User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1296 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JackP.
    Dec 6, 2004
    8
    Good Graphics, fantastic gameplay, repetitive and bland level design... multiplayer should have had A.I. bots.
  2. BrandonB.
    Dec 6, 2004
    8
    This game was good. But I don't think it was as good as the first one. The levels on the game were change completly and it change the way halo was. They also change some of the weapons and how they work. They did great on the graphics. The biggest disapointment was the story. They story and it's ending was horrible. I think the online play makes up for it all though. Good game This game was good. But I don't think it was as good as the first one. The levels on the game were change completly and it change the way halo was. They also change some of the weapons and how they work. They did great on the graphics. The biggest disapointment was the story. They story and it's ending was horrible. I think the online play makes up for it all though. Good game but not as good as hoped:( Expand
  3. Ehuh
    Dec 6, 2004
    10
    All you pc boys out there get a life, halo 2 rocks!!!!!
  4. DillinL.
    Dec 8, 2004
    10
    It's awesome.
  5. GaryB.
    Dec 8, 2004
    6
    Okay, so what we have here is a fairly decent game with not bad graphics and fun multiplayer. But to be brief, this is why the game isn't a masterpiece or anywhere near it: 1) awful single player which I was bored of by the 4th level 2) plot confusing because of emotionless master chief and pointless Arbiter. 3) Graphics pretty square and Master Cheif is still a polygon block. 4) Okay, so what we have here is a fairly decent game with not bad graphics and fun multiplayer. But to be brief, this is why the game isn't a masterpiece or anywhere near it: 1) awful single player which I was bored of by the 4th level 2) plot confusing because of emotionless master chief and pointless Arbiter. 3) Graphics pretty square and Master Cheif is still a polygon block. 4) Downgraded weapons 5) Awful level design 6) Poor enemy A.I. 7) multiplayer only effective when connected to a Network hub 8) No destructive enviroment 9) No peeking round corners 10) No running twice as fast Just go rent this one, or better yet save your money and get Half-Life 2, which is a lot better. Expand
  6. Stingdog
    Jan 12, 2005
    10
    I think it's funny how there can be so many idiots who really dont think before they post. All you people are complaining that halo 2 is just halo one with some upgrades and new levels and better graphics. well since its called HALO 2 i would think it would be a sequel. In sequels u dont change a lot. But w/e u can keep saying how killzone (one of the crappiest games ive owned) isI think it's funny how there can be so many idiots who really dont think before they post. All you people are complaining that halo 2 is just halo one with some upgrades and new levels and better graphics. well since its called HALO 2 i would think it would be a sequel. In sequels u dont change a lot. But w/e u can keep saying how killzone (one of the crappiest games ive owned) is better. HALO 2 ROCKS! Expand
  7. GaryW.
    Jan 1, 2005
    5
    If you dont have xbox live this is disappointing, graphical popup, over sensitive controls, stupidier ai than last time and very few memorable or smile inducing areas, not enough new ideas.
  8. NewtonW.
    Jan 15, 2005
    10
    I love this game, i cant' stop playing the multiplayer. it is possibly the best multiplayer game ever.
  9. TDK80700
    Jan 19, 2005
    9
    This is one of the best games out this year and all. the down side to the game is the fact that its short but it atleast shows use that there will be a Halo3. But the online gaming is crazy i think its crazy and its fun at anytime of the day.
