User Score
4.2

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 165 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 55 out of 165
  2. Negative: 86 out of 165

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 29, 2013
    3
    Somewhat fun, but ruined with micro transactions needed to upgrade weapons, around $2-3 per weapon. I never played this game on a windows mobile device, so I was unaware. And there's no mention of this on Xbox Live before you purchase this game, there's no demo and there's no refunds. The levels are too short and the aiming leaves a lot to be desired. Literally this is the only game I've purchased for Xbox One and it's a disappointing turd. Expand
  2. Dec 29, 2013
    1
    Short levels, little variation in gameplay, poor graphics, dumb enemy AI, clunky controls, poor sound ...... Micro transactions? On a £12 xbone download game, They must be having a laugh. If you want to pretend your xbone is a last gen smartphone, this is the game for you. A dismal game, an embarassment to the great HALO series, made worse by the frankly insulting inclusion of 'in game purchases'. Expand
  3. Dec 25, 2013
    6
    From a control standpoint, this game has significant better flow to using a traditional controller versus that of a KB+M. The level design is varied enough, however I find that the levels are too short and load-outs are too limited. I may not have been satisfied with the game the whole way through, but I felt like I got most of my money's worth.

    On a final note, don't trust Orchard or
    FDaniel's review for this game. At the time of this submission, they have only one review (this game). It's quite obvious that they're fake accounts made to boost this game's user score. Collapse
  4. Dec 25, 2013
    10
    Very fun game. I owned the title on Win8 also but the addition of co-op makes it a definite purchase. Would love to see a sequel with more coop and perhaps competitive multiplayer!
  5. Dec 24, 2013
    10
    Amazing twin stick game, which is both fun and different from all the other halo games. It is not exactly like Halo wars either, it is completely new and creative. Good story, amazing 1080p and 60 fps graphics are amazing. The gameplay is smooth, even though the game could be easy if you don't play on hard. For the full experience add skulls to each mission, makes you get way more XP and more fun. Expand
  6. Jan 4, 2014
    0
    The game is short and looks terrible. The game is not worth the money at all. 343 ruined the Halo series. Just buy bungie's Destiny. Do not buy this game.
  7. Jan 3, 2014
    0
    Halo ended when 343 took control of the franchise. Wait for destiny for a good new series or play another game, this is not a halo game. Poor halo....
  8. Jan 4, 2014
    0
    This game is just plain bad like all things Halo these days. R.I.P Franchise. Very few positive aspects, may be a good game for fan boys and even then I'm sure there growing tired.
  9. Dec 25, 2013
    10
    Perfect, a Halo release just in time for Christmas, and on the Xbox one! I love Halo but I was a bit skeptical about a non-fps title in the franchise, however as it turns out Spartan Assault is a great new direction for the Halo franchise and a title well deserving of the Halo name! Must buy!
  10. Jan 7, 2014
    9
    People are going crazy on the reviews here. This is a really great download title if you're a fan of old school overhead shooters. Micro transactions? You don't need to EVER buy anything, so why is that a negative? All the special items you can buy are also purchasable through in-game "exp" currency, and aren't needed to complete missions in any way, ever. if you played Halo 4, the game even gives you free upgrades. Anyway, people need to understand what this game is. Yes, it *is* a smartphone game that was ported over to the XB1, something I appreciate because I didn't want to buy a Windows tablet to be able to play Halo: Spartan Assault. Why slam them for porting this? It even adds 5 new levels for co-op where you battle the flood with a friend. Expand
  11. Jan 10, 2014
    0
    When 343 Insudstries took over the Halo series, it officially died. Bungie is the only developer that can really do the Halo games justice. I will stand by this fact until the day I die. This game might be good for smart phones, but it does not belong on consoles. Think of that one Warhammer 40k top-down shooter with a Halo paint job and there you go. I can't wait for Destiny to arrive because it will blow the motherf*ckin' lid off 343 and their shameful contributions to the Halo universe, even though it's not a Halo game. Expand
  12. Jan 8, 2014
    2
    Very basic top looking down 3rd person shooter. Very reminiscent of some maps of Contra on NES. Even though this is set in the Halo universe, in my opinion, it does not feel like Halo at all. The levels are simplistic. The graphics are good, but it just doesn't feel quite right to me. I have had to force myself to play it even though I love Halo and Halo Wars. The pay to play weapon and unlock scheme does not work for consoles. Period. I refuse to pay for a weapon or game trinket. If you want to make money like that then don't charge money for your game. Killer Instinct does the monetization the correct way. All in all, this game misses the mark with its repetitive maps and gameplay. Pay to play weapon and ability unlocks put the final nails in the coffin. Save your money and buy something else. Expand
  13. Jan 7, 2014
    0
    Real money for single-use items. Micro-transactions in a Halo game. Disgusting. A huge black-eye on an otherwise stellar franchise. Microsoft is stinking up the joint and acting more anti-consumer than ever in this new generation.
  14. Jan 6, 2014
    6
    This game does little to differentiate itself from the Mobile/Tablet version, but it is still a simple, yet fun game. If you are looking for a fun arcade top down shooter than you could do a lot worse. It would get a higher score from me if the Co-Op was better utilized, there could be some serious fun with this type of Halo game being a solid Co-Op game. Here's to hoping some DLC in the future fixes this. Is it the end of the year yet so we can play the new Halo on Xbox One? Expand
  15. Mar 24, 2014
    10
    Incredibe game. Awesome art style, amazing original soundtrack and addictive missions. This game deserves to be played. It ensures you tones of fun and entertainment.
  16. Jan 19, 2014
    6
    There's nothing inherently wrong with Halo: Spartan Assault, but at the same time there's nothing that makes it unique. Short missions that range from 3-6 minutes in length, and about 30 of them, there are some challenges to accomplish when you finish the game, but those achievements feel more like chores rather than something I want to do. The guns feel fun, and there's an abundance of power when you're using the rocket launcher or spartan laser. It's graphically competent, and there's a story in there, but it's not one of much depth or intrigue. It nails the Halo atmosphere, but at the end of the day, once you beat it, you won't want to come back to it unless you're a Halo fanatic or you want every achievement. I had my fun, but now I'm done, it's a decent first Halo for the xbox one, but nothing more, nothing less. Expand
  17. Jan 13, 2014
    0
    This is a mobile game not a next gen game so MS make a real game for the next gen not a rebuild tablets game and the gameplay was bad its dos steel feel like a tablets game
  18. Feb 8, 2014
    8
    I got this game as my friend asked me to join him in Co-op. At first I found it just a basic dual analog shooter and thought I wouldn't enjoy it much, but after 2 hours or so I was hooked. I can not put it down.

