WRC 2: FIA World Rally Championship 2011 Image
Metascore
65

Mixed or average reviews - based on 20 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 13 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Live the life of a real rally driver through the career mode of WRC 2. Start from scratch by creating your own racing team, win prestigious victories to increase your funds and improve your reputation. Among the brand new features this year, you can create your own team and manage themLive the life of a real rally driver through the career mode of WRC 2. Start from scratch by creating your own racing team, win prestigious victories to increase your funds and improve your reputation. Among the brand new features this year, you can create your own team and manage them during your ascent to the WRC. Find the best mechanics on the market to maximize the performance of your car, hire skilled managers to unlock profitable sponsorships ... and strive to earn a contract with one of the WRC teams. Are you ready to become the new champion of the world? Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 20
  2. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. X-ONE Magazine UK
    Nov 15, 2011
    80
    It's actually quite fun this time. [Issue#78, p.87]
  2. Oct 18, 2011
    78
    It's a basic update of last year's experience. One year in the works should've been capitalized upon better than this though.
  3. Oct 13, 2011
    77
    This sequel from Milestone know how to entertain the player, with license, hundred of tracks, great variety and fun. It's a pity the graphics are not up to today standards.
  4. Nov 30, 2011
    65
    There is plenty of value here for those looking for an officially licensed rally experience, provided that you are willing to over look the floors, there is a lengthy career mode and stages to keep players going and avoid repetitiveness for those who enjoy rally.
  5. games(TM)
    Nov 16, 2011
    60
    The one area it does get right is the driving. [Issue#115, p.99]
  6. Oct 19, 2011
    60
    The lack of substance and new ideas on last year's title feels like a let-down, while the career mode just does not have enough flourish to keep people's attention. Factor in the dismal graphics and the weak online game, and WRC: FIA World Rally Championship 2 feels like it's languishing at the lower end of the racing game leaderboards.
  7. Xbox World 360 Magazine UK
    Oct 31, 2011
    52
    Distinctly underwhelming. [Christmas 2011, p.106]

See all 20 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 6
  2. Negative: 1 out of 6
  1. Nov 1, 2011
    10
    People may complain about the graphics of this game and it is true that they are not at the top of the racing games nor xbox 360 games inPeople may complain about the graphics of this game and it is true that they are not at the top of the racing games nor xbox 360 games in general. But taking into account the recent lack of a World Rally Championship experience in games, this one is glass of water in the desert for WRC fans.
    You could say that the Dirt series are good rally games but in my opinion they don't fulfill what the Collin McRae series was.
    The gaming menus don't provide a generally good transition from rally to rally. They should have gone with taking more features from the best racing titles (Forza, GT5, etc) instead of trying to do something new.
    The racing itself is all you ever expect from a rally game. In the highest difficulty level, you really feel frightened behind the wheel.
    If you, like me, love the and follow the WRC championship, you will certainly enjoy this game
    Expand
  2. Dec 31, 2011
    10
    Despite the negative reviews, if you are a fan of Rally Sims, you will no doubt enjoy this game. If you are a fan of racers you will probablyDespite the negative reviews, if you are a fan of Rally Sims, you will no doubt enjoy this game. If you are a fan of racers you will probably look elsewhere. It reminds me more of the original Colin Mcrae games (before they went all DiRt and so on). I enjoy the long tracks and getting split second timing around corners more than doing tricks around open courses. The graphics do lack polish but I dont think you should be put off becuase of that - I spend most time playing in the zone than marvelling at the scenary anyway! If you are looking for a bit of a challenge, turn off the assists and see how good you are! Expand
  3. Sep 9, 2013
    10
    The only proper rally racing series around for modern consoles. If you want traditional rally racing on modern console this series is yourThe only proper rally racing series around for modern consoles. If you want traditional rally racing on modern console this series is your best option by far. The Dirt games focus on Xrally, rally cross and similar stuff. Yes Codemasters do prettier games, blah blah blah. But Milestone at least makes an effort to stay true to the legacy of rally racing games and try to make their games as sim-like as possible, unlike Codemasters who have gone the arcade direction with their Dirt series. With their WRC games Milestone tries to meet the needs of traditional rally racing enthusiasts. So if you miss the old rally games of WRC (Evolution Studios), Colin McRae and Richard Burns, and you want something somewhat similar for a modern console then you should give these WRC games a chance. WRC 2 improves on everything from the first game, graphics, handling, gameplay structure, etc. WRC 2 is fast, intense, challenging and fun. In fact the only thing I truly miss from the old WRC games on PS2 are the weather effects (rain, snow, etc). That would have made WRC 2 even more immersive. However this WRC series by Milestone remains the best option for traditional rally racing. Expand
  4. Oct 30, 2012
    8
    Firstly this game is best played with a wheel, I used a Fanatec GT2. The feedback is fantastic is this game, each surface is modelled in aFirstly this game is best played with a wheel, I used a Fanatec GT2. The feedback is fantastic is this game, each surface is modelled in a different way and once you master dirt, then snow, then fast open stages on tarmac, then a combination..it's is refreshingly challenging. The difficulty curve in the career mode is perfect, and at 50% through I'm starting to really feel the pressure to perform. It's not a total sim ala Richard Burns Rally (although there is a PC mod which fixes this), but it is a good trade off and very similar to the original Colin Mcrae games. Landing the perfect slides, scandanavian flicks and jumps is incredibly rewarding..especially when the pressure of attaining that first place remains elusive.

    Graphics are a mixed bag, but on the whole I like the most of the large number of stages. There are enough tracks here to fill several Dirt 3 games, really putting Codemasters lack of content to shame.

    The menus and dub step unfortunately heavily distract from the wonderful ingame experience. I noted a few minor bugs with menu presses not registering, ocassional frame rate issues, and green cars as textures loaded..but nothing game breaking. If you like REAL car driving games and rally, it's must buy.
    Expand
  5. Mar 22, 2012
    6
    I did manage to have fun driving through the career mode and managing my racing team, although it does get repetitive towards the end.
    My
    I did manage to have fun driving through the career mode and managing my racing team, although it does get repetitive towards the end.
    My biggest issue is that I could not do this without driving assists, despite playing other driving games with very realistic settings.
    The game doesn't do a very good job of conveying speed and traction to the driver, lack of force feedback support had probably a lot to do with it.
    Expand
  6. Jan 9, 2012
    0
    Recycling the same old SS already included in WRC 2010, then "sell" the new tracks as DLC.
    Once looking at what the developer is doing, we
    Recycling the same old SS already included in WRC 2010, then "sell" the new tracks as DLC.
    Once looking at what the developer is doing, we will notice it's really disappointing and this title is not worth to buy.
    Collapse