User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 371 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 31 out of 371
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 11, 2016
    9
    Virtually a remake, albeit an updated one, of an almost twenty year old turn-based strategy game X-Com: Enemy Unknown is one of the most nerve-wracking games you’ll ever play. Cast as the commander of an underground base of soldiers designed to fight against a mysterious alien invasion the game really comes in two parts.

    The first part involves the actual day-to day running of the base,
    Virtually a remake, albeit an updated one, of an almost twenty year old turn-based strategy game X-Com: Enemy Unknown is one of the most nerve-wracking games you’ll ever play. Cast as the commander of an underground base of soldiers designed to fight against a mysterious alien invasion the game really comes in two parts.

    The first part involves the actual day-to day running of the base, ensuring sufficient weapons and resources are made available and making sure you can rely on each of the worlds governments for funding are just two examples of the many tasks that you will face. Within just a few hours some very difficult decisions have to be made as losing the support of a country can severely diminish the chances of success. Refreshingly X: Com resists holding the players hand and is quite happy to let you make a mistake early on that makes eventual success extremely difficult.
    The second part is a turn based squad tactical simulation that is more exciting than it sounds. Using an isometric view with a fully rotatable camera each soldier can perform two actions per turn from a set list, this usually means either moving or firing but each particular unit often has additional moves such as laying down covering fire that can also be selected. Real tension is added by the fact that should a unit be killed there is no to bringing them back, this is particularly painful when it happens to an experienced member of your squad that you’ve taken the trouble to level up, customise and even nickname.

    If ever a game proved that you don’t traditional endless cut scenes to provide an exciting, ongoing narrative then this is the game and even those usually adverse to the strategy genre may find X:Com an entertaining prospect.
    Expand
  2. Apr 17, 2017
    8
    Voilà une licence ressuscitée avec brio et intelligence presque 20 ans après et qui fera oublier sans remords aucun l'original ! l'interface à la manette a été très bien pensée et frise le sans faute. Certes, Firaxis ne maîtrise pas bien le moteur Unreal (on dirait une version d'il y a plusieurs années...) et les temps de chargement sont un peu longs eu égard à la petitesse des cartes maisVoilà une licence ressuscitée avec brio et intelligence presque 20 ans après et qui fera oublier sans remords aucun l'original ! l'interface à la manette a été très bien pensée et frise le sans faute. Certes, Firaxis ne maîtrise pas bien le moteur Unreal (on dirait une version d'il y a plusieurs années...) et les temps de chargement sont un peu longs eu égard à la petitesse des cartes mais qu'importe, l'ensemble reste correct graphiquement.

    Tout le concept du jeu original a été préservé et même optimisé sur bien des points. La partie gestion ne fait preuve d'aucune lourdeur excessive, on regrettera juste le manque de visibilité verticale en combat et la vue qui ne pivote que par quarts de tour. La campagne est bien menée et la mise en scène pour un jeu tactique de cet acabit fait plaisir à voir. Les décors sont destructibles et font partie intégrante des stratégies. La VF est soignée, même la musique se laisse écouter. En fait, dans le genre tour par tour, on ne fait tout simplement pas mieux que cet Xcom cuvée 2012. Un régal de tactique, ni plus ni moins.

    J'ai relancé le Xcom original de 1994 et il faut bien reconnaître que Firaxis a réussi un tour de force : l'original est atroce de lourdeur et son interface donne l'impression d'être en face d'un tableur. Quelques bugs et/ou omissions malgré tout dans ce Xcom revivifié : le fait de s'approcher d'une cible n'améliore pas les pourcentages de toucher et il arrive que les snipers ne voient carrément pas certaines cibles. Un plantage (mais juste un heureusement) est aussi à signaler.

    Autre point remarquable pour finir, le comportement de l'IA qui donne du fil à retordre (même en facile !) mais dont les réactions sont très crédibles. Beau travail, Firaxis.
