Metascore
66

Mixed or average reviews - based on 70 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 70
  2. Negative: 4 out of 70
  1. Jul 27, 2012
    96
    With this HD update, the Pro Skater franchise is back on top. Check this out as soon as humanly possible.
  2. Jul 20, 2012
    90
    Tony Hawk's Pro Skater HD reminds us why the original THPS games reigned supreme, with its near-perfect control scheme and (for the most part) well designed stages. It does feel admittedly light on content, and there are a few missing pieces that seem like they should have been obvious inclusions. Still, if you want to relive the glory days of the THPS series, fifteen bucks isn't too much to ask.
  3. Jul 18, 2012
    90
    With endless hours of online multiplayer and constant leaderboard score tracking, this beautiful remake takes the cake for classic re-releases and will have you grinding for hours.
  4. Jul 23, 2012
    85
    Tony Hawk Pro Skater is a great skate down memory lane that will hopefully lead this franchise to a much needed reboot. Not only does this HD edition provide a sturdy gaming engine but it modernises one of the world's best skating games on modern consoles. It's worth every penny!
  5. 80
    Great flashback from the late nineties proves that old games were worth playing and except for the visuals there is no need to change anything. [Sept 2012]
  6. Sep 23, 2012
    80
    This kind of purity is exactly what's been missing from the series for years. [Issue#89,p.77]
  7. Aug 21, 2012
    80
    It's certainly not perfect, but it's a wonderful attempt that captures a lot of what made the games fun in the first place. It's a strong entry in a storied series, and will hopefully be a guiding light for a resurgence of the franchise.
  8. Aug 8, 2012
    80
    Tony Hawk's Pro Skater HD may accomplish all of its goals, but there is still a lot to be desired. The graphics are outdated, the gameplay is missing a key component, there aren't enough levels and the create-a-character mode has been removed entirely. If you can get around these disappointments, you'll find a good, but not great, skating game for cheap!
  9. Aug 2, 2012
    80
    Despite being a great game, it is still just a re-release, and hasn't done anything major from the originals except improve the paintwork
  10. Aug 1, 2012
    80
    This comeback is exactly what was needed: pared down, cheap and distilled to its irresistible essence.
  11. 80
    The simple recipe of great level design, great controls and great gameplay still holds up better than most things, and we can only hope that Activision realizes that.
  12. Jul 26, 2012
    80
    Tony Hawk is back. Robomodo has made a great working upgrading the first two chapters of the Tony Hawk original saga, creating a game as entertaining as in 1999. Direct, no-brains skate, with great scenarios and some great songs, and classic and addictive gameplay.
  13. Jul 19, 2012
    80
    So the classics have been resurrected in one nice package, and while it's not a total home run, it'll scratch that itch you might've been feeling for something - anything - like the original Tony Hawk games.
  14. 80
    We can't tear ourselves away from the purity of the trick system, the pleasure of exercising long-dormant 'hardcore gaming' abilities and the tantalising target that is the top of the Live friends leaderboard.
  15. Jul 18, 2012
    80
    Tony Hawk is finally moving in a good direction again, and that's enough to give Pro Skater HD a solid thumbs up. Perfect it's not, but it retains a lot of the goodness that made the original games such a hit, and for us, close definitely counts.
  16. Jul 18, 2012
    80
    Proof positive that sometimes all you really need to kickstart a series is to go back to its roots.
  17. 80
    Though we question these changes to the tried-and-true gameplay, the majority of Tony Hawk's Pro Skater HD works as well as (or better than) the originals did when they first captivated us nearly 15 years ago. This update isn't all it could have been, but it's the best take on those early games we've had yet.
  18. Jul 24, 2012
    78
    If you played the classic versions like I did, chances are you will be disappointed with all the things that Robomodo left out. There was so much potential but not enough was delivered to live up to it. All in all, Tony Hawk's Pro Skater HD is still fun, but not worth its $15 price tag.
  19. Aug 2, 2012
    75
    The updated visuals give the dated games a fresh look, but the exclusion of levels and options like the park editor are sorely missed.
  20. Jul 25, 2012
    75
    Tony Hawk's Pro Skater HD, while not perfect, is a great game that features some of the best levels from the first two Tony Hawk's games.
  21. Jul 20, 2012
    75
    There are major problems with this release however, that will turn off many long time fans. You can't create custom parks or skaters. You can't customize (or even skip single songs) the soundtrack, and the soundtrack itself isn't the full track listing from both games. Not every level from both games is included (where's Mexico?). As previously mentioned, multiplayer is online only, strangely with no sign of local split-screen play.
  22. Jul 18, 2012
    75
    Tony Hawk's Pro Skater HD recreates the gameplay that made the franchise famous, but to mixed results. It lands the trick, but doesn't do it cleanly.
  23. Jul 18, 2012
    75
    Despite the fact that Tony Hawk's Pro Skater HD does seem to have a number of holes that could have been filled with content from the original games, the controls, tricks, and levels have been given a lot of attention, and play out like the original two titles they're meant to represent.
  24. Jul 26, 2012
    74
    Tony Hawk's Pro Skater HD has no offline multiplayer, no HORSE mode, ugly graphics, not full track listing of from both games and you can't create own skaters. So many things are left out, however it is still a good game, because when you play it, you will get those old feelings of the early games.
  25. Jul 19, 2012
    74
    Those who grew up with later installments in the series may lament the lack of an open world, split-screen support, create-skater option, level editor, or moves such as the revert, but the best part of the original games--working toward mastery of particular techniques and levels--remains a compelling reason to revisit the past.
  26. Jul 20, 2012
    73
    It´s not perfect by any means, but this HD version of the classic Tony Hawk´s franchise has its moments and it´s fun to play (albeit its hard difficulty level).
  27. Aug 15, 2012
    72
    Despite the changes, the game remains largely the same, which is its biggest strength and its biggest weakness. The core gameplay remains the same, but with better physics, which makes the game as entertaining and challenging as the original, but in many ways the game is too old to endure as a modern title.
  28. Jul 19, 2012
    71
    This is pure skating, without façade climbing, without jackass, without useless cars or non-functioning skate hardware. At its core the mechanics are outdated, though.
  29. Jul 18, 2012
    71
    Sure, some of the objective design really bogs down the progression, but that's just a facade. The real progression happens with a fully maxed out character and a player that's willing to engage with the design. That's when THPS HD is at its best.
  30. Sep 25, 2012
    70
    All in all, Tony Hawk HD proves that while you can't always go back, it certainly can be a lot of run to reminisce. Definitely worth a short-term pickup or for a quick break from reality… long term though? Not really.
User Score
5.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 72 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 29
  2. Negative: 11 out of 29
  1. Jul 18, 2012
    3
    24 hours ago I would have told anyone who would listen that you can't screw up the original TH's. Boy was I wrong. Clunky controls,24 hours ago I would have told anyone who would listen that you can't screw up the original TH's. Boy was I wrong. Clunky controls, horrible lit levels, and messed up physics are just a few things that have messed this game up. This could have been one of the best XBLA arcade game in existence all they had to do was a straight port of of the original instead they decided to take a dump all over it. Do yourself a favor and go buy a copy of the original PS1 or N64 versions and skip this. Full Review »
  2. Jul 18, 2012
    5
    I should preface this review by saying that I was a MASSIVE fan of the originals. Now, I've been playing this for the last few hours and II should preface this review by saying that I was a MASSIVE fan of the originals. Now, I've been playing this for the last few hours and I have to say I'm massively disappointed. I played every Hawk game (except the Wii ones) and something about this just feels wrong. The mechanics just don't seem to work as they should, and I'm bailing when I KNOW I shouldnt be. I've bought stats and almost levelled my character up completely which has helped a little, but it still doesn't feel right. I was a bit of a Tony Hawk's master back in the day, even though I do say so myself, and this feels really clunky and glitchy. Also, if you were a fan up until the most recent Hawk titles, you WILL miss things like reverts, wallplants, double-tap tricking, spine-transfering and the overall smoothness of the later Hawk games. The updated graphics are nothing to write home about, it still looks old. The 360 D-pad doesn't help either, wish I'd waited for PS3 version, but I wanted to play it today. Also, I'm less than impressed with the selection of levels. Out of the 7, they've included 2 of the worst, most restrictive stages ever, the mall and downhill jam, which were corridor levels basically. Overall, for a game that tries to capture the nostalgia of the early games, it's done just that but at the cost of taking a huge step backwards gameplay-wise. Full Review »
  3. Jul 18, 2012
    3
    I have been waiting weeks for this to come out, holding on to my points just so I could give it a try. I was a major Tony Hawk addict when itI have been waiting weeks for this to come out, holding on to my points just so I could give it a try. I was a major Tony Hawk addict when it first came out and all the way to 3, with some underground later...

