Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 70 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 168 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Directed by Shinji Mikami, VANQUISH is a sci-fi shooter of epic proportions with a fast, fluid and frenetic combat system, and an engaging and immersive storyline. Players take the role of Sam, a government agent kitted out with a futuristic battle suit, in a near future world where nationsDirected by Shinji Mikami, VANQUISH is a sci-fi shooter of epic proportions with a fast, fluid and frenetic combat system, and an engaging and immersive storyline. Players take the role of Sam, a government agent kitted out with a futuristic battle suit, in a near future world where nations war over the planet's remaining energy resources. A versatile fighter with a huge arsenal of weaponry at his disposal, Sam also has an array of martial arts skills that he can use to take down his robot enemies. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 62 out of 70
  2. Negative: 0 out of 70
  1. Dec 19, 2010
    100
    The game that stands is an absolute thrill-ride, brimming with verve and excitement.
  2. Oct 21, 2010
    90
    Vanquish proves that there's still space for ridiculous dialogue, clichéd characters, amped-up power-suits and big guns alongside the Heavy Rains of the industry, as long as the intelligent gameplay structure is present too. And it is. Platinum Games knows how to craft a good videogame. It's as simple as that, and right now, the team is competing only with itself.
  3. Dec 15, 2010
    90
    Vanquish easily takes place as one of my top games of 2010 but then I do love my shooters. For anyone who enjoys running around carefree and blowing robots to bits, this is the perfect game for you and if not then surely you want to slide on your arse all day, right?
  4. Oct 20, 2010
    85
    Vanquish will keep you on the edge of your multi-thruster booster seat.
  5. Jan 12, 2011
    80
    Keep your fingers crossed that SEGA and Platinum Games continue to work together, because if they keep putting out quality products like Vanquish, then everyone's a winner. It doesn't quite reach the dizzy heights of Bayonetta and it's nowhere near as brilliantly esoteric, but Vanquish does put a new spin on the third-person cover shooter. And for that reason alone – despite some slight niggles and flaws – Vanquish deserves recognition for daring to break the mould a bit.
  6. Oct 25, 2010
    80
    Non-stop action with great graphics and superb bosses; Vanquish makes us thirsty for more.
  7. Oct 20, 2010
    50
    Vanquish is a tepid and tedious game that simply doesn't deserve your cash during a period chock full of far superior releases. And I never thought I'd have to say that about a Platinum game.

See all 70 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 41 out of 45
  2. Negative: 2 out of 45
  1. Oct 19, 2010
    10
    Game of the year, everything in this game is perfect, the gameplay is flawless,the graphics are amazing and the history is very good,well doneGame of the year, everything in this game is perfect, the gameplay is flawless,the graphics are amazing and the history is very good,well done platinum games keep up with the good work. Expand
  2. Nov 25, 2013
    10
    Simply the best shooter ever! Pure action and acrobatic mecha action, what a great experience, please make part 2! Perfect graphics andSimply the best shooter ever! Pure action and acrobatic mecha action, what a great experience, please make part 2! Perfect graphics and gameplay, shinji mikami masterpiece Expand
  3. Mar 12, 2012
    10
    wow, this new title of the resident evil creator is awesome, and better than resident evil (for me), the gameplay, controls, graphics, all iswow, this new title of the resident evil creator is awesome, and better than resident evil (for me), the gameplay, controls, graphics, all is fantastic in Vanquish. Expand
  4. Nov 15, 2010
    9
    This is probably the best game I've played in a long time. The graphics are fantastic and the framerate is superb and smooth. Cover mechanicsThis is probably the best game I've played in a long time. The graphics are fantastic and the framerate is superb and smooth. Cover mechanics are extremely slick and work so well, you won't find yourself accidentally diving out of cover into the firing line of enemies like many other third person shooters. The whole experience is just so extremely fast-paced and fluid. Weapons are varied enough for you to find one that suits your style, without providing too many choices to be overwhelming.

    I will definitely be playing through this again on a higher difficulty, and I have not bothered to do that in a game for a very long time! I think this is a definite must-play.
    Expand
  5. Jun 24, 2013
    9
    If you're looking for a badass, fast paced game with awesome gameplay and set-pieces, then this is the game for you. Vanquish has, without aIf you're looking for a badass, fast paced game with awesome gameplay and set-pieces, then this is the game for you. Vanquish has, without a doubt, the best mechanics and gameplay of any 3rd person shooter I've ever played. In no time, you find yourself sliding across the floor, shooting in slow motion at giant killer robots in space. The graphics and framerate of this game are excellent, which is shocking. In games like this, usually you'd expect the framerate to suffer. However, in Vanquish, it never once dips.

    People complain that the story of the game is weak. However, the issue with this argument is that the story isn't important. The story is just enough so that you have an objective and context. That's all it has to be.

    The other common complaint with this game is that it's too short. This is partially true. The game takes about 5 hours to beat. With that there are bonus missions to tackle, which adds some more length to the game. The game is short and sweet, which is far better than a longer and padded out game.

    All in all, this game is definitely a must play. I'd recommend it to any action fan/3rd person shooter fan.
    Expand
  6. May 28, 2012
    8
    Great solid game. Great fast paced gameplay in sci if world.
  7. Nov 14, 2012
    4
    Well I suppose I deserved it. This was one of those games people buy because they wanna look hardcore on a game forum. The Japanese nicheWell I suppose I deserved it. This was one of those games people buy because they wanna look hardcore on a game forum. The Japanese niche title like Godhand. And like Godhand this game sucks too. It is an obvious Gears of War rip off. The pluses are a great frame rate, fluid and fast combat, a slide that is useless, and a pretty environment. The bad is that environment is the only one on the game, the combat is boring, the bosses are all "shoot the orange spot on the _____" and the story is barely passable. Another thing is these lame Japanese games with these characters that are over the top. Its cheesy and awful and not in a good way. Also characters that smoke are not cool. Snake could not be cool so this pansy isn't gonna be cool either. There is a reason this was a $20 bargain bin game a month after it released. Mikami has really lost his touch as of late. This game just had no reason to exist. Sega wants to know why they are broke. Games like this Sega. Games like this. After the great Bayonetta, I expected more from Platinum Games. Expand

See all 45 User Reviews

Trailers