Ugly Americans: Apocalypsegeddon Image
Metascore
45

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 16 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 17 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: With four-player top-down co-op gameplay that hearkens back to such classics as Gauntlet and Robotron, “Ugly Americans: Apocalypsegeddon” features four playable characters, each with their own unique abilities, weapons and strengths. Players must comb the streets of New York City and pacify raving demons, delinquent man birds and zombies by lactating fire or hurling wacky objects like flying demon skulls, fish, baseballs and wrenches. Investigate case files from the Department of Integration and battle devastating and distinctive bosses at the end of each mission, each bringing you one step closer to finding out who is trying to bring about the end of days! Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 16
  2. Negative: 7 out of 16
  1. Sep 7, 2011
    70
    And while you could chalk up Apocalypsegeddon by recommending it only to fans of the show, it's slightly better than that. It's short-lived and a little monotonous at the same time, but as long no one in your group is offended by the TV show's adult-rated sensibilities, there are worse ways to spend an afternoon than fending off the end of days.
  2. Oct 23, 2011
    65
    It's challenging, but with no real change of pace. [Dec 2011, p.87]
  3. Oct 21, 2011
    56
    Ugly Americans deserved a better game. Maybe within the same genre, but better though and executed. Gameplay-wise it may be interesting during the first minutes, but this sensations vanishes early, unveiling a repetitive and very limited videogame.
  4. Sep 7, 2011
    50
    As fan service, it is adequate enough, bringing the style and humor that make the show a success.
  5. Sep 23, 2011
    45
    Although Ugly Americans: Apocalypsegeddon brings some amusement, when you start playing the game is quite disappointing. This is due too the very simple gameplay, a repetitive level design and inelaborate RPG elements.
  6. Sep 7, 2011
    30
    With so many other twin-stick shooters available on Xbox Live, there is little reason for anyone except hardcore fans of the show to bother with Ugly Americans: Apocalypsegeddon. Yes, it is technically sound, but the gameplay is bland, the humor barely rates as juvenile and the video unlocks are slow to open up. Unless you need something to put you to sleep, spend your 800 Microsoft points ($10 USD) elsewhere.
  7. Sep 16, 2011
    20
    As a game, though, it's so cripplingly inane it makes me want to eat my own teeth and replace them with sweetcorn prongs.

See all 16 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 7
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 7
  3. Negative: 1 out of 7
  1. Aug 31, 2011
    10
    Really entertaining and funny. Love the hilarious comments the characters make during game play, although they can get a little repetitive. Great that there is a big range of quirky weapons and awards to level up. Favorite aspect is playing as a team online. Quickly gets addictive with this game. Expand
  2. Sep 1, 2011
    10
    Sweet game. Addicting. I played as Mark and felt the rush of being a social worker. Playing with any other character is reckless. Looks cool, sounds cool, IS COOL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Expand
  3. Sep 1, 2011
    10
    so fun! i love watching the show, and now i get to play the game. really funny little dialog clips from the characters, too. the other reviews are right, very addictive game! Expand
  4. Sep 1, 2011
    10
    I actually wasn't a fan of the show and I thought it was really funny, though I will now check out the show. I liked the cut scenes and the rpgness of the gameplay added a lot. I have yet to go online and play but I played through the wizard guy and police guy and it was really different. It was very addictive. I missed it the first time but there is also a behind the scenes trailer that is really great. Expand
  5. Aug 31, 2011
    9
    Funny and addictive, though you really need to be a fan of the show to understand the humour. The only real downside is the repetitive enemy voice overs (though it's a staple of action games anyway) and, rather disappointingly, only half hearted cut scenes that that use the voice cast of the show perfectly, but don't fully animate the sequences. Whether that was a creative choice or not, it felt like a 'just get it done' feel to it. Shame really, because it's a fun game, especially with three mates who equally enjoy gunning down endless swearing man-birds with tennis balls and boomerangs. And this positive review has nothing to do with the fact that the lead character has the same first name as me. Nothing at all! Collapse
  6. Sep 8, 2011
    8
    This is a great game. It keeps the flavor the series intact. It controls well and looks great. The only downsides I can see are a generally unfriendly camera angle and occasionally repetitive audio. Expand
  7. Apr 9, 2012
    0
    Okay, a game that be base in the cartoon that caused the slope of comedy central, and the game have the same result of the serie, is really bad, with a terrible gameplay, awful graphics, bad controls, sorry people, but this game is really horrible. Expand