  10. AlistairF.
    Jan 21, 2005
    7
    Halo 2 - The biggest let down in gaming history? Probably. Halo 2 is not a bad game as such, its just that nothing stands out and their are better FPS games on the Xbox including Halo and Chronicles of Riddick to name a couple. So whats wrong with the game? Well the graphics do look better close up, but the texture pop-up is quite bad and you can see the texture change to a more basic one Halo 2 - The biggest let down in gaming history? Probably. Halo 2 is not a bad game as such, its just that nothing stands out and their are better FPS games on the Xbox including Halo and Chronicles of Riddick to name a couple. So whats wrong with the game? Well the graphics do look better close up, but the texture pop-up is quite bad and you can see the texture change to a more basic one after just a few steps back from the object. So they are not really pushing the graphics in any way. They have addedd better models and more detailed textures at the expense of having quite a lot of pop-up to keep the frame rate up. The story is pretty poor also, it does not feel as epic as the first game, they could have had a massive struggle on Earth between Humans and Covenant but they took the story in other directions, which I feel was to the detrement of the game. They should have kept the story simple, it worked with the first game, why change it? I dont want to give anything away but the ending feels like a cop out too and that their is a few levels missing from the end. The multiplayer system is a good idea and the match up system works quite well in matching you with equal players, the only problem is that the actual multiplayer gameplay is not as good as Halo 1. Its basically just a "spray-a-thon" first one to pull the trigger wins. The lack of health has taken all strategy away from the games. The CTF and other team modes should have been quite good but most people who play online seem to completely misunderstand the idea of team play so its a frustrating waste of time. The level design with exception of two or three is quite uninspiring. On the plus side the game controls are great and the AI has improved a bit. It also sounds quite good. Its an average game that really doesnt justify the Hype that surrounded it. Expand
  11. SnakeSniper
    Jan 24, 2005
    10
    One of the greatest games of all time for xbox and probably will continue to be the greatest until Halo 2 as we all know it is comming with the ending of halo 2. I think that the 2 idiots above that rated 70,67 need to replay the game or get the hell out of the gaming industry, if a game like that bores you get a new job imbecile.
  12. BazRam
    Jan 26, 2005
    10
    Great game, best FPS out there...I am so tired of these jealous play station owners putting up bad reviews for this game...go and play GTA :)
  13. Ian
    Jan 30, 2005
    10
    This game lived up to its expectations! This was a great game. For all the others reading the posts that give it a bad rating thats just their opinion. Halo is like trying a new food. You eitheir like it or you dont. So I suggest renting it first. But IMO (in my opinion) I would recommend it to anyone!
  14. JohnK.
    Jan 7, 2005
    10
    Incredible Game. Worthy of all highest accolades!
  15. MikeT.
    Jan 8, 2005
    10
    people who give this something not in the green. ie less than 8. are completely frikkin lame- im looking at u ps2 fanboys.
  16. EricT.
    Feb 14, 2005
    9
    I cannot believe how many in-the-middle-of-pms kind of ignorant people gave this game a 1 or 0. Seriously, look at it. It's beautiful. It's amazing. It's Halo 2. Excuse me? Run-of-the-mill online play??? Go to bungie.net, join it, and look at your games you've played online. It's simply genius. The matchmaking-even though you get mowed over at the beginning, you I cannot believe how many in-the-middle-of-pms kind of ignorant people gave this game a 1 or 0. Seriously, look at it. It's beautiful. It's amazing. It's Halo 2. Excuse me? Run-of-the-mill online play??? Go to bungie.net, join it, and look at your games you've played online. It's simply genius. The matchmaking-even though you get mowed over at the beginning, you begin to learn and go through the ranks, not playing against level 27s or level 1s. You get stuck with people that you have a chance against. The single player was great....still trying to beat it in legendary.....but one disappointing thing, something SO disappointing it brought this amazing rating down one point-the sad ripoff of an ending.....HEY MASTER CHIEF!!!! We can finish this fight, then we can go on to HALO 3!!!! Am I the only one here who has a brain enough to notice how amazingly good this game is? Am I??? Expand
  17. JackRJC.
    Feb 16, 2005
    5
    Say over-hyped!
  18. AdamM.
    Feb 19, 2005
    9
    The game play is awesome. The music rocks. But the graphics are alittle edgy sometimes. But over all this game rocks.
  19. LeoM.
    Feb 20, 2005
    10
    More replay than any other game. didn't lose its roots from the original game.
  20. Z
    Feb 27, 2005
    10
    If I could give the game a 9.9 I would, but 10 is close enough. No game in history can match Halo 2 in terms of graphics, sound effects, music, AI, gameplay or story. The greatest video games ever made. Period.
  21. WilhoH.
    Feb 7, 2005
    10
    I have never been so addicted to a game. Simply Beautiful.
