Metascore
59

Mixed or average reviews - based on 53 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 53
  2. Negative: 11 out of 53
  1. Jun 21, 2011
    91
    If you're a fan of Transformers, this is one I'd recommend.
  2. Jun 15, 2011
    83
    The bottom line is that any action gamer looking for awesome multiplayer combat with classes, skills, and upgrades, or any Transformer fan looking for a cool prequel story to the upcoming movie will love Dark of the Moon. I know I did.
  3. Jun 16, 2011
    82
    If you're conquered War For Cybertron already and seek to strike new ground with your favorite robots, Transformers: Dark of the Moon is a more-than-acceptable action fest. There are hiccups throughout, sure, but the solid multiplayer, tightly wound action and fan service-friendly set-up are more than meets the eye.
  4. Dec 12, 2011
    78
    Transformers: Dark of the Moon may suffer from some derivative level design, and its introduction of the cool Stealth Force form does have some repetitive gameplay consequences. But kudos to the developers for injecting something new into the formula.
  5. Sep 14, 2011
    76
    While I know that this is a movie tie-in, I had high hopes for Dark of the Moon because of War for Cybertron. At the end of the day, Dark of the Moon feels unpolished with room to grow.
  6. Jun 15, 2011
    75
    If you're excited about the movie or characters, for once this is an easy game to recommend. There's nothing here that should scare away fans, and any player ought to appreciate the way each game level feels unique from the last. After this game and last year's War For Cybertron, High Moon has proven they've got the chops to handle and understand the Transformers, no matter what continuity they're playing around in. Here's hoping that Hasbro and Activitision recognizes the talent, and continues to give the team the creative freedom they deserve.
  7. Jul 6, 2011
    70
    Transformers: Dark of the Moon may not be a truly complete experience, but it's just that: a good time. At their core, I think that's what games should be all about.
  8. Jun 29, 2011
    70
    For a video game based on a film, Transformers: Dark of the Moon does well. It's a good action title that can be enjoyed by adults and kids. It's simple, easy to use and fun, though it doesn't stand out in any areas when compared to great action titles. It is worth at least a look.
  9. Jun 28, 2011
    70
    Dark of the Moon provides plenty of popcorn thrills that you'll likely forget as soon as the credits begin rolling. Judged against other movie games, it's actually pretty good; next to last year's superior entry, however, it looks a bit like a tin can.
  10. Jun 27, 2011
    70
    If you're already played War for Cyberton and are itching for more Transformers action, Dark of the Moon is a safe bet.
  11. Jun 27, 2011
    70
    Overall, Transformers: Dark of the Moon is your typical movie based video game as it is thin on features and is about as mind numbing as the movie itself. Simply put, Dark of the Moon is not as good as last year's War for Cybertron, which is disappointing.
  12. Jun 24, 2011
    70
    Far from being incredible...or should I say, less than meets the eye?
  13. Jun 22, 2011
    70
    The true winner in Dark of the Moon isn't Autobots or Decepticons – it's excellent pacing. Before any one part of the game starts to truly show its flaws, you're done with it and on to a new section. Sure, it's not the best Transformers game we've ever played, but it's still a good a Transformers game, and that'll be enough for a lot of people.
  14. Jun 20, 2011
    70
    Transformers: Dark of the Moon is fun in the time that it lasts, but it doesn't have that same thrill factor that the previous movie tie-in had.
  15. Jun 17, 2011
    68
    It's a rental, plain and simple, and there's nothing wrong with that.
  16. Jul 11, 2011
    65
    While (in my opinion) the single player game is pretty weak, with its short running time, linear gameplay and predictable structure (fight off wave after wave of enemy, until you reach the end of the level and fight the boss), DotM's competitive multiplayer may prove to be its saving grace.
  17. Jul 3, 2011
    65
    Transformers: Dark of the Moon may be the better of the three games based on the movie series, but that isn't saying too much. It's a tighter, more action-packed experience compared to the previous games, but it sacrifices length and choice to get there.
  18. 65
    High Moon clearly did all they could, but ultimately, Dark of the Moon is a small package with too much filler to be worth more than a rental. Though we're betting it's still better than the film it's based on.
  19. Jun 28, 2011
    65
    Transformers: Dark of the Moon is one of the usual and trivial tie-in that hit the market. Gameplay mechanics gives some fun but the global experience is not really good in the end.
