Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 23 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 23
  2. Negative: 0 out of 23
  1. 88
    The exclusive first-person-perspective mode is an interesting gimmick, but the online play is what separates this from the minors. [May 2004]
  2. I simply can’t give this game as high a score as I did last year (9.3) because not much has changed. While I still think this game is superior to "MVP Baseball," it’s purely because of gameplay.
  3. 85
    The single-player game is beefed up with a tweaked pitching interface and the ability to save games at any time. Its biggest coup over its competition from EA Sports, though, is the ability to play online.
  4. 84
    Most of the changes were bad, which is why the score is quite a bit lower than last year. So much of Sega's latest feels thrown together. This is a collection of good ideas without a single one being fully realized.
  5. ESPN's game gives you a nice ground-level view of the action, while its Confidence Meter rises and falls depending on your on-field performance. [16 Apr 2004, p.L2T 19]
  6. A very, very good game. The only real issue I have with the game overall is that it feels too much like last year’s title. For some that may be a good thing. I just don’t believe the term; if it ain’t broke don’t fix it.
  7. Even though the game boasts online play, better animations, and a more accurate hitting system, it still doesn’t catch up to MVP’s dazzling action and ultra-deep franchise mode. ESPN MLB definitely gets the nod as far as online play goes.
  8. Unfortunately, contrary to what Sega Sports would lead you to believe, the first-person setting is more of a gimmick than a playable mode.
  9. But by releasing the same core game three years running and refusing to incorporate other games' innovations, ESPN is content to take its single, rather than go for extra bases. [Apr 2004, p.75]
  10. It doesn’t do much right in the way of modes, but what it does do correctly it has nearly perfected.
  11. The on-field aspect of the game is greatly improved, and I get realistic gameplay and accurate results - and that’s about all you can ask for in a game.
  12. ESPN may lack the innovations and overall polish of "MVP," but it's otherwise a serious contender. [May 2004, p.90]]
  13. 80
    Its core gameplay mechanic meets, and in some ways excels over, EA's baseball game... and yet, the window-dressing features are all fairly useless compared to MVP's innovative pitch meter and other extras.
  14. 80
    The gameplay is certainly realistic, but overall, the physics of how the ball moves feel a bit floaty at times. In the final analysis, ESPN MLB trails after "MVP Baseball" and "MLB 2005," making it a good choice for those who aren't satisfied with those league leaders. [Apr 2004, p.89]
  15. 77
    While this game is far from perfect, if you’re a fan of World Series Baseball or baseball games in general, this purchase is a no-brainer. In fact I’d go so far to say that ESPN Major League Baseball could be the game to beat "MVP Baseball" this season.
  16. Without solid pitching and batting interfaces, you can't help become disenchanted by this title's play. I applaud Blue Shift's decision to innovate, but the formula still needs a lot of work. [Apr 2004, p.92]
  17. I really can't imagine why Blue Shift would go three steps back in the graphics and sound department.
  18. ESPN MLB isn't a bad game at all, but is functionally a step backwards from last year's game and just can't quite keep up with "MVP."
  19. Aside from a single heckler who insists that Andruw learn how to spell his name, you only ever hear a light roar—even when the ball is hit. As a result, you simply don't feel all that enthralled.
  20. Nothing but a spruced up version of last year's "World Series Baseball."
  21. MVP seems to capture the feeling of hitting and pitching more realistically, but ESPN is certainly easier to pick-up-and-play.
  22. 60
    Ditching the nauseating first-person camera altogether and instead focusing on delivering a playable behind-the-shoulder fielding cam would also be a good start. This one will be warming up in the bullpen until next year.
  23. This year's ESPN Major League Baseball seems less polished than its brethren, its new features seem halfhearted at best, and its graphics don't pack the punch they used to.
User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 6 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 6
  2. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. ZacharyS.
    Jul 28, 2004
    10
    This game is amazing!!!! I love it!!
  2. JimW.
    Apr 13, 2004
    10
    What else can I say. They took an already great game and added a few sparkles. Now I dont really care too much for the on-deck circle pic, What else can I say. They took an already great game and added a few sparkles. Now I dont really care too much for the on-deck circle pic, and the curtian call feature lacks some pizazz, but over all its a great game. They took the best of last year (which was overall gameplay) and added the on-line feature. By far this game has exceeded every expectation i've had. Full Review »
  3. DaveR.
    Apr 8, 2004
    9
    ESPN BASEBALL EDGES OUT MVP BY A STRIDE! It's spring time, time for the inevitable smell of fresh grass and baseball fever. This year I ESPN BASEBALL EDGES OUT MVP BY A STRIDE! It's spring time, time for the inevitable smell of fresh grass and baseball fever. This year I expected real improvements from all three contenders. ASB2005, MVP Baseball 2004, and ESPN Baseball. I was surprised in certain areas and disappointed in others. This is the break down of the good and bad. ASB 2005: Nice stadiums, fair crowd representation, great commentary and sound, fair player models and faces, poor gameplay mechanics. Overall 3 out of 5. MVP Baseball 2004: Good stadiums, poor texturing, fair crowd representation, good commentary and sound, excellent player models and 3-D faces, good gameplay mechanics. Overall 4 out of 5. ESPN Baseball: Incredible Stadiums, great crowd representation, good commentary and sound, good player models and faces, excellent gameplay mechanics. Overall 4.5 out of 5. You be the judge for yourself. Full Review »