Half-Life 2 Image
Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 35 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 105 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The follow-up to Half-Life continues the intense action and immersive storytelling from the original and adds more realism and responsiveness. Once again, you play the role of research scientist Gordon Freeman, who finds himself on an alien-infested Earth being picked to the bone, itsThe follow-up to Half-Life continues the intense action and immersive storytelling from the original and adds more realism and responsiveness. Once again, you play the role of research scientist Gordon Freeman, who finds himself on an alien-infested Earth being picked to the bone, its resources depleted, and its populace dwindling. With your trusty crowbar and a variety of other weapons at your disposal, Freeman must rescue the world from the wrong he unleashed at Black Mesa. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 35
  2. Negative: 0 out of 35
  1. 100
    Real 'bullet-time' isn't ballet; it's no-holds carnage that ends with a radio-transmitted flatline. It's one man making a difference; it's one game making a noise. Half-Life 2 is all that - and more.
  2. If you are passionate about your games then you cannot afford to miss what is arguably one of the three best Xbox titles ever made. Get it now.
  3. I can easily say that I had just as much fun playing through the game on the Xbox as I first did on the PC, and probably even more so due to my personal preference of the controller over the keyboard.
  4. 90
    Aside from a few tiny changes, Half-Life 2 on the Xbox is the PC game, right down to the last spattered droplets of alien blood. Half-Life 2's graphics set new standards for the Xbox, blowing right past heavyweights like "Doom 3" and "Halo 2."
  5. Long story short, Half-Life 2 is a must-buy, and our strongest choice for that one, last Xbox game to pick up before switching over to Xbox 360.
  6. The character models are excellent with amazing facial expressions that include "tells." You can't always be sure that what people are saying to you because there is a level of body language that can be interpreted.
  7. The inconsistent framerate and lack of visual splendor are compromises we all expected with this conversion, but the load times are insufferable. [Dec 2005, p.182]

See all 35 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 54 out of 61
  2. Negative: 4 out of 61
  1. Jun 3, 2011
    10
    By far, Half Life 2 is a masterpiece on every level and one of the greatest FPS of all time in my books. The story is told well and theBy far, Half Life 2 is a masterpiece on every level and one of the greatest FPS of all time in my books. The story is told well and the gameplay is amazing and addictive. Voice actors are great. There are so many levels of creativity in this game that it is just stunning. Collapse
  2. KrisP.
    Mar 9, 2006
    10
    This might be the best game ever made for thye xbox. EA made a perfect jump from the pc. The graphics look amazing and the gameplay is This might be the best game ever made for thye xbox. EA made a perfect jump from the pc. The graphics look amazing and the gameplay is nothing different. The frame rate is excellent for a game this size. They didnt do anything new and they took out the multiplayer, but it was worth it. The gravity gun is a mazing on the xbox and better to handle then the pc. Although the loading is a little time consuming its worth it for the vast areas you go through. Everything looks great and the gameplay is solid a definite buy and my choice for game of the year(xbox). Expand
  3. EthanL.
    Apr 30, 2007
    10
    I'm sure that almost all the bad reviews here are just from Halo fanboys who wouldn't know a good first person shooter if it bit I'm sure that almost all the bad reviews here are just from Halo fanboys who wouldn't know a good first person shooter if it bit them in the a**. This game has excellent graphics, excellent story line, and excellent characters and voice acting. Halo 2 can't fit into any of those last categories. Expand
  4. J.
    Dec 29, 2005
    9
    Do yourself a service and read every review. There is some pretty bad ignorance in some of these. For some bozo to bash Valve and their Do yourself a service and read every review. There is some pretty bad ignorance in some of these. For some bozo to bash Valve and their "stuborness" is flat-out offensive to every programmer out there, industry insider or not. This game is a marvel feat without any question when it is looked at objectively. That brings up the "shoulda been on 360" hogwash. Again, these folks seem to be number monkeys (it has to be better because it has a bigger processor and memory number). The fact that they got this code with these resources running on this hardware at these specs is amazing. Oh yah, the game. Right-on. Controls take getting used to and that, but other than this minor "hmph?" there are no complaints. Loads are not unreasonable when you understand what a load is doing and I have not experienced significant framerate issues and I have one of the very old school boxes (with the evil dvd drive even). Yes, there are slow downs here and there, but when taken against the big scheme, they are well within the margin of acceptable in occurence, severity and lenght. Expand
  5. Sep 26, 2011
    9
    Half Life 2 has obtained legendary status as one of the most flawless modern games BUT the question does need to be asked: is Half Life 2Half Life 2 has obtained legendary status as one of the most flawless modern games BUT the question does need to be asked: is Half Life 2 over-rated? My answer is Yes as all things are flawed (even Half Life 2), that's not saying the game is not one of the best the industry has provided in recent times, it is however just an interactive game with a lot of copied elements of other science fiction, it's not as original as many claim. Half Life 2 has awesome graphics, innovative physics, game play, fabulously designed levels and game moments but my point is that it shows how lacking and unoriginal the rest of the industry is - that many would claim Half Life 2 to be better than it actually is. If Half Life 2 is the best there is in single player gaming - then video games truely are lacking... HL2 is still a real achievement and Valve has something to be proud of.â Expand
  6. BrentV
    Oct 4, 2008
    8
    I need to say that Half-Life 2 Does not have many flaws. It's original counter part (HL1) is superior, but not by much. Half-Life 2 Did I need to say that Half-Life 2 Does not have many flaws. It's original counter part (HL1) is superior, but not by much. Half-Life 2 Did as well as it could for an XBOX game but it just didn't live up to the original PC HL2. The fram rate is horrible too. It will run from 30-9 FPS. I strongly think that Valve should have just waited for the XBOX 360. I love Valve, but every once in a while they make horrible choices (Half-Life 1 HD pack incompatible with other model packs: HL2 not on 360: Left 4 Dead delayed) however, the love I have for this game is so high. There is nothing wrong with this game, but the XBOX just cant handle Half-Life 2 that well. They should have made it for 360 and I know that they have it on the orange box but they had to still compress it to fit 5 games on one disc. It runs great but a standalone port (before the OB) would have ran much better. Expand
  7. [Anonymous]
    Sep 30, 2006
    0
    Bad graphics, bad story line, not even close to realistic, just plain sucked.

See all 61 User Reviews