Transformers: Rise of the Dark Spark Image
Metascore
47

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 7 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 50 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: For the first time ever, fight your way through both Earth and Cybertron universes in an unforgettable battle to secure the Dark Spark. Play the expanded four-player co-op online escalation mode with new upgradeable defenses and challenging Power Foes. The new leveling system spans campaignFor the first time ever, fight your way through both Earth and Cybertron universes in an unforgettable battle to secure the Dark Spark. Play the expanded four-player co-op online escalation mode with new upgradeable defenses and challenging Power Foes. The new leveling system spans campaign and escalation, allowing players to unlock rewards that will aid progression in both modes. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 7
  2. Negative: 5 out of 7
  1. Jul 3, 2014
    60
    Transformers: Rise of the Dark Spark is not a great game, but for those like me who still dream of reliving my childhood, Escalation scratches that itch. The collection of characters make it worthwhile, but not at $60.
  2. Jul 2, 2014
    50
    If Activision cares to know, fans are indeed hungry for a new Transformers game – just not one that shamelessly tries to make us trade our hard-earned cash for junk.
  3. Jun 27, 2014
    49
    The bland campaign is a slog with uneven difficulty, while vehicle transformations and combat are largely unsatisfying. Without nailing that, you’ve got a bad Transfomers game.
  4. Jul 3, 2014
    45
    Transformers: Rise of the Dark Spark is awash in so much borrowed content, so many poorly executed examples of copy-and-paste design from its predecessors, that I can't help but wonder what happened. My best guess? A lack of time. Regardless, Transformers: Rise of the Dark Spark is a colossal failure, serving only as a reminder of how much better its predecessors were.
  5. Games Master UK
    Aug 24, 2014
    42
    Not dreadful. [Oct 2014, p.80]
  6. 40
    Yet another one of those licensed games no one really needs. It's a shame, really. I actually thought the Transformers games had gone beyond that.
  7. Jul 13, 2014
    40
    The developer switch didn't really help the franchise: bad graphics, bad gameplay and frustrating. Its only good feature is the Escalation online co-op mode.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 13
  2. Negative: 5 out of 13
  1. Jun 24, 2014
    10
    If you liked Fall of Cybertron and War for Cybertron you will LOVE this game, The EArth levels (only a few of them have normal graphics, butIf you liked Fall of Cybertron and War for Cybertron you will LOVE this game, The EArth levels (only a few of them have normal graphics, but thise game shines when you're on cybertron, those levels are beautiful, the banter between the autobots and the decepticons is excellent Collapse
  2. Jun 24, 2014
    10
    I missed my transformers crack addiction when I upgraded from 360 to XB1 but fear not friends THIS WILL FILL THAT VOID if you loved the othersI missed my transformers crack addiction when I upgraded from 360 to XB1 but fear not friends THIS WILL FILL THAT VOID if you loved the others transformer game you'll feel right at home so run out there and pick it up and I'll see you on the battlefield Expand
  3. Aug 27, 2014
    7
    I want to start by addressing the elephant in the room with this game, yes it was not made by High Moon Studios and its not going to have theI want to start by addressing the elephant in the room with this game, yes it was not made by High Moon Studios and its not going to have the same flare as its predecessors but does that mean its a godawful game no in fact its an enjoyable, fun, 3rd person shooter experience. Lets start with the bad, Its not as cinematically presented as the previous fall of cybertron or war for cybertron, there were some glitches such as characters would get stuck and I could not progress through the level forcing me to do a level restart, there is no team deathmatch multiplayer or other modes besides the escalation mode, while the cybertron levels are well designed the earth levels are not as inspired, there is one minor plot hole in the game. With the cybertron parts of the game being set between the events of war for cybertron and fall of cybertron, when you meet up with Megatron later in the game he has the body design of after he was rebuilt by soundwave after being crushed by metroplex during the events of fall of cybertron. The last bad thing with the game is I wish they got more of the voice actors to do the micheal bay Transformers like the voice actor for lockdown in the game is not the same one as Transformers Age of Extinction. Now before I talk about the good, I want to give a summary of the story in the game. The game starts off with you playing as the transformer Drift and the earth is under attack by the mercenary Lockdown and his minions and something has crashed and made a crater. You then proceed to meet up with optimus prime and bumblebee and you meet lockdown who takes the dark spark for himself. After that the games cuts to the cybertron unviverse where the same thing is going on the decepticons are loooking for the dark spark and the autobots are trying to get it back. That is pretty much the story in a nutshell except when around the last few chapters the game goes back to the earth sections and you end of facing lockdown and foiling his evil plans for the dark spark. There are two standout moments from the story playing as Bruticus and Grimlock in separate levels. Now on to the good as I said you get to play as Bruticus and Grimlock in the game, those two levels were easily my favorite out of the whole game. I also enjoyed as always Peter Cullen's voice work as the legendary Optimus Prime. The graphics while nothing special were nice to look at so points there. I enjoyed the carry over of the third person mechanics from the previous games those felt right where you get to switch firing arms equip a heavy weapon and add three tech assistants like temporary regenerative health, a black hole grenade and other various temporary power ups. New this time are these things called hacks where it ads a certain layer to the combat like exploding enemies, enemies drop less health but more ammo or vice versa more health less ammo. Another new mechanic I do appreciate are the lock boxes you unlock buy doing certain in mission objectives or multiplayer objectives or just by simply leveling up. From these you unlock different characters to play as in the escalation mode multiplayer which is basically a horde mode however to me it provides a fun fast paced bit of action while playing as my favorite transformers autobots or decepticons. Also form the lock boxes you unlock new weapons and upgrades, hacks, and temporary tech abilities. The last thing thing I want to say about this game is that the biggest fan service it does and I appreciate this is the 40+ characters you get to choose from for the escalation mode. Overall This game is a solid 7/10 while not as well presented as its predecessors it still has a place among them. Expand
  4. Jul 4, 2014
    5
    Unless you're an absolute die hard TF fan who can tolerate some of the annoying things that come with a sub-standard game production, IUnless you're an absolute die hard TF fan who can tolerate some of the annoying things that come with a sub-standard game production, I certainly wouldn't recommend this.

