Grand Theft Auto Double Pack Xbox

User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 64 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 50 out of 64
  2. Negative: 6 out of 64

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 1, 2014
    10
    Grand Theft Auto Double Pack includes Grand Theft Auto III and Grand Theft Auto: Vice City, which are a couple of the greatest sandbox games ever. Grand Theft Auto III absolutely stunned gamers with its free roam and not so linear gameplay. The missions are great with lots of action, the story is good, and the characters are also pretty good. The graphics were decent for 2001 but now theyGrand Theft Auto Double Pack includes Grand Theft Auto III and Grand Theft Auto: Vice City, which are a couple of the greatest sandbox games ever. Grand Theft Auto III absolutely stunned gamers with its free roam and not so linear gameplay. The missions are great with lots of action, the story is good, and the characters are also pretty good. The graphics were decent for 2001 but now they are obviously dated. This game revolutionized the gaming industry by creating a whole new genre and everyone should try it out. Grand Theft Auto: Vice City is such an amazing game, and I personally believe it's a big improvement from the previous title. The biggest aspect I love most about this game is the setting; it's in a 1980s, Miami-like atmosphere, so it's pleasing to see all the bright colours from club lights and the beach front strip and also seeing the cooler sports and super cars, which Grand Theft Auto III didn't have. All of the characters are amazing and unique, the story is amazing, and the missions are amazing, everything is amazing. Grand Theft Auto: Vice City is such an incredible game that everyone has to play. Expand
  2. BradE.
    Jan 12, 2004
    10
    Jason K and Brad D are both morons. Plus this game is great, go buy it.
  3. KyleT.
    Aug 4, 2005
    10
    It's just really gd.
  4. OmarL.
    Aug 14, 2004
    10
    The best game ever!!!!
  5. NickieG.
    Aug 9, 2007
    8
    I think that this game is really good because there is so much to do even when your not doing missions. However, I believe there are a few glitchs in the game they could improve upon.
  6. Hotmorphes
    Oct 25, 2003
    8
    It is great that you 2 give a score to a game that is not even released! Don't look at mine score, does not include mine opinion of the game. Just replying to those 2 guys. Btw... the XBOX wil have enhanced graphics (more polygons, sharper textures, better lighting, reflection effects), shorter loading times, custom soundtrack and 5.1 dolby digital support. Just 2 ps2 fanboys that It is great that you 2 give a score to a game that is not even released! Don't look at mine score, does not include mine opinion of the game. Just replying to those 2 guys. Btw... the XBOX wil have enhanced graphics (more polygons, sharper textures, better lighting, reflection effects), shorter loading times, custom soundtrack and 5.1 dolby digital support. Just 2 ps2 fanboys that can't handle the fact that GTA is coming to XBOX. Anyway GTA games suck! I rather wait for True Crime. Expand
  7. MichaelC.
    Jan 13, 2004
    9
    What can I say about GTA that hasn't already been said? Both games have improved graphics over the already-gorgeous PS2 originals. My one beef with these games is the wretched weapon targeting system. Minus that one flaw, both games are simply awesome.
  8. SteveE.
    Jan 6, 2004
    9
    No upgraded versions for us xbox owners but still 2 classic games for the price of 1.
  9. RobW.
    Sep 26, 2004
    10
    RavenX- Your lack of intelligence is clearly shown by your pathetic use of grammar... anyway, you must be crazy to think that True Crime will blow GTA out of the water. True crime is an average clone with horrible fighting mechanics and a storyline giving you a lot of psuedo-freedom. You're just like the idiots that thought that the Getaway would kick GTA's arse.
  10. JonathanG.
    Jun 7, 2006
    10
    This one of those rare games where it is really fun to just drive around and not do the missions.
  11. DiabolikLord
    Nov 12, 2003
    10
    Man... this game OWNS i played the ps2 version at my friends house and when i found out that the game was out i went out and bought it... but i never thought graphics would been ta smoother ... man i love it... only thing i dont like the the white button for the views. when i just goin on killing sprees and putting cheats on( armor guns and stuff) i always gotta reset the view but its all good.
  12. BrianK.
    Nov 13, 2003
    8
    Great game but still not as good as True Crime Streets of L.A!!!!!
  13. AndrewA.
    Nov 1, 2003
    10
