User Score
5.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 68 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 68
  2. Negative: 30 out of 68

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 27, 2011
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. By far the worst X-Men game ever made. It is sad that this ever got past a concept design. The voice acting is awful, the graphics are early X360 at best, even the subtitles don't match the voice dialogue. Furthermore, the designers had little to no background on the X-Men other than the NPC characters. Silicon Knights didn't do any homework. They barely put an effort into this for a good game. Do you get to choose X-Men/Brotherhood? Yes. Do any other choices make a difference? No, it's simply dumb dialogue. Apparently suits grant powers in this game too. What?

    If you REALLY are an X-Men/Marvel/Comic fan, I would say rent this at best. Mostly to just see how they ruined some favorite characters and concepts (like Nightcrawler. Lets give Kurt some dreadlocks and hippie rings on his tail). Anyone else, it is your money, and you can do as you want with it. But it is not anywhere close to a 9, or even a 5 at that. It's glitchy and even sluggish at times.
    Expand
  2. Oct 3, 2011
    2
    X-Men: Destiny had such great promise; unfortunately it failed dismally in delivering on it...

    You start out by choosing one of three youngsters oblivious to their mutant abilities and predictably once a horrific event takes place you discover you them. Throughout the course of the game you make various choices to help you expand upon these abilities. To keep it simple the game uses a
    X-Men: Destiny had such great promise; unfortunately it failed dismally in delivering on it...

    You start out by choosing one of three youngsters oblivious to their mutant abilities and predictably once a horrific event takes place you discover you them. Throughout the course of the game you make various choices to help you expand upon these abilities. To keep it simple the game uses a mix of choices at key moments and a simple "Power branch system" in order to define what powers you utilise and which you will expand on. This sounds fantastic, but it's not really. The main power choices are pretty limited and result in much the same thing whichever way you go. The "Sub Powers" allow you to define the type of attack and defence modifiers each of your chosen powers has, e.g. Pyro's fire or Colossusâ
    Expand
  3. Sep 28, 2011
    2
    instead of a sequel to Eternal Darkness we get this? Total crap, it's like a title like Mass Effect with low cost budget values. Just skip it until it's 25.00 bucks or less anything more is a crime against the human world.
  4. Sep 29, 2011
    0
    I cannot believe for the life of me there are actual users giving this crapfest 9's & 10's LOL My god the gaming industry is in trouble with robots like this. You have to be a serious Marvel, X-men, or Silicon Knights fanboy to believe this game to be any good. The story sucks, The gameplay sucks, The dialogue sucks, The characters suck. The Jock doesn't hesistate to tell you how he's aI cannot believe for the life of me there are actual users giving this crapfest 9's & 10's LOL My god the gaming industry is in trouble with robots like this. You have to be a serious Marvel, X-men, or Silicon Knights fanboy to believe this game to be any good. The story sucks, The gameplay sucks, The dialogue sucks, The characters suck. The Jock doesn't hesistate to tell you how he's a jock in every sentence. Despite it already being clear by him randomly wearing a jock shirt and tossing a football at a rally. Don't even get me started on the bipolar Adrian "I'm not a mutant! oh wait yeah i am! no i'm not again! im betraying my father!"

    What little RPG elements it has sucks. Basicaly this game was a good idea. Wrong developer to execute it. The game shouldve been canceled. I'm amazed that they actualy published this as a full retail game. Steer clear from this atrocity. Its worse than Prototype FAR WORSE. As for the gamers giving it 9's.....raise your standards.....much much higher.
    Expand
  5. Sep 29, 2011
    4
    Once every so often, you sit down with a game with so much promise that it almost makes you squeal like a little girl. This is what XM:D will do for many video game/ comic book geeks. You play as a NEW MUTANT? You get to PICK HIS/HER POWERS? Sign me up! The only issue we have here is a middling developer with no direction pumping out at an Activision-like pace, and in the end we get aOnce every so often, you sit down with a game with so much promise that it almost makes you squeal like a little girl. This is what XM:D will do for many video game/ comic book geeks. You play as a NEW MUTANT? You get to PICK HIS/HER POWERS? Sign me up! The only issue we have here is a middling developer with no direction pumping out at an Activision-like pace, and in the end we get a thinly veiled excuse for a generic beat-em-up. Silicon Knights, whoâ Expand
  6. Oct 24, 2011
    4
    After seeing some late-stage videos of this game before release, I figured it would be a huge letdown. Lo and behold, its even worse than I expected. It looks, plays, and is presented like an average PS2 game at best. The character models are horrendous, the game can be beaten with using all basic attacks, for the most part. Little customization is present, and the customization that isAfter seeing some late-stage videos of this game before release, I figured it would be a huge letdown. Lo and behold, its even worse than I expected. It looks, plays, and is presented like an average PS2 game at best. The character models are horrendous, the game can be beaten with using all basic attacks, for the most part. Little customization is present, and the customization that is there is overly simple. It's as if Silicon Knights took Marvel: Ultimate Alliance 2 and somehow made it worse. Maybe someday we'll get a decent X-Men game.....? Expand
  7. Oct 3, 2011
    1
    I have been an X-Men fan most of my life, I was looking forward to this game. When I found out Silicon Knights were making this game I knew it was doomed to suck (Too Human-Sucked big-time). I was hoping for a game that allowed the player to shape every aspect of the characters development, I dislike having an "RPG" with the choice taken away and watered-down. Repetitive game shows a lazyI have been an X-Men fan most of my life, I was looking forward to this game. When I found out Silicon Knights were making this game I knew it was doomed to suck (Too Human-Sucked big-time). I was hoping for a game that allowed the player to shape every aspect of the characters development, I dislike having an "RPG" with the choice taken away and watered-down. Repetitive game shows a lazy uninterested developer in my opinion. I am looking for a superhero game more like The Elder Scrolls 4, mixed with some elements of Infamous. It looks like I will be waiting for a long time. Expand
  8. Oct 15, 2011
    4
    This game is pretty much a substandard ps2/xbox game. The graphics are pretty terrible (and not just because it is a comic game). I completed the game in about 6 hours and while it does have the appeal of trying again with a different character the facts that: a) you've got to watch every single video and dialogue again and b) you only keep your powers earned if you restart with the sameThis game is pretty much a substandard ps2/xbox game. The graphics are pretty terrible (and not just because it is a comic game). I completed the game in about 6 hours and while it does have the appeal of trying again with a different character the facts that: a) you've got to watch every single video and dialogue again and b) you only keep your powers earned if you restart with the same character, takes the appeal right back out of playing again.

