User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 96 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 78 out of 96
  2. Negative: 9 out of 96

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 16, 2013
    9
    I've been a fan of wrestling since I was 18 months old, my eldest brother put a pair of shades on me and I did my best Macho Man impression. So naturally growing up with wrestling I also played all the video games. I played the No Mercy 2000 on the N64 and that game was at the time the best game I've ever played, and was still the best wrestling game I've ever played. That was untill this game came out. Wrestlers are as close to the real thing as you can get, great customization and attitude era was amazing. Everythng about this game was a success... Expand
  2. Nov 5, 2012
    9
    FINALLY! Yukes have created the perfect wrestling game......almost. Gameplay is still the same and also slightly out-dated though there are a few changes to speciality matches e.g. in a first blood match, instead of beating your opponent silly till he bleeds you press the pin button and a cutscene will appear. Attitude Era mode is fantastic complete with with nostalgic pleasures including New titles, arenas and superstars. Historical objectives can be grating at times particuarly the ones with a time limit. The creation suite is another big highlight, the new arena creator is the best though. Universe mode gets stronger every year. Apart from the few problems. WWE '13 remains the pinacle of sports entertainment games. Let's see how WWE '14 comes out eh? Expand
  3. Oct 31, 2012
    9
    Being a big wrestling fan, i'm always anticipating the next WWE game (even if i'm not as big of a fan of them). Every year the game comes out, I play it endlessly, like it for a few weeks and can't seem to get into it afterwards. This year, though time will tell, we may have a game that I could play for a while. I love the new Attitude Era mode, finally getting rid of their boring Road to Wrestlemania. WWE Universe is back and looks better than anything they've done with it, after virtually leaving it untouched in last years game. The gameplay itself is a bit slower than in years past, and maybe that's a good thing. I haven't tried out the online mode but i'm sure that's still the same mess as in years past, so I won't even include that in this review. The roster is certainly at its best since Smackdown: HCTP, so many wrestlers to choose from. I've only found about 2 flaws so far (i'm sure there are more) with gameplay and Attitude Era mode. The gameplay still has some bugs, some AI issues, but these are things that could be fixed with an eventual patch. As for Attitude Era mode, the objectives can be somewhat tedious and if you end up playing on Legend difficulty, they can be ridiculous to get and you'll find yourself restarting the match a couple of times. No more complaining, WWE 13 is great. Collapse
  4. Dec 21, 2012
    9
    Best wrestling game ever!
    It has some f*cked up bugs but it works alright.
    The game play is the same has last year's but with some slight improvements, the music is great as always, the graphics are almost the same from last year but you can spot differences every where, this year the graphics are a little more "alive".
    The attitude era is pretty cool too, its much better then that Road
    To Wrestlemania Crap.
    The roster is the best ever in any wrestling game, Old or New you'll find you're wrestler, and even if you don't you can always download him/her from the community creation or create him/her.
    The universe mode to me at least, is addicting and this year you get great story-lines.
    Also the new "O.M.G MOMENTS" are just unbelievable! With these adds the game just got bigger and better.
    Also you can create an arena, like last year, but with lots of new things, also finally the create your belt mode is back!
    So yeah if you want a good wrestling game, this game is for you.
    THQ and YUKES finally done a amazing game.
    Expand
  5. Nov 4, 2012
    10
    I can't say enough awesome things about WWE 13, this is the first WWE game in my opinion since smackdown vs raw 2007 that can be considered a solid hit, the whole game is dead on... if ur a WWE fan its a most have, the attitude era mode is worth the 60$ tag alone but u also have all the creations - arena,belts,finishers and superstars not to mention universe mode actually has a story this year... does it have some bugs... yea, of course it does but what game doesn't, i will say this game is for wrestling fans who have followed WWE for years, with all the history and spectacle but if u didn't always follow wrestling but are interested attitude era is a great starting point Expand
  6. Oct 31, 2012
    10
    Finally, WWE series has come back, to the game shop shelves... It seems that there are big improvements on this game since WWE '12 especially in Universe Mode. Sure there are some glitches and a little clunky hit detection, but it is repaired with returning I Quit Match, Special Referee Match and totally improved Inferno Match. And of course, bringing back Attitude Era was a bulls eye!
  7. Feb 13, 2013
    10
    It's not perfect, but I gave it a 10 because it's easily the best wrestling game EVER created. Attitude Error is genius. The game control are the best yet for a wrestling game. The creation portion of the game is incredible. The only thing this game is missing is a little more control on creating your own leagues, but there is enough there to have fun with that. If THQ builds upon WWE 13, I can't wait to see whats in store for WWE 14. Expand
  8. Nov 1, 2012
    9
    so let me just start by saying that if you are not a wrestling fan then you will more than likely not like this game no matter what you hear about it.
    The attitude era that fans know and love is what makes wwe 13 great. it's fun to relive those moments and discover some you may not have remembered. wwe 12 succeeds in strides from its predessesors in terms of storyline. Having the attitude
    era as the backbone of the game is a smart decision by the developers because quite simply the past wwe games have failed miserably in this department. Gameplay is unchanged from wwe 12. in case you havent played last years, the mechanics are a bit frustrating at first but after a couple of matches the controls click. for example: A button is used grapple, from the grapple position you can choose to switch to another position by flicking the right thumbstick. from there you can perform various moves by using the left thumbstick together with the A button. There is tons of unlockables that will keep the hardcore fans entertained for months. Not to mention having online play to keep the game spinning on your xbox till next year. Online play has some matchmaking issues that hopefully will be fixed soon via a patch.
    So wrestling fans if you have the cash buy this game without hesitating as you well not regret it. If you are not a wrestling fan i suggest waiting or just renting it as you will probably not have enough patience for the learning curve of the game.
