Buffy the Vampire Slayer Xbox

Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 30 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 30
  2. Negative: 0 out of 30
Buy On
  1. I'd say there are about 15-20 hours of play here, but I'd probably double that just for me as I kept replaying so many of the boards due to the fights I got in (and that next to last mission that I so vehemently despise).
  2. A game whose high-resolution graphics, expansive levels and creatively devised puzzles will delight Xbox owners everywhere.
  3. Game Informer
    90
    It's just plain awesome to kick the head of a zombie and watch it thrash away on the floor. [Oct 2002, p.88]
  4. Official Xbox Magazine
    90
    Buffy is exceptionally well balanced and designed. The control is nicely responsive, it looks absolutely fabulous, and there's a tremendous amount of gameplay variety. [Sept 2002, p.84]
  5. Play Magazine
    90
    Buffy fans can breathe a huge sigh of relief. Not only is the game great, but with Buffy still hotter than a witch's tit in a brass bra, you can bet a sequel is imminent. [Sept 2002, p.67]
  6. You don't have to be a fan of the show to enjoy this action-packed game that, aside from looking really good, is both fun and highly addictive.
  7. For gamers who dig various deadly weaponry, Buffy: the Vampire Slayer is packed with a diversity of vampire-icing thingies, most of which have to be handled with care or they can be quite deadly to you as well.
  8. 85
    Even if you know nothing about Buffy, the TV series, know this about Buffy, the Xbox video game: it's unquestionably the best beat'em-up for the system.
  9. Buffy the Vampire Slayer is a classic beat-em-up in the Final Fight style, with a few of its own twists thrown in.
  10. The game's main strength is in the way it seamlessly delivers both fighting-game-style combat and puzzle solving while telling a great story using in-game cinemas.
  11. GameNow
    83
    It's a fun beat 'em up that perfectly captures the look and feel of the television show. [Sept 2002, p.34]
  12. A fan's dream come true. The game is true to the series, and will quench any fan's thirst for a video game based on the series. I recommend that most action fans look into BUFFY. Even with some of the annoying faults, the game isn't to be missed.
  13. 82
    Fans will love it and those who've never seen the show may even find themselves converts after playing a few hours of this slay-a-thon.
  14. Video games based on TV franchises don't always live up to the shows that inspired them. Fortunately, Buffy the Vampire Slayer is an exception.
  15. Xbox Nation Magazine
    80
    Graphically sharp and combined with gameplay that has been similarly honed, Buffy is one of those rare titles that does the Xbox justice. [Fall 2002, p.111]
  16. The combat system of Buffy the Vampire Slayer is just brilliant.
  17. If you like beat'em ups, horror themed games, and witty (though oft-repeated) one-liners, Buffy is the only stop on the Xbox express.
  18. 80
    Admittedly there isn't a great variety of action-adventures on Xbox, but Buffy's fast-paced and entertaining gameplay puts it head and (rather shapely) shoulders above its limited competition.
  19. While the fact that the game can be completed in 7-10 hours may turn off some tastes, it is still an enjoyable 7-10 hours.
  20. Entertainment Weekly
    75
    As vampire videogames go, Slayer doesn't suck. [13 Sept 2002, p.158]
  21. "Buffy The Vampire Slayer" has always focused on likeable characters, sarcastic humor, and lots of action, and the game succeeds in capturing all of these elements quite nicely.
  22. 70
    Buffyphiles will be pleased; Willow, Cordelia, Giles, Spike, Xander, and Angel are all voiced by the actual actors from the show, and the actress voicing Buffy does a fantastic Sarah Michelle Gellar impression.
  23. Ultimately, players will want more from this title because the fighting system is so enjoyable -- far surpassing the combat found in games like "State of Emergency," "Eternal Darkness," and "The Mark of Kri."
  24. netjak
    69
    For some reason, I could not tear myself away from playing this game...I got through the game in about six hours under the normal mode.
  25. This game's so obsessed with vampire-killing and ground-level puzzles, it doesn't seem to acknowledge - or care - that there's someone playing it for pleasure. [XGamer]
  26. Electronic Gaming Monthly
    60
    It certainly captures the show's appeal, and it's a solid buy for fans. But between the annoying one-liners and huge difficulty spike late in the game, it's just not for casual gamers. [Sept 2002, p.154]
  27. 60
    It came so agonizingly close to being a great one. With some camera tweaks and a more effective method of combating multiple foes, this could have been a truly special title that would have appealed to more than just devotees of the "Buffy" show.
  28. 60
    Action aside, the fine frame of the heroine is pleasantly reminiscent of the lovely Lara.
  29. A great visual stunner and full of action packed fighting sequences that will keep you going even if the pitfalls kill you more than your enemies do. Great for rental.

Awards & Rankings

#12 Most Discussed Xbox Game of 2002
#25 Most Shared Xbox Game of 2002
User Score
9.1

Universal acclaim- based on 31 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. CazFone
    Jan 3, 2004
    10
    I watch the show,and to have made a game such as this is brilliant.It just puts the player in the shoes of being a slayer, lets hope a sequel I watch the show,and to have made a game such as this is brilliant.It just puts the player in the shoes of being a slayer, lets hope a sequel comes out soon! Full Review »
  2. TrixyE.
    Feb 9, 2003
    10
    They should make a sequel.
  3. Jan 21, 2013
    10
    I missed Buffy. Every day, I watched the series on DVD and one of my favorite Buffy episodes was the pilot episode "Welcome to the Hellmouth."I missed Buffy. Every day, I watched the series on DVD and one of my favorite Buffy episodes was the pilot episode "Welcome to the Hellmouth." Reminds me of the good ol' days of the WB network. The XBOX version of the same name as the TV show or movie is incredible. Even though I don't have an XBOX for a long time, but it's like a hack and slash game where Buffy kicks, stakes, and slays demon after demon. It's one of the best TV adapted video games of all time. Full Review »