Tomb Raider: Definitive Edition Xbox One

Tomb Raider: Definitive Edition Image
Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 18 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 449 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Armed with only the raw instincts and physical ability to push beyond the limits of human endurance, Tomb Raider delivers an intense and gritty story into the origins of Lara Croft and her ascent from a frightened young woman to a hardened survivor.
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 18
  2. Negative: 0 out of 18
  1. Jan 31, 2014
    100
    A lack of decent bonuses makes the Definitive Edition a hard sell for existing fans, but for newcomers it's a slice of platforming perfection that will make the wait for next-gen blockbusters easier to bear.
  2. Jan 26, 2014
    93
    The biggest draw of Tomb Raider: The Definitive Edition is the improved graphics. They're simply stunning in perhaps the best-looking console game I've ever seen. Running smooth 1080p resolution, this new version adds an incredible level of detail to the newly modeled characters and lush environments.
  3. Oct 22, 2014
    90
    If you never had the chance to experience the game a year ago, then the Definitive Edition is an absolute no-brainer. In fact, we’re even slightly envious of those people that waited, because Tomb Raider: Definitive Edition is one of the Xbox One's best games.
  4. Jan 29, 2014
    89
    Even though it’s an incredible game, it’s still one that can be beaten over a quick rental period, with multi-player that isn’t deep enough to sustain the experience for much longer.
  5. Jan 30, 2014
    85
    Tomb Raider: Definitive Edition's enhancements are cosmetic-only so the flaws present in the game's last-gen version are still present. Even so, it's a great game made greater, so for those yet to play it, this is the version to get.
  6. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Apr 7, 2014
    80
    The same game looking better - and offering a deeper immersion into Lara's island nightmare. [Issue #239]
  7. Jan 27, 2014
    70
    The only thing we can definitively say is that if publishers are going to begin overcharging for slight next-gen upgrades, then this is going to be one hell of a long generation.

See all 18 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 43 out of 60
  2. Negative: 10 out of 60
  1. Feb 7, 2014
    10
    The fact that the PS4 version came out a little better in the framerate department doesn't change how great this game is on any platform orThe fact that the PS4 version came out a little better in the framerate department doesn't change how great this game is on any platform or version. It's a 10/10 game on the PC, PS3, XBox 360, PS4 and XB1. If the price isn't good for you, wait for it to drop. Expand
  2. Jan 28, 2014
    10
    This is a very good action adventure game. With puzzles, great shooting mechanics and tons of explorable areas , this game will keep you busyThis is a very good action adventure game. With puzzles, great shooting mechanics and tons of explorable areas , this game will keep you busy for quite a while. BUT WHAT I CANNOT UNDERSTAND, is why you would buy this game if you previously had it. It is the SAME GAME. Those who bought it again and are complaining about a lack of innovation are idiots. IT IS THE SAME **** GAME. Buy it if you have not already, because it's great, but if you already have the 7th gen version or the PC version, YOU ALREADY HAVE THIS GAME, lol. People are basically complaining about their own stupidity on here. Expand
  3. Oct 9, 2015
    9
    Fantastic game. Some very interesting puzzles and climbing mechanics. Loved it when I fired up my second playthrough to find all the treasureFantastic game. Some very interesting puzzles and climbing mechanics. Loved it when I fired up my second playthrough to find all the treasure I missed the first time ... and finally maxed out all my weapons.

    Though I enjoyed the Uncharted games, this beats them all for look, feel, and how I was engrossed for hours at a time.

    I will definitely be getting Rise of the Tomb Raider!
    Expand
  4. Feb 1, 2014
    9
    Tomb Raider on Xbox 360 was great. With a noticeable facelift and extra DLC on Xbox One, it is even better. This is a great origin story withTomb Raider on Xbox 360 was great. With a noticeable facelift and extra DLC on Xbox One, it is even better. This is a great origin story with a bit of grit instead of polish. This isn't your old-school Tomb Raider but a survival experience on an island with dangerous enemies and a bit of a supernatural sense. I loved Tomb Raider on 360 and I've picked it up again because the game was so good I wanted to experience it with the extras. Totally worth a purchase and is a good way to fill some time before a big title like TitanFall lands in just over a month. Expand
  5. Apr 12, 2016
    8
    Muy buen reebot de la saga. El juego tienes sus fallos (bugs) pero te engancha en muy corto tiempo y no te aburre. Las tumbas son simples peroMuy buen reebot de la saga. El juego tienes sus fallos (bugs) pero te engancha en muy corto tiempo y no te aburre. Las tumbas son simples pero tiene un monton de coleccionables. Buen sistema de exploracion Expand
  6. Aug 7, 2014
    8
    One of the best action adventure games this far. Camera, moving and shooting works a lot smoother than in Uncharted 3 or older Tomb RaiderOne of the best action adventure games this far. Camera, moving and shooting works a lot smoother than in Uncharted 3 or older Tomb Raider games and story itself is great.

    I have played this game before for PS3 and Xbox 360 so it's just same game with different looking Lara, better graphics and all DLC's included. While i played Xbox One version of this game i had problems with some single player achievements not unlocking properly and i didn't get change to try multiplayer because there was not enought players online. Kinect in this game is pretty much useless because it's faster to change weapons from d-pad than say "shotgun" or something else like that.

    Anyways. If you haven't owned last gen version of this game then this game is totally worth of money.
    Expand
  7. Jun 24, 2015
    0
    I hated so much this game, i was hyped by the reboot but it has nothing to do with a tomb raider game. No tropical/luxurious/antique sites, noI hated so much this game, i was hyped by the reboot but it has nothing to do with a tomb raider game. No tropical/luxurious/antique sites, no puzzles, no adventure...just a generic/boring TPS, just "ouch, ouch i take a stick in my womb and fall every 10 seconds but can still walk, run etc." and "bam bam tatata bang" worse than a COD. I don't get all the hype for this game. Expand

See all 60 User Reviews