User Score
5.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 16 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 16
  2. Negative: 7 out of 16

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. DarrenD.
    Oct 1, 2007
    4
    Rent it for a laugh and plow through Wolverines hordes of repetetive enemies.....Boring.
  2. GioD
    Feb 22, 2008
    6
    X-Men: The Official Game, where to begin??? Developed by Z-Axis (who did all of Acclaims extreme sports titles like BMX XXX, and Aggresive Inline) got the reins to make this title. Well personally, i didnt think it was bad but it wasnt great either. You get to control 3 X-Men Wolverine, Iceman, and Nightcrawler. Whats cool is that all 3 play tremendously different from one another. RightX-Men: The Official Game, where to begin??? Developed by Z-Axis (who did all of Acclaims extreme sports titles like BMX XXX, and Aggresive Inline) got the reins to make this title. Well personally, i didnt think it was bad but it wasnt great either. You get to control 3 X-Men Wolverine, Iceman, and Nightcrawler. Whats cool is that all 3 play tremendously different from one another. Right off the bat my least favorite character to play with was Wolverine and it doesnt make it any better that he is the the one you play with the most. Now i can understand that since your Wolverine your missions would consist of destroying and brawling, but would it be too much trouble if maybe Wolvie had more than 3-4 combos? The guy has barely any moves whatsoever. What the hells up with that?! Yeah definately my least favorite. Moving on to Iceman, i actually enjoyed Icemans levels, his levels remind me of Panzer Dragoon in which you stay airborn (courtesy of your forever forming ice slide), shooting down enemies and the like. What i didnt like about his levels is that there freakin' timed! God i hate timed levels...but otherwise there pretty fun. Which brings us to Nightcrawler. Loved playin with 'crawler. His levels are very fun cause you can "bamf" pretty much anywhere you like and kick the hell out of bad guys. Pros- Graphics are very good, contol is tight, voice overs are done by the actual actors, Iceman levels, Nightcrawler levels. Cons-Wolverine has barely any moves, Wolverine levels, anytime you play with Wolverine, game consist mostly of Wolvierine. Overall, decent first try for Z-Axis. Decent time killer...just prepare yourself for those Wolverine levels... Expand
  3. MikeG.
    May 17, 2006
    5
    all i can say is rent.
  4. ReelWorld
    May 17, 2006
    7
    An enjoyable romp of a video game. Graphics are very well done. The camera angles tend to get a tad wonky at times, and the combat can seem a tad repetitive, but if you want a mindless beat them up movie based action game, give this a try. Teleporting behind an enemy and drop kicking him in the head is a load of fun!
  5. NeilV.
    Jun 6, 2006
    7
    Decent, particularly for X-Men fanatics. All of the criticisms are well deserved, but I definitely found the game to be a fairly enjoyable (though mindless) way to kill time.
  6. ChristoA.
    Jun 8, 2006
    9
    A real great game if you are a fan of the series. Makes you feel like you're one of them.
  7. JustinS.
    Jul 8, 2006
    3
    Do not buy this game. Period. If you want to play this game, $8 at blockbuster is the most you should spend. I would estimate that the total gameplay time was about 6 hours. The difference between easy and medium difficulties is far too large. On medium ("hero'') some of the levels are impossible but on easy ("novice") it is barely a challenge. The three characters are Do not buy this game. Period. If you want to play this game, $8 at blockbuster is the most you should spend. I would estimate that the total gameplay time was about 6 hours. The difference between easy and medium difficulties is far too large. On medium ("hero'') some of the levels are impossible but on easy ("novice") it is barely a challenge. The three characters are Wolverine, Iceman, and Nightcrawler. Wolverine's missions are nothing but brawls against hoards of annoying, repetitive enemies. I don't understand how with this gameplay style there could only be two weak combo moves. Most of it is incredibly lame. All Iceman does is fly around on an everlasting sheet of ice, and that quickly gets boring. The only bright spot here is Nightcrawler, his missions are actually somewhat fun to play. Being able to teleport anywhere and zooming in and out to kick enemies is pretty entertaining. This was the first game I played on my Xbox 360 and I was severely dissapointed as there was nothing different or exciting about anything in this game. I was expecting realistic dramatic cut-scenes, but instead the game delivers comic-book style art that is nothing but confusing. If this game had come out 5 years ago, it would have been bad, but to put this quality out now is just unacceptable. Expand
  8. JesseR.
    May 17, 2006
    2
    One of the worst games I have ever played. I am just grateful that I rented it instead of buying.
  9. FoneyJ.
    May 18, 2006
    2
    is this day an age a standard generic movie tie in game doesnt cut it come to think of it ,99.95% of all movie tie in games have never cut it ......... just awful rent it only to see how bad it is or if achivement points are your thing.
  10. Dec 12, 2012
    4
    Where should I begin with X-Men: The Official Game? Should I start off by telling you about the terrible story line this game tries to tell? How about the graphics that are extremely outdated even for 2006? This game is a joke to anyone who is a fan of the X-Men series. The only reason I have given it a four is because the controls were responsive, at least. Much of the rest of the game isWhere should I begin with X-Men: The Official Game? Should I start off by telling you about the terrible story line this game tries to tell? How about the graphics that are extremely outdated even for 2006? This game is a joke to anyone who is a fan of the X-Men series. The only reason I have given it a four is because the controls were responsive, at least. Much of the rest of the game is unable to live up to the expectations of even a nine year old. The story is butchered and is hardly able to be pieced together, the graphics are blurry and have no texture or substance, scenes during the game look cheesy and laughable at best. Every fighting scene in the game is repetitive and boring. Even people who love the X-Men series should steer clear of this game. Keep the dignity you deserve and please do not purchase or rent this title. Expand
Metascore
52

Mixed or average reviews - based on 57 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 57
  2. Negative: 20 out of 57
  1. 45
    Thanks to some horribly generic gameplay and uninspired combat, it ends up continuing the disappointing trend of movie license video games.
  2. The three main characters are very detailed and authentic to their film counterparts. Wolverine is bigger than the others; Ice Man retains that young look, while Nightcrawler looks as weird as usual. The animation is solid, as well.
  3. The game explains a lot about what fans may not see in the upcoming movie, and while this is a departure from the previous squad-based titles, it is still a wonderful and enjoyable bit of fun.