Apex Xbox

  • Publisher: Atari
  • Release Date: Feb 17, 2003
Metascore
74

Mixed or average reviews - based on 26 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 26
  2. Negative: 2 out of 26
Buy On
  1. Despite throwing around more polygons than any other Xbox racer we've seen, Racing Evoluzione rarely if ever skips a frame. And that includes our appraisal of the two-player split-screen, which was examined at jaw-to-the-floor inducing length.
  2. 90
    Outstanding graphics, excellent, balanced and enjoyable gameplay, an interesting career mode and plenty of tracks and cars.
  3. Official Xbox Magazine
    89
    "Ridge Racer" on steroids... The best-looking racing game we've ever seen. [Mar 2003, p.77]
  4. With a good story, excellent graphics, varied tracks, and a whole lot of great racing machines that most of us only dream of driving, Apex is one of the better racers to be found on the Xbox.
  5. 82
    The gorgeous graphics combined with the terrific sense of speed (at least at higher levels) are certainly as fun to watch as they are to interact with, and the control is accurate enough to allow precise movements.
  6. Xbox Nation Magazine
    80
    The graphics are lush, the sense of speed is breathtaking. [Apr 2003, p.87]
  7. GMR Magazine
    80
    What I liked best was how most of the tracks were set up in a way to guarantee fast or exciting finishes. [Mar 2003, p.64]
  8. Despite it’s rather shallow feeling and the such, it’s still pretty damn addictive and you’ll be dying to complete each and every course.
  9. Manages to offer you completely believable and very original environments that don’t just go for all the usual stereotypes.
  10. The wonky physics and a slightly limited variety of custom parts keep this one from a higher score, but Xbox owners looking to inject some originality into their racing experience would do well to check out Apex's unique approach to a somewhat stale genre.
  11. Electronic Gaming Monthly
    80
    Fast, pretty, and controls almost perfectly. [Mar 2003, p.134]
  12. 80
    If it wasn’t for unbalanced controls, Apex could have taken top honors in the Xbox racing category.
  13. Play Magazine
    80
    It may not provide the juice that, say, a "Ridge Racer" can, but otherwise, in the realm of the racing/lifestyle sims we're seeing, Apex moves to the head of the class. [Apr 2003, p.56]
  14. Cheat Code Central
    80
    A fine game but in terms of depth it's a paintscratch away from the surface.
  15. Everything about Apex's visuals set the bar for future racing titles. The way the game uses reflections to make everything look shiny and new is simply stunning.
  16. 78
    Once I got over the fact that it's main gimmick (the auto empire building) didn't add any emotion to the races, I was left with a very basic, competent but still basic, racing title.
  17. Game Informer
    78
    Why should I worry about getting the best car when just about anyone can race to the front regardless? [May 2003, p.89]
  18. The idea of being able to design your own prototype and then race it is an excellent one, but it just wasn’t carried out very well in this game.

Awards & Rankings

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 8 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 5
  2. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. Jan 30, 2017
    9
    También conocido como Racing Evoluzione es un videojuego de conducción arcade con leves toques de simulacion de mano de los grandes de laTambién conocido como Racing Evoluzione es un videojuego de conducción arcade con leves toques de simulacion de mano de los grandes de la conducción Milestone exclusivo para la primera Xbox, el juego arranca con una espectacular banda sonora del opening, unos riff que te duraran en la cabeza un buen rato. luego creas tu partida y escoges el logo e tu equipo y arranca la aventura. El juego tiene variedad aceptable de coches y carreras. tiene gráficos decentillos para su época y los vehículos poseen daños visibles. una pega es que podría resultar un poco extraño la forma en que se simula los impactos al chocar o al tomar las curvas, un excelente y divertido juego de conducción Full Review »
  2. CharlieP.
    Mar 24, 2003
    7
    I thought Atari was a good company, like Sega. But I am obviously wrong. The physics are so bad and the game is so easy (other than the, hit I thought Atari was a good company, like Sega. But I am obviously wrong. The physics are so bad and the game is so easy (other than the, hit the car and it somehow speeds of you AI cheat) that it is funny. Atari, you had the perfect Racing game idea and ruined it, I'm disappointed. Full Review »
  3. BobbyB.
    Feb 25, 2003
    10
    Great! I love chillin out with me dope and racin me own brand of Bobby Bee cars. Brooooooooooooom down to the shops and buy it today!