Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 28 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 28
  2. Negative: 0 out of 28
Buy On
  1. Apr 18, 2014
    90
    Fun, frustrating and incredibly well designed, this is the perfect game to see you through the summer next-gen drought.
  2. Apr 16, 2014
    90
    If you’re unsure if you’re ready for more Trials — but you loved the previous games — you’ll find plenty to love here. Just make sure to hold a conclave with your friends to agree on a platform.
  3. Jun 3, 2014
    85
    RedLynx certainly hasn't lost any of the ideas that make the Trials series so much fun to play and has escalated the track design in a way that makes this game feel fresh and new, despite being the 13th entry in a decade-old series.
  4. Apr 24, 2014
    85
    Fusion is the natural evolution of the brand Trials. New mechanics have been introduced to this chapter: they are not perfect but certainly appreciable, giving us an added value that justifies this new edition.
  5. Apr 22, 2014
    85
    As expected, Trials Fusion is a real success. Ubisoft is now leading the game, and it's enhanced technically as well as in a gameplay matter. The track editor, challenges and extra content weren't even needed. It's kind of strange but the multiplayer modes is the only bad argument against this title, that deserved much more on this side.
  6. Apr 17, 2014
    85
    In theory, Trials Fusion should be the biggest and best entry yet. Between more development time and it being on next-gen systems, it should feel definitive. However, while it’s very good, it doesn’t raise the bar for the series like Evolution did.
  7. Apr 17, 2014
    85
    Great tracks and high adrenaline levels distinguish RedLynx' new foray in the Trials franchise; the new FMX tricks didn't turn out to be a valuable addition to the series, but the core gameplay stays as addictive as ever.
  8. Apr 17, 2014
    85
    Evolution was bigger and better in every aspect. But still this is a competent and challenging arcade game that keeps you glued to your pad.
  9. Apr 16, 2014
    82
    Trials Fusion is at once mercilessly exacting, and regularly thrilling.
  10. Jun 24, 2014
    80
    Offering up new challenges and features keeps us entertained, and the unlimited supply of tracks via Track Central ensures that the game will never die. Trials Fusions downfall is that of the new FMX trials. It is an unnecessary addition to a game still provides the player with the same fun factor as its predecessors without it.
  11. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Jun 5, 2014
    80
    Nicely looking sequel that was obviously rushed and now it’s up to the community to bring it to completion. [Issue#242]
  12. Apr 25, 2014
    80
    Trials Fusion delivers exactly what one would expect: the usual high-class core gameplay in a new setting. It's not radically different to other games in the series, but for the moment, that's completely fine.
  13. Apr 17, 2014
    80
    Trials Fusion takes the series into the realm of being a full game and not a small arcade title anymore as it has some serious chops to run with the big boys, especially with a $20 price point (digital version).
  14. 80
    Punishing but fair, Trials Fusion is a fast-paced platformer with fantastic level design and a few new ideas. It’s just a shame that the new ideas aren’t implemented better.
  15. Apr 17, 2014
    80
    Without being as revolutionary as its predecessor, Trials Fusion delivers what we expected : more than 50 new races of a so enjoyable game, that still rely on its pure physics engine, wonderful level design, big content and all the competition that it creates between you and the people in your friend list. Definitely a must-have on new-gen consoles.
  16. Apr 16, 2014
    80
    This is another expertly designed entry in the enthralling series. Though the core action remains largely unchanged, it's as exciting as it has ever been, thanks in part to the gorgeous visual design that brings each location to life.
  17. Apr 16, 2014
    80
    Trials Fusion, like its predecessors, is a bundle of fun packaged in frustration, repetition, and memorization. If that kind of punishment is your cup of tea, Fusion offers more of what you’ve come to expect. The existing formula is an awfully good one, but with few meaningful steps forward, it’s easy to feel like we’ve crashed down this road before.
  18. Apr 16, 2014
    80
    Despite the poor resolution, Xbox One controller provides the best experience for Trials series. The game's formula is still fun and addictive, but someone could need something new.
  19. Apr 16, 2014
    80
    Trials Fusion may not make as far of an evolutionary leap forward as its predecessor, but that doesn't make it any less worthy a successor to the Trials name.
  20. Apr 16, 2014
    80
    Nevertheless, Trials Fusion is every bit the Trials game you’ve come to expect and then some.
  21. 80
    It's currently missing much of the content that will make it great - online multiplayer, and user-created tracks. But an Xbox One Trials fills a crucial gap in the next-gen lineup.
  22. Apr 16, 2014
    80
    Trials Fusion delivers more of what you want: addictively challenging obstacle courses, complete with precision controls and highly competitive leaderboards. The futuristic setting and subplot don't add much, but they (usually) don't detract from the fun either.
  23. Apr 16, 2014
    80
    As relentlessly bastard-hard as ever, Trials Fusion coaxes you in with its easy and medium events, before kicking you square in the balls with its later hard and extreme tracks. It's still utterly brilliant, but takes no prisoners. In conclusion: Trials Fusion – good but hard. Just like the other games. Buy it.
  24. Apr 28, 2014
    75
    A challenging platformer disguised as a racer.
  25. May 2, 2014
    70
    Track Central gives into core of the Trials experience and allows us to relish in the waste of biomass. Sorry, riders: this is what you’re made for.
  26. Apr 28, 2014
    70
    Trials Fusion, the latest title in the series, offers the same experience as previous entries – great for fans, but it all feels a little too familiar for those who have already spent many hours racing, crashing and restarting in previous Trials games.
  27. Apr 17, 2014
    70
    Not as much of a leap into the new generation as a reminder of how much fun you can have with a classic concept, this one will keep you entertained as well as unimpressed.
  28. Apr 18, 2014
    62
    It’s fun, but it’s not nearly as fun as other Trials games.
User Score
7.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 163 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 93 out of 163
  2. Negative: 26 out of 163
  1. Apr 16, 2014
    9
    Step 1; Settings, Turn off announcers.

