Metascore
66

Mixed or average reviews - based on 70 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 71 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Tony Hawk's Pro Skater HD returns to controllers and focuses on the satisfaction of linking sick tricks for maximum points.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 70
  2. Negative: 4 out of 70
  1. Jul 27, 2012
    96
    With this HD update, the Pro Skater franchise is back on top. Check this out as soon as humanly possible.
  2. 80
    Though we question these changes to the tried-and-true gameplay, the majority of Tony Hawk's Pro Skater HD works as well as (or better than) the originals did when they first captivated us nearly 15 years ago. This update isn't all it could have been, but it's the best take on those early games we've had yet.
  3. Aug 2, 2012
    80
    Despite being a great game, it is still just a re-release, and hasn't done anything major from the originals except improve the paintwork
  4. Nov 16, 2012
    65
    With just seven levels-three of which have serious problems working with the current control scheme-it's not like the game has a wealth of content, and its hostility to new players prevents me from recommending it to any but the hardcore.
  5. Aug 23, 2012
    61
    Lacking features and crucial improvements. [Oct 2012, p.85]
  6. Jul 19, 2012
    60
    At first sight it seems that everything's in place, but a few seconds will be enough for an experienced player to notice that there's stuff that doesn't work well and make this a rather missed opportunity.
  7. Jul 18, 2012
    40
    It may sound odd, but we'd gladly trade HD's so-so graphics and unruly physics for straight ports of Tony's first two PS1 installments.

See all 70 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 28
  2. Negative: 11 out of 28
  1. Jul 19, 2012
    10
    Amazing game, I really don't understand how any true fan of the early Tony Hawk games would not enjoy this game, so surprised at some of theAmazing game, I really don't understand how any true fan of the early Tony Hawk games would not enjoy this game, so surprised at some of the early reviews.

    The game feels identical to the original. I've been playing Tony Hawk 2X for the Xbox on my 360 using the 360 controller to get ready for this game and this game feels the same, but with improved visuals, additional game modes, single player objective, Xbox Live support, leaderboards, and fun achievements.

    I also really like what they did with the soundtrack, a good mix of old songs and the new songs are great and as catchy if not more so than the original songs Also another huge improvement is how the current song will continue to play while you keep restarting the level to go for that tough challenge or high score, much better flow.

    Overall this game captures the feel and fun of the origin of the Tony Hawk series, you can tell that Robomodo had much love and passion for the original games and this a real treat for true fans of the old school Tony Hawk games.
    Expand
  2. Jul 23, 2012
    8
    Did it live up to expectations? No. Does it do the original games justice? Not really. But it is fun and for only $15 it's a pretty damn goodDid it live up to expectations? No. Does it do the original games justice? Not really. But it is fun and for only $15 it's a pretty damn good deal. I really enjoyed the game but it is buggy. Expand
  3. Jul 18, 2012
    8
    A lot of people are playing this thinking of the Skate series of games I think and making unfavourable comparisons with it. The same addictiveA lot of people are playing this thinking of the Skate series of games I think and making unfavourable comparisons with it. The same addictive just one more go game play is still apparent to me at least. Realism in games is all well and good but that sometimes replaces some of the more fun elements. Hopefully more game modes will be added along with the new DLC levels from the third, lack of levels is currently my only complaint. Expand
  4. Jul 19, 2012
    5
    I picked this up without trying the demo first, the game just falls short, the animations are horrible, the physics are just not right, and itI picked this up without trying the demo first, the game just falls short, the animations are horrible, the physics are just not right, and it controls nothing like the old games.
    On top of that there are just 7 levels and 2 of them are just atrocious, one of them is Mall which is completely full of glitches, and the other is Downhill Jam which is just one of the worst levels in the THPS franchise, it is really frustrating when the screen turns white every time you bail, but i have to say the game has its moments, hangar and warehouse are still fun to play (even with the bad controls) but overall the games is not worth it, stay away from it.
    Expand
  5. Jul 20, 2012
    4
    Definitely cleaner visually then the original two Tony Hawk's so the HD title is somewhat accurate but thats it. The game as a whole isDefinitely cleaner visually then the original two Tony Hawk's so the HD title is somewhat accurate but thats it. The game as a whole is horrible and not an improvement at all from the past versions. Don't buy this unless you want to be truly dissapointed. Collapse
  6. Jul 18, 2012
    3
    24 hours ago I would have told anyone who would listen that you can't screw up the original TH's. Boy was I wrong. Clunky controls,24 hours ago I would have told anyone who would listen that you can't screw up the original TH's. Boy was I wrong. Clunky controls, horrible lit levels, and messed up physics are just a few things that have messed this game up. This could have been one of the best XBLA arcade game in existence all they had to do was a straight port of of the original instead they decided to take a dump all over it. Do yourself a favor and go buy a copy of the original PS1 or N64 versions and skip this. Expand
  7. Jul 26, 2012
    0
    I never have played a tony hawk game before, so if you are like me, I would check it out. At first, it may be tough to pick up, but once youI never have played a tony hawk game before, so if you are like me, I would check it out. At first, it may be tough to pick up, but once you get used to grinds, manuals and whatnot you will have a blast. At 15 dollars, I'm happy with this purchase. Expand

See all 28 User Reviews