Brothers in Arms: Earned in Blood Xbox

  • Publisher: Ubisoft
  • Release Date: Oct 6, 2005
User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 25 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 25
  2. Negative: 1 out of 25
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. BobR.
    Oct 10, 2005
    9
    Wow. Forget all those killjoys who reckon this isn't different enough to BiA1- this is VERY different. Yep, graphics similar, yep storyline similar and, yep, basic gameplay mechanics identical. HOWEVER, the all new reactive enemy AI turned what I thought was a dull, tedious original into an epic and exciting sequel. With the first one it always felt like I was just moving on until I Wow. Forget all those killjoys who reckon this isn't different enough to BiA1- this is VERY different. Yep, graphics similar, yep storyline similar and, yep, basic gameplay mechanics identical. HOWEVER, the all new reactive enemy AI turned what I thought was a dull, tedious original into an epic and exciting sequel. With the first one it always felt like I was just moving on until I found a load of Germans, then we took them out and moved on. At first it was kind of fun, but eventually the whole Four-F thing became very samey and what originally seemd to be tactical play revealed itself to be nothing of the sort. NOW those pesky Germans just won't sit still long enough to let you pull of thoughtless flanking. They'll move back, shift position, retreat or even charge, and that's damn scary when it happens. Gun battles can rage for ages as both sides shift around and try and gain the upper-hand. Last night I finished a long and hard fought battle, winning with only myself and a smidgen of energy, exhausted but victorious. This is a wondeful, tactical, thoughtful jet-engine of a title, and I can't recommend it highly enough. Best title of the year for me, no doubts at all. Expand
  2. Jack
    Oct 6, 2005
    9
    Brothers in arms road to hill 30 is a beter game.but earned in blood still is a great game.
  3. ChrisS.
    Oct 8, 2005
    9
    I bought this game and didn't open it because of some comments on message boards about stuttering. At the last minute, I broke down and opened it. Boy, am I glad I did (P.S. turn off ths lighting effects in the video options and you get little or no sound stutter). This game is WAY better than the first one. I can tell the developers knew what was lacking in the first title. I I bought this game and didn't open it because of some comments on message boards about stuttering. At the last minute, I broke down and opened it. Boy, am I glad I did (P.S. turn off ths lighting effects in the video options and you get little or no sound stutter). This game is WAY better than the first one. I can tell the developers knew what was lacking in the first title. I actually got into a firefight in Skirmish mode (mission 1) that reminded me of that scene in Saving Private Ryan where they are trying to take the machine gun out in front of the radar facility. It was a grenade fest back and forth. My men were screaming, potato mashers were flying, MG42s were ripping the air above my head as I huddled in my shellhole. Wow! If you don't react in this sequel, you're a dead man and so is your squad. Skirmish Mode reminds me of a sandbox mode where you can tweak everything to your hearts content in 10 different maps and duke it out against the computer. You can also play the Germans with German voices, etc. This mode alone is worth the $50 because it seems very random and different everytime you play it. Who needs a shooter with multiplayer bots when you got this gem of a feature (aka WW II simulator)? Story Mode is alot like the last title but the maps seem much less linear and Germans attack from all sides. Oh, and forget about flanking Germans and shooting them from the side everytime. They will displace firing all the way to a better position. For some reason, this Story mode feels more like Band of Brothers (the series) than the first title did. I haven't tried multiplayer but I'm sure its hectic. Don't listen to the naysayers on the boards. If you're a WWII shooter fan, this title does not feel like a rehash and doesn't have any real technical problems. You gotta have this game. Expand
  4. Evan
    Oct 8, 2005
    10
    This game ROCKS. i think halo 2 sucks compared to brothers in arms.
  5. SamM.
    Oct 11, 2005
    9
    This is one of the best games i've ever played!!!! Between skirmish online kicks!!! I don't think i'll be playing anything else for a while.
  6. DaveR.
    Oct 6, 2005
    7
    This game is simply more of the same. I also noticed framerate issues throughtout the game. These problems should have been ironed out before the release.