  20. Jun 20, 2011
    65
    With the removal of two of the most prominent features from the original game and a dramatically shorter campaign, you can't help but feel like the game was rushed to make the movie deadline. It is disappointing to say the least, especially coming from such a huge fan of Hasbro's infamous robots in disguise.
  21. An enjoyable but brief rundown of the events of the film. As missable as a Decepticon attack. [Oct 2011, p.89]
  22. Jul 26, 2011
    60
    A missed chance, expecially after the very good War for Cybertron. Unpolished and too short, its main value resides in the story bridging the second and third movie.
  23. Jul 11, 2011
    60
    Transformers 3 feels like a ripped version of War for Cybertron.
  24. Jul 7, 2011
    60
    You can easily notice that everything about Transformers: Dark of the Moon, is made for a bigger audience. The game has become more simple and accessible, but doesn't lose that special 'Transformers-feeling'. It's a fun game, that doesn't do anything more than it's supposed to, which is also why it degrades into mediocrity.
  25. 60
    They've proved themselves capable of better than this.
  26. Jun 25, 2011
    60
    If you want to play a Transformers game with your friends, then you need to play War for Cybertron instead. But if you're excited for the upcoming movie and want to get a head start on hyping yourself up, well, maybe you want to rent Dark of the Moon, since it's going to feel like a pretty empty purchase after you've finished it in a single sitting.
  27. Jun 24, 2011
    60
    Last year, High Moon Studios did a great job with the Transformers franchise, but this time they got it wrong. It has some good ideas and potential, but overall it's a game that, like many other movie games, fall short in almost every possible aspect.
  28. Jun 20, 2011
    60
    Nothing in the game was really all the memorable other than the final confrontation (which was a fun boss fight) and the standoff between the leaders. With very little to do in single player other than hunt for hidden Autobot and Decepticon symbols and the odd objective for specific achievements, it's hard to justify and full priced purchase right away, even if you're a Transformers nut like myself.
  29. Jun 15, 2011
    60
    The ideas for something great are certainly here, because the fundamentals were pulled from a great game. But Transformers: Dark of the Moon stretches what High Moon Studios had time to build across too much game, leading to a dull, frustrating endeavor that feels even longer than it is.
  30. Jul 8, 2011
    55
    Transformers: Dark of the Moon fails to avoid the movie tie-in trap, but it's functional gameplay will satisfy anyone who wants to know more about the titular movie and has low expectations.
User Score
6.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 26 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 13
  2. Negative: 2 out of 13
  1. Jun 16, 2011
    10
    Considering that it was developed by High Moon, which also developed War for Cybertron, I had high expectations of this game. It has notConsidering that it was developed by High Moon, which also developed War for Cybertron, I had high expectations of this game. It has not proved me wrong, everything I enjoyed in WfC I found just as compelling in DotM. The control scheme and game mechanics were all familiar to me. I can understand how some people dislike how this game is almost identical to WfC and expected extra content. However, judging from the reviews of previously disastrous Transformers games, I'm not surprised why High Moon decided to keep everything the way it was. Full Review »
  2. Jun 17, 2011
    0
    Horrible game that should not have been made, effort should have been put into the War for Cybertron 2. The campaign had horrible load timesHorrible game that should not have been made, effort should have been put into the War for Cybertron 2. The campaign had horrible load times every time it would save on a level and the stealth mode ruins the need for robot mode during the campaign. The controls are slow & plodding, lagging behind the action with inaccurate melee and vanishing grenades. Map glitches abound where your character will be caught in invisible parts of the maps. Mulitplayer is plagued with lag in game and even when changing screens on the menu. Full Review »
  3. Jun 15, 2011
    5
    This game is good and bad at the same time. If you've played War for Cybertron, DotM will play nearly identical. So, playing and beating theThis game is good and bad at the same time. If you've played War for Cybertron, DotM will play nearly identical. So, playing and beating the campaign in less than 4 hours on normal difficulty was entertaining for the most part. However, the fact that this game came out AFTER War for Cybertron, I felt disappointed. DotM is basically War for Cybertron watered down. There is no longer co-op campaign, the campaign is shorter than WFC's, there is absolutely NO Escelation mode in multiplayer, and the character customization is less than WfC! I feel ripped off for paying $60+ for a game that is actually worse than WfC. It seems that High Moon and Activision thought "hey, we can put out a game in mere months without much work. We can just borrow the framework from WfC, put in a short campaign, and let the hype from the upcoming movie do all the advertising for us!" Full Review »