    Expand
  3. Dec 12, 2012
    9
    Almost as good as the original. Visually it's stunning, but the game does feel a little restrained. The smaller maps & 6 man limit on a team did make it feel a little confined. The almost lack of UFO combat was a little disappointing, but not a big loss. Overall: For a modern day remake, I don't think I could have hoped for a better game. To whoever thought of Ironman mode =You're oneAlmost as good as the original. Visually it's stunning, but the game does feel a little restrained. The smaller maps & 6 man limit on a team did make it feel a little confined. The almost lack of UFO combat was a little disappointing, but not a big loss. Overall: For a modern day remake, I don't think I could have hoped for a better game. To whoever thought of Ironman mode =You're one sadistic bastard. Thank you. Expand
  4. Dec 9, 2012
    8
    Good game but insanely difficult, this remake of an early 90's game does everything well. While the characters may sound a bit cheesy at times, the core is the gameplay and to survive the invasion. However, you won't be surviving for too long as the game never lets up in it's intensity. You slowly go down a path of destruction and, while you may be able to deal with one or two problemsGood game but insanely difficult, this remake of an early 90's game does everything well. While the characters may sound a bit cheesy at times, the core is the gameplay and to survive the invasion. However, you won't be surviving for too long as the game never lets up in it's intensity. You slowly go down a path of destruction and, while you may be able to deal with one or two problems that crop up here and there, the game is built to make the player fail. Meaning, if you don't get through all the story objectives in a certain amount of time, you won't make it. Which is too bad since I enjoyed every aspect of the game and would have loved to have been able to explore each aspect thoroughly. The only other thing wrong with this game is that it's meant to be played on a PC. The game runs fine on the consoles but the way things are set up in the gameplay, you'd be better served if you were able to scroll across the map with a mouse at times. At times, it can be a bit overwhelming, but this is definitely the sleeper hit of the year for me. It's too bad it came out at a bad time or it might have gotten alot more attention. As it stands though, this is easily a game people should buy right now and enjoy for awhile. Just know that it's going to be very tough for newcomers. Expand
  5. Mar 10, 2013
    8
    XCOM: Enemy Unknown is great turn-based shooter game for the old XCOM fans and the new XCOM fans. Aliens have invaded earth and the XCOM prject ants to get rid of the aliens from earth in a not-so friendely way. Combat you make your choice t shoot, move, take extra cover and much more an you don't know whats going to happen. As the game goes on you can research better weapons, armour andXCOM: Enemy Unknown is great turn-based shooter game for the old XCOM fans and the new XCOM fans. Aliens have invaded earth and the XCOM prject ants to get rid of the aliens from earth in a not-so friendely way. Combat you make your choice t shoot, move, take extra cover and much more an you don't know whats going to happen. As the game goes on you can research better weapons, armour and some other stuff for your troops. To do that you need money from countries and you gotta choce what countries money you want and its impossible t save all the countries(i've tried). Your troops level up and become very powerful and if they die you feel very sad, but they might have die so others may live. Multiplayer is quite fun were you can have alien units and human units(aliens been great fun). Few erors for this game is the bugs you may experience. Another thing and probally the orst thing is if you don't know how to play your first few play throughs are just hell. I had 4 play throughs until I really got the hand with this game. And the tutorial does not cover everything about the game. Overall a little buggy but a great game. XCOM: Enemy Unknown 8.7/10 Expand
  6. Oct 18, 2016
    9
    XCOM Enemy Unknown is an amazing turn-based strategy game.

    The gameplay is great,with a surprisingly smooth port,perfect balance,good AI,and a satisfying difficulty curve.There is a lot of choices that must be made,and you also have trading and resource management.There is also permadeath for each of your soldiers,which means if they die in a mission,they are dead forever. The one
    XCOM Enemy Unknown is an amazing turn-based strategy game.

