Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 70 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 62 out of 70
  2. Negative: 0 out of 70
  1. Dec 19, 2010
    70
    Since there is no multiplayer, and much of what Vanquish does has been done before, I was a bit disappointed.
  2. 70
    Vanquish plays a one-note song, but thankfully that note is 'slow motion exploding robot face'. [Issue#66, p.92]
  3. Oct 25, 2010
    70
    It's fast, furious, and most importantly, fun. So much so that immediately after I finished the game, I started over again on a harder difficulty.
  4. Oct 20, 2010
    70
    Despite its Master Chief and Marcus Fenix guises, Vanquish is ultimately much more Japanese in its orientation than it is Westernised. Unlike MadWorld and Bayonetta though, it just lacks the poised gameplay balancing that could've made it a much more addictive experience.
  5. Oct 20, 2010
    70
    It does offer some interesting variations on a tried and true shooter formula, but I can't recommend this to anyone looking for a deep and compelling experience. If all you want is an adrenaline rush or to feel like a total badass for short, explosive bursts, however, then it's something worth considering.
  6. Oct 20, 2010
    70
    Vanquish is to TPS what Bayonetta was to the beat'em all gender : a great kick in the ass […] But inevitably it comes to whether PlatinumGames not again privileged form over substance.
  7. Jan 31, 2011
    50
    If you're still itching to waste a few hours on Vanquish, here's some advice: wait until the inevitable price reduction.
  8. Oct 20, 2010
    50
    Vanquish is a tepid and tedious game that simply doesn't deserve your cash during a period chock full of far superior releases. And I never thought I'd have to say that about a Platinum game.
User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 170 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 40 out of 45
  2. Negative: 2 out of 45
  1. Oct 19, 2010
    10
    Game of the year, everything in this game is perfect, the gameplay is flawless,the graphics are amazing and the history is very good,well doneGame of the year, everything in this game is perfect, the gameplay is flawless,the graphics are amazing and the history is very good,well done platinum games keep up with the good work. Full Review »
  2. Oct 19, 2010
    10
    Game of the year, everything in this game is perfect, the gameplay is flawless,the graphics are amazing and the history is very good,well doneGame of the year, everything in this game is perfect, the gameplay is flawless,the graphics are amazing and the history is very good,well done platinum games keep up with the good work. Full Review »
  3. Nov 1, 2010
    10
    This is a review of a half complete Vanquish. The graphics, controls, combat cover system and level design is all top notch nothing more needsThis is a review of a half complete Vanquish. The graphics, controls, combat cover system and level design is all top notch nothing more needs to be said, just buy the game and see for your self. There are several brilliant set pieces that are amazing and kind of similar to those in Enslaved: Odyssey to the West and Bayonetta. This may not be the best game this year (Red Dead Redemption, Enslaved, Mass Effect 2) but it is unique and more entertaining than playing Gears of War because the unrelenting action never lets up. I see this as a good thing though I'm sure some of you don't. Full Review »