Alien: Isolation Xbox One

Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 24 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 24
  2. Negative: 0 out of 24
Buy On
  1. Feb 25, 2015
    88
    Though it's not flawless, Isolation is certainly one of the best games in the franchise, and I'm damn impressed with what The Creative Assembly has managed to pull off.
  2. Hyper Magazine
    Dec 2, 2014
    90
    Thrilling from start to finish, Alien: Isolation is the game fans of the franchise have long been waiting for. [Issue#255, p.57]
  3. Oct 27, 2014
    88
    Alien: Isolation embraces Ridley Scott's original vision, delivering us a claustrophobic survival horror experience with a good stealth side. Unmissable for every Alien and sci-fi horror lover.
  4. Games Master UK
    Oct 22, 2014
    81
    A masterfully produced horror that overcomes length through supreme scares. [Dec 2014, p.66]
  5. Oct 21, 2014
    80
    For fans of the Alien series, the films, books, comics, and every other form of entertainment imaginable, Alien: Isolation is simply a must-play, given that it fits so well into the storyline that it nearly seems to be a chapter in it's own right.
  6. Oct 20, 2014
    80
    Alien Isolation perfectly captures the atmosphere of the original Alien and it offers a very unique survival experience with its overall difficulty thanks to the smart Alien AI.
  7. Oct 17, 2014
    84
    It is a chilling, suspenseful and downright terrifying love letter to fans of the Alien franchise.
  8. Oct 17, 2014
    65
    Alien Isolation is a great game marred with problems that make it frustrating the longer it goes on, and it goes on for a lot longer than it should.
  9. Oct 14, 2014
    83
    Creative Assembly managed to capture the claustrophobic and dark atmosphere of the film classic. Sometimes the totally unpredictable xenomorph will push you over the edge of frustration, but in the end the suspense and tension will win you over again.
  10. Oct 14, 2014
    80
    A tense and unnerving experience that wonderfully captures the style and atmosphere of the original film. Alien: Isolation, in spite of its faults, is a welcome and accomplished take on a great franchise long deserving of a grate game.
  11. 90
    A tough, terrifying and ultimate thrilling game that’s defiantly old-school in its approach. The result is one of the best survival horror games in recent memory.
  12. Oct 4, 2014
    74
    Alien: Isolation is worth experiencing, but at the same time feels like lost potential.
  13. 90
    Amazing atmosphere, perfect pacing.
  14. Oct 3, 2014
    80
    Alien: Isolation is an incredibly beautiful game whose regular boring patches are almost always countered with bloodcurdling tension or mind-blowing spectacle. But you should only try it out if you’re a big sci-fi fan and if you have nothing against doing engineering tasks, like in Dead Space. And of course, if you don’t want to miss all of the references, you should at least check out Alien the movie first, if not the entire quadrilogy. ​
  15. Oct 3, 2014
    78
    Tense, certainly, and I jumped at more than a few surprise xenomorph encounters, but the environments and action fail to instill the sense of dread that the movies or other horror games have inflicted on fans. Despite taking more than its share of inspiration from the Alien series, I found Dead Space to be scarier than Isolation, even if playing through the genuine article is far more appealing.
  16. Oct 3, 2014
    60
    Alien Isolation is clearly not perfect, but it's a correct survival game for Alien's fans.
  17. Oct 3, 2014
    60
    Alien: Isolation provides us a glimpse into a future that holds the Alien game you've always wanted. It is not, however, the vessel that carries you there.
  18. Oct 3, 2014
    83
    Beyond tools, save points, and modest firearms, you absolutely cannot underestimate the importance of Alien: Isolation’s sound. Just like the art direction, the music offers the same kind of fan-pleasing connective tissue to Ridley Scott’s film.
  19. Oct 3, 2014
    80
    Alien: Isolation might not deliver the scary, intimate experience players expected for its entire running time, but smart design, good pacing, and a ton of gameplay variety more than make up for the lack of chills.
  20. Oct 3, 2014
    90
    The highest compliment that you can pay Creative Assembly’s uncompromising, nerve-plucking and lengthy entry in the Alien canon is that even without any prior knowledge of its source material, Alien: Isolation is superb.
  21. Oct 3, 2014
    65
    Alien: Isolation seems content to appear as a collage of borrowed elements from the films, with nothing new or original to say or show, eager only to get to the next reference.
  22. 90
    There’s more than just a love for the source material here; Alien: Isolation also displays a thorough understanding of what made it work. The game is a worthy accompaniment to Ridley Scott’s film, and there are few bigger compliments we can dish out than that.
  23. Unique stealth-horror thriller that combines great pacing and smart design with razor-sharp AI that's unpredictable in all the right ways. It's an arduous undertaking, but it begs to be experienced.
  24. Oct 3, 2014
    59
    Someday, someone is going to make an incredible Alien video game that checks every box. But, sadly, Isolation is not it.
User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 325 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 59 out of 74
  2. Negative: 4 out of 74
  1. Oct 7, 2014
    10
    Astounding game - it's like living in the first Alien movie. The atmosphere is dense, the sound design, sfx and music is not only absolutelyAstounding game - it's like living in the first Alien movie. The atmosphere is dense, the sound design, sfx and music is not only absolutely perfect for the environment and overall feel, it sits tightly with what we're used to from the movies. Graphics are overall pretty good on the XB1. Lovely grain and warming fx, mostly good textures and it's possible to investigate or read many of little details on the Sevastopol to your hearts content. The alien AI works great and the danger of it lurking arund somewhere makes me feel like I'm 15 years old again, playing Resident Evil 1 for the first time. It's a scary game without being too relient on jump scares. It's what's possible, that's scary, not what is actually happening. Well, that too, actually. It's a fantastic game - not only because we finally got the Alien game we always wanted (and deserved), but also because the game itself is just so good. It combines joy and terror so magnificently. Well done, CA and Sega. A certain Randy Pitchford must be weeping into his moneybags right now. :-P Full Review »
  2. Oct 7, 2014
    7
    SO FAR, great atmospherics. This game is definitely worth a play if you have even a mild interest in Alien, although it does feel as thoughSO FAR, great atmospherics. This game is definitely worth a play if you have even a mild interest in Alien, although it does feel as though it's lacking something. As a horror-survival styled game, you would expect to be totally immersed in the environment, although it doesn't quite achieve the films standard of setting.. Whilst still managing to make me jump on a few occasions due to the atmospheric features used.