    The gameplay is great,with a surprisingly smooth port,perfect balance,good AI,and a satisfying difficulty curve.There is a lot of choices that must be made,and you also have trading and resource management.There is also permadeath for each of your soldiers,which means if they die in a mission,they are dead forever.
    The one major flaw this game has is the lack of an autosave feature.

    The graphics are pretty good,and the game runs fine on 360.There are very rare hitches in framerate though.

    The game is,of course,very long.I would say 40 hours minimum.

    Overall,XCOM Enemy Unknown is an awesome strategy game that is well worth picking up and playing.
    Expand
  7. Jun 12, 2014
    6
    This game survives on the merits of its gameplay alone because nothing else in the game is done well. The story, well, if you read the 2 sentence synopsis of it then that is all you need to know. That's all that really happens. The characters, whose deaths are permanent if you don't choose to reload a save, have no personality. How upset you get about losing one is based on how high rankedThis game survives on the merits of its gameplay alone because nothing else in the game is done well. The story, well, if you read the 2 sentence synopsis of it then that is all you need to know. That's all that really happens. The characters, whose deaths are permanent if you don't choose to reload a save, have no personality. How upset you get about losing one is based on how high ranked they are (essentially levels). The cutscenes make made-for-the-scyfy-channel movies look like academy award winners. So, you really only have the gameplay to keep you going. The gameplay while good is tedious. I played about 14 hours of it and realized I really had no desire to put the disc back in the tray. I did enjoy myself for a lot of that time but I got tired of the "kill all aliens" turn based maps and with nothing else to keep me playing I stopped altogether. The game could have been a lot better if there was just one other game mode that alternated with the one they have already. This game is leveling characters and turn based kill all enemy scenarios. Nothing more. Expand
  8. Dec 26, 2012
    9
    XCOM is one of the best games I have played this year offering real strategy and difficulty to complete. Firaxis has done a great job of bringing this game back to life from it's originals. There are few glitches and bugs with the camera angles. Overall a very rewarding experience offering real challenges to complete on its various difficulties. So much strategy is required when makingXCOM is one of the best games I have played this year offering real strategy and difficulty to complete. Firaxis has done a great job of bringing this game back to life from it's originals. There are few glitches and bugs with the camera angles. Overall a very rewarding experience offering real challenges to complete on its various difficulties. So much strategy is required when making decisions on where to attack, research, buildings, equipments, how to upgrade soldiers, and how to spend funding efficiently. I do however wish that the total game time lasted for longer possibly drawing the campaign out for the years duration instead of the few months and possibly attacking an alien home-world. While also making more maps or having a greater randomness to each of the levels, and encounters, which I feel could have more differences. I cannot wait for a sequel from Firaxis, I am very pleased to play this game. Expand
  9. Nov 4, 2012
    9
    Once again, Firaxis deserves a major pat on the back. As with the rest of the X-Com loving world, we looked at 2K Marin's upcoming FPS with horror and disgust; they were going to take a good franchise and turn it into idiot chow. Then in comes Firaxis and rescues it. For those who were either not yet gamers in the 1990s or just didn't play X-COM, you ran a team of international militaryOnce again, Firaxis deserves a major pat on the back. As with the rest of the X-Com loving world, we looked at 2K Marin's upcoming FPS with horror and disgust; they were going to take a good franchise and turn it into idiot chow. Then in comes Firaxis and rescues it. For those who were either not yet gamers in the 1990s or just didn't play X-COM, you ran a team of international military experts tasked with saving the world from alien invasion. It took tactical genius, strategic foresight, preparedness, and a sort of cunning on your part to excel. Given the limitations of today's gaming crowd who, let's be honest here, are more twitch gamers than long-term players (which is why 4X, civilization and city builders are on the endangered species list), Firaxis