Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 8 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 8
  2. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. 90
    The inclusion of new tools only complements this rawness, and even adds a distinctly unique flavor to combat.
  2. Dec 31, 2013
    88
    Freedom Cry delivers what you want from DLC: a new story that will take you hours to complete and more of the gameplay that you enjoyed in the original game.
  3. Dec 17, 2013
    85
    This is a much better effort than AC III's pointlessly episodic Tyranny of King George DLC, and a great model for Assassin's Creed add-ons going forward.
  4. Jan 9, 2014
    80
    Freedom Cry may not be particularly long or radically different from Black Flag but as a companion piece it feels important, imbuing its protagonist with a desire for retribution and justice that bleeds through the screen and inhabits your own persona. For that reason alone it deserves your attention.
  5. Despite it’s narrative strength, Freedom Cry somehow lacks the polish and teleological glue of the game upon which it builds.
  6. 70
    A nice bit of extra story that suffers a little from resetting and restarting progress. Still - more ACIV is good. [Feb 2014, p.94]
  7. Dec 20, 2013
    60
    Combat and exploration is still enormously satisfying, and the narrative is powerful, but without enough fresh ideas that it can call its own, 'Freedom Cry' feels like too much, too soon.
  8. Dec 18, 2013
    60
    The perpetual influx of slaves is a blunt allegory about how freeing such captives isn't a task for one man, let alone one assassin.
User Score
6.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 102 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 13
  2. Negative: 0 out of 13
  1. Jan 6, 2014
    10
    The game looks like a great game I have been wandering were you can buy the game for xbox360 if someone can tell me that would be great I love how it continues off of assassins creed black flag Full Review »
  2. Dec 30, 2013
    7
    Ubisoft must have taken feedback from AC3, because this game fixed some of my biggest complaints (not all, but some).

    Multiplayer maps are
    once again larger, they are closer to the maps you would find in AC Brotherhood, with multi-level, large maps.

    The campaign has brought back upgradeable armor (through crafting), which changes the appearance of your character while also adding health perks.

    Though I wasn't a large fan of the ship in AC3, they made it much more enjoyable in AC4, treating it more like your 'horse' than just a clunky side mission memory.

    All in all, i would say this is a huge step in the right direction for the AC franchise.
    Full Review »
  3. Dec 25, 2013
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click full review link to view. Freedom Cry is a good DLC. Unfortunately, the game lacks in variety.
    Everything you do is free slaves and explore the islands. Everything is very stripped down and only provides just the same.
    The weapons you have not even unlock as you find the elite weapons on the islands. I hope for more DLC but cheaper. The DLC is too expensive for 10
    Full Review »