User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 20 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 20
  2. Negative: 2 out of 20

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Rick
    Mar 2, 2006
    8
    Me and my nephew played this straight thru as it was a challenge. The gameplay keeps you on your seat and unlike the just released Call of Duty 2 the A.I doesnt suck. You dont have squad members taking up all your fire like the sequel so to survive and beat the damn thing you have to hug every corner and attempt assualts from different paths. Buy this, rent the sequel.
  2. Zach
    Mar 4, 2005
    10
    I think this game is a good title.It has its hard parts but over all it is quite good. A very good WW2 game.
  3. BobM.
    Feb 1, 2005
    9
    Best graphics on Xbox besides maybe the great Halo 2. Great gameplay. A.I. is great. Sounds are very realistic.
  4. Nofunatall
    Jan 25, 2005
    3
    Do not get this game!! I thought it was going to be good like the pc version but with all the effort put into it still a big disappointment. Graphics are nowhere near as good as MoH: Frontline, the characters are meaningless, controls are VERY slow and not tight gameplay, bad weapon sounds. Just too unpolished.
  5. John
    Jan 19, 2005
    10
    It is great. the action is good.
  6. RobertC.
    Dec 19, 2004
    9
    This is the best war I've played in years!!
  7. EfeB.
    Dec 16, 2004
    8
    When i first played this game, the first 10 minutes i said...oh no, i am gonna be disappointed. the action is bland and graphics seemed to suck. but now, having played it for hours i can say that it's a great game. the graphics dont bother me no more, because i see that it was done on purpose, like a classic style; which works well. the action is more free than people think; sureWhen i first played this game, the first 10 minutes i said...oh no, i am gonna be disappointed. the action is bland and graphics seemed to suck. but now, having played it for hours i can say that it's a great game. the graphics dont bother me no more, because i see that it was done on purpose, like a classic style; which works well. the action is more free than people think; sure there are scripted events and linear paths but inside that frame, you are free. the weapons and details and the atmosphere is the best of any war game. it really feels like you are trying to survive, rather than just kill everyone you see. the presentations are top notch, gameplay is fun as hell. i suggest you to go and see the "animation reel" they made in the extras screen, it shows the amount of animation work they did for the game, i realized that every soldier acts realistically...then, when i played the game again, i saw these animations in action, very amazing...this game is craft, like a water color painting, there are some levels in the game where the visuals and the comlexity of what you see around you will amaze you. and, i havent even finished the first campain!!!...very exciting. Expand
  8. JeffW.
    Dec 13, 2004
    10
    I wanted to give it a 9.9 but it won't let me. This game is almost perfect. I really think that the Graphics really could be alot better than they are. Altho the Graphics are outstanding. and the the Cut scene graphics are an 11 out of 10. some Combat Graphics could have been a bit better. Overall I would have given this game a 9.9 outta 10. It is just a great game. This is the Best I wanted to give it a 9.9 but it won't let me. This game is almost perfect. I really think that the Graphics really could be alot better than they are. Altho the Graphics are outstanding. and the the Cut scene graphics are an 11 out of 10. some Combat Graphics could have been a bit better. Overall I would have given this game a 9.9 outta 10. It is just a great game. This is the Best WWII game out on the market. Expand
  9. BlueFalcon
    Nov 28, 2004
    6
    It's a slightly above average title. The game plays similar to medal of honor frontline, except not as well executed. There's many scripted events and a set path which you must follow (or die). The whole war atmosphere is well done, but the graphics aren't exceptional. In particular, the textures in the environment look grainy and unnatural. Many of the missions seem It's a slightly above average title. The game plays similar to medal of honor frontline, except not as well executed. There's many scripted events and a set path which you must follow (or die). The whole war atmosphere is well done, but the graphics aren't exceptional. In particular, the textures in the environment look grainy and unnatural. Many of the missions seem unexceptional too. It's like they included all the cutting room floor levels or something. While this isn't the worst war game to come out recently, it's not something that's particularly memorable. Expand
  10. KevinR.
    Nov 24, 2004
    9
    I just do not get it. Go on line when you have to go up against "real" AI. FPS's have never been perfect but as far as the graphics and actual historical value you cannot beat this game. Take the time to understand that this stuff actually took place over 50 years ago and you will begin to understand.
  11. AaronB.
    Nov 22, 2004
    2
    What a lot of balls. Could they have screwed up any more. Activision should just make PS2 games- they haven't got what it takes to play in the big league- I can't believe I almost bought this over Ghost Recon 2. Renting it was just as bad. Lame PS2 graphics, absolutely no thrills while playing it- even the awesome Stalingrad level has been stripped of any excitement whatsoever.What a lot of balls. Could they have screwed up any more. Activision should just make PS2 games- they haven't got what it takes to play in the big league- I can't believe I almost bought this over Ghost Recon 2. Renting it was just as bad. Lame PS2 graphics, absolutely no thrills while playing it- even the awesome Stalingrad level has been stripped of any excitement whatsoever. Very poor- even for a PS2 release. Garbage on an xbox. This game rocked on the MAC by the way. Expand
  12. Buried-In-The-Box
    Nov 17, 2004
    7
    Gameplay feels like very other WW2 shooter ever made. Graphics on XBOX look very PS2ish, which is to say blocky and old. Everything is so scripted, so there is next to no A.I. altogether. Tank missions should have been left out altogether since they are no fun and framerates go to hell. Medal of Honor meets Battletanx is no ones Finest Hour. Wait for Brothers In Arms or play Ghost Recon 2 Gameplay feels like very other WW2 shooter ever made. Graphics on XBOX look very PS2ish, which is to say blocky and old. Everything is so scripted, so there is next to no A.I. altogether. Tank missions should have been left out altogether since they are no fun and framerates go to hell. Medal of Honor meets Battletanx is no ones Finest Hour. Wait for Brothers In Arms or play Ghost Recon 2 if you want your moneys worth. Hell, even the sadass attempt at a first person shooter that is Halo 2 is better than this. Expand
Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 55 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 55
  2. Negative: 0 out of 55
  1. The shoddy A.I. and other flaws are rare or negligible enough so as not to detract from the overall enjoyment of an otherwise great game. [Jan 2005, p.89]
  2. With the lovely graphics comes lovely sound.
  3. The game's presentation is incredible... Unfortunately, the A.I. should have spent more time in basic training. [Feb 2005, p.87]