User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 33 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 33
  2. Negative: 4 out of 33

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 2, 2015
    6
    Valiant Hearts is one of those games that I wanted to like more than I did. It's unique visual style looks fantastic, the music is great and it makes a change to play a game set during a war (in this case World War I) that is more concerned with telling the story of how people are affected rather than just have you shoot everything in sight.

    Unfortunately in terms of gameplay its not
    Valiant Hearts is one of those games that I wanted to like more than I did. It's unique visual style looks fantastic, the music is great and it makes a change to play a game set during a war (in this case World War I) that is more concerned with telling the story of how people are affected rather than just have you shoot everything in sight.

    Unfortunately in terms of gameplay its not actually very entertaining. Much of the time is spent solving overly simple 'puzzles' that often involve little more than collecting an object from one screen to use on another. On the occasions when you are tasked with doing something different the game repeats one of only three different ideas (dodge falling bombs, press buttons in time with a beat or throw an object such as dynamite) none of which are challenging or enjoyable to begin with. As a result the game seemed a lot longer than its 6-7 hour running time, and I don't mean that in a good way.

    I'm glad games like this are being made but when I'm playing a video game the gameplay needs to be at least somewhat enjoyable if I'm going to really immerse myself in its world and despite all its positives I can't honestly say Valiant Hearts is a title I'll remember a few years from now.
    Expand
  2. Jul 4, 2014
    9
    This is one the best games of the year. Impecable audiovisual sensation with a story that many big screen drama movies would envy.

    This game has a soul. It has similar characteristics to Brothers or Limbo. It does not innovate as those did in terms of gameplay, but the gameplay is sweet, simple and tons of fun. It follows the simplicity of Limbo in terms of controls and the
    This is one the best games of the year. Impecable audiovisual sensation with a story that many big screen drama movies would envy.

    This game has a soul. It has similar characteristics to Brothers or Limbo. It does not innovate as those did in terms of gameplay, but the gameplay is sweet, simple and tons of fun. It follows the simplicity of Limbo in terms of controls and the communication tricks of titles such as Machinarium.