did a great job adapting the grand old warhorse of X-COM to today. The features that were trimmed off weren't too critical (building out multiple bases on multiple continents was a pain, admit it), and what remains is not only a faithful reproduction of the game, but also highly polished and sporting a refined and efficient control mechanic. It's easy to say that a turn-based tactical squad game couldn't survive on a console, and in 99% of cases, you'd be right. X-COM is the exception to the rule; the control interface is powerful yet simple, intuitive, flexible, and provides the player with all of the tools necessary to run a tactical squad through a controller. I'd never believed that it was possible to run a tactical game without a mouse, but Firaxis' X-COM proved me wrong. Gameplay is engaging, missions varied and, with their random-generation mechanic, never repetitive. Soldiers are customizable (mostly), and options for outfitting your squad are powerful enough to allow for great tactical flexibility. This is not a perfect game, though; so the hero-worship ends here and the griping begins. One, the limited squad size in the beginning of the game creates some difficult situations, even on easy difficulty. Two, making money is extremely difficult in the game, which will slow your expansion and improvement of capabilities. And three, there is an aspect of grinding in the game as you just plow through days hoping for either a payday or some magical breakthrough. (Griping ends now.) Overall, I'm quite pleased with X-COM and whether you're an old fan of the franchise or are just thirsting for a game that requires a little more brainpower than aim-and-fire, go ahead and get yourself a copy of X-COM: Enemy Unknown; you should enjoy it. Expand
  10. Oct 21, 2012
    1
    This is a fake strategy game with about all the complexity of tic-tac-toe. Firaxis tries to make up for this by obscuring the rules and details from the player, which only makes the game more annoying. The replay value is zero, unless you have OCD.
  11. Oct 15, 2012
    8
    It is a very good game (especially on the consoles, where this genre is a rarity). The game is very well balanced, that you never feel overpowered and you can not afford to buy everything you need and want. Forcing you to make many long term decisions and compromises. I really loved that. It is not standart strategy "lets build all we can and then attack". I did not liked few strategyIt is a very good game (especially on the consoles, where this genre is a rarity). The game is very well balanced, that you never feel overpowered and you can not afford to buy everything you need and want. Forcing you to make many long term decisions and compromises. I really loved that. It is not standart strategy "lets build all we can and then attack". I did not liked few strategy rules in the missions. For example than many battle results are depending on random numbers. Or that almost all enemies require same strategy to defeat them (it is not so deep like Incubation). But the part at your base will make for it. There you find the true depth of this game. Letting you to choose between many strategies how to play the game. And you will never feel like this is the best ay to do it. Expand
  12. Oct 23, 2015
    9
    Loved it. Great story and twist. Every mission was exciting because one critical hit from the enemy could kill my soldier. Great turn based strategy!!
  13. Nov 4, 2012
    9
    Part strategy game and part RPG, XCOM delivers on both ends to the fans of each genres. It's an engaging game that requires skill, focus, and tact. While the story and graphics won't win any awards, the game is thoroughly interesting and the longer you progress through the game, everything is hugely satisfying and rewarding. It plays smoothly for anyone to pick up but offers a challenge toPart strategy game and part RPG, XCOM delivers on both ends to the fans of each genres. It's an engaging game that requires skill, focus, and tact. While the story and graphics won't win any awards, the game is thoroughly interesting and the longer you progress through the game, everything is hugely satisfying and rewarding. It plays smoothly for anyone to pick up but offers a challenge to every type of gamer, from the casual to the hardcore. It's one of 2012's best games. Expand
  14. Aug 11, 2013
    8
    a solid RTS game that has tactical and intense turn based combat that is fun but occasionally repetitive, also it has a well delivered base building mechanic
  15. Oct 24, 2012
    9
