Dead or Alive Xtreme Beach Volleyball Xbox

  • Publisher: Tecmo
  • Release Date: Jan 22, 2003
Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 42 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 42
  2. Negative: 4 out of 42
Buy On
  1. 92
    Beautifully rendered women and solid volleyball is what was required for this game to be taken seriously, so in this regard, the game was very satisfying.
  2. If you like volleyball, gorgeous girls in swimsuits and great casino games, this game is a dream come true.
  3. With one of the deepest character development games ever made and easy controls, the volleyball aspect of DOAX comes off without a hitch... Did I mention the "oh my God" looking graphics that will wow any console owner out there?
  4. It's an experience you will tire of. The volleyball is good, and fun. The girls are gorgeous. The music isn't annoying. And there's the two-player mode. But just like real volleyball, the whole experience can only remain fresh for so long.
  5. Not only did Team Ninja make a game with the most beautiful virtual women of all time, but they also managed to make a fun game of volleyball, a solid gambling experience, and add social elements on top of it.
  6. 77
    While I clearly had fun with the game, there's simply not much to it. The volleyball is definitely faster than "Beach Spikers," but the moves aren't as varied and once you've figured out how to win, victory becomes automatic.
  7. 100
    Offers an addictively eclectic mix of item collecting, gambling, and relationship building; tantalizing eye candy; and one outstanding game of volleyball.
  8. Edge Magazine
    80
    By departing from established videogame norms and offering an experience that is unfettered by restrictive goals and objectives, Tecmo has succeeded in evoking a supremely relaxing vacation atmosphere and producing a quite unique, and singularly satisfying game. [March 2003, p.86]
  9. GMR Magazine
    80
    With a lavish, tropical setting (not a hurricane in sight) against which beautiful characters cavort, a vibrant reggae-themed soundtrack (you can rip your own tracks, too), and a piña colada atmosphere, DOAX is a flawed but guilty pleasure. [Feb 2003, p.58]
  10. Some of the best money I have ever spent on an Xbox game.
  11. netjak
    90
    Probably my biggest surprise was the overall fluidity of the controls. Gameplay is the game's strongest asset no matter what way you look at it.
  12. Official Xbox Magazine
    84
    The volleyball is amazingly simple and compelling, while the rest of it has a tongue-in-cheek sensibility that knows exactly what it is - good cheescake fun with solid gameplay to back it up. [Mar 2003, p.72]
  13. It's a decent game with some pretty fun volleyball, although only the diehard sim fans are going to keep going after the first few days of play.
  14. This game isn't about bumping balls, as the title suggests, but rather it's about kicking back and just having fun with little regard to competition or consequence. So from that perspective, DOAX is more like "Animal Crossing" than say Sega's "Beach Spikers."
  15. Game Informer
    75
    It's kind of like the video game version of playing dress-up with Barbie dolls - and I put my, uh, I mean, my sister's Barbies away years ago. [Mar 2003, p.87]
  16. After the first vacation I really did not want to play this game anymore. I had already gotten the top swimsuit (the Venus) and after that I felt that my time with this game was done unless I wanted to pick it up to play the volleyball again.
  17. Play Magazine
    90
    I never thought watching could be so engulfing. These models are truly extraordinary. The breasts are wonderful (along with teh shoulders, thighs, faces...) of course, but do you have any idea how difficult it is to model armpits? They are perfection. [Mar 2003, p.52]
  18. The sharp graphics and advanced jiggle physics will no doubt prick the interest of lonely gamers, but surprisingly, the game's volleyball action is pretty solid. And that's the most important thing…right?
  19. Cheat Code Central
    80
    The gameplay is actually deep but I do have a bit of a conundrum with the controls. They are simple to use but at the expense of what could have been an even deeper game.
  20. Entertainment Weekly
    75
    It's kinda difficult not to get caught up in this goofy title, as you use your v-ball winnings to buy shoes and skimpy clothes for your fellow beach bunnies. [7 Feb 2003, p.90]
  21. GameNow
    75
    Has great graphics, but is painfully low on actual gameplay. [Mar 2003, p.52]

Awards & Rankings

#23 Most Discussed Xbox Game of 2003
#7 Most Shared Xbox Game of 2003
User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 44 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 22
  2. Negative: 9 out of 22
  1. Mar 8, 2013
    3
    Its better than the second installement but still only good for 2-3 hours.
  2. KevinB.
    Jul 11, 2006
    4
    Well Kevin R..it would seem we have come to some kind of agreement...on a whim, my friend brought it over to my house for us to Well Kevin R..it would seem we have come to some kind of agreement...on a whim, my friend brought it over to my house for us to "play"...while I actually wanted to play some volleyball, he wanted just to sit there and play the lame mini games... i personally think real girls are hotter then polygons..but thats just me i guess...the volleyball aspect is alright...could have been better...confusing controls..the casino stuff was kinda cool for about 10 mins...but if you like fake women with HHH size boobs, knock yourself out... Full Review »
  3. AliciaC.
    May 27, 2005
    10
    Cool game play, graphics and sound!