User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 96 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 82 out of 96
  2. Negative: 8 out of 96

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 30, 2013
    8
    Entertaining game, albeit somewhat short. A mixture of tower defense, strategy and vehicle action (you can't control any troops). I love the World War 1 theme as it's hardly ever done in games. Fun game on easier difficulty, it gets very difficult as you ratchet up the degree of difficulty. Right now it is 400 points on XBOX live, great value.
  2. May 13, 2012
    9
    Now it's only 800 msp. Easily worth it if you're looking for a different experience set in a different era. Game captures the feel of the era with it's unique art style and music. That coupled with this not being a generic experience which you find with most games makes it a no brainer. If you're tired of the same here you go....going to be checking out Cold war later.
  3. Sep 19, 2011
    10
    who could actually say no to this game because they are literally like your own toys :) but I wished they made it some of it a tiny bit easier. why not have a game of it, it will make you happy
  4. Jul 25, 2011
    8
    Intuitive , a different strategy game based on placing the artillery, soldiers etc . For instance it may sound hard, when I say that hordes of Nazis or whatever aren't stopping in an specific place, they don't do that, they come directly to you , so you need to stop them before they sabotage or enter your Toy Box. Heck, there's a Cold War game right now.
  5. Apr 14, 2011
    10
    i can't stop playing it! it's so awesome and i have to get the add-ons. everyone with an xbox has to at least get the trial.
  6. Dec 30, 2010
    10
    Easy 10. Spanks most other arcade games hands down. The unique atmosphere and art direction really set the game apart for me. If you are tired of the artsy-fartsy indie flash game ports that seem to get all the attention...give toy soldiers a try instead!
  7. Nov 17, 2010
    10
    Perfection in a Tower Defense game, absolutely blows every other game in the genre I've ever played out of the water. Toy Soldiers puts you in a beautiful and realistic fully 3D battlefield, with excellent camera controls. But what really sets this game apart is the interactivity in the battlefield. Like every other TD game, you place upgradeable towers to defend your base. But in Toy Soldiers, you can actually get in the towers and shoot control them yourself! For towers like the cannons, you can even hold the firing button to enter a "shell cam", and steer or slow down the shell as it flies through the air for precision lobs! In many levels, you can send out your own tanks into the fray, and even fighter and bomber planes which can fly over the battle and rain down death below! Really a mind-blowingly fun game, well-worth the $15. Sets the bar for console Tower Defense games. Expand
  8. Jul 25, 2011
    0
    Intuitive , a different strategy game based on placing the artillery, soldiers etc . For instance it may sound hard, when I say that hordes of Nazis or whatever aren't stopping in an specific place, they don't do that, they come directly to you , so you need to stop them before they sabotage or enter your Toy Box. Heck, there's a Cold War game right now.
Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 40 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 40
  2. Negative: 0 out of 40
  1. Deliciously tactical and exciting, with a sombre mood akin to the ever-wonderful Blackadder Goes Forth. [Issue#58, p.104]
  2. Not as smart as Defence Grid but more fun, this is brains, brawn and great big balls for ten pounds. [June 2010, p.121]
  3. 80
    Toy Soldiers is a unique game no matter what way it is sliced.