    Also you will find yourself constantly just pressing xxy xxy xxy xxy xxy with the occasional b. I must admit I love comic games but I felt really disappointed with this one and just had to sell it on.

    Basically its what you would expect if going back in time to play at the arcades. (like the old turtles game)
    Expand
  9. Feb 11, 2012
    4
    I played through the game from beginning to end and was not impressed. In fact, I want my money back as I beat the entire game in under six hours without even really trying. Not only that but i got almost all of the achievements possible in the game. All in one play through. It's a neat concept, creating your own character with their own powers that you choose. The reality of this gameI played through the game from beginning to end and was not impressed. In fact, I want my money back as I beat the entire game in under six hours without even really trying. Not only that but i got almost all of the achievements possible in the game. All in one play through. It's a neat concept, creating your own character with their own powers that you choose. The reality of this game however is that you only have a choice of three powers and three premade characters to choose from. It really doesn't matter which character or which power set you choose, you'll still end up mashing the same button over and over the entire game. The voice dialog is terrible and a tad confusing. You're given "choices" to determine which side you want to be with, but the choices are meaningless and don't affect ANYTHING except the ending which is either the good guys or the bad guys cut scene. I will admit the game was a little bit fun the first play through, but definitely not worth $60 which is why I gave this game a 4. My advice: Don't pay full price for this game. Wait until it's in the bargain bin for ten bucks or less. Then it'll be worth picking up. Collapse
  10. Nov 10, 2011
    0
    Cette revue contient des spoilers, cliquez sur l'expansion de vue. De loin le pire des X-Men jeu jamais réalisé. Il est triste que cette dernière jamais obtenu un concept de design. Les doublages est terrible, les graphismes sont au début X360, au mieux, même les sous-titres ne correspondent pas au dialogue vocal. ParCette revue contient des spoilers, cliquez sur l'expansion de vue. De loin le pire des X-Men jeu jamais réalisé. Il est triste que cette dernière jamais obtenu un concept de design. Les doublages est terrible, les graphismes sont au début X360, au mieux, même les sous-titres ne correspondent pas au dialogue vocal. Par ailleurs, les concepteurs avaient peu ou pas de fond sur les X-Men autres que les personnages NPC. Silicon Knights n'a pas fait de devoirs. Ils ont à peine faire un effort dans ce pour un bon match. Avez-vous de choisir X-Men/Brotherhood? Oui. Est-ce que d'autres choix font la différence? Non, c'est tout simplement un dialogue muet. Apparemment costumes accorder des pouvoirs dans ce jeu aussi. Qu'est-ce? Si vous êtes vraiment un fan X-Men/Marvel/Comic, je dirais que louer cette au mieux. Assez pour voir juste comment ils ont ruiné certains personnages préférés et les concepts (comme Nightcrawler. Permet donner dreadlocks et Kurt certains anneaux hippie sur sa queue). N'importe qui d'autre, c'est votre argent, et vous pouvez faire comme vous voulez avec elle. Mais ce n'est pas n'importe où près d'un neuf, ou même d'un 5 à cela. C'est glitchy et même lent à certains moments Expand
  11. Jun 30, 2012
    1
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I got this game when it first came out and if I had known about this site then, I would've have warned to many people about this crap. I would have told everyone to take this game, stick it in a bag, set i on fire, leave it on a neighbor's door step so they stamp it out, then take remains, put it on rocket, and send it into the nearest black hole. I don't think that not being able to create your own character was a bad thing as long as the characters given had excellent back story, great development, and were memorable. The only reason I do remember them is because they were so bad. Only Aimi and Adrian had decent backgrounds when I was looking into the game, but when I saw their background story, only Adrian's held a fraction of my interest and they just didn't take it anywhere. None of their stories, which were the not only the same events but majorly the same dialogue with the people you interacted with, stood out in any way. And the worst thing is when someone said something to one person and it didn't make sense, it would if you chose another person ( Ex: Emma mentions significant others in the beginning of the game but only means anything when said in Grants' story). The fighting was your basic beat em up with your mix of quick and heavy attacks and special attacks which you choose at certain points in the game. But there is no real need to switch up your fighting style unless you are doing a time attack mission, because the block and counter system destroys the need for them and you hardly fight too many enemies are difficult enemies that will make you need them. They try to change it up by giving your hero the ability to hook up three other mutant powers which can be enhanced when all are equipped and use with their respective costumes. As I said before, the only reason you would use them is because you want to use them, not because you need them. Even the boss fights don't require you to use your specials unless you are bored toying with them. Heck, fighting