    It does excel in some parts and goes beyond its already suberb competition and that is the audiovisual presentation (which of course is subjective on its artistic style) and the story which is mature, memorable and deep. This game has a soul.
    Expand
  3. Jul 1, 2014
    5
    Valiant Hearts: The Great War is a very interesting concept for a game. A puzzle Adventure set in the midst of World War One. While there are parts of this game that do a good job and reminding us of the price the conflict had on everyone, it's too often sandwiched between an overly cartoonish representation of war, obtuse puzzle design, and action segments that would make even Call ofValiant Hearts: The Great War is a very interesting concept for a game. A puzzle Adventure set in the midst of World War One. While there are parts of this game that do a good job and reminding us of the price the conflict had on everyone, it's too often sandwiched between an overly cartoonish representation of war, obtuse puzzle design, and action segments that would make even Call of Duty players scratch their heads at the lack of realism. I can only recommend this if you're a history buff or a fan of old adventure games. Expand
  4. Oct 10, 2014
    10
    Pochi sono i videogiochi che lasciano il ricordo nel cuore di chi li prova e Valiant Hearts è uno di questi. Trattando un tema così delicato come quello della Grande Guerra, il titolo si eleva al capolavoro per la sua trama, che vi appassionerà con i suoi drammatici colpi di scena, lungo i 4 capitoli che lo comporranno e le 5 ore che vi serviranno per portarlo a termine. Vi avviso, sePochi sono i videogiochi che lasciano il ricordo nel cuore di chi li prova e Valiant Hearts è uno di questi. Trattando un tema così delicato come quello della Grande Guerra, il titolo si eleva al capolavoro per la sua trama, che vi appassionerà con i suoi drammatici colpi di scena, lungo i 4 capitoli che lo comporranno e le 5 ore che vi serviranno per portarlo a termine. Vi avviso, se siete alla ricerca di un titolo che vi sprema le meningi, non è qui che lo troverete. Valiant Hearts è un fumetto in movimento, un viaggio intenso e coinvolgente in quell'assurdo passato, in cui le sofferenze, le paure e le sopraffazioni di soldati senza nome s'intrecciavano con le grandi date della storia. La cronaca della logorante guerra che ancora oggi non riconosce il numero esatto delle croci che dovrebbero essere state piantate a terra ma di certo nei cuori dei sopravvissuti non ne manca una. In quella guerra noi italiani abbiamo vinto, restando comunque mutilati... Riflettete: e se avessimo perso? Expand
  5. Sep 20, 2014
    8
    Just finished Valiant Hearts: The Great War on the Xbox 360 (it's also on Xbox One, PS3, PS4, PC, and the App Store). It's a story-driven 2D side scroller set in World War 1. You play as 4 distinctly different characters, all who have their own stories, motives, and reasons for doing what they do, but all 4 stories are intertwined. I actually learned A LOT about WWI throughout the courseJust finished Valiant Hearts: The Great War on the Xbox 360 (it's also on Xbox One, PS3, PS4, PC, and the App Store). It's a story-driven 2D side scroller set in World War 1. You play as 4 distinctly different characters, all who have their own stories, motives, and reasons for doing what they do, but all 4 stories are intertwined. I actually learned A LOT about WWI throughout the course of this game. There are a number of diary entires, artifacts, and facts you can read (All provided by Apocalypse: World War I on the History Channel). And while the story is solid, the puzzles are simple yet intuitive, and give a real sense of accomplishment when you find a solution to a problem. If nothing else, the soundtrack alone is reason enough to buy this game. The the rug in The Big Lebowski, it just ties it all together. When it's all said and done, I give it an 8 out of 10. Expand
  6. Apr 6, 2015
    9
    Soldats Inconnus : Mémoires de la Grande Guerre est un émouvant jeu vidéo d'énigme/bande dessinée interactive inspiré par la grande guerre de 1914 - 1918 celle que l'on a surnommé la der des der.
    C'est développé par un studio français s'il vous plait je tiens à le souligner : Ubisoft Montpellier allez cocorico lol.
    Nos protagonistes se retrouvent embarqués malgré eux dans ce terrible
    Soldats Inconnus : Mémoires de la Grande Guerre est un émouvant jeu vidéo d'énigme/bande dessinée interactive inspiré par la grande guerre de 1914 - 1918 celle que l'on a surnommé la der des der.
    C'est développé par un studio français s'il vous plait je tiens à le souligner : Ubisoft Montpellier allez cocorico lol.
    Nos protagonistes se retrouvent embarqués malgré eux dans ce terrible conflit mais l'espoir va renaitre à force courage et de dévouement tout au long de l'aventure.
    Dés le début, on sent tout de suite un jeu crée par une équipe de passionnés et enrichie par les bases de données d’Apocalypse la 1re Guerre mondiale cela donne vraiment un jeu très convaincant.
    En effet tout au long de vos pérégrinations vous découvrirez les lieux et faits marquants de la grande guerre mais également pour les plus curieux d'entre vous des notes, objets ou anecdotes viendront enrichir vos connaissances.
    Bref foncez acheter le jeu, il vaut vraiment le coup aussi bien pour sa direction artistique façon bande dessinée que pour ses personnages attachants, émouvants et drôles.
    Tout simplement le meilleur jeu d'Ubisoft en 2014 !! =)
    Expand
  7. Jan 23, 2015
    9
    Most video games consists of gaming, with some story aspects to them. Valiant Hearts is a "story" with some gaming aspects to it, which are very rudimentary by today's standards. Paired with a lovely classical score and chapter-based narrative— these elements are able to fill in the gaps throughout a story who's message is conveyed effectively with virtually no dialog at all. Think of itMost video games consists of gaming, with some story aspects to them. Valiant Hearts is a "story" with some gaming aspects to it, which are very rudimentary by today's standards. Paired with a lovely classical score and chapter-based narrative— these elements are able to fill in the gaps throughout a story who's message is conveyed effectively with virtually no dialog at all. Think of it as an interactive story book— with wonderfully designed characters, paying homage to classic 2D parallax environments. Expand
Metascore
tbd

No score yet - based on 1 Critic

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 1
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 1
  3. Negative: 0 out of 1
  1. Jun 27, 2014
    80
    With its gorgeous visuals and seldom-explored historical setting, Valiant Hearts: The Great War is a beautiful and original game, one that taxes our brains while stirring our emotions.