Dead Rising 3 Xbox One

Dead Rising 3 Image
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 69 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 853 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Available only on Xbox One, Dead Rising 3 is set ten years following the events of Fortune City in Dead Rising 2. Players are introduced to Nick Ramos, a young mechanic with a bizarre tattoo and an mysterious past, who has to find a way to escape a city full of zombies before a comingAvailable only on Xbox One, Dead Rising 3 is set ten years following the events of Fortune City in Dead Rising 2. Players are introduced to Nick Ramos, a young mechanic with a bizarre tattoo and an mysterious past, who has to find a way to escape a city full of zombies before a coming military strike wipes the city of Los Perdidos, California, and everyone in it, off the face of the Earth. Nick cannot do it on his own – he must hook up with other survivors to stay alive. They've got to fight their way out before it’s too late. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 50 out of 69
  2. Negative: 1 out of 69
  1. If it’s a true “next-generation” game you’re after, look no further than Dead Rising 3. Capcom Vancouver’s gory, over-the-top zombie thriller is a technological masterpiece that amply showcases the power of Microsoft’s new Xbox One console. But more importantly, it’s also immensely and outrageously enjoyable.
  2. Nov 18, 2013
    86
    Bigger and better than ever, Dead Rising remains true to its conception, and becomes one of the most entertaining games of the Xbox One. It is not the most shocking game in the visual field, but it's very, very fun, and that's what matters.
  3. Nov 18, 2013
    80
    Dead Rising 3 is a solid free roaming, with a lot of wicked weapons and many cool things to entertain the player. Unfortunately, the graphics are not something we can define as "next-gen".
  4. Nov 18, 2013
    80
    Like a shuffling zombie with its eye on a hunk of meat, Capcom has stayed the path, offering a juiced-up Dead Rising experience that benefits from the next-gen hardware's added horsepower.
  5. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Jan 23, 2014
    80
    The third installment turned out quite good and throws the series killing spree into an open world setting. It could use a little bit of tuning here and there but in overall, it’s so much fun! [Issue#238]
  6. Nov 24, 2013
    74
    It’s fun. It’s as fun, if not more, than any of the previous games. It’s not going to change the world ten times over, but for a launch title, this is where we should be.
  7. Jul 2, 2014
    40
    Get ready for a new generation of zombie-slaying thrills where there's only minimal gameplay to get in the way of the thrills!

See all 69 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 25 out of 201
  1. Nov 22, 2013
    10
    Huge open world, and a lot of zombies on your screen! The gameplay is the same as the previous Dead Rising games, but that was expected. TheHuge open world, and a lot of zombies on your screen! The gameplay is the same as the previous Dead Rising games, but that was expected. The map is a bit smaller than I thought. There is an enormous variety of weapon you can build to slaughter the zombies... Expand
  2. Jan 1, 2016
    10
    This game is being way way underrated. . I would give a 9 but 10 to maybe offput thrse scores. First off it's just downright fun, one of theThis game is being way way underrated. . I would give a 9 but 10 to maybe offput thrse scores. First off it's just downright fun, one of the funnest games I've ever played. The city of Los Angeles is huge with tons of detail. The game is pretty long the graphics are good enough. Hundreds of zombies on the screen at one time and you can build hundreds of combination weapon and now vehicles which massively slaughter zo Expand
  3. Jan 18, 2015
    9
    In this game bored is not an option. There is always something fun to do in this intense, fearful, and action packed game. The graphics areIn this game bored is not an option. There is always something fun to do in this intense, fearful, and action packed game. The graphics are amazing. fun action moves, cartable weapons, whats not to like? Expand
  4. Mar 24, 2014
    8
    Dead Rising 3 is the funniest Dead Rising ever. Its renewed weapon and combo system offer you thousands of possibilities. Moreover, it has aDead Rising 3 is the funniest Dead Rising ever. Its renewed weapon and combo system offer you thousands of possibilities. Moreover, it has a great campaign full of awesome missions. Expand
  5. Nov 27, 2013
    8
    Great game, much better than the second dead rising, there is no slow down, no loading screens and the amount of zombies on the screen at oneGreat game, much better than the second dead rising, there is no slow down, no loading screens and the amount of zombies on the screen at one time is phenomenal. Its a shame jealous Ps fanboys feel the need to mark down games then give mediocre games such as Knack a 10. laughable Expand
  6. Jun 29, 2015
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I have mixed feelings about this game , I absolutely love the original game , and liked Dead Rising 2 aswell , but I feel like Capcom are stepping away from what made Dead Rising so good. This isn't to say I did not enjoy Dead Rising 3 , as i did and played it for probably more than 100 hours, my problem is it did not live up to my expectations and I feel like it is too little to late with the changes that have been made. Part of the reason i loved the original so much was the feeling of being in an enclosed space , there were lots of interior levels to navigate and shortcuts to find out to get from place to place efficiently. I feel like Dead Rising 3 is less about being methodical and learning the quirks of the game yourself.