    The game is great fun in co-op (but I would have liked to seen more maps) and offline story is alot longer than I would expect and its a very enjoyable xp grind game.
  19. Dec 30, 2013
    7
    After porting over from Windows 8 and Windows Phone 8, Halo: Spartan Assault comes off pretty well. The pull for me was that I had already purchased in on Windows 8, yet hadn't played more than a few levels. Because I had already owned it I used my Xbox Live Gamertag, which is my Microsoft Account, and was able to nab this for $4.99 on Xbox Live. At that price, it's an easy buy since you not only get the original game but the mini expansion and some co-op play. The game is also scaled up to 1080p so it maintains the sharp look that it had on mobile devices with significantly smaller screens than mine. After a couple hours into it, I like Spartan Assault... but I don't love it. It has the look, feel, and sound of Halo, but because of its somewhat choppy narrative, it doesn't have the depth of Halo. That's the key for me. But what this does prove, again, is that Halo is capable of leapfrogging genres and still maintaining a higher standard. It's not a waste of time or money, it's just more of a "for the fans" kind of game with a mild appeal to other gamers not entrenched in this incredible universe. It would sit nicely as a 7.5/10 for me. Expand
  20. Mar 29, 2014
    5
    Very mediocre game, definitely felt like a tablet game on a console. All the levels are very short and only about 5 missions per segment. What's worse is that it was even a bad tablet game. Only thing I kinda liked about it was the co-op flood missions. Would suggest avoiding it.
  21. Jan 4, 2014
    10
    Already beat it on win 8 & wp8, so I'm glad now I enjoy new game play in halo franchise on Xbox one.
    interesting story, different game play and mechanics, also movies between levels. All halo fans must have to try something different in halo universe:)
  22. Apr 5, 2014
    5
    -1 point for Micro-Transactions. The game isn't F2P, so they should not be trying to charge you to upgrade or buy weapons for a one time use. -1 point for clunky controls. They should have had an aiming mechanic similar to Alien Swarm, which is FREE on Steam. -1 point for short missions. Most are too short to be even considered "Missions" -1 point for useless equipment. Some weapons and abilities I find utterly useless to use. I mainly want to use just the Regenerative Bubble

    -1 point for wrong audio sounds. Kill a bugger and when it dies, it sounds exactly like an Engineer dying. WRONG!

