Metascore
72

Mixed or average reviews - based on 51 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 240 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: When Max wishes for his annoying little brother, Felix, to be whisked away by unknown evil forces, he gets more than he bargained for. Armed only with a marker and a hope of undoing what he has just done, he sets out on a perilous journey across deserts, eerie lantern-lit bogs, ancientWhen Max wishes for his annoying little brother, Felix, to be whisked away by unknown evil forces, he gets more than he bargained for. Armed only with a marker and a hope of undoing what he has just done, he sets out on a perilous journey across deserts, eerie lantern-lit bogs, ancient temples and lush green forests to get his younger sibling back. Along the way Max gains the power to manipulate his environment and overcome seemingly impossible obstacles. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 51
  2. Negative: 0 out of 51
  1. Jan 3, 2014
    90
    One of the best games that you can buy for your new Xbox One is an inexpensive download.
  2. Jan 17, 2014
    80
    Max: Curse Of Brotherhood is challenging, fun and ultimately enjoyable as it blends precision physics-based puzzles with beautiful visuals.
  3. Feb 28, 2014
    80
    With its charming art style, accessible gameplay, and just-on-the-right-side-of-frustrating puzzles, Max: The Curse of Brotherhood is the perfect game for younger players hoping to try out the Xbox One.
  4. Dec 23, 2013
    75
    While the overall feel of Max: The Curse of Brotherhood might be a bit uneven, it’s well worth checking out for the moments that work.
  5. Jan 17, 2014
    70
    The constant flow of new sights and well-thought-out puzzles that make up the bulk of the game provide more than enough motivation to see this rescue attempt through to the end.
  6. Dec 26, 2013
    70
    Max: The Curse of Brotherhood doesn’t break any new ground, and should have had the option of using the Kinect for the drawing mechanic, but still delivers. It has rough edges, but overcomes most of them because the platforming is done well.
  7. Dec 20, 2013
    60
    The last section of the game, where you guide a spherical object through a series of traps and obstacles, is fantastic. It’s one of the rare times when everything clicked, and it was both challenging and fair. I don’t blame anyone who doesn’t make it that far. Max: The Curse of Brotherhood is a game based on a gimmick that simply doesn’t work all that well.

See all 51 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 58 out of 66
  2. Negative: 6 out of 66
  1. Dec 22, 2013
    10
    Amazing game with amazing pixar graphics, cool story which reminds me of old classical game stories, retro games on NES and SNES. AmazingAmazing game with amazing pixar graphics, cool story which reminds me of old classical game stories, retro games on NES and SNES. Amazing gameplay with awesome mechanics. The whole idea of the pencil drawing items in the real world is a good idea, and while it was decently accomplished on IOS and PC, the game is way more fun with its amazing graphics. Collapse
  2. May 26, 2014
    10
    Probably the best platformer game since Super Mario. The marker is awesome with all the powers and abilities you get while going deeper intoProbably the best platformer game since Super Mario. The marker is awesome with all the powers and abilities you get while going deeper into the story. Great puzzles where you need to use the environment and things in clever ways to move on. The last boss fight is epic. A lot of replay value. Story will take around 7 to 8 hours to bea. 100% recommended Expand
  3. Dec 26, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. A super addictive and fun! Worth checking out! The are doing quite fun, full of challenges, looks up to a kkk limbo so that color. The story is deep andis, better envouvente. The graphics are very good for being an indie. It is generic as they say, he train his own brilliance. Expand
  4. Jan 24, 2014
    9
    Max: The Curse of Brotherhood is an example of what downloadable titles on Xbox One should be like. It's a beautiful game, it gives you yourMax: The Curse of Brotherhood is an example of what downloadable titles on Xbox One should be like. It's a beautiful game, it gives you your money's worth, and it's a lot of fun. I was blown away by this title, and it just falls short of a 10 in my opinion.
    GRAPHICS(10) Max is simply a beautiful game. It's also very diverse, as you will cross through forests, deserts, caves, waterfalls, etc. Even a week after playing it, I would still shake my head thinking about how pretty everything looks.
    PRESENTATION(9): Microsoft Studios does an excellent job of presenting the story, with beautiful cutscenes throughout the game. There are some portions of the game, however, that do lack story advancement, but it's a very minor complaint.
    GAMEPLAY(10): Max has a brilliant mix of platforming and exploration. At times it can be difficult, however, so be prepared for a few frustrating moments.
    CONTROL(8): Maybe the only part of the game with legitimate issues. The controls are certainly not bad, but when things get difficult, the flakiness of the controls can cause problems. Again, nothing big, but definitely a minor drawback.
    FUN(10): I really had a lot of fun playing Max. The story is at times funny, the overall atmosphere is great, and the gameplay is really challenging.
    OVERALL(9): With it's minor issues of player control and some overly difficult, Max: The Curse of Brotherhood just misses a 10, but this is still my most enjoyable experience on the Xbox One so far next to Ryse.
    Expand
  5. Dec 26, 2013
    9
    Outstanding graphics and level design. All the stages are very well made with great puzzles and excellent controls. Everything works perfectlyOutstanding graphics and level design. All the stages are very well made with great puzzles and excellent controls. Everything works perfectly with max, even its simple story, where it doesn't lose time trying to be consistent, but focusing in entertain. Max is a delightful surprise for 15 bucks, and worth every second you play it. Expand
  6. Oct 31, 2014
    8
    Presently surprised by this game. As I'm not a great fan of platformers, I downloaded this due to a: it was free and b: not many games werePresently surprised by this game. As I'm not a great fan of platformers, I downloaded this due to a: it was free and b: not many games were currently available; so why not add this to the schedule. From the start it was engaging, and at no point did I feel like giving up or looking for another game to play. Yes, it is shortish, but as a free arcade game this is a must play. Also, I never go achievement hunting, but on completion I found myself doing just that. It's good (not an epic by any stretch), but more fun to be found here than Destiny. Expand
  7. Jun 7, 2014
    1
    This game is bad for being free. Please don't listen to these 10/10 reviews as they are obviously from the game's devs. Seriously though thisThis game is bad for being free. Please don't listen to these 10/10 reviews as they are obviously from the game's devs. Seriously though this game is bad for being FREE. Stupid puzzles and outrageously slow gameplay. Expand

See all 66 User Reviews