    After the terrible Tony Hawk Shred series of games, I expected a return to the classic style and not only that but actual already made levels and gameplay, this should be a big hit. Luckily for me I downloaded the trial version instead of buying it straight up and I was so close.

    The game demo basically shows off all I needed to see from the game. The graphics while higher res but it seemed like they cut back on the actual animations. Everything felt a bit clunky and landing moves was not the same smooth endeavor that it once was. The character animations almost seem like they are missing frames and jump to certain animations at odd angles.

    Another thing to note is the music. It is downright offensive to your ears. Absolutely the worst trash I have ever heard with the exception of a few. Most of the old music that is engrained into our brains that says "this is tony hawk" is not in the game. The music that when you hear the song, you remember doing grinds in certain levels.

    I did not buy the game to try the multiplayer, but have heard that the online play is atrocious with brutal combo shattering lag burts. I am going to stay far away from this game and just remember it.

    If you never got to experience the real tony hawk 1 & 2, please get a PS1 and find a copy of the game. It is far superior to this in nearly every way.

    One thing that this game has going for it however that was not in the old classics is leaderboards. In a game like Tony Hawk, leaderboards make the game re-playability go on for quite some time.

    Please please please try before you buy. If you go into this with nostalgic reasons you will be burned because it is not quite the game you remember.
    Full Review »