Metascore
72

Mixed or average reviews - based on 50 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 216 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: When Max wishes for his annoying little brother, Felix, to be whisked away by unknown evil forces, he gets more than he bargained for. Armed only with a marker and a hope of undoing what he has just done, he sets out on a perilous journey across deserts, eerie lantern-lit bogs, ancient temples and lush green forests to get his younger sibling back. Along the way Max gains the power to manipulate his environment and overcome seemingly impossible obstacles. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 50
  2. Negative: 0 out of 50
  1. Jan 3, 2014
    90
    One of the best games that you can buy for your new Xbox One is an inexpensive download.
  2. Jan 17, 2014
    80
    Max: Curse Of Brotherhood is challenging, fun and ultimately enjoyable as it blends precision physics-based puzzles with beautiful visuals.
  3. Feb 28, 2014
    80
    With its charming art style, accessible gameplay, and just-on-the-right-side-of-frustrating puzzles, Max: The Curse of Brotherhood is the perfect game for younger players hoping to try out the Xbox One.
  4. Dec 23, 2013
    75
    While the overall feel of Max: The Curse of Brotherhood might be a bit uneven, it’s well worth checking out for the moments that work.
  5. Jan 16, 2014
    70
    It’s not the kind of game that will be remembered down the track, but in the here and now it’s filling a certain gap in the One’s line-up more than adequately.
  6. Mar 7, 2014
    68
    It will take casual players around seven hours to complete, but there is little reason to come back to the game after the climactic finish, which makes this title difficult to recommend to everyone.
  7. Dec 20, 2013
    60
    The last section of the game, where you guide a spherical object through a series of traps and obstacles, is fantastic. It’s one of the rare times when everything clicked, and it was both challenging and fair. I don’t blame anyone who doesn’t make it that far. Max: The Curse of Brotherhood is a game based on a gimmick that simply doesn’t work all that well.

See all 50 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 51 out of 59
  2. Negative: 6 out of 59
  1. Dec 22, 2013
    10
    Amazing game with amazing pixar graphics, cool story which reminds me of old classical game stories, retro games on NES and SNES. Amazing gameplay with awesome mechanics. The whole idea of the pencil drawing items in the real world is a good idea, and while it was decently accomplished on IOS and PC, the game is way more fun with its amazing graphics. Collapse
  2. Dec 25, 2013
    10
    This game is an absolute must buy for all Xbone owners.

    Max: The Curse of Brotherhood is a charming, enjoyable, and intelligent game with
    puzzles ranging from easy as pie, to hard as hell.

    The graphics are absolutely stunning and really help bring the world to life.

    If you've heard certain reviewers complain about the controls in the game, never fear, they have no idea what they are talking about. This game controls easily and precisely (based on your skill level of course).

    In conclusion, this game is definitely worth the purchase. You won't regret it.

    10/10
    Expand
  3. Dec 28, 2013
    9
    I was on the fence about this game because of the average reviews, but I am so glad I bought this. This game gives me that old school plat former vibe but with a creative new twist, the marker. The marker adds a new dimension to the platformer genre and really spices up the gameplay. The game has beautiful graphics and a unique art style that compliments the game well.

    As for the controls, I don't see how anyone could have any issues. They are extremely easy to grasp and don't hinder the game in any way. The levels are diverse and unique and really show off the excellent gameplay. The game is not that long, around 5-6 hours for me, but there is replay value in the form of eye collectibles, artifact pieces, and achievements. This game is a platforming gem and if you enjoy the genre I highly recommend it. I am having a lot of fun playing this game and I believe this game deserves a much higher rating. It is only $14.99 so go pick it up and have a blast.

    Graphics/Art Style-9
    Gameplay-9
    Replay Value-9

    Overall-9/10
    Expand
  4. Jun 29, 2014
    9
    What a great little gem of a game! Colourful graphics, fantastic level design and great game mechanics. I wasn't going to even look at this if it wasn't free with games for gold, but glad I downloaded it! Even at the normal price of £11.99 you would get a bargain.
    The game vaguely reminds me of abes odeysee which includes the charm, thought out puzzles and suspense of being tailed by foes. If you like that sort of game you won't be disappointed with Max curse of brotherhood!
    PROS:
    Gorgeous graphics, looks like a Pixar movie in places!!
    Inventive & ingenious level design
    Bargain if you get free with games with gold, even if you pay the full price it's worth it!
    CONS:
    A little too short, can be completed easily in a day, wanted more
    Story is forgettable, Max's voice can grate a bit!

    Overall a 9 out of 10 from me, a little gem!!

    Honest and unbiased reviews from Steelselecta!
    Expand
  5. Dec 21, 2013
    9
    Okay, honestly, this game was better than expected. I really love side strollers.
    It's real fun, and something different to offer. The story
    is great, and one thing I really like is the gameplay, controls, and setting.
    It's worth it.

    Absolutely better than expected.
    Anyways, Merry Christmas everyone!
    Expand
  6. Jun 20, 2014
    8
    For what it was, it was an amazing time. It wasn't awfully original but the music and scenery was gorgeous.
    I personally found myself
    reacting and solving puzzles with a touch more anxiety and speediness because while Max was trying to save his brother, he was just a kid himself. The game will definitely engage and impress you, but something felt a bit missing. Perhaps more characterization (but who could fairly ask that of a jump puzzle game)? Nevertheless, I highly recommend it! Expand
  7. Jun 7, 2014
    1
    This game is bad for being free. Please don't listen to these 10/10 reviews as they are obviously from the game's devs. Seriously though this game is bad for being FREE. Stupid puzzles and outrageously slow gameplay. Expand

See all 59 User Reviews