Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 7 Critics What's this?

User Score
4.1

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 588 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: This new chapter in the Call of Duty franchise features a unique dynamic in which players are on the side of a crippled nation fighting not for freedom, or liberty, but simply for survival. 10 years after a devastating mass event, the nation's borders and the balance of global power have been permanently redrawn. As what's left of the nation's Special Operations forces, a surreptitious group known only as "Ghosts" leads the fight back against a newly emerged, technologically-superior global power. There are over 20 NEW Kill Streaks in Call of Duty: Ghosts — such as Juggernaut Maniac, Helo-Scout, Vulture and the ODIN Strike. You can even bring in Riley, from the single-player campaign, as your guard dog to warn you when enemies approach, and to attack enemies if they get too close to your person. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 7
  2. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. Nov 12, 2013
    88
    When comparing the PS4 and Xbox One versions side-by-side, there’s little to no variation in textures and effects, but there is a discernible difference in resolution. While both are displayed at 1080p, the Xbox One version upscales the game from 720p resolution. In contrast, the PS4 version runs natively at 1080p, which makes character models, weapons, and environments look noticeably sharper and more detailed. The difference is especially apparent on larger-sized TVs, where pixel density weighs more heavily in picture quality.
  2. Nov 12, 2013
    80
    Ghosts had potential to be more than it is. As the first series entry on new consoles and the first of what will assuredly be a new brand, I was disappointed to see it resemble its predecessors even more than the franchise typically does. Even without its own significant hook or sense of identity, however, Ghosts is still fun thanks to Call of Duty’s polished and reliable backbone that’s been established for years.
  3. Nov 12, 2013
    80
    Call Of Duty: Ghosts is a familiar experience, but it’s been fine tuned to almost perfection. The multiplayer is the best it’s been in a long time.
  4. Dec 19, 2013
    78
    Brave in places, safe in others, Ghosts will delight fans but won't sway anyone with doubts. [Jan 2014, p.74]
  5. Nov 13, 2013
    75
    Infinity Ward has lost capacity, it's out of ideas. Call of Duty: Ghosts is the same blast of scripts in single-player and the conventional formula in multiplayer. That's all. Fun and addictive as always, this game is silent in your Call of Duty collection, it leaves no trace.
  6. Nov 12, 2013
    69
    Call of Duty: Ghosts is a mess of a game. That’s not to say that it’s nonfunctional or bad to play, rather, it loses sight of its core principles and eschews an amazing opportunity with the advent of our transition to next-gen, as well as being the first true IW CoD sans Zampella and West, through poorly constructed (and utilised) tech, half-assed delivery of modes and a single-player campaign that sets the series back more than a few years.
  7. Nov 12, 2013
    60
    Quite simply, it’s hard to tell much difference between this and the 360 version. Textures are muddy, lines are jagged and it lacks the smooth anti-aliasing of the PS4 edition. It’s hard to tell exactly what this version provides that justifies labeling it as a next generation game.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 55 out of 134
  2. Negative: 62 out of 134
  1. Nov 18, 2013
    10
    Giving it a 10 because 2 trolls who havent even played the Xbox One version have already troll reviewed the xbox one version... its a cod game that plays like cod..if you like cod then this is cod.. a fun arcade casual shooter Expand
  2. Apr 28, 2014
    9
    Great game! Loved the single player. It combines great graphics with varied gameplay and a decent story. As for the multiplayer, personally I didn't like it because of the chaotic type of gameplay, however, it's not something that really matters to me when I chose to buy a game. Expand
  3. Feb 14, 2014
    8
    I purchased this knowing full well what a CoD game is like, I have played them since it was just Call of Duty. That being said the last one I actually bought was Modern Warfare 1, I only played a little bit of the others at friend's houses.

    With that in mind the game seemed fine to me. I wanted a game I could play with others at my house and this is it. A good shoot em up game that I can just mess around with friend's on the same couch. It looked great on my 1080p TV (46 inches so I would easily be able to tell if it didn't). Even split screen works fine.

    If you are looking to get something new and original out of the CoD franchise, you should take a step back and look at your life :D . But not having bought the last 4 games, this one is fine by me.

    A game review shouldn't be affected by the previous games being released, or it being like the previous ones. This is a separate game, and if it were the only Call of Duty out it would be considered a good game. Nothing smashing or out of the ordinary but a good 7/8 out of 10.
    Expand
  4. Dec 10, 2013
    5
    Fine game, but it lacks depth and its hard not to compare to the better pc version. my first game on the NeXT gen console, and i ok about it, but was hoping for much more, wasnt blot away to say the least Expand
  5. Dec 5, 2013
    3
    This game is a poorly crafted mess with clunky and irresponsive controls. The story line is completely cliche and offers nothing new to the experienced FPS players leaving you with nothing but a bad taste in the mouth. The multiplayer aims to insult your intelligence as it thrusts you into an instant loss scenario where you are given pitiful weapons and are constantly at the mercy of the higher ranks merely because you just started. I feel like this game almost makes you far stupider while playing it with enough mindless action to rival bashing your skull against a brick wall which would hurt far less than this monstrosity of a game. Expand
  6. Nov 27, 2013
    1
    O jogo aquela coisa, mais do mesmo. O mesmo jogo CoD:BO2 com a história um pouco diferente. Black Ops 2 foi muito melhor. O CoD:Ghots realmente está um lixo, gráficos feios, mal produzido, armas fracas. Um fiasco! Expand
  7. Feb 14, 2014
    0
    This game is the very best bad game what i see. The multiplayer is very bad, only wants premiums, pass, dlcs, etc,... with pesim graphics.
    The history mode, look better, but, its not a nextgen representative.
    My note is 0, this game isnt valid for rent.
    Collapse

See all 134 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Hardware Review: Microsoft Xbox One

    Hardware Review: Microsoft Xbox One Image
    Published: November 20, 2013
    Microsoft's next-gen console arrives in stores Friday with a hefty price tag but the promise of becoming an all-in-one multimedia center for your living room. What do critics think of the Xbox One, and how does it compare to the new PS4? Find out inside.