User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 50 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 50
  2. Negative: 6 out of 50
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 25, 2014
    10
    One of the most fun, funniest, and entertaining games I've played in a very long time.

    If you liked Wolfenstien: The New Order you'll have a blast playing this game.

    Don't miss out, it costs much less than most games out there, but you'll have more fun than most games out there.
  2. Oct 25, 2014
    8
    This is a super fun game. It is loaded with secrets and easter eggs and is just a riot to play. It reminds me a bit of Shadows of the Damned but has much better controls. If you are looking for an old school shooter that makes you laugh here it is. Nice to get a budget priced game for the xbox one for a change. Very glad I picked this one up.
  3. Feb 4, 2015
    7
    id give a 7.5 officially. shadow warrior is a very fun game, that had a surprisingly good story that is tongue in cheek and will give you some laughs along the way.

    Visuals: the graphics in this game aren't great, and resembles something slightly better than a 360 game. the textures and frame rates are very smooth though. Game-play: the best part of this game is the combat. it is so
    id give a 7.5 officially. shadow warrior is a very fun game, that had a surprisingly good story that is tongue in cheek and will give you some laughs along the way.

    Visuals: the graphics in this game aren't great, and resembles something slightly better than a 360 game. the textures and frame rates are very smooth though.

    Game-play: the best part of this game is the combat. it is so good with a mixture of weapons to play with. i found my self constantly switching between weapons during a fight depending on the enemies i was encountering and it kept the game play varied. there is also a good customization aspect as well with 3 different aspects that you can upgrade by finding money and special items hidden throughout the levels. only problem is that there are some bad loading sequenmces and lag time when entering new areas which takes some of the fun away at times.

    Music: the music in the game is well done and gives off a Japanese style vibe to it that is nice to listen to.
    Expand
  4. Mar 21, 2015
    9
    Now this game is one of the funnest ever created.

    PROS
    -Great Combat
    -Humor
    -Graphics
    -Large map

    CONS
    -Story needs a little work, and is confusing
  5. Jun 7, 2015
    7
    A stupidly funny and stupidly stupid game. Its simple in all regards and thats good, you dont want a complicated serious shadow warrior you want funny, you want wise cracks and cheap one liners and a simple yet effective combat system thats easy to mater.

    the only problem i had was head bob..........o the head bob.
  6. Jun 10, 2015
    10
    This game is just what it was supposed to be. Good ol' fun just like the old one. I was pleasantly surprised and have thoroughly enjoyed the game thus far. It's not "leading edge" or anything, but is humourous, silly and enjoyable just as it should be.
  7. Jan 17, 2016
    1
    Was looking forward to playing this as i have played the original. But on the XBox One it was terrible. Rez is low. Control scheme is easily one of the worst i ever seen for console. Healing yrself takes 3 moves for example and still have not figured out how to fire a weapon in the game. The worst thing i think gamemakers can do is when they try to reinvent something. If it is not broken,Was looking forward to playing this as i have played the original. But on the XBox One it was terrible. Rez is low. Control scheme is easily one of the worst i ever seen for console. Healing yrself takes 3 moves for example and still have not figured out how to fire a weapon in the game. The worst thing i think gamemakers can do is when they try to reinvent something. If it is not broken, don't fix it. Control layouts should feel natrual, this is a mess. Expand
  8. Jan 29, 2016
    8
    Shadow warrior is a wonderful throwback to nineties fps madness.
    Armed with a sword, an arsenal of firepower and little magic, Wangs task is to retrieve the magical sword and destroy the invading demons!
    This game is filled with classic and cheesy one liners duke nukum style. Wonderful sword play makes the katana my weapon of choice but that takes nothing away from the guns, which are
    Shadow warrior is a wonderful throwback to nineties fps madness.
    Armed with a sword, an arsenal of firepower and little magic, Wangs task is to retrieve the magical sword and destroy the invading demons!
    This game is filled with classic and cheesy one liners duke nukum style.
    Wonderful sword play makes the katana my weapon of choice but that takes nothing away from the guns, which are more than capable of slaying demons.
    This game is so much fun, you can lose hours chopping heads off or searching every corner to find the ever elusive secrets!
    Seventeen missions which take on avridge half an hour to complete, means there is a lot of game for a budget price.
    If I had to critisize, I would say some of the magic abilitys are confusing to pull off on an Xbox controller, but there not difficult! Once you have the technique mastered you will be using magic like the Wang master himself!
    Brilliant game, it's so refreshing to play an old school fps after years of military shooters.
    Expand
Metascore
74

Mixed or average reviews - based on 14 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 14
  2. Negative: 0 out of 14
  1. Official Xbox Magazine UK
    Dec 3, 2014
    70
    Feels surprisingly fresh. [Xmas 2014, p.85]
  2. X-ONE Magazine UK
    Dec 2, 2014
    70
    You'll probably leave it with fond memories. [Issue#118, p.74]
  3. Nov 24, 2014
    75
    Shadow Warrior on Xbox One is neither an example of great graphics, nor a deep shooter. Instead, it is an old-style FPS fun and boisterous, full of explosions and blood but also less trivial than you could expect.