Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 43 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 43
  2. Negative: 0 out of 43
  1. Oct 28, 2013
    87
    It still lacks the brains to deliver competent AI and commentators, but WWE 2K14 has more than enough brawn to make up for it.
  2. Oct 28, 2013
    60
    It's a shame the wrestling isn't up to par in WWE 2K14 because the elements surrounding it are so interesting.
  3. Oct 28, 2013
    80
    2K14 complements its historical angle with deep mechanics. 2K’s first stab at sports entertainment is a lot of fun (especially for history buffs), but the feeling of déjà vu left me wanting the developer to move the full experience forward with the same enthusiasm that it embraced the past.
  4. Oct 29, 2013
    83
    Honestly, there is very little to complain about with WWE 2K14 as it provides a massive roster, even more massive modes of play, and game play that while not as perfect as Curt Hennig, is as good as fans have seen in quite some time.
  5. Oct 31, 2013
    70
    WWE 2K14 is a safe start for 2K Sports as a publisher for the series, but it lays a fairly strong foundation for future entries and leaves room for growth as the franchise moves into the next-generation.
  6. Nov 27, 2013
    76
    2K14 won't wow you with high risks, but it's still a contender. [Christmas 2013, p.70]
  7. Nov 6, 2013
    82
    The first WWE published from 2K Sports has the same pros and cons of the saga and will entertain all the fans.
  8. Oct 28, 2013
    70
    WWE 2K14 is at its best celebrating WWE history, so it’s forgivable that the game wants to hang on to its recent past instead of blazing a trail to the future. In a transition year like this one, it works as a fitting capper to another gaming generation of wrasslin’. However, 2K hopefully has something more original in the pipeline.
  9. Oct 28, 2013
    85
    It's as good as last year's episode, but the 30 years of Wrestlemania mode is an addition that every fan will enjoy. Also, if you're not a fan of this show, having so many legends available might be a good reason to give it a try.
  10. Nov 4, 2013
    80
    The gameplay improvements make it at least worth a rental if you’re a bit jaded towards the series, but give it a few days and you’ll likely be won over by just how big a difference the small changes make in actually having great matches.
  11. 75
    With WWE 2K14’s comprehensive roster and WrestleMania fan service, it’s hard not to find something to dig your teeth into à la George “The Animal” Steele on a turnbuckle. Still, we’ve seen the series tell better stories and work better between the ropes, making it tough not to notice the flaws in what might be the last dedicated current-gen match.
  12. Nov 11, 2013
    75
    The WWE series is ready for its major heel turn, here’s hoping that a new publishing home and a new generation of consoles will give it the shot in the arm it needs.
  13. Oct 30, 2013
    70
    A well-rounded spectacle that serves up something for most wrestling fans.
  14. Oct 29, 2013
    80
    A really good new iteration of the classic WWE franchise now rebranded into WWE 2K. Plenty of options, new and great game modes and a very deep roster makes for an enjoyable wrestling sim.
  15. Nov 11, 2013
    90
    All in all, I'm a huge fan of WWE 2K14 and am excited to see what we can look forward to on the next generation consoles. A few more tweaks and a shinier coat of polish and we'll be talking about how the WWE 2K franchise is as much of a must-have for all sports fans.
  16. Oct 28, 2013
    90
    WWE 2K14 lets me be creative, it told me a wonderful story of titans colliding, and gave me the gift of being a kid again. 2K Sports really picked the ball up and ran with it.
  17. Mar 11, 2014
    81
    Wrestlemania makes the day. [Dec 2013]
  18. Oct 28, 2013
    75
    A not-so-popular sports game here in Europe with lots of potential. Even though there are some minor flaws when playing this game, this game is absolutely amazing. With lots of game modes, lots of possibilities and everything you can think of that should be in a wrestling game, this game is a game worth trying.
  19. Oct 31, 2013
    60
    No evidence of the 2K effect can be spotted playing WWE 2K14. Yuke's has tried to change something for both graphics and gameplay but the final result is a clumsy and hardly balanced experience. Just wait for WWE 2K15.
  20. Oct 31, 2013
    60
    The change of publisher has not yet ensured a change in quality for WWE games, although the 30 Years of WrestleMania mode is definitely of interest for long term fans.
  21. Oct 28, 2013
    80
    WWE 2K14 is one of the best wrestling games. Simple and effective gameplay, has the best tribute ever made to Wrestlemania and its generous in modes and possibilities. However, it has Poor netcode again and could be improved in visuals.
  22. Nov 6, 2013
    85
    WWE 2K14 isn’t a huge improvement over WWE ’13. It does a great job of representing the events of past WrestleManias, however, packing a roster that has almost as many legends as modern superstars - it might even rely too much on nostalgic appeal.
  23. 70
    We'll find out next year if WWE's stable-change to 2K really changes the world of digital man-squeezing, but for now, like Wrestlemania, WWE 2K14 is a comforting combo of familiarity and nonsense.
  24. Nov 14, 2013
    60
    WWE 2K14 does the job, as usually, with a LOT of content, especially this year with the WWE 30th birthday. But the game still suffers flaws on the graphical, technical and gameplay sides. It seems like this series needs a competitor to surpass itself and move forward.
  25. 60
    30 Years of Wrestlemania is brilliant but that aside, this is exactly the same WWE sequel you would have expected from the house of THQ. [Issue#105, p.86]
  26. Nov 13, 2013
    70
    Old graphics, poor commentary and poor AI aside, this is sure to keep any WWE-fan entertained.
  27. Nov 6, 2013
    81
    It is a nice stroll down memory lane through 30 years of WrestleMania history. Unfortunately the publisher change didn’t result in a change of direction yet.
