• Publisher: Konami
  • Release Date: Nov 3, 2010
Metascore
46

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 5 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 5
  2. Negative: 3 out of 5
  1. May 30, 2011
    60
    Yu-Gi-Oh fans will enjoy the game and those with knowledge of the rules will have an easy ride at the beginning, but as far as trying out a Yu-Gi-Oh game for the first time I wouldn't recommend spending your hard earned cash here. The blurry cards, repetitive music and steep learning curve won't make for an enjoyable experience and the lack of players online means the game will be very short lived unless you enjoy repeating the same style tournaments against AI characters over and over.
  2. 50
    A game that's playing very hard to get. [Feb 2011, p.99]
  3. Dec 19, 2010
    45
    The presentation is very bare bones; the card art is even a little blurry, rendering the most interesting thing on the screen boring to look at.
  4. 40
    Unless you're a Yu-Gi-Oh! master, stay far, far away. [March 2011, p.81]
  5. Dec 19, 2010
    35
    The appeal of a Live-enabled, DLC-driven Yu-Gi-Oh! game certainly has merit in theory, but Konami clearly phoned in their efforts in the hopes that the mega-popular brand alone would sell units.
User Score
7.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 9 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 4
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 4
  3. Negative: 0 out of 4
  1. Aug 9, 2012
    7
    Its a Yu-gi-oh game, you get cards, you duel, there isn't much to it, but it is still great fun, especially to do so with your friends, myIts a Yu-gi-oh game, you get cards, you duel, there isn't much to it, but it is still great fun, especially to do so with your friends, my only complaint would be the multiplayer system and how people can leave a duel with the click of a button, they tend to do this when you're about to beat them. Full Review »
  2. Jun 16, 2013
    8
    Good game overall. With the release of Plus, it removes one of the glaring issues of the vanilla game: a lacking library, filled with cardsGood game overall. With the release of Plus, it removes one of the glaring issues of the vanilla game: a lacking library, filled with cards that need cards that aren't even in the game to work. However, that's the only thing it fixed. The AI for campaign are just...uggh. You play a game to have fun, but the AI are literally anything but. If I may say, they are literally worse than Hitler. They use decks that aren't even good, they are just plain annoying. Burn? Eeyup. Lockdown? Uh huh. Blackwing? Of course! Return to hand/deck? Yes! Negate? Oh yeah.

    How is any of that fun? On top of that, you need to go through all that misery and torment just to unlock cards. But don't think you can just grind your way to victory, oh no, because even if you have 3/3 of a card, you can keep getting that card! There are what, almost 4000 cards in the game? Good luck getting 1 of each copy of a card! Pfft! What a load of malarkey, Konami!

    Still, it does the trick seeing as it is the only Yu-Gi-Oh! game on the console. It will do. The only reason I don't give this a perfect 10 is because of the ai, poor reward handling and some MP issues. Why people rag on this game I don't know why.

    The only thing I can say is, if you are a dormant Yu-Gi-Oh! fan and have been getting the urge to play, explore your handheld options first, otherwise settle for this game.
    Full Review »
  3. Jun 20, 2011
    8
    This game is exactly what someone would want if they actually like the game of yu gi oh. It allows fully customization of decks, somethingThis game is exactly what someone would want if they actually like the game of yu gi oh. It allows fully customization of decks, something that the magic games don't have, which basically makes this game far better then them. If I am playing a card game I am playing it so I customize my deck and get new cards; not for battle animation...It also has tag battles online which are cool. On the flip side I will admit I feel like things were halfassed to be blunt about it. No actual W/L record kept...what is that about lol. Full Review »