    The graphics are well below par, with some seriously hideous lighting issues. The story is just about bearable, but the general Cybertron time line/continuity plus the link between Cybertron/Earth TF's are both more than a tad dubious.

    Vehicle modes feel cumbersome and somewhat obsolete in this game, the AI is a bit suspect and deaths often come as a complete and utter surprise (it's either breeze through a section or die immediately).

    All in all - Edge of Reality have pretty much cobbled together existing material from previous High Moon TF games as a money spinning ploy to entice fans of War/Fall and the TF movies alike.

    Where War/Fall possibly weren't ever going to be the best games from a neutral perspective, I would've still recommended this as a decent shooters. At least for TF fans they were standout titles & for the G1 purists especially, a reimagined take on the franchise which was also pretty faithful to the original source material.

    Both were great games first time round and had good replay value with campaign, escalation and online MP modes.

    RotDS for me falls way short on all counts. At best it's a mediocre game - and that's even from a TF fans perspective.
    Expand
  5. Feb 22, 2016
    5
    I will admit it, I enjoyed this game. It is definitely not the best transformers game out there, but I still find it entertaining. Lets startI will admit it, I enjoyed this game. It is definitely not the best transformers game out there, but I still find it entertaining. Lets start off with the story. I dont hate the story I think its ok, but it could have been better. The multiplayer is good, with escalation being the best thing about this game. The gameplay is like fall of cybertron, its 3rd person and so on. I know most transformers fans will not like this game, but I think its something different and fun to play. Expand
  6. Jun 27, 2014
    4
    This game will only appeal to young children (my son is 10) who love Transformers. The backgrounds are PS2 in quality, the charactersThis game will only appeal to young children (my son is 10) who love Transformers. The backgrounds are PS2 in quality, the characters themselves PS3/360 quality. Linear, scripted gameplay. Worst looking game I have played in a couple of years. Campaign lasts about 6 hours, then on to Spawn-scalation where you wait on AI bots to spawn, be destroyed, repeat. A terrible game except through the eyes of children. Expand
  7. Aug 17, 2014
    0
    17 positive reviews? Really this game has more positive reviews than negative ones with 17 FRIGGIN POSITIVE REVIEWS? 5.8 is17 positive reviews? Really this game has more positive reviews than negative ones with 17 FRIGGIN POSITIVE REVIEWS? 5.8 is WAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAY too much for this pile of feces. The graphics are atrocious, the gameplay is boring as hell and honestly, $50 or $60 is WAY too much! $20? Maybe, but not $60. I have a feeling the reason why this has a positive rating is because fanboys of the movie just rated it without playing it. Is it better than the last 2 games? Maybe, but it still sucks. This version isn't anything special, so why it has a higher rating than the PC & PS4 versions stuns me. This game blows, don't buy it. Expand

See all 13 User Reviews