  28. Nov 5, 2013
    83
    WWE 2K14 isn’t really doing anything new. The combat system, which works well, has hardly been altered, it looks pretty much the same as its predecessor and has a few old quirks here and there. But whoever wants to throw themselves at all the available content, is going to have a good time with WWE 2K14.
  29. Oct 28, 2013
    80
    2K14 most definitely satisfies whatever nostalgia I had for Wrestlemania's history, and I expect will provide ample enough amusement between now and next year's installment. But come next year, I'm considerably less certain that another entry just like 2K14 will be similarly satisfying.
  30. Nov 11, 2013
    60
    More of an update to the 2012 edition than a new game per se. Vicarious Visions and Yuke's need to try harder and bring us a truly fresh game next year.
User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 87 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 28
  2. Negative: 6 out of 28
  1. Oct 30, 2013
    10
    I have spent about over 5 hours with this game and I must that I am thoroughly impressed! You will read about all of the new featuresI have spent about over 5 hours with this game and I must that I am thoroughly impressed! You will read about all of the new features elsewhere, so there's no need to elaborate about them here, so let me tell you the biggest selling point of this game IMPROVED AI! I've been playing on Legend Difficulty and it feels like Legend Difficulty. I've only won 25% of my matches. Trust me when I say this is a good thing. In past iterations of this game, I would stop playing after a few months because there was no challenge. WWE2K14 requires you to play to your wrestler's strengths. That fact alone makes this game a must buy for anyone on the fence who may have thought that your older WWE game was good enough. If you want a WWE game to give you the same challenge as any other quality sport game Get WWE 2K14. Full Review »
  2. Nov 14, 2013
    1
    I'm not naive, i know most of you will see the low score and dismiss it, due to the other high scores. You would be wrong. Save yourself £40I'm not naive, i know most of you will see the low score and dismiss it, due to the other high scores. You would be wrong. Save yourself £40 and read this first (I know its long, but if you can't cope with that much writing, this game is probably right up your street).

    Typically this game has a high score in terms of reviews. Why? possibly because the only people who play it love WWE or don't want to criticise a game they just spent £40 on. I dod not just spend £40 on it, and i do not love wrestling. I played Smackdown v Raw, the original. It was ok.
    WWE 2k14 then, is it worth £40? No. What about £30? Nope. Surely £20? Still, wouldn't even take a second glance. £10 bargain..no?
    No. I wouldnt pay even a fiver for this bag of utter garbage. I have never played such a clunky game. And that includes Resident Evil 5.
    So where to begin? First off, lets start with basic gameplay. This game may as well be point and click. Move close to opponent, press 'a' for grapple move, 'x' to punch, or 'b' to irish whip. Repeat. 'Y' for a finisher, 'b to pin. end. Unless of course you are playing against the AI on any difficulty other than easy. In which case they will reverse and you will be forced to repeat the same scenario again...and again...and again, until finally you win or lose. Half the time it feels like a lottery, what happens is totally up to the mood of the computer. so, the AI is second rate at best, what about when you fancy a bit of a bashing of your mates? Nothing, thats what. Controls feel even more clunky than on single player; attacking the target you aimed for is nigh on impossible, especially when there are more than 3 of you in the ring. there is no accurate system for aiming, no way of stopping yourself once you inevitably attack the wrong player, and, unless you know your wrestlers by their appearance over the years no way of determining quite who you are playing as. So not the most friendly of games to anyone new to the series.
    As much as anyone can argue "it will keep a WWE fan entertained", that certainly does not mean it is a good game. By that logic 'Shinty 2010' (i just made that up) will keep anyone who loves shinty happy. Just because a game caters for a small amount of obscure sports fans does not make it good.
    The frankly awful graphics and laziness of the developers also deserve a mention. 2K games have made a fantastic job of pressing copy and paste on their computers. No different to last years final THQ instalment. Graphically, 2K have been presented with the task of creating around 50 wrestlers, and significantly fewer rings. Seriously, thats not much to ask. FIFA do thousands of players and around 50 stadiums every year and make it look pretty.
    Graphical and gameplay ineptitude aside, the game is brilliant in every sense, which in a game this basic is... none.
    To conclude then, if this is your first foray into the world of wrestling, simply dont. Its not for you. the game difficulty is ridiculous, unless you play on easy, in which case its practically impossible to lose. This is the clunkiest game released since... well, WWE 2013. Until someone comes up with a revolution in the wrestling genre, none of the current crop of them are worth throwing your hard earned cash at. Poor graphics, clunky gameplay, a dumb learning curve and the most basic controls in a game make this one to leave on the shelf. In its thousands.
    Yes, there are many positive reviews... but they all come from people who have played many previous games in the series, or wrestling fans, or people who have spent a whole lot of money on the game, and don't want to admit they have wasted their money.

    My advice, and i've been playing video games for the past 19 years, is to steer well clear. If you really want to get into the wrestling franchise, or simply want a taste of what the WWE games have to offer, save yourself £38 and buy WWE 2007 for £2.00 from your local second hand games shop. Even then i can't guarantee its good value.
    1/10 Painfully Poor.
    Full Review »
  3. Nov 3, 2013
    2
    What is terrible is it has been two years still with no WWE wrestling on the Wii U. WWE 2k14 gets a horrible rating from me because it is aWhat is terrible is it has been two years still with no WWE wrestling on the Wii U. WWE 2k14 gets a horrible rating from me because it is a port of WWE 13. Than rather improve the create your superstar feature. They waste data on relive the moments. I care less about the past. Full Review »