    However, this game does have a little nifty story and its still fun to play occasionally. I paid $10 for it and I would have been much happier if I paid only $2-5 for it
    Expand
  23. Apr 2, 2014
    9
    I am thoroughly convinced that anyone on this site giving H:SA a low score is either a troll or has not played the game. Some users point out microtransactions. Yes, they exist. Do you need them? Not at all. I have nearly 1000G in this game and have never once even THOUGHT about buying credits because they are not needed at all. Some people talk about lack of multiplayer. This is a flat-out lie. There is a co-op mode and a damn-fine one. Expand
  24. Jan 13, 2014
    0
    Hello hello is a copy very clumsy and slow in the unreal Tournament that is why I think it is so bad and what seems to me to be the worst thing is that they continue to draw the truth this game is for people novice with very little experience and does not know the good games i recommend not playing it.
  25. Jan 10, 2014
    5
    Decent twin stick shooting but the graphics are sub par and levels are wayyyyy too short. Feels like the Halo universe was forced into an existing game. Not bad but should have been a bit less expensive for what it actually is. Not terrible but not on the top of my list...
  26. Jan 10, 2014
    7
    I'll start with this: This is a cellphone game. A cellphone game on your spanking new next gen console. Just be sure to know that when considering this game.

    Having said that, I'm a huge Halo fan and, lucky for Microsoft, I'll buy anything with the Halo name on it. So the game is a cute little twin stick shooter with the Halo theme on it. It's pretty decent. A bit fun and entertaining,
    sure. It actually does a really great job in making you think of Halo. All the sounds effects are spot on, the music, the menus, skull modifiers, the look of everything, etc. However this is obviously nowhere near a real Halo game.

    The game is extremely short. Has 30 missions at about 5 minutes each. Solo campaign is also extremely easy. You'll only might get a challenge on the coop missions which are actually pretty fun and have tons of Flood thrown at you.

    As stated by most people it does have micro transactions which definitely are appalling to see, however as stated by one lone other user, these are never, ever necessary at all. You don't ever have to buy anything at all, BUT if you definitely want to, you can still buy everything with in-game currency that you earn by just playing.

    So again, it's just a cute little casual, short game which had some appeal to me just for being Halo themed. Seeing Halo in another genre, as Halo Wars, was again an interesting diversion. I think at 15 dollars it is WAY overpriced, though, and I'm sure I would have never bothered with it AT ALL if it was not Halo related.

    Can only recommend to Halo die-hards.
    Expand
  27. Jan 6, 2014
    7
    This is a fun quick twin shooting distraction nothing more nothing less not really a full "HALO" experience but close enough,now bring on Halo 5! The negatives its too short and it crashes alot for no reason. And the graphics dont really scream next gen but it is enjoyable.

    Melwheezy
  28. Mar 5, 2014
    5
    Short levels, the micro transactions for weapons is ridiculous and the load outs are incredibly limited. Overall its pretty enjoyable but doesn't hold your attention very long.
  29. Mar 24, 2014
    10
    This game is an awesome Halo game. It may not be the best Halo. Well, that's obvious, but it deserves some attention because of its art style and its score.
  30. Apr 6, 2014
    8
    Spartan Assault is a great little addition to a fan of the Halo universe and it's extended fiction. As a top down shooter, the gameplay is simple and straightforward, but that is what one should expect from such a title. From a design standpoint it is very aesthetically pleasing and well made, the environments do a great job of making you feel as if you're playing within just a smaller space from a much larger world. I recommend this game to someone looking for a quick and fun Halo experience. Expand
  31. Dec 25, 2013
    0
    From a control standpoint, this game has significant better flow to using a traditional controller versus that of a KB+M. The level design is varied enough, however I find that the levels are too short and load-outs are too limited. I may not have been satisfied with the game the whole way through, but I felt like I got most of my money's worth.

    On a final note, don't trust Orchard or
    FDaniel's review for this game. At the time of this submission, they have only one review (this game). It's quite obvious that they're fake accounts made to boost this game's user score. Collapse
Metascore
53

Mixed or average reviews - based on 28 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 28
  2. Negative: 7 out of 28
  1. 30
    A disappointing twin-stick shooter, a waste of the Halo brand and an embarrassing installment into the Xbox One launch window line-up. [Issue#108, p.74]
  2. Feb 26, 2014
    60
    As long as your expectations are tempered, Halo: Spartan Assault is a serviceable game. It works as a top-down shooter, but you'll miss the enemy intelligence of the older games.
  3. Feb 19, 2014
    50
    Even though Halo: Spartan Assault has a lot of charm and is somewhat fun to play, it is somewhat broken by greedy microtransactions.