    I needed this to come out! Taking financial simulation, turned based strategy, and life and death decision making is nothing short of genius. I am a huge fan of Valkeria Chronicles on the PS3, so this game is pretty much my cup of joe. Sure the graphics could be better, the loadouts are generic, and the first mission is boring as can be; but who cares if it plays well when all is said andI needed this to come out! Taking financial simulation, turned based strategy, and life and death decision making is nothing short of genius. I am a huge fan of Valkeria Chronicles on the PS3, so this game is pretty much my cup of joe. Sure the graphics could be better, the loadouts are generic, and the first mission is boring as can be; but who cares if it plays well when all is said and done... Me. I will be putting a lot of hours into this game, it is looking to be the GAME OF THE MONTH unless something comes out that is better. We will find out soon when we record. Hear my full review on the show, http://liquidgamer.podbean.com Expand
  16. Dec 3, 2012
    9
    XCOM: Enemy Unknown is a fantastic strategy game. Barring a few minor glitches that happen every once and a blue moon the game runs great and is a blast to play. The game is able to get you into the swing of things early on and you easily get a hang of managing resources and upgrading your capabilities to blast the aliens to hell. Missions are always tense especially if you have high levelXCOM: Enemy Unknown is a fantastic strategy game. Barring a few minor glitches that happen every once and a blue moon the game runs great and is a blast to play. The game is able to get you into the swing of things early on and you easily get a hang of managing resources and upgrading your capabilities to blast the aliens to hell. Missions are always tense especially if you have high level soldiers that you have spent hours specing out and leveling and you don't want them to die. Also on a side note naming them is stupid fun (Rick James tragically died on a high profile mission for me). There are always consequences to failing or succeeding in XCOM which again makes the game tense. It is also very challenging at all turns and the death or injuries of squad members adds another layer of complexity. XCOM: Enemy Unknown is definitely worth your time and I highly recommend it especially if your a sci-fi nerd! Expand
  17. Aug 12, 2015
    10
    love games that surpise you. I didn't know ANYTHING about XCOM and only bought because it was for sale at my local game store. Great customizable game, great campaign, never ending fun and just the right amount of frustration.
  18. Mar 15, 2015
    10
    Lack of Strategy? People are really idiots, it's not a base builder command and conquer rip off strategy game, neither were the original X:Com's in the 90's. This game is a squad based tactical RTS. You expand your HQ by choosing what to build, what to research. You must pick what is more important to you, do you upgrade a sniper's weapon, or your heavy's? Do you use a grenade/rocketLack of Strategy? People are really idiots, it's not a base builder command and conquer rip off strategy game, neither were the original X:Com's in the 90's. This game is a squad based tactical RTS. You expand your HQ by choosing what to build, what to research. You must pick what is more important to you, do you upgrade a sniper's weapon, or your heavy's? Do you use a grenade/rocket and lose the valuable resource or do you stick it out and fight. Do you move in and fork or do you group. Losing your troops can be hard, and this game is unforgiving on the difficulty, the reason being is that the enemy isn't stuck to your limits. They are advanced aliens after all. I own several copies of this title, and the replay value is actually decent. There are two ways to advance each soldier, multiple ways to complete each mission as well. Actually I've done 30 missions and haven't lost a single troop, some have been injured though. Expand
  19. Oct 12, 2012
    10
    PLEASE IGNORE ALL THE IDIOTS GIVING IT ZERO! THIS IS A GOOD GAME! Seriously though, if you want to give it zero, go and crawl under a rock and die. Because you obviously have no idea how bad games can be. Just because it may not be what you thought it should does not mean you should give it a 0. And if im brutally honest, the fact that you cant customize their hair cuts, or you have toPLEASE IGNORE ALL THE IDIOTS GIVING IT ZERO! THIS IS A GOOD GAME! Seriously though, if you want to give it zero, go and crawl under a rock and die. Because you obviously have no idea how bad games can be. Just because it may not be what you thought it should does not mean you should give it a 0. And if im brutally honest, the fact that you cant customize their hair cuts, or you have to endure endless micromanaging, doesnt really bother me. Im happy with the game. It is good, it is great, and all you weirdo's who vote 0 can go join a club and call it "club anonymous". Expand
