Grabbed by the Ghoulies Xbox

User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 28 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 28
  2. Negative: 6 out of 28
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. KrisN.
    Jan 17, 2004
    4
    Trash, pure and simple. I was always in the small "Rare sucks" camp, and this game if anything seems to prove my point. Rare's games are tossed-together grabfests with 227 various sorts of items that open doors, unlock secrets, or open crappy minigames; and let's not forget the cartoon eyes on any and all inanimate objects. Fights are always repetive and enemies are extremely Trash, pure and simple. I was always in the small "Rare sucks" camp, and this game if anything seems to prove my point. Rare's games are tossed-together grabfests with 227 various sorts of items that open doors, unlock secrets, or open crappy minigames; and let's not forget the cartoon eyes on any and all inanimate objects. Fights are always repetive and enemies are extremely cheap, killing you quickly and forcing you to backtrack. Making the player backtrack to increase game time is an outmoded design technique that really needs to curl up and die. If Rare continues to put out this kind of shovelware they very well might. Collapse
  2. CooperSucks
    Jul 22, 2004
    1
    Rare is now known for 3 games. The amazingly addicting Donky Kong Country for GBA, the awesome goldeneye for N64 and the worst game ever Grabbed by the ghoulies for Xbox. The graphics are amazingly bad, the controls are cursed, and the gameplay is awful. The only fun I had with this cursed beast is kicking the butler in the ghoulies, making cooper (the amazingly dorky protagonist) hump Rare is now known for 3 games. The amazingly addicting Donky Kong Country for GBA, the awesome goldeneye for N64 and the worst game ever Grabbed by the ghoulies for Xbox. The graphics are amazingly bad, the controls are cursed, and the gameplay is awful. The only fun I had with this cursed beast is kicking the butler in the ghoulies, making cooper (the amazingly dorky protagonist) hump plants an whatching his a$$ get kicked by the bada$$ imps. Those little dudes kick a$$! Expand
  3. Sam
    Jun 25, 2006
    0
    A horrid, ugly, dorky, and nonetheless repetetive disaster that is nothing more than a collection of poor gameplay elements left completely unrealized.
  4. JamesI.
    Oct 27, 2003
    8
    Everyone seems to have a different opinion about the controls of this game- I think they're ok, simple, intuitive, although a bit sluggish. It's nice to see a visually impressive, funny game on the Box that's made for kids/girlfriends. And people who say that the gameplay's repetative probably haven't played the later levels, where the challanges vary considerably.
  5. Heather
    Feb 8, 2004
    9
    ONLY the cutest game ever! I totaly fell in love with it. It has great graphics and the game play is awesome! True, It may be a little repetitive in some areas but the wide varitey and variations of characters, rooms and challanges makes up for it. Really it is a fun game, and the difficulty is just right.....until you reach the end that is. The Barron is impossible to defeat, so I have ONLY the cutest game ever! I totaly fell in love with it. It has great graphics and the game play is awesome! True, It may be a little repetitive in some areas but the wide varitey and variations of characters, rooms and challanges makes up for it. Really it is a fun game, and the difficulty is just right.....until you reach the end that is. The Barron is impossible to defeat, so I have found. (If anyone has beat it, please tell me how.) But honestly people try the game for yourself. It's one of those addicting, can't put it down kinda games. Expand
  6. SteveE.
    Nov 28, 2003
    7
    Graphics and presentation top class gameplay average.
  7. KrainA.
    Oct 25, 2003
    9
    Gameplay is nothing special, controls are so simplistic that it is perfect for a child. Stil i appreciated the humor... typical RARE. I loved those funny creatures, animation and funny moments. Perfect for kids and people that just want a simplistic game where you can relax.
  8. Uter
    Jan 14, 2004
    3
    I believe this is the worst Rare game ever made. The combat is ultra repetitive and boring to begin with. But even with all that, it's still got a great and fun style to it. But the gameplay is what matters, and it's terrible here.
  9. Me
    Feb 8, 2004
    10
    100 is all I can say its the best ever.
  10. [Anonymous]
    May 12, 2004
    8
    Good game, but not as good as most Rare titles.
  11. Sickboy
    Jul 13, 2004
    8
    I thought this game was given pretty harsh ratings from most magazines/websites. This initially deterred me from buying the game but because of its recent reduction in price, I thought I would give it a bash. This turned out to be a really fun game... in small doses. Yes it is somewhat repetetive but then so are most rpgs when it comes to fighting. The graphics are incredible as are the I thought this game was given pretty harsh ratings from most magazines/websites. This initially deterred me from buying the game but because of its recent reduction in price, I thought I would give it a bash. This turned out to be a really fun game... in small doses. Yes it is somewhat repetetive but then so are most rpgs when it comes to fighting. The graphics are incredible as are the sounds, reminiscent of old lucasarts games such as monkey island. In fact, I could swear the music was made by the same person who did monkey island music. I'm probably wrong but in any case, I think the music really sets the atmosphere well. I'd say definitely worth a play or two considering the reduced price! Expand
  12. J.Webb
    Dec 25, 2003
    7
    This game has entertainment in it. It's a short adventure game with some challenges that has a good eplay value. Definitely worth a try!
  13. Dec 23, 2011
    9
    This may be a tad bias of a score for this game but whatever. This was my second favorite Xbox game. For kids who aren't ape about graphics, or gameplay (or story for that matter), this game is hours of fun. It was the first game where I really got to interact with just about every non background piece of the environment and beat stuff to a pulp with it! If your just looking for somethingThis may be a tad bias of a score for this game but whatever. This was my second favorite Xbox game. For kids who aren't ape about graphics, or gameplay (or story for that matter), this game is hours of fun. It was the first game where I really got to interact with just about every non background piece of the environment and beat stuff to a pulp with it! If your just looking for something to pass the time, not an Illiad of gaming, this is a great buy. Expand
  14. Aug 6, 2016
    7
    What happened to Rare? I mean this game is fine but we made critical acclaimed games but now rare get mixed reviews and their games to be strange and generic.

Awards & Rankings

#45 Most Discussed Xbox Game of 2003
#2 Most Shared Xbox Game of 2003
Metascore
66

Mixed or average reviews - based on 42 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 42
  2. Negative: 6 out of 42
  1. Weekly Famitsu
    78
    8 / 7 / 8 / 8 - 31 silver [Vol 803; 7 May 2004]
  2. One of the most refreshing, fun and downright brilliant games I've played this year.
  3. Edge Magazine
    60
    Overall the greatest disappointments is the lack of any sense of exploration or accoplishment. And although the mansion is packed with wonders, there's no feeling of discovery since the game manoeuvres you neatly from one room to the next. It adds up to a world in which you never feel truly connected. [Christmas 2003, p.111]