    I've been a huge fan of the console version of the Trials games. This is a great addition with some
    Step 1; Settings, Turn off announcers.

    I've been a huge fan of the console version of the Trials games. This is a great addition with some quirks. I think the graphics are good and the gameplay is smooth. The levels are much more varied than any other Trial game. The game has a techno, futuristic feel so I guess there will be some mixed feeling on this. I wouldn't pass this game up for $20.
    Full Review »
  2. Apr 16, 2014
    5
    I am a huge fan of the 2 previous Trials games, so I was very excited to pop this into my Xbox One when I got home last night.
    There was
    I am a huge fan of the 2 previous Trials games, so I was very excited to pop this into my Xbox One when I got home last night.
    There was always cheesy intro music to Trials games but the intro to Fusion is just terrible. It was not a good first impression to the game.
    I felt right at home with the gameplay as it is very similar to the other games. The issue I have is the performance of the game itself. First off it doesn't look very good at all, with a ton of jaggies and texture pop in everywhere. These are nothing compared to the screen tearing which drives me insane personally. There is no excuse for this. Normally I don't let these things bother me, but the PS4 and XB1 are supposed to be next generation machines. This game appears to be very much a relic of the last generation, ported up to the new systems.
    Overall it just seems the game is missing something. It's not a bad game but it isn't very good either. Oh the first thing you should do is turn the announcers off, they are horrible.
    Full Review »
  3. Apr 19, 2014
    6
    RedLynx proves that, once again, once the speed dies down and bunnny hopping perfectly becomes a requirement for every jump 2/3 into the game,RedLynx proves that, once again, once the speed dies down and bunnny hopping perfectly becomes a requirement for every jump 2/3 into the game, the fun factor falls flat on it's face and I end up dashboarding to another game.

    That, and the FMX trick system feels completely unnecessary, and at times nearly broken. At times it takes entirely too long to go into a trick.

    RoosterTeeth and user content are the lifeblood of this game, and rightfully so, because RedLynx turns it into a controller-throwing hardcore skillfest in the final hours of the career.
    Full Review »