Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 22 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 22
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 22
  3. Negative: 0 out of 22
  1. Dec 9, 2013
    100
    FIFA 14 on next-gen consoles is a love letter to soccer fans. They get the best of both worlds — incredible game play built on top of amazing visuals that can only be replicated on this new generation of consoles.
  2. Nov 26, 2013
    100
    FIFA 14's next-gen tweaks and improvements are largely aesthetic, but then this is a title that, barring some balancing issues, was always as close to the beautiful game as virtually possible.
  3. Dec 9, 2013
    96
    A great demonstration of how to craft a new console launch game, leveraging the machine's strengths with a new engine capable not only of giving the game a renewed look but improved gameplay as well.
  4. Dec 5, 2013
    91
    Fundamentally there are improvements, but the game doesn’t feel completely balanced as a whole and the pace of matches is sometimes uneven. It happens often between console generations and while FIFA 14 on Xbox One is certainly no cheap port of the current-gen edition - I can’t help but think that the next rendition will truly take the franchise to the next level.
  5. Dec 2, 2013
    91
    What FIFA 14 on next-gen consoles does right now is add an impressive visual layer to an already brilliant sports game.
  6. Dec 30, 2013
    90
    We may have to wait until FIFA 15 before we get to play a truly next-gen game of football, but EA still went above and beyond here. An Xbox One essential.
  7. 90
    FIFA 14 for the Xbox One is quite simply an impressive launch game. The enhanced visuals make for a game that comes alive and for the first time in recent memory I truly felt like I was “in the game”.
  8. 90
    It's a shame that some features didn't make the cut, but the next gen versions are still the best iterations of FIFA 14.
  9. Nov 26, 2013
    90
    Quotation forthcoming.
  10. Nov 26, 2013
    90
    The new lick of paint is nice, but it’s the changes under the hood that make the significant difference.
  11. Nov 26, 2013
    90
    The best thing about the next-gen version though? The menus no longer lag – which has been a pet hate of mine for years. Yay! It only took a new console for them to fix that!
  12. Nov 20, 2013
    89
    Like FIFA 14 on PS3 and Xbox 360, this next-gen version take some risks with new improvements and new situations that offer more realism in general. Although the game isn't as fluid as its predecessor in some moments. Incredible in presentation and Licenses. Ignite promises many steps forward.
  13. Nov 29, 2013
    88
    FIFA's first outing on next-gen is a solid effort that isn't likely to disappoint the casual or hardcore FIFA fan. Between the two, the Xbox One version includes voice command support via Kinect and legendary players in Ultimate Team, so I give it a slight edge as otherwise the gameplay is identical.
  14. Nov 19, 2013
    88
    Ultimate Team players will want to grab the Xbox One version of the game due to its exclusive Legend cards.
  15. Nov 22, 2013
    86
    There's no revolution, and barely an evolution, but it's a safe bet for anybody looking for a football game on next-gen consoles.
  16. Nov 27, 2013
    85
    The base quality is there – just like in the current gen versions. And there are lots of small additions, some of them more useful than others. But overall it is not the significant progress I was hoping for.
  17. Nov 25, 2013
    85
    FIFA 14 at the gameplay level plays great, with a lot more of variety thanks to the new Ignite Engine. However, some game modes were cut away with no reason, and the global offer is not so complete right now.
  18. Nov 22, 2013
    85
    Quotation forthcoming.
  19. Mar 17, 2014
    80
    Updated graphics and player visuals are what make FIFA 14 worth picking up. The stadiums and fields look spectacular, though some minor issues with gameplay elements can bring the game back down a notch. For a title that may not have been rushed, but definitely hurried for launch, EA Sports did a good job in getting soccer fans their fix.
  20. Dec 12, 2013
    80
    On Xbox One and PlayStation 4 FIFA 14 grants more depth in its mechanics and some stunning visuals. It's a pity that the new Ignite engine does nothing to improve the cut-scene and that some game modes are now missing. It's a joy to play, but we can expect a lot more from FIFA 15.
  21. Nov 27, 2013
    80
    FIFA 14 as its best. More detailed graphics, better animations and an overall increase in the AI. Unfortunately Italian commentary still does not reach this quality.
  22. Nov 20, 2013
    80
    This is the quintessential version of FIFA 14. It brings a level of authenticity never before seen in the genre and sets new standards for player control and stadium atmosphere.
User Score
5.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 292 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 55
  2. Negative: 27 out of 55
  1. Nov 25, 2013
    3
    I've been buying FIFA since '98 and playing with my pals locally. To drop the tournament mode is a clear signal that EA does not care about their fans--many of whom have made this mode a centerpiece of camaraderie and competition with friends. But I'm not surprised...EA is, by most accounts, a terrible company.

    But what is SHOCKING is that my friend an I cannot play COOP seasons locally---even if both of us have copies of the game and Live Gold accounts. No, in order for us to play COOP we need to be in separate locations. So effectively EA has made a game that is impossible for friends to play in the same room with each other--DESPITE THE FACT THAT THIS IS THE PROFOUND STREGTH OF SOCCER VIDEO GAMES (no split-screen needed).

    What makes me laugh (bitterly) is that this is only going to negatively impact sales of the WC game and FIFA 15--I'm looking forward to making the switch next year to Pro-Evo--or maybe some other type of game that allows my friends and I to have fun together.
    Full Review »
  2. Jan 11, 2014
    2
    Terrible game. The same as the last, what is it? 20 fifa games? THEY'RE ALL THE **** SAME! All EA do is update the graphics, and if people moved to other teams, switch them around, then add new physics or whatever, and like 1 gamemode and act like they care about the fans. THIS GAME IS ASS. JUST BUY ONE FIFA THEY'RE ALL THE SAME. Full Review »
  3. Nov 23, 2013
    0
    Very disappointing to find the is no tournament mode anymore. It was a fundamental feature on football games for years and the mode I used most. Playing constant friendlies feels pointless. A game ruining decision by EA for me. Full Review »