Drake of the 99 Dragons Xbox

Drake of the 99 Dragons Image
Metascore
22

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 16 Critics What's this?

User Score
1.8

Overwhelming dislike- based on 38 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Drake is out for revenge in a supernatural Hong Kong world. You'll join Drake in 25 intense missions, as he battles ruthless villains and female assassins with an array of firearms, short and long blade weapons, and thrown melee weapons. Use Drake's power and agility to slow down the action,Drake is out for revenge in a supernatural Hong Kong world. You'll join Drake in 25 intense missions, as he battles ruthless villains and female assassins with an array of firearms, short and long blade weapons, and thrown melee weapons. Use Drake's power and agility to slow down the action, fire guns in any direction, and run and backflip off of walls. When you become injured, you can feed on the souls of the dead to replenish your health. Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 16
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 16
  3. Negative: 16 out of 16
  1. Cheat Code Central
    40
    The sad part is that there are just too many problems that were not fixed before the release. The main thing is the controls of the game itself... It's a game with some cool gimmicks that try to hide a poorly made game.
  2. Official Xbox Magazine
    30
    Even at $20 it's worse than dull - it's unoriginal. When the loading screen is prettier than anything in the game, then you know you've got problems. [Jan 2004, p.70]
  3. 29
    It would be nice to see somebody develop a game with a character that can fire two weapons independently but then again maybe there's a reason why nobody's done it yet. Drake tried, but like we said nobody has done it yet.
  4. 20
    It takes about five minutes with the game to realize it's a nightmare for everyone else, with ugly visuals, sloppy controls, a horrible camera and some of the most foolish storytelling we've seen. This one's a mess, folks.
  5. Electronic Gaming Monthly
    17
    It'd be a bit better with a saner control scheme, but as it is, Drake is an exercise in frustration and repeated death. [Jan 2004, p.148]
  6. Just close your eyes and focus on the most wretched, mangled mess of ugliness that your brain can conceive and you've pretty much nailed Drake on the head. [Jan 2004, p.151]
  7. Computer Games Magazine
    0
    Aiming at enemies is nearly impossible. [Apr 2004, p.7]

See all 16 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 27
  2. Negative: 22 out of 27
  1. DonK.
    Dec 22, 2003
    10
    This is by far the greatest game ever created. Keep in mind I'm a blind def mute.
  2. Masochist
    Feb 13, 2007
    10
    This game is cheap enough to buy just to enjoy how utterly awful it is. I laughed until I cried. It's almost worth the money just This game is cheap enough to buy just to enjoy how utterly awful it is. I laughed until I cried. It's almost worth the money just because of that. Expand
  3. KeenanS
    May 30, 2009
    2
    This game is one of the ten worst games I've ever played. Some fun facts: This game was also supposed to get a PC release, its own comic This game is one of the ten worst games I've ever played. Some fun facts: This game was also supposed to get a PC release, its own comic book, and Vivendi Universal was supposed to publish the game in Europe. But thanks to the fact the game was unanimously panned by critics, it didn't get any of those things. The gameplay is imprecise and unpredictable which leads to numerous unfair deaths. The missions are boring and the levels are full of glitches such as the ability to go through walls or enemies get stuck on objects. The music is absolutely awful. The game's graphics look like N64 visuals in real-time to looking like a hideous PSone title during cutscenes. Let's not forget Drake has one of the worst storylines ever in the history of gaming. Avoid at all costs. Collapse
  4. WeetodD.
    Jan 19, 2004
    0
    Congradulations majesco on making the lowest rated game in history!
  5. Pimpdaddypunmasadan
    Nov 9, 2004
    0
    The best improvement for this game would be the most readily avalible trash can! I hate this game so much that i burned it in my firplace. I The best improvement for this game would be the most readily avalible trash can! I hate this game so much that i burned it in my firplace. I have played better games on my pentium 166 and its a crackwhore (i.e. it smokes and never works!) NEVER USE THIS GAME, EVEN AGAINST YOUR MOST HATED ENEMY! Expand
  6. DME
    Jun 28, 2012
    0
    If you ever have the misfortune of coming in contact with Drake, please do whatever you can to get rid of it. But, please have a heart andIf you ever have the misfortune of coming in contact with Drake, please do whatever you can to get rid of it. But, please have a heart and don't sell it or even give it away for free. This isn't a video game, people. This is torture. Expand
  7. Aug 17, 2015
    0
    Yikes, now this is a "gem" you want to avoid. I've played this for only one hour before going to hide in the corner and cry because of howYikes, now this is a "gem" you want to avoid. I've played this for only one hour before going to hide in the corner and cry because of how unbelievably bad it was. The camera fights against you, terrible graphics, horrible Voice acting, and atrocious controls, why Majesco, why? Expand

See all 27 User Reviews

Awards & Rankings

#14 Most Discussed Xbox Game of 2003
#24 Most Shared Xbox Game of 2003