    This isn't new to the series either as this trend started with Dead Rising 2 and trying to streamline the series and make mechanics smoother for new players to come in and enjoy the series . Dead Rising 2 brought coop a bigger open world and combo weapons , Dead Rising 3 brings a bigger open world combo vehicles and coop . I don't feel like the massive open world of Los Perdidos does Dead Rising 3 any favours , I get the feeling of lifelessness even in a big open world with thousands of zombies on screen and a fair few survivors to save.

    Blueprints and tragic moments are littered around the map as your collectibles with Frank West statues , which again makes me think Capcom are trying to shift Dead Rising into a series with more appeal to the casual gamer which isn't necessarily a bad thing but with such stiff competition in the "zombie genre" of Video games these days , isn't it better to stand out from the crowd?

    I have mixed feelings on the story too , I feel like this is the sequel storywise to Dead Rising 1 with the way the plot details were used to tie the story together. I was intrigued when this plot detail came up in Dead Rising 1 and wished they would have touched on it in Dead Rising 2 (*SPOILER* Nick ramos is one of the orphans that Carlito had put the zombie virus in to be a ticking time bomb all over the US) but now I feel like it's too little too late.

    This series has a weird sense of progression we've gone from Shopping Mall , to Vegas Strip to a whole city. I feel like it hasn't progressed because the survival elements of Dead Rising fits a more isolated and enclosed setting , otherwise what threat are these massive mobs of zombies you've created? Even though we have these massive sandboxes to play with in Dead Rising 2+3 it misses the intricacies that Dead Rising 1 had with trying to get around and using shortcuts.

    I thought the boss fights in Dead Rising 3 ranged from decent to great , a step above Dead Rising 2 and a notch below Dead Rising 1 in my opinion , i enjoyed a fair few of them and a couple definitely had the creepy , weird vibe of Dead Rising in their character designs. I'm interested to see where this series will go in terms of storyline because of the bombshell that the storyline ends on ( Isabella started the Los Perdidos outbreak to clear her families name from the events of Dead Rising 1) but it makes me question why Capcom didn't include this in the plot of the second game.

    Conclusion : Dead Rising 3 is a good game but not the true sequel Dead Rising has needed since the first game , i'm interested to see where it's going to go storywise but I'm a lot less hyped for a future installment as it seems to be heading away from the direction that I really enjoyed
    Expand
  7. Nov 24, 2013
    0
    Killing zombies is fun, as always.
    + There are A LOT of different weapons.
    - DR3 doesn't feel next-gen, because graphics don't look cool
    Killing zombies is fun, as always.
    + There are A LOT of different weapons.

    - DR3 doesn't feel next-gen, because graphics don't look cool and the game runs at 30fps.
    - Frame rate drops (the game went down to 14fps once)
    - After a few hours you will get bored, killing zombies randomly without a reason is not fun
    Expand

See all 201 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Hardware Review: Microsoft Xbox One

    Hardware Review: Microsoft Xbox One Image
    Published: November 20, 2013
    Microsoft's next-gen console arrives in stores Friday with a hefty price tag but the promise of becoming an all-in-one multimedia center for your living room. What do critics think of the Xbox One, and how does it compare to the new PS4? Find out inside.