song lyrics haven't changed, but the magic just isn't there.
  42. Jul 18, 2012
    Lag is relentless, a problem for a game which requires precise controls.
  43. Jul 18, 2012
    For anyone with an itch to play Tony Hawk again, know what you're getting into. THPS HD is a remake that opted to leave what cost too much in the past, consequently hemorrhaging that which we've come to know and love.
User Score

Mixed or average reviews- based on 72 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 29
  2. Negative: 11 out of 29
  1. Jul 18, 2012
    24 hours ago I would have told anyone who would listen that you can't screw up the original TH's. Boy was I wrong. Clunky controls,24 hours ago I would have told anyone who would listen that you can't screw up the original TH's. Boy was I wrong. Clunky controls, horrible lit levels, and messed up physics are just a few things that have messed this game up. This could have been one of the best XBLA arcade game in existence all they had to do was a straight port of of the original instead they decided to take a dump all over it. Do yourself a favor and go buy a copy of the original PS1 or N64 versions and skip this. Full Review »
  2. Jul 18, 2012
    I should preface this review by saying that I was a MASSIVE fan of the originals. Now, I've been playing this for the last few hours and II should preface this review by saying that I was a MASSIVE fan of the originals. Now, I've been playing this for the last few hours and I have to say I'm massively disappointed. I played every Hawk game (except the Wii ones) and something about this just feels wrong. The mechanics just don't seem to work as they should, and I'm bailing when I KNOW I shouldnt be. I've bought stats and almost levelled my character up completely which has helped a little, but it still doesn't feel right. I was a bit of a Tony Hawk's master back in the day, even though I do say so myself, and this feels really clunky and glitchy. Also, if you were a fan up until the most recent Hawk titles, you WILL miss things like reverts, wallplants, double-tap tricking, spine-transfering and the overall smoothness of the later Hawk games. The updated graphics are nothing to write home about, it still looks old. The 360 D-pad doesn't help either, wish I'd waited for PS3 version, but I wanted to play it today. Also, I'm less than impressed with the selection of levels. Out of the 7, they've included 2 of the worst, most restrictive stages ever, the mall and downhill jam, which were corridor levels basically. Overall, for a game that tries to capture the nostalgia of the early games, it's done just that but at the cost of taking a huge step backwards gameplay-wise. Full Review »
  3. Jul 18, 2012
    I have been waiting weeks for this to come out, holding on to my points just so I could give it a try. I was a major Tony Hawk addict when itI have been waiting weeks for this to come out, holding on to my points just so I could give it a try. I was a major Tony Hawk addict when it first came out and all the way to 3, with some underground later...

    After the terrible Tony Hawk Shred series of games, I expected a return to the classic style and not only that but actual already made levels and gameplay, this should be a big hit. Luckily for me I downloaded the trial version instead of buying it straight up and I was so close.

    The game demo basically shows off all I needed to see from the game. The graphics while higher res but it seemed like they cut back on the actual animations. Everything felt a bit clunky and landing moves was not the same smooth endeavor that it once was. The character animations almost seem like they are missing frames and jump to certain animations at odd angles.

    Another thing to note is the music. It is downright offensive to your ears. Absolutely the worst trash I have ever heard with the exception of a few. Most of the old music that is engrained into our brains that says "this is tony hawk" is not in the game. The music that when you hear the song, you remember doing grinds in certain levels.

    I did not buy the game to try the multiplayer, but have heard that the online play is atrocious with brutal combo shattering lag burts. I am going to stay far away from this game and just remember it.

    If you never got to experience the real tony hawk 1 & 2, please get a PS1 and find a copy of the game. It is far superior to this in nearly every way.

    One thing that this game has going for it however that was not in the old classics is leaderboards. In a game like Tony Hawk, leaderboards make the game re-playability go on for quite some time.

    Please please please try before you buy. If you go into this with nostalgic reasons you will be burned because it is not quite the game you remember.
    Full Review »