  20. Oct 26, 2012
    10
    No, its not as in-depth as the original. No, its not as tense. No, its not as big. Yes, it is one of the best games (in my opinion THE best) of 2012. If you approach this game as a spiritual successor or re-imagining of the original then you will be pleasantly surprise; Just don't go into it expecting the UFO/XCOM of the 90s with updated graphics. Its tense, enthralling, intelligent,No, its not as in-depth as the original. No, its not as tense. No, its not as big. Yes, it is one of the best games (in my opinion THE best) of 2012. If you approach this game as a spiritual successor or re-imagining of the original then you will be pleasantly surprise; Just don't go into it expecting the UFO/XCOM of the 90s with updated graphics. Its tense, enthralling, intelligent, in-depth and the turn-based combat will have you chewing your fingernails out with anxiety. I'm not normally a fan of strategy games but XCOM gets the mixture of action, management, and strategy just right so as to make the game approachable for simpletons like myself. GET IT. ITS EFFING FANTASTIC. Expand
  21. Jun 30, 2013
    9
    I will preface this by saying I have never played any Xcom games before this one. That being said, this game is great and has a high replay factor. I think the people giving it poor ratings are generally mad that they changed a lot from the original, sort of like what happened when Fallout 3 was released. The graphics are good enough for a strategy game and it is frustrating enough toI will preface this by saying I have never played any Xcom games before this one. That being said, this game is great and has a high replay factor. I think the people giving it poor ratings are generally mad that they changed a lot from the original, sort of like what happened when Fallout 3 was released. The graphics are good enough for a strategy game and it is frustrating enough to make you mad but not enough to make you quit or throw your controller through your television. It is fun and interesting to upgrade and research technology and you must use your resources wisely. I highly recommend it and now that it's price is down to about $30, sometimes cheaper, it is worth every penny. Expand
  22. Oct 19, 2012
    10
    I played the original X-Com and its sequel Terror From the Deep back in the 90's when they came out and they remain a couple of my favorite games of all time. As recently as a year ago I broke them out again for another go at it, as I have done periodically over the years. This new take on the franchise is long awaited and welcome. There are a few things from the old games I miss, butI played the original X-Com and its sequel Terror From the Deep back in the 90's when they came out and they remain a couple of my favorite games of all time. As recently as a year ago I broke them out again for another go at it, as I have done periodically over the years. This new take on the franchise is long awaited and welcome. There are a few things from the old games I miss, but to nick pick would be a bit prissy considering all the cool aspects of Enemy Unknown. The old ones from the 90's had a bit more options and depth, but considering the constant bombardment of media these days, I don't mind the streamlining and watering down of some of the micromanagement. Back then I didn't mind sinking 3-4 hours on one mission because there was no internet and not as much to do. These days the toughest and lengthiest missions in Enemy Unknown topping out around an hour or so are just fine by me, and even though I dont consider graphics near as important as gameplay and fun, the nice skittering aliens and blodd bursts and explosions are pretty cool considering how dated the 90's stuff is now. All in all, If you are a true turn based strategy fan, this one will be your new crack just as Masters of Magic, Master of Orion, original X-Com and a handful of the other greats have done so well in the past. For those new to the genre, welcome to a nice change of pace to the tired run & shoot someone & get shot & rince & repeat that everyone else is doing these days. Cheers to the best turn based console game of all time. Finally good strategy on my couch, thanks Firaxis! :) Expand
  23. Feb 8, 2013
    3
    The base building aspect was neat as was the unit development but the game was ugly and the controls just didn't appeal to me. As for the combat it's like playing chess the video game it's slow and got boring quick and let's be honest it's not exactly difficult so it's like playing chess on a computer who can't win.
