Enter the Matrix Xbox

User Score
7.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 74 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 54 out of 74
  2. Negative: 17 out of 74
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Uter
    Sep 9, 2003
    2
    This is the glitchiest game I've ever had the misfortune of playing.
  2. Loki
    May 15, 2003
    1
    Well, I just bought it and played it after seeing the AMAZING movie...and I'm gonna go see if I can return it. It's the worst waste of a shiney disk I've seen in a long time. The FMV is beautiful DVD quality, this is true, but other than that there's nothing good I can say about it. It's a game made for hype; the character models are all beautifully rendered but Well, I just bought it and played it after seeing the AMAZING movie...and I'm gonna go see if I can return it. It's the worst waste of a shiney disk I've seen in a long time. The FMV is beautiful DVD quality, this is true, but other than that there's nothing good I can say about it. It's a game made for hype; the character models are all beautifully rendered but they move in an increadibly stilted manner which destroys any effect they were going for. The controls are abyssmal, bad to the point where you really can't actually enjoy the game, you're too busy trying to get and keep anything in sight. Seriously folks, get Max Payne or Halo, this is a waste of time Expand
  3. GameSucks
    May 18, 2003
    0
    Don't waste your money on this one; the gameplay sucks. It could have been a good game, but they fixed the camera behind and over your character leading to awkward movement. It's also extremely repetitive.
  4. KevinR.
    Oct 30, 2004
    2
    This game was promised to be a revolution in the gaming world. it was incredibly disappointing to find that the graphics were, for the most part, horrible, especially in the animated cut scenes, the driving levels were a joke, the environments were crappy and unrefined, there were some major glitches, the gameplay overall was bland and monotonous, and what the hell were the designers This game was promised to be a revolution in the gaming world. it was incredibly disappointing to find that the graphics were, for the most part, horrible, especially in the animated cut scenes, the driving levels were a joke, the environments were crappy and unrefined, there were some major glitches, the gameplay overall was bland and monotonous, and what the hell were the designers thinking when they made the last levels? ok, we are going to have the player just run for about 10 straight levels, then driving through some dark tunnels. wtf? the only fun parts were at the post office and power plant. other than that and the few cool things you could unlock in the hacking mode, this was a sorry excuse for an action game. Expand
  5. PhoenixRage
    May 17, 2003
    3
    This game is an example of a gleam of potential lost in a whirlwind of disaster. To start with its good points, the hand to hand combat is dead on and possibly some of the best outside of an actual fighting game. The storyline is deep and complex, but that's to be expected since it is by the same writers of the movie. Seeing that the game was shot with the same equipment that was This game is an example of a gleam of potential lost in a whirlwind of disaster. To start with its good points, the hand to hand combat is dead on and possibly some of the best outside of an actual fighting game. The storyline is deep and complex, but that's to be expected since it is by the same writers of the movie. Seeing that the game was shot with the same equipment that was used for the movie, it's not surprising that it has some of the best CGs that I've seen in a while. Now here's where the problems start. As much as I appreciate CGs, if you don't time them properly they will slow down gameplay to a crawl which happens often in this game. Go across a hallway, fight a guard, CG, fight two guards, CG, etc. The camera angles are horrible, only worsened by the atrocious game controls. Who ever thought of dedicating a joystick to switching between 1st and 3rd person? This is where hand to hand combat hurts as well, since the camera will auto swing to your side when fighting, which can be a health killer when you're surrounded by enemies. The graphics for this game are below xbox standard considering that they had been bragging about the visual orgy that it was supposed to deliver. The hacking system is unique but foolish making a make believe version of DOS that is simply a game of connect the dots to open features. All in all, a great game that should've been done by either a better developer or should have been postponed for another 6-8 months of development. Expand
  6. JordesC.
    May 26, 2003
    0
    How can so many people give this piece of crap a 10 while acknowledging many of its shortcomings? This is the quintessential rush job with no replay value, and if it didn't have the Matrix name attached... well it would be a bargain bin special. Oh, and to "anonymous"--you're an idiot. Max Payne was 100 times better than this game. Also, learn to spell.
  7. JoeM.
    Jun 30, 2003
    0
    This game sucks because ,well, sure the tricks are nice but it would be even more nice if you saw someone walking down the street and doing those. Dammit,it's a video game!!! Of cource you can do anyting.And it's really hard. I almost had to press the A button three times.WOW!!!! It's gonna take me years to figure out how to beat this game. If i ever buy it.
  8. Ratedr
    May 16, 2003
    0
    I'm sorry but I'm an avid gamer so I know what a good game is supposed to play like. This game plays like crap. NO gameplay whatsoever. I loved the movie too however, this game nothing like the film. Dont believe the hype. It has Great graphics, great sound effects, great marketing scheme, and unfortunately THE WORST GAMPLAY. I gave this little puppy a good chance too, almost I'm sorry but I'm an avid gamer so I know what a good game is supposed to play like. This game plays like crap. NO gameplay whatsoever. I loved the movie too however, this game nothing like the film. Dont believe the hype. It has Great graphics, great sound effects, great marketing scheme, and unfortunately THE WORST GAMPLAY. I gave this little puppy a good chance too, almost two hours worth of playing time and I no longer can deal with its horrific gameplay. I'm Done. Return it for brute force may 29th. trust me. Expand
  9. Culluket
    May 17, 2003
    4
    Ack. Go play Max Payne instead.
  10. PhilT.
    May 19, 2003
    1
    Big big disappointment.
  11. MarcusB.
    Jun 17, 2003
    0
    1. This game stinks. Repetitive, boring and full of cliches. Typical movie franchise. 2. Learn to spell and conjugate, people.
  12. JugsterJam
    Jun 8, 2003
    2
    Spend your money and make them rich scheme. This game is bad, it should have been out in 1999. The graphics are just junk. Gameplay, jump kick shoot bulle-time like maxpayne. Controls and levels are similar to shinys messiah 1999(aka gutter levels). They are not going to get their act together unless people stop buying this game. Hocky maket scheme for kids, matrix fans to buy this game Spend your money and make them rich scheme. This game is bad, it should have been out in 1999. The graphics are just junk. Gameplay, jump kick shoot bulle-time like maxpayne. Controls and levels are similar to shinys messiah 1999(aka gutter levels). They are not going to get their act together unless people stop buying this game. Hocky maket scheme for kids, matrix fans to buy this game without thinking. So thier game messiah which came out in 1999 has better graphics then matrix. Expand
  13. Glenbull
    May 17, 2003
    0
    this is rubbish and i h8 it so much and i h8 clemo but the movie was good.
  14. WimGreyhair
    Jun 17, 2003
    1
    Don't give Atari-grames your money! This game is terrible! Figures that the french would screw up what potentially could have been a great game.

Awards & Rankings

#3 Most Discussed Xbox Game of 2003
Metascore
65

Mixed or average reviews - based on 33 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 33
  2. Negative: 7 out of 33
  1. Enter the Matrix isn't a perfect slice of interactive entertainment, but it does provide at least a dozen hours of action-packed fun and serves as a clever vehicle to expand on the events in "The Matrix Reloaded."
  2. Nerds may activate two-player mode using the DOS-throwback "hacking gameplay element." If any of you figure out how to boff Trinity during a rave, please e-mail me.
  3. Xbox Nation Magazine
    30
    Fails dramatically... Severe, fundamental flaws permeate the experience, ranging from wince-inducing run-cycle animations to sloppy, unrefined controls. [Aug 2003, p.78]