Max: The Curse of Brotherhood Image
Metascore
72

Mixed or average reviews - based on 51 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 281 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: When Max wishes for his annoying little brother, Felix, to be whisked away by unknown evil forces, he gets more than he bargained for. Armed only with a marker and a hope of undoing what he has just done, he sets out on a perilous journey across deserts, eerie lantern-lit bogs, ancientWhen Max wishes for his annoying little brother, Felix, to be whisked away by unknown evil forces, he gets more than he bargained for. Armed only with a marker and a hope of undoing what he has just done, he sets out on a perilous journey across deserts, eerie lantern-lit bogs, ancient temples and lush green forests to get his younger sibling back. Along the way Max gains the power to manipulate his environment and overcome seemingly impossible obstacles. Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 51
  2. Negative: 0 out of 51
  1. Jan 3, 2014
    90
    One of the best games that you can buy for your new Xbox One is an inexpensive download.
  2. Jan 17, 2014
    80
    Max: Curse Of Brotherhood is challenging, fun and ultimately enjoyable as it blends precision physics-based puzzles with beautiful visuals.
  3. Feb 28, 2014
    80
    With its charming art style, accessible gameplay, and just-on-the-right-side-of-frustrating puzzles, Max: The Curse of Brotherhood is the perfect game for younger players hoping to try out the Xbox One.
  4. Dec 23, 2013
    75
    While the overall feel of Max: The Curse of Brotherhood might be a bit uneven, it’s well worth checking out for the moments that work.
  5. Jan 17, 2014
    70
    The constant flow of new sights and well-thought-out puzzles that make up the bulk of the game provide more than enough motivation to see this rescue attempt through to the end.
  6. Dec 26, 2013
    70
    Max: The Curse of Brotherhood doesn’t break any new ground, and should have had the option of using the Kinect for the drawing mechanic, but still delivers. It has rough edges, but overcomes most of them because the platforming is done well.
  7. Dec 20, 2013
    60
    The last section of the game, where you guide a spherical object through a series of traps and obstacles, is fantastic. It’s one of the rare times when everything clicked, and it was both challenging and fair. I don’t blame anyone who doesn’t make it that far. Max: The Curse of Brotherhood is a game based on a gimmick that simply doesn’t work all that well.

See all 51 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 57 out of 73
  2. Negative: 6 out of 73
  1. Dec 22, 2013
    10
    Amazing game with amazing pixar graphics, cool story which reminds me of old classical game stories, retro games on NES and SNES. AmazingAmazing game with amazing pixar graphics, cool story which reminds me of old classical game stories, retro games on NES and SNES. Amazing gameplay with awesome mechanics. The whole idea of the pencil drawing items in the real world is a good idea, and while it was decently accomplished on IOS and PC, the game is way more fun with its amazing graphics. Expand
  2. May 29, 2014
    10
    This game in a word is... fun. The story is charming and brilliantly narrated. It has imaginative levels & Max has some very creative specialThis game in a word is... fun. The story is charming and brilliantly narrated. It has imaginative levels & Max has some very creative special abilities. It's atmospheric, and the game feels very well produced and polished...as if Pixar has been working on it. Of course, it's not Dark Souls when it comes to difficulty, but so what. This is a different game. It's not designed to frustrate you. It has good puzzles, some deaths, and plenty of surprises, but not to the point where you'll throw you're gamepad away. I played this game with my eight year old daughter and we both loved it. It's an excellent choice for a family friendly game, but not by any means saccharine. If you're looking for some good classic gaming fun in a modern 2D platformer go for this. At the price they are selling it for it's an absolute bargain. Expand
  3. Feb 3, 2014
    10
    Beautiful Pixar-like graphics and fun puzzle platforming are what make this game great. The puzzles are challenging without being tooBeautiful Pixar-like graphics and fun puzzle platforming are what make this game great. The puzzles are challenging without being too frustrating so that when you solve a tough one you feel smart. The pace is good and there are some fun action sequences. Definitely worth the low price. Expand
  4. May 29, 2014
    9
    This game is fantastic!! Very creative and you need to think quickly in this game. Graphics are very animated and colorful. I thoroughlyThis game is fantastic!! Very creative and you need to think quickly in this game. Graphics are very animated and colorful. I thoroughly enjoyed this game and its free on Xbox One in June.... Hope they make a sequel. This game was seriously underrated and did not receive the spotlight I believe it should have.... Expand
  5. Jun 5, 2014
    9
    Max: The Curse of Brotherhood is a nice, simple sidescroller accompanied by graphics equivalent to an animated film, and is a challenging andMax: The Curse of Brotherhood is a nice, simple sidescroller accompanied by graphics equivalent to an animated film, and is a challenging and enjoyable platformer to play when you're just bored. Expand
  6. Jul 8, 2015
    8
    Like with many others, people played this game because it was available for Games for Gold on Xbox One (in 2014). And I have to say its veryLike with many others, people played this game because it was available for Games for Gold on Xbox One (in 2014). And I have to say its very addicting, the art style and graphics looks like something from a TV Show its pretty awesome. The whole game is a puzzle and you have to use your marker to cut, move, destroy, or make things. Sadly, I have to say this. I got to one point of the game and I couldn't beat it. I tired so many times and failed, so I uninstalled it. So I cant give this a full review like most people. But if you like this type of art style and puzzle aspect then get this game. Expand
  7. Jul 5, 2014
    1
    I got this game for free off of Xbox's "Games for Gold" system, and boy am I glad I did not pay a penny for this game, because if I had II got this game for free off of Xbox's "Games for Gold" system, and boy am I glad I did not pay a penny for this game, because if I had I would have been SOOO heated! The graphics are okay. They look pleasantly cartoony but glitch quite frequently. The physics engine is absolutely broken which is quite sad, as that is the only part of this game that really matters. It is "a physics based puzzle game" where the physics don't work half the time. The entire game is based off of the physics, but oftentimes I felt frauded by doing a puzzle right and then it not working because the objects within the puzzle glitched or moved in a completely unnatural way. Then I would do the puzzle the exact same way and it would work, but it wouldn't be satisfying because I died before while making no mistake.

    Also, the entire game feels like a huge tutorial level. You get a power for your pen, you use it for a couple of levels, and then you get a new one, and then you use it for a couple of levels, and this continues until you reach the final boss which is the only moment where everything comes together and it feels like you learning all of those powers was worthwhile in the slightest.

    The gameplay is also extremely slow paced. Every few levels there will be a relatively exciting part (which isn't saying much) where you will slide down a hill and then use your pen in slow motion. This would be fine if they weren't the only exciting parts and they weren't almost exactly the same every time.

    Another thing that kind of annoyed me is the puzzles make you think that you can solve them in a bunch of different creative ways, however when it actually comes down to it, you have to draw the shape it wants you to pixel perfect just to get the puzzle to work at all. The puzzles are all based off of a gimmick that isn't entertaining, which is drawing differently shaped lines.

    Overall this game is just absolutely awful. Normally I wouldn't complain because it's a free game, but I honestly felt like I should have been payed for playing this game because of how tedious and boring it was. But I wasn't, unlike all of the developers that wrote the massive amount of positive reviews you see here. If you are considering buying this game for any amount of money, please don't. I'm sorry if this sounded like a rant instead of a review, but it's honestly just that bad of a game.
    Expand

See all 73 User Reviews