  7. JeffA.
    Oct 8, 2005
    10
    Many videogames hype how great the AI is, even resorting to giving it a fancy name. Brothers In Arms Earned In Blood hypes the AI in this game. The only difference is the AI is as good as it's hyped to be. Enemies react to your gunfire, take cover and even outflank you. You begin to question whether you are playing single player campaign or thinking human opponents on Live. Road To Many videogames hype how great the AI is, even resorting to giving it a fancy name. Brothers In Arms Earned In Blood hypes the AI in this game. The only difference is the AI is as good as it's hyped to be. Enemies react to your gunfire, take cover and even outflank you. You begin to question whether you are playing single player campaign or thinking human opponents on Live. Road To Hill 30 was very good. Earned In Blood is as good as it gets. This is the best WWII FPS on any console ever. Expand
  8. RyanF.
    Feb 7, 2006
    6
    Yeah, sure this game has some innovation and all, but if you're gonna put that in a game, give the player more freedom. It felt like I was being shoved into going a certain way or path. COD2: Big Red One was such a great game since it made you think it was allowing you freedom: you could look around and see a war around you. Brothers in Arms doesn't have that. The only thing to Yeah, sure this game has some innovation and all, but if you're gonna put that in a game, give the player more freedom. It felt like I was being shoved into going a certain way or path. COD2: Big Red One was such a great game since it made you think it was allowing you freedom: you could look around and see a war around you. Brothers in Arms doesn't have that. The only thing to see is your enemies and your teammates. It's just bland landscape everywhere else. Multiplayer is fun, but my friends and I had to ditch the stupid objectives. We just made a deathmatch thing. Just meet in the center and shoot each other. They need to add more to see and do. Expand
  9. MegJ.
    Oct 11, 2005
    9
    The authenticity of this game is amazing. The graphics capture a lot of the WWII footage I've seen on the History Channel. This game is awesome!!!!
  10. HaroldM.
    Oct 11, 2005
    9
    I love the skirmish mode in this game. I can't wait to play all of my friends!!!!
  11. DrewE.
    Nov 30, 2005
    8
    Very nice graphics but your team members need to have more AI with cover like said before by Pete.
  12. KyleM.
    Oct 19, 2005
    8
    This game is pretty darn good - although I will admit that it feels a lot like the original. It is harder and longer, though, which definitely justifies a purchase if you liked it the first time. All said, it's the best WWII sim I've played to date.
  13. [Anonymous]
    Oct 4, 2005
    10
    Improves on the first one in almost every way imaginable. Huge levels, great AI, very challenging with a painstaking attention to detail. Worth every penny, and the new skirmish mode, coupled with the improved AI, gives the game a high replay factor. Highly recommended.
  14. EdwardM.
    Oct 4, 2005
    10
    I realize 10 is a high score, but I felt strongly about the first game, and would have recommended a 9.5 for it. When a title takes the original gripes and complaints and works within it's own goals and limitations to improve on the formula as successfully as this title, you have to up the score! Great work!
  15. PrestonS.
    Oct 5, 2005
    10
    Great Game! Great Tactics! Great WWII Authenticity! Plain 'Ol Great!
  16. Yrk
    Oct 7, 2005
    5
    just another wwII fps. i mean, seriously. how many more war fps's can developers keep cranking out and still make interesting? i've had enough of this crap. where's the innovation?? the actual game is good enough i suppose, and the production values are decent, it's just the same old same old...same old.
  17. Nanokiwi
    Mar 23, 2006
    9
    About the best shooter out there. It is difficult - a bit of a blow to the ego to find unlike almost all FPS games you do not have uberpower compared to that of your enemy. The AI is great, about the only flaw being that your troops do not always find good cover, especially when following you. This game is considered so realistic its used for training at Westpoint.
  18. SJames
    Jan 13, 2007
    10
    Bros in arms is an excellent game. Pretty much all I play is shooting games with the exception of the occasional rpg. of all my collection, this would have to be the most challenging of all. if you play it on normal mode, with crosshairs... yeah, its just another WWII shooter. But, on difficult, or authentic, your looking at the toughest, most authentic squad shooter on the market. The Bros in arms is an excellent game. Pretty much all I play is shooting games with the exception of the occasional rpg. of all my collection, this would have to be the most challenging of all. if you play it on normal mode, with crosshairs... yeah, its just another WWII shooter. But, on difficult, or authentic, your looking at the toughest, most authentic squad shooter on the market. The ememies are ferocious, the levels are well thought out, and... by the end of the game, you feel like u actually know your squad for real. the game is tactical... and i MEAN tactical!!! if you dont supresss and flank your enemy your dead. it is SOOOO frustratingly easy to slip up and get ripped to pieces by a rifle toting german soldior!! so if your up fora tough game, with excellent weapons and story, brothers in arms: earned in blood is for you! Expand
  19. Jkim
    Oct 11, 2005
    10
    I am thoroughly impressed with the improvements in AI. The first BIA wasn't BAD, but clearly had holes. Now, it almost feels as if you're playing real people (well, not EXACTLY, but pretty close). I am seriously, really glad I bought this game. If you liked the first BIA, you'll absolutely LOVE this one.
