Tony Hawk's Pro Skater HD Xbox 360

Metascore
66

Mixed or average reviews - based on 70 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 72 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Tony Hawk's Pro Skater HD returns to controllers and focuses on the satisfaction of linking sick tricks for maximum points.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 70
  2. Negative: 4 out of 70
  1. Jul 27, 2012
    96
    With this HD update, the Pro Skater franchise is back on top. Check this out as soon as humanly possible.
  2. 80
    Though we question these changes to the tried-and-true gameplay, the majority of Tony Hawk's Pro Skater HD works as well as (or better than) the originals did when they first captivated us nearly 15 years ago. This update isn't all it could have been, but it's the best take on those early games we've had yet.
  3. Aug 2, 2012
    80
    Despite being a great game, it is still just a re-release, and hasn't done anything major from the originals except improve the paintwork
  4. Nov 16, 2012
    65
    With just seven levels-three of which have serious problems working with the current control scheme-it's not like the game has a wealth of content, and its hostility to new players prevents me from recommending it to any but the hardcore.
  5. Aug 23, 2012
    61
    Lacking features and crucial improvements. [Oct 2012, p.85]
  6. Jul 19, 2012
    60
    At first sight it seems that everything's in place, but a few seconds will be enough for an experienced player to notice that there's stuff that doesn't work well and make this a rather missed opportunity.
  7. Jul 18, 2012
    40
    It may sound odd, but we'd gladly trade HD's so-so graphics and unruly physics for straight ports of Tony's first two PS1 installments.

See all 70 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 29
  2. Negative: 11 out of 29
  1. Jul 19, 2012
    10
    Amazing game, I really don't understand how any true fan of the early Tony Hawk games would not enjoy this game, so surprised at some of theAmazing game, I really don't understand how any true fan of the early Tony Hawk games would not enjoy this game, so surprised at some of the early reviews.

    The game feels identical to the original. I've been playing Tony Hawk 2X for the Xbox on my 360 using the 360 controller to get ready for this game and this game feels the same, but with improved visuals, additional game modes, single player objective, Xbox Live support, leaderboards, and fun achievements.

    I also really like what they did with the soundtrack, a good mix of old songs and the new songs are great and as catchy if not more so than the original songs Also another huge improvement is how the current song will continue to play while you keep restarting the level to go for that tough challenge or high score, much better flow.

    Overall this game captures the feel and fun of the origin of the Tony Hawk series, you can tell that Robomodo had much love and passion for the original games and this a real treat for true fans of the old school Tony Hawk games.
    Expand
  2. Jul 23, 2012
    8
    Did it live up to expectations? No. Does it do the original games justice? Not really. But it is fun and for only $15 it's a pretty damn goodDid it live up to expectations? No. Does it do the original games justice? Not really. But it is fun and for only $15 it's a pretty damn good deal. I really enjoyed the game but it is buggy. Expand
  3. Jul 18, 2012
    8
    A lot of people are playing this thinking of the Skate series of games I think and making unfavourable comparisons with it. The same addictiveA lot of people are playing this thinking of the Skate series of games I think and making unfavourable comparisons with it. The same addictive just one more go game play is still apparent to me at least. Realism in games is all well and good but that sometimes replaces some of the more fun elements. Hopefully more game modes will be added along with the new DLC levels from the third, lack of levels is currently my only complaint. Expand
  4. DME
    Jul 20, 2012
    5
    It's too short on content for the high price it's asking for and the new graphics aren't anything special. The worst part, though is theIt's too short on content for the high price it's asking for and the new graphics aren't anything special. The worst part, though is the lighting effects. Nearly every level is very dim and poorly lit. If you are in a position where you can just buy the original Tony Hawk Pro Skater games, then that's what you need to do. However, if your N64/PS1 is inaccessible now, then you really can't go wrong with this. If you never played the original games, then this game will most-likely hold no value to you and I would not recommend it. Expand
  5. Jul 18, 2012
    5
    I should preface this review by saying that I was a MASSIVE fan of the originals. Now, I've been playing this for the last few hours and II should preface this review by saying that I was a MASSIVE fan of the originals. Now, I've been playing this for the last few hours and I have to say I'm massively disappointed. I played every Hawk game (except the Wii ones) and something about this just feels wrong. The mechanics just don't seem to work as they should, and I'm bailing when I KNOW I shouldnt be. I've bought stats and almost levelled my character up completely which has helped a little, but it still doesn't feel right. I was a bit of a Tony Hawk's master back in the day, even though I do say so myself, and this feels really clunky and glitchy. Also, if you were a fan up until the most recent Hawk titles, you WILL miss things like reverts, wallplants, double-tap tricking, spine-transfering and the overall smoothness of the later Hawk games. The updated graphics are nothing to write home about, it still looks old. The 360 D-pad doesn't help either, wish I'd waited for PS3 version, but I wanted to play it today. Also, I'm less than impressed with the selection of levels. Out of the 7, they've included 2 of the worst, most restrictive stages ever, the mall and downhill jam, which were corridor levels basically. Overall, for a game that tries to capture the nostalgia of the early games, it's done just that but at the cost of taking a huge step backwards gameplay-wise. Expand
  6. Jul 22, 2012
    4
    Finally, what myself and I'm sure many other fans of the franchise have been waiting for for a long time - A return to the roots of one of theFinally, what myself and I'm sure many other fans of the franchise have been waiting for for a long time - A return to the roots of one of the more enjoyable games series that has unfortunately lost its way quite spectacularly in recent years.
    This HD amalgamation of the original two games should be a slam dunk of a game, one that surely could not fail. Unfortunately fail is what it does. At best it can recapture some nostalgic memories of the originals, and look quite good while doing so but nostalgia can only get you so far.
    The remake hits you with disappointment at almost every turn. Even from the initial start-up the lack of familiar options such as create a skater and create a park put a dampener on things as well as the small selection of skaters to choose from. These oversights could be easily forgiven if the core gameplay remained intact but, unbelievably, this is where this remake falters the most. Initially I had thought that I was misremembering the difficulty of the early stages of PS1 era THPS games and that it would take a while to get my stats up before I was tearing up School II and Venice Beach like old times, indeed the very same goals that I found difficult in the originals were similarly difficult here. Unfortunately the controls are remarkably sluggish and unresponsive throughout and the fast pace of the originals has been replaced by what feels like a catatonic pace in comparison.
    Other than the gameplay issues the other glaring problem is that of the level selection. Seven levels is quite frankly not enough and anyone familiar with the originals will breeze through them in an an hour or two. The level choices also include what I believe to be some of the weaker levels in the series with Downhill Jam and the Mall as well as the Warehouse which has been done to death. Include these levels by all means, just not at the expense of other more interesting maps.
    Ultimately what should have been a glorious return to form has turned out to be what seems like a half assed moneygrab, no doubt that plenty more levels and possible features will be added through DLC. A full price game with all the levels from the original 2 games and unaltered physics is all that was needed here yet the series has failed again to deliver.
    Expand
  7. Jul 26, 2012
    0
    I never have played a tony hawk game before, so if you are like me, I would check it out. At first, it may be tough to pick up, but once youI never have played a tony hawk game before, so if you are like me, I would check it out. At first, it may be tough to pick up, but once you get used to grinds, manuals and whatnot you will have a blast. At 15 dollars, I'm happy with this purchase. Expand

See all 29 User Reviews