    Oka i know that it will be better than ps2's so this isnt my vote yet; still that port guy is somthing else. Come on the next best thing to happen to xbox was Halo, then tom clancys, then GTAIII and 4 my vote will be on the next review!
  14. GuyF.
    Nov 3, 2003
    10
    Tommy V. Is gonna give you a face full of fist. Or a basebal Bat, or a chainsaw, or a shotgun. OR A MuthaFu**in CAR Beeyatch.
  15. BillP.
    Nov 6, 2003
    9
    Bought it. Love it. This is the way it was supposed to be! SUPER SHORT load times, way way fast loads! GREEEAAAAAT graphics! Weather effects way better, cars look way better, draw-in distance way way father out, frame-rate much much improved! The only reason it doesn't get a 10 is because of the still present camera problems while in a gun fight on foot.
  16. FernandoA.
    Nov 6, 2003
    10
    Awesome.
  17. TripleB.
    Dec 17, 2003
    10
    This game is the most addictive most kick@$$ game ever.
  18. AdamJ.
    Oct 22, 2003
    8
    Its GTA3 and GTA:VC for xBox, exact ports of the 2 games!
  19. JUstinF.
    Oct 27, 2003
    10
    It isnt even a port you fool . it has greatly enhanced graphics . the ability to play cystom soundtracks etc. get your info straight =P
  20. Oliver
    Dec 8, 2003
    10
    Great.
  21. ChrisJ.
    Jan 12, 2004
    10
    This game RULES!!!! any1 who says otherwise is a freeak!! get the game dammit!!
  22. DanH.
    Mar 16, 2004
    10
    Sorry mark H, but I'm afraid that title belongs to Halo. Also: you are an idiot. You've obviously never played either of these games before.
  23. RobH.
    Apr 29, 2004
    10
    gta 3 is brilliant and vice city is the best game ever made it never gets boring, its perfect in everyway apart from the cartoony graphics halo should not get 97 out of 100, id say about 92 or 93, its very good but overated.
  24. [Anonymous]
    May 13, 2004
    10
    This is one great game. When I first popped this into my Xbox, I knew that this was one of the best games ever. It was so much better than the PS2 versions. The graphics and loading times were better, and you can use custom soundtracks. I definitely recommend this over the PS2 versions.
  25. CiaranG.
    Mar 27, 2006
    9
    Excellent value. A huge amount of your time will be spent enjoying this game. I would give it 10 but I don't know if it would be right since the game does promote guns, drugs, murder, running over prostitutes etc.
  26. TimL.
    Nov 1, 2003
    10
    This is an unbelievable game that is only gonna be better for xbox. Since xbox is the better system anyways and it is a hard drive u can customize the radio and a lot more.10 out of 10 baby!
  27. BrandonS.
    Nov 15, 2003
    10
    Wow, the best game ever and it's expansion together for one low price, sweet. Everbody should already own either a copy of GTA 3 or Vice, and this is for the late bloomers. There isn't much more to say that hasn't already been said, except for that True Crime is a major disappointment, and they should save the newest GTA for a REAL system (A.K.A Xbox) rather than Wow, the best game ever and it's expansion together for one low price, sweet. Everbody should already own either a copy of GTA 3 or Vice, and this is for the late bloomers. There isn't much more to say that hasn't already been said, except for that True Crime is a major disappointment, and they should save the newest GTA for a REAL system (A.K.A Xbox) rather than sacrificing great graphics and better gameplay to the lowest common denomonater (ps2) Expand
  28. MarcusB.
    Nov 2, 2003
    10
    RavenX, you need to: 1. Let go of the hate. It leads to the dark side. 2. Learn what "port" really means 3. Learn to spell.
  29. JustinM.
    Jan 18, 2004
    10
    Love this game. I just got it this january and i didn't think i would love it as much as i do. Consider me a rockstar fan for life!
  30. MattT.
    Nov 12, 2003
    10
    It's the best im so happy its out for xbox i play it as much as i can i think GTA3 and gta vice city are both great!!!
  31. SamW.
    Nov 27, 2003
    10
    Awesome games - graphics - sound - its everything the PS2 version is x10. Two of the Xbox's strongest titles - together!
Metascore
96

Universal acclaim - based on 33 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 33
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 33
  3. Negative: 0 out of 33
  1. Both games' inherent brilliance remains intact. As playgrounds, they're marvelous. As experiences they're undeniably powerful. [Mar 2004, p.77]
  2. GTA's go-anywhere, do-anything gameplay design is something that truly shouldn't be missed by any gamer. The GTA Double Pack is a must-have for any console gamer.
  3. 100
    It's everything a videogame should be; innovative, compelling, challenging, long-lasting. And spiked with controversy and a wonderful wit, it's also something that so few videogames can ever be - cool.