    Expand
  9. Oct 31, 2012
    10
    Best Wrestling game Ever!!!!!!!!!!Best Wrestling game Ever!!!!!!!!!!Best Wrestling game Ever!!!!!!!!!!Best Wrestling game Ever!!!!!!!!!!Best Wrestling game Ever!!!!!!!!!!Best Wrestling game Ever!!!!!!!!!!Best Wrestling game Ever!!!!!!!!!!Best Wrestling game Ever!!!!!!!!!!Best Wrestling game Ever!!!!!!!!!!Best Wrestling game Ever!!!!!!!!!!Best Wrestling game Ever!!!!!!!!!!Best Wrestling game Ever!!!!!!!!!!Best Wrestling game Ever!!!!!!!!!!Best Wrestling game Ever!!!!!!!!!!Best Wrestling game Ever!!!!!!!!!! That is all .... Expand
  10. Nov 1, 2012
    9
    Great wrestling game, not a massive step up in terms of game play from WWE '12 but the predator 3.0 is a improvement somewhat, including the reliance on reversals. The inclusion of the attitude era wrestlers and story lines is what the game should be bought for though, great to have a bash around with friends and the campaign is a lot of fun. The Special guest referee inclusion is also something I welcomed back. Expand
  11. Nov 5, 2012
    9
    A slightly better game than WWE '12, in terms of the plethora of stuff to do. All the custom creators are untouched, WWE Universe is untouched. Which is a good thing. WWE '13 will definitely be a hit with wrestling fans of the 90's Attitude Era; the whole story mode is now a 'play as you relive/learn history' mode set in said Era.
    Animations have improved slightly, there's more fluidity
    in the connecting/reversal moves; albeit still some glitches at the ropes and with foreign objects.
    Overall, WWE '13's value is solely on nostalgia which is something worthwhile for people like myself, who slugged for hours on WWF Attitude for the PS One.
    Expand
  12. Oct 30, 2012
    10
    Great game. Long live the Attitude Era, awesome to relive some of the greatest matches in the history of wrestling. Significant improvements over last year in many areas. The Rock rules!
  13. Oct 30, 2012
    10
    this game is amazing, only true wrestling fans will love it cause those that aren't will just be nit picking everything. anyone that gets this game, will have a great time. especially with the amazing gameplay. WWE'13 is WAY better than last years terrible WWE'12 game. WWE'13 is the game THQ should be making more of instead of the BS that was WWE'12. THQ is finally heading in the right direction.
  14. Oct 30, 2012
    10
    this is the most bolsawood game ever! it makes wwe 12 look like pencil shavings. i'm a hungry hungry homer and i ate wwe 13 for breakfast. this game is so fun it makes me want to peel oranges.
  15. Oct 30, 2012
    9
    Great Game if you like wrestling great bringing Attitude Era improvement over last years game THQ heading the right way Its great they brought the guest Referee match back one problem ist he lags glitches sometimes online
  16. Dec 1, 2012
    10
    Contrary to others beliefs, I believe the game play is the best there is and the best there was, and certainly not the best there ever will be. Modes are great, vast improvements to WWE Universe for extra customization, unbelievable Attitude Era mode, graphics are fantastic and the Creative Suite is a haven for WWE fans. Although features are as dull as Tensai's gimmick, the better features keep them shadowed so hopefully they can be improved for WWE '14. Expand
  17. Dec 22, 2012
    10
    Firstly... this is the BEST wrestling game ever! Attitude era mode, creation modes and even more! This is why this game deserves a 10/10. WWE '13 is constantly getting high ratings due to the features but even though the gameplay hasn't changed much from last year, its only been a year just like what you'd expect with a FIFA or Madden game; same gameplay every year!
  18. Oct 31, 2012
    0
    Being a big wrestling fan, i'm always anticipating the next WWE game (even if i'm not as big of a fan of them). Every year the game comes out, I play it endlessly, like it for a few weeks and can't seem to get into it afterwards. This year, though time will tell, we may have a game that I could play for a while. I love the new Attitude Era mode, finally getting rid of their boring Road to Wrestlemania. WWE Universe is back and looks better than anything they've done with it, after virtually leaving it untouched in last years game. The gameplay itself is a bit slower than in years past, and maybe that's a good thing. I haven't tried out the online mode but i'm sure that's still the same mess as in years past, so I won't even include that in this review. The roster is certainly at its best since Smackdown: HCTP, so many wrestlers to choose from. I've only found about 2 flaws so far (i'm sure there are more) with gameplay and Attitude Era mode. The gameplay still has some bugs, some AI issues, but these are things that could be fixed with an eventual patch. As for Attitude Era mode, the objectives can be somewhat tedious and if you end up playing on Legend difficulty, they can be ridiculous to get and you'll find yourself restarting the match a couple of times. No more complaining, WWE 13 is great. Collapse
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 46 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 46
  2. Negative: 0 out of 46
  1. Jan 24, 2013
    80
    This is a must for fans from the Monday Night Wars period. [Feb 2013, p.81]
  2. Jan 6, 2013
    80
    Simplified contextual controls and overall polish make WWE '13 fast, dynamic and fluent. The number of graphical glitches during fights was considerably reduced and the fighting system is still deep enough to keep things interesting. [1/2013, p.68]
  3. Dec 17, 2012
    60
    Despite its niggles, WWE Universe is a terrifically flexible mode that offers endless hours of enjoyment for the committed. For the more casual player, and the lapsed wrestling fans WWE 13 is aiming for, the main draw is the Attitude Era mode. It's flawed, sure, but many of its foibles can be forgiven when you're playing out moments that recall a time when professional wrestling was fresh, fierce and relevant.