  24. Dec 27, 2012
    9
    A polished and challenging strategy game. The locations can get repetitive, every one looks the same despite being in different parts of the globe, and the weapons could've used a little more variety. While the missions become slightly repetitive they manage to be challenging. The game is highly addictive and has a great fun factor. Easily one of the best games this year.
  25. Oct 20, 2012
    9
    For me XCOM: Enemy Unknown takes the best of the original XCOM and refines the rest into a better game in almost every way. I like to start with the negatives which are... 1. The LOS (Line of Sight) can be a bit unrealistic and lead to a frustrating death of a squad member from time to time. For example, I had two soldiers behind a huge metal shipping container, and an alien killed themFor me XCOM: Enemy Unknown takes the best of the original XCOM and refines the rest into a better game in almost every way. I like to start with the negatives which are... 1. The LOS (Line of Sight) can be a bit unrealistic and lead to a frustrating death of a squad member from time to time. For example, I had two soldiers behind a huge metal shipping container, and an alien killed them both in 2 moves from an impossible angle, shooting thru the solid container without damaging it but killing my men... plus the alien had no LOS of my soldiers... frustrating. On the up side, this happens rarely. Because of the randomly rare LOS issue I save my game at the starting of each turn. 2. A minor gripe, but it is annoying to have to use the R & L bumper to switch between team members. Allowing me to just move the cursor over a soldier and selecting them would have been nice. OK, on to the good stuff. There are basically three parts to this game, building a base, putting up satellites and shooting down UFO's, and lastly the turn based tactical assaults with your squad. All this is tied together with a financial system. You have to balance research of new tech, with building your base up, while buying fighter aircraft and launching satellites, while arming and gearing up your squad... and the order in which you do this will make or break you. It can be a difficult to choose a priority, when so many pressing issues present themselves at any given moment... but this is what makes the game great. In the tactical combat part of the game, then alien enemy are as varied as the tactics to take them down. Your squad starts out as a bunch or peons, but if they can survive 10+ missions, they will become elite warriors and the bane of the aliens. It takes time to level your soldiers and resources to arm and armor them. Because of this, you do not want to go Rambo in a mission and get them all killed. Always think a move ahead, when in doubt send up a scout (Assault troop is good at this). And remember, always use cover and Overwatch. My favorite tactic is Rope-a-dope... being, set up an ambush, send my assault solder out as bait, when he makes contact, have him retreat towards the rest of the squad, then blunt the aliens attack with Overwatch fire... then just kill the remaining aliens and watch the rest of them run for their lives. Rinse & repeat. This works in most but not all situations. Some enemies take some creative tactics to defeat. Minor gripes aside, XCOM; Enemy Unknown is an excellent and in-depth tactical game with countless hours of fun to be had. I give it a 9 out of 10 Expand
  26. Oct 17, 2012
    3
    First off, this is really not an X-Com game and if you go in looking at it as a new IP then you will be a lot better off. The game is heavily streamlined/dumbed-down from its origins and rather than a turn-based strategy game like the original X-Com games, you are buying a turn-based ACTION game, like a turn-based Gears of War. You are limited to 4 squad members to start, you cannot buildFirst off, this is really not an X-Com game and if you go in looking at it as a new IP then you will be a lot better off. The game is heavily streamlined/dumbed-down from its origins and rather than a turn-based strategy game like the original X-Com games, you are buying a turn-based ACTION game, like a turn-based Gears of War. You are limited to 4 squad members to start, you cannot build or manage new bases, the maps are pre-done rather than random (and can repeat through a game), and virtually all of the strategic portions of the original X-Com have been deleted. I suspect this was done to "attract the CoD/GeoW audience" but it just makes the unsuitable for any true strategy gamer and its slow pace will certainly keep away the FPS fans. Now this is not specifically a "bad" game, and if you are the type of gamer who thought "wouldn't it be cool to command a Gears of War squadron (dressed in Mass Effect armor) in a turn-based game but without all those unnecessary strategic elements, new base building, and micro-managing" then this is the game for you. X-Com EU has loses the overall strategic gameplay, and is all turn-based action with Mass Effect armor and guns. Not for me, but who knows, there might be an big undiscovered market for this game type. Expand
