Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 46 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 46
  2. Negative: 0 out of 46
  1. Aug 16, 2011
    100
    If you buy just one tower defense game this year, well, knock yourself out. But if you want a really good action game with some tower defense, some great scoring challenges, some wonderful multiplayer support, some great graphics, and a wonderful sense of humor, you can't go wrong with Toy Soldiers: Cold War.
  2. Sep 21, 2011
    92
    It's fun, looks and sounds great, has loads of content, and integrates very well with your friends lists and the leaderboard system...It is, in a word, awesome.
  3. Aug 23, 2011
    91
    I'm a history nerd splitting hairs about a game featuring toys blowing each other up at this point. Regardless, the two games together represent the best that the tower defense genre has to offer. I'm very interested to see where Signal takes this franchise next…as long as it's not World War II.
  4. Aug 15, 2011
    91
    Even if you're not particularly a fan of tower defense games like me, simply controlling your units, getting combos, and using the special barrage weapons will win you over.
  5. Aug 18, 2011
    90
    Toy Soldiers: Cold War is without doubt one of the best games you can purchase on XBL and is a truly great sequel to what was a fantastic game
  6. Aug 18, 2011
    90
    Incredibly fun. The best tower defense game on Xbox Live.
  7. Aug 18, 2011
    90
    Toy Soldiers Cold War is a fantastic title.
  8. Aug 17, 2011
    90
    An excellently crafted game that goes above and beyond all expectations for an indie downloadable title. The action feels tight, it's bursting with content, the graphics and sound are impressive.
  9. Aug 18, 2011
    88
    The presentation is inspired, and the gameplay maintains a careful balance of strategic thinking and crazy action.
  10. Sep 8, 2011
    87
    If you're looking for a competitive tower defence/strategy hybrid game, Toy Soldiers: Cold War is tough to put down.
User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 106 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 43 out of 46
  2. Negative: 2 out of 46
  1. Aug 17, 2011
    10
    My favorite arcade game now, theres everything u could hope for,split screen coop,versus mode,score challenges,minigames, survival mode and of course the campaign,and the fact that u can take direct control over your turrets,i really liked the first toy soldiers game as well but this one is a lot better., with the barrages and everything. Buy it if ur looking for an awesome arcade game that has it all. the only thing i could have hoped for would have been zombies,cus zombies make everything better ;) Full Review »
  2. Sep 5, 2011
    10
    This game is amazing! Don't believe the low user score. I didn't play the first toy soldiers, as It was only 1 player locally, so when U heard the next game was going to be splitscreen I was excited. I waited for this game to be released from when it was first announced, and having played it doesn't dissapoint. I think any one who likes strategy games should purchase this game, especially if you want to play cooperatively online or off. Full Review »
  3. Aug 18, 2011
    10
    Why is it only the $15 Arcade titles who are properly tackling the
    long-neglected action/RTS hybrid? First there was the original Toy

    Soldiers, then there was the excellent Trenched, and now we have
    probably the best modern attempt yet in Toy Soldiers: Cold War --
    while all the while, the big end of town continues to churn out
    uber-conservative RTSes and mindless shooters without seeing how one
    genre might make up for the limitations of the other. Toy Soldiers: Cold War improves on its predecessor in almost every
    way, despite being a little thinner on campaign content. Improved
    graphics, an excellent selection of game modes (including a very
    robust VS. mode), and a wide variety of units with pretty finely
    balanced strengths and weaknesses are just a few of the things that
    this sequel brings to the table. It doesn't quite rise to the level of
    complexity of the great late 90s PC game, Battlezone, but then no game
    has.

    On that note, I hope that Signal Studios do well enough out of this
    game to perhaps follow it up with a retail release sequel. With a
    bigger budget, and higher profit expectations, I think that these
    developers could equal or surpass the lofty heights reached by the
    aforementioned Battlezone. Until then, they have treated fans of the
    RTS/action and tower defence genres to a truly great game.
    Full Review »