Magneto loses it's appeal when you realize that for being the most dangerous mutant around, all he is capable of doing with all the metal is throw them at you. The final boss fight is the worst as he is using the same attack style as a boss you've fought twice before and realize that there are canon fodder enemies who have the same attack style. Only difference is that he has a three mutant powers at his disposal when he has his choice of hundreds if not thousands. The graphics are not even worth talking about, you've seen the commercials. The frame rate is sluggish and the cut scenes at the end of the games get really crappy. The dialogues for everyone is just bad. I'd expect more from people working with Marvel. The music is good, if you can hear it over the sounds of your powers and everyone getting their butts kicked. The voice acting didn't make me want to rip my ears off so there's that. The overall story reminded me too much of Marvel Ultimate Alliance 2 for me to appreciate it. So it wasn't bad, but it didn't stand out on its own either. Each of the characters you interacted with didn't seem to stand out on their own either. It's like they found the base characteristics of that character and that's what we got; no real thoughts of their own just acting off of a script of how they should be. The quests in the game were all just survival, beat this many enemies, one escort, and maybe three time attacks. And the X-Men, Brotherhood missions were all the same except you were doing it with a member of the X-Men or the Brotherhood. And for a game of choice, I felt as if the game was trying really hard to make you a member of the X-Men. You dealt with more of their characters than the Brotherhood, and at times they felt like they were giving you a choice even if they disapproved of it. The times you could deal with the Brotherhood, you joined because you wanted to, not because they gave a compelling argument or showed how their way of doing things yield better results. Not like choosing one or the other meant anything. The game stayed on the course and didn't spit at any points until the end of the game in which you make your final choice or when you choose to give Gambit the vial of Mutant DNA or have Colossus destroy it. Either way, you still go back to the X-Men. And even at the end where you choose either the X-Men or the Brotherhood, all you get is a new costume, Aimi's was the best, a cut scene where either Magneto or Cyclops destroys a sentinel, and the end which has the same dialogue from the other characters but the character you choose can say their own things but get majorly the same answers throughout each ending. And all of these problems are cleverly crammed into 5-6 hours in the game so you can play the game in 30 hrs to see every little problem this game has. Trust me though, you don't need that long to see how bad this game is. I wouldn't even recommend this to Marvel fans. Expand
  12. Feb 11, 2012
    0
    I played through the game from beginning to end and was not impressed. In fact, I want my money back as I beat the entire game in under six hours without even really trying. Not only that but i got almost all of the achievements possible in the game. All in one play through. It's a neat concept, creating your own character with their own powers that you choose. The reality of this gameI played through the game from beginning to end and was not impressed. In fact, I want my money back as I beat the entire game in under six hours without even really trying. Not only that but i got almost all of the achievements possible in the game. All in one play through. It's a neat concept, creating your own character with their own powers that you choose. The reality of this game however is that you only have a choice of three powers and three premade characters to choose from. It really doesn't matter which character or which power set you choose, you'll still end up mashing the same button over and over the entire game. The voice dialog is terrible and a tad confusing. You're given "choices" to determine which side you want to be with, but the choices are meaningless and don't affect ANYTHING except the ending which is either the good guys or the bad guys cut scene. I will admit the game was a little bit fun the first play through, but definitely not worth $60 which is why I gave this game a 4. My advice: Don't pay full price for this game. Wait until it's in the bargain bin for ten bucks or less. Then it'll be worth picking up. Collapse
Metascore
47

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 51 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 51
  2. Negative: 25 out of 51
  1. 50
    Destiny promised to bring a lot of choices – side to choose, moral choices… but despite on how you decide, the game won't change – you will beat hundreds and hundreds similar enemies. [Dec 2011]
  2. Dec 12, 2011
    50
    Between those passive tendencies, the lack of strategic combat, a smattering of trite escort missions and the lack of much R in the RPG equation, the total X-Men Destiny package ends up kind of boring. It would've been nice to see Silicon Knights right its up-ended ship, but this game makes me seriously wonder if the studio's ship has already sailed.
  3. Nov 30, 2011
    40
    It is an amateurish approach to see a waste of the X-Men: Destiny game's potential. It is a pity that another game title of the famous comics brand did not work out and that the reasons to play it can be counted on four fingers of a single hand.