  27. Feb 16, 2013
    10
    Like PuzzleQuest, there is a little bit of a learning curve. But wow! Even though there are some things they didn't include versus the older XCOM version, the strategy and new ideas will keep you well occupied. I was addicted to this game for 10 days straight and I'm still not finished. There are some similar looking maps but they vary enough to come up with a different strategy eachLike PuzzleQuest, there is a little bit of a learning curve. But wow! Even though there are some things they didn't include versus the older XCOM version, the strategy and new ideas will keep you well occupied. I was addicted to this game for 10 days straight and I'm still not finished. There are some similar looking maps but they vary enough to come up with a different strategy each go around. You do need to play the game a couple of times. The first time after I got half-way through, I didn't realize how important it was to invest in satellites and hence lost the game after all the other countries dropped out. There's a multi-part game strategy here, one which is the overall strategy on how you build your base, the other is each of the games battle strategies where you select your team, move your soldiers, and find a way to kill the bad guys. It gets deep! I didn't read the strategy guide on how to prioritize satellite building and only made it half-way through my first game. I'm planning on starting over again because there were a few other things I would've liked to done better. There is a lot to this game and for me and the amount of time I've been entertained by it justifies the hefty $60 price tag. Even though I wish it were less i still feel like I've gotten my money's worth out of it. Expand
  28. Nov 2, 2012
    8
    X-Com is just like Chess. Think a move ahead and hope that, that move you made will do you justice. If not, face the consequences. X-Com, is a seamless RTS that plays well and feels well on the Xbox 360. It may take a little to get used to, but afterwards it plays amazing. The game itself runs well, and plays well. While, the visual thematic component may fall lackluster in some eyes, theX-Com is just like Chess. Think a move ahead and hope that, that move you made will do you justice. If not, face the consequences. X-Com, is a seamless RTS that plays well and feels well on the Xbox 360. It may take a little to get used to, but afterwards it plays amazing. The game itself runs well, and plays well. While, the visual thematic component may fall lackluster in some eyes, the style of art X-Com offers is something games rarely do. Making it stand out. The art style feels like Code Lyoko, and a mix between Cartoon Networks the Star Wars : The Clone Wars series. Beside the gripe on the aspect of art. X-Com's is a fun game of "chess". It's for die hard RTS lovers, and it's welcoming to new comers who are new to RTS's. The Gameplay, story, and visuals of X-Com truly make it a wonderful experience. Expand
  29. Nov 13, 2012
    9
    Having never played the original x-com series, i was pleasantly surprised when brought it. This game is one of the best games i have ever played on the Xbox. I Recommend to anyone and everyone.
  30. Dec 26, 2012
    9
    I love strategy games, I may not be the best at them, but love em, and find XCOM: enemy unknown to be pretty awesome. Not using the tile based system works well and made me feel different from other strategy games. I wanted there would be a greater range of weapons and armour though.
Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 35 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 35
  2. Negative: 0 out of 35
  1. Mar 6, 2013
    100
    By virtue of how it stokes more parts of my brain than any game of the past decade, I’m inclined to consider XCOM: Enemy Unknown one of the most important titles of this generation. This game will test your disaster-management skills, levy you with suffocatingly difficult choices on how to spend your resources and cause you to grow so fond of your chess pieces that each skirmish takes on the flavour of a Whedonesque drama.
  2. X-ONE Magazine UK
    Dec 1, 2012
    90
    It's like The Sims, but with much shorter life expectancies. [Issue#91, p.66]
  3. Nov 12, 2012
    100
    It's [a] tough and punishing game, but in the best way possible. Every loss compels you onward in the war and the story. Where most games are frustratingly punishing, XCOM delivers a masterclass in challenge and escalation.