    This game feels somewhat reminiscent of Dead Space with the mechanics, and the rate at which excitement and developments happen is absolutely spot on. Also I have to say I am very impressed with the AI, seems so unpredictable, thus making it feel unique and realistic.

    I would recommend this title, although if you're strapped for cash, Shadow of Mordor would be this months purchase.
    Full Review »
  3. Oct 13, 2014
    4
    I'd like to say a 5 but just can't even though its a close 4 1/2.

    The anxiety everyone keeps talking about does exist and there are moments
    I'd like to say a 5 but just can't even though its a close 4 1/2.

    The anxiety everyone keeps talking about does exist and there are moments of jumpiness but thats only in the beginning. By the time you finish getting the keycard for the medical supplies, anxiety of fear turns to anxiety of frustration.

    The alien magically appears where ever the player should feel stressed, meaning if you send him off one way chasing a noise device, enter a new hallway, he'll end up somewhere in your vicinity again and quickly. Basically, it's not logical and once you realize this the 'fear' becomes artificially conceived from the player. Look, I know it's a game but I like some reality in them, some logic.

    Other than that, it gets higher marks for being different, for using aliens especially after the catastrophe with colonial marines and lower for not being so logical...hey, a few head shots from a pistol in the movies killed one why not here...OH that's right, the e game would be WAY over before even the halfway mark...yeah, that's why it gets a 4.

    And lucky I didn't go to a 3 for the stupid lag on the xbox one, wtf guys? That plus they use a very small 'push button' area. If I'm walking by a map, pressing A will not grab it when it shows A at the bottom. Instead I have to, stop, walk forward, look down just right, hit A and hopefully not twice. This is literally amateur hour...come on, guys you're suppose to be professional game devs.
    Full Review »