  20. Pete
    Nov 25, 2005
    9
    WOW! What a game! The first BIA was great, but this one is better, improving on the original's shortfalls by giving the enemy a far superior A.I. than it's predecessor meaning you really have to outthink your oppenents, and will not always be able to approach a mission in the same way on every attempt. One gripe - the game is still sometimes flawed by a team member's WOW! What a game! The first BIA was great, but this one is better, improving on the original's shortfalls by giving the enemy a far superior A.I. than it's predecessor meaning you really have to outthink your oppenents, and will not always be able to approach a mission in the same way on every attempt. One gripe - the game is still sometimes flawed by a team member's occasional and dubious perception of cover, leaving them wide open. Not good around MG42s! A fantastic bonus to this game is the "Skirmish" games adding many more hours of gameplay. I must make a comment to those indivduals who accuse this and other WW2 games of being "boring", "predictable" and "all the same". This is WAR people! It's a war that actually happened. Real guns. Real locations Real people. Of course it's all the same because it's largely based on fact. If game developers started including lasers, homing-missile launchers and plasma guns it just wouldn't be right! Or perhaps you might enjoy this game if it was the "Master Chief" running roung killing Jerrys instead or Sgt Joe Hartsock. Expand
  21. AnthonyT.
    Feb 15, 2006
    8
    Both Brothers in Arms games blew the Call of Duty and Medal of Honor series out of the water with realism. The addition of squad control is probably the best addition of any WWII game out there. Many people complain about WWII games because no game maker has made a perfect WWII FPS. Brothers in Arms: Earned in Blood is close, but not close enough. I don't know if game developers are Both Brothers in Arms games blew the Call of Duty and Medal of Honor series out of the water with realism. The addition of squad control is probably the best addition of any WWII game out there. Many people complain about WWII games because no game maker has made a perfect WWII FPS. Brothers in Arms: Earned in Blood is close, but not close enough. I don't know if game developers are aware, but the ammo in a K98 and a K98 Sniper Rifle are the same ammo. In fact, follow me here, the K98 and a K98 with a scope are actually the same rifle, just one has a scope on it. That is the biggest fallback of any FPS out there, but WWII shooters are the worst about it. I would like to see more MGs other than the MG42, especially since the MG34 was much more prominent, but the biggest is when the Americans use MG42s on everything except their tanks. The game gets pretty repetitive when you have to suppresse an enemy, flank them and kill them, then repeat. The German weapon selection is good, but I'd like to see more semi-automatic rifles. The StG.44 is nice, but come on, not every SS troop had one. Likewise, not every Fallschirmjager had an FG-42. It shouldn't take 4 panzerfausts to bust a measly Panzer IV and likewise, a panzerfaust and a PaK36 would destroy a Stuart, Sherman, and M10. Overall, the game is excellent, but there needs to be smarter AI on both sides and a much larger weapon selection available. Expand

Awards & Rankings

#26 Most Discussed Xbox Game of 2005
#23 Most Shared Xbox Game of 2005
Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 41 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 41
  2. Negative: 0 out of 41
  1. Having rejuvenated the tired genre, the sequel tightens up the gameplay and spruces up the visuals. Nothing major, but massively fun nonetheless.
  2. Edge Magazine
    80
    Earned In Blood might not seem like a radical departure from the original but the gloriously cascading AI and open maps have effectively transformed it into a very special WWII experience. The fact that there's nothing quite like it in such a crowded genre speaks volumes. [Dec 2005, p.103]
  3. This is one situation where more of the same does not negate the experience. More of the same is more than we could have asked for. It's the brown bun alternative.