  22. ScottH.
    Mar 27, 2005
    9
    The campaign was a little boring, but I really bought it for the Xbox Live. For XBL users, it is a must-buy, otherwise, maybe just rent or borrow.
  23. RaymonB.
    Apr 10, 2005
    9
    This game is phat it gets me and my friends together about every week i certainly look forward to halo3.
  24. TravisM.
    Apr 13, 2005
    7
    Overall Halo 2's single player campaign played through pretty well, although the abrubt ending was a shock the storyline was well written. They took a risk with have diverging storylines with the Covenant and Elite forces, and I for one would have rather just have played as the first Halo did from one side. But where this game is severely lacking is in actual Multiplayer difficulty. Overall Halo 2's single player campaign played through pretty well, although the abrubt ending was a shock the storyline was well written. They took a risk with have diverging storylines with the Covenant and Elite forces, and I for one would have rather just have played as the first Halo did from one side. But where this game is severely lacking is in actual Multiplayer difficulty. Halo 1 I played for nearly 3 years and competed on various State and National level tournaments (iGames, MLG, and AGP) and was an avid supporter of the evolving Halo community. Although Halo 2 did bring forth an entire new wave of potentional gamers about 90% of the best players are still Halo 1 pros. The downfall of the multiplayer component is where I have to rank this game as low as I did. Bungie switched graphics engines and while Halo 1 felt smooth and "just right." Halo 2's graphics engine is far to "busy" and makes me feel like I'm playing a slowed down Unreal game. If I wanted Quake or Unreal I would have purchased those games, but Halo 1 was different and almost "perfect." The pistol while a little to powerful but it was the equalizer against all other weapons. If you did not get a head shot with the sniper rifle or get the kill with the rocket launcher you had a good chance of being "3 shot" and killed by a decent player before you had a chance to get that second shot off. Secondly how can you release a game following the blockbuster caliber of Halo with less maps than the original ?? Especially when 2 are just remakes of the originals (Battle Creek and Blood Gulch). All in all Halo 2 is not a bad game, but it just doesn't have the replayability of the original. If Bungie would release a Halo 1 with Xbox Live capabilities and some new maps it would easily sell for $75 or more. And you know what we'd buy it. But then again this is a business and Bungie did make $125 million dollars in the first 24 hours of releasing Halo 2. That was inherently due to the fact that the overhyped advertising and Halo 1 die hard fans. I for one will wait to rent Halo 2.5 or 3 before I waste anymore of my money on a less than the original game. Expand
  25. LeftTrigger
    Apr 16, 2005
    10
    When first halo came out, i didnt think it was a big game.But then it grew past my expectations by millions. When I first got my hands on halo 2 i was amazed. Many of my friends thought it was'nt as good as the first one, but after a month or so they thought it rulled. I think halo 2 is beyond any first person shooter, just for the sheer freedom to rome the land and do nothing but When first halo came out, i didnt think it was a big game.But then it grew past my expectations by millions. When I first got my hands on halo 2 i was amazed. Many of my friends thought it was'nt as good as the first one, but after a month or so they thought it rulled. I think halo 2 is beyond any first person shooter, just for the sheer freedom to rome the land and do nothing but find secrets. Halo 2 has alot more secrets and fun gliches than Halo, so I think halo 2 even beat halo expectations for the fans. Bunjee did extrealmly well and i think listened to the fans. If i could give it a 100 (rating) i would. Expand
  26. JENNIFERJ.
    Apr 8, 2005
    5
    I like this game, but there are some people that are cheating. When you tell the workers that made Halo 2 they would tell them that they could not play, but they do anyway by using a different username.
  27. ChrisC.
    May 24, 2005
    7
    Average shooter.
  28. JeremiahH.
    May 3, 2005
    10
    Halo and halo2 are both great games and halo3 will be even better.
  29. Pedro
    May 5, 2005
    10
    Best F-N game EVER!!!
  30. CaptainM.
    May 7, 2005
    10
    I think halo 2 is one of the most major games of all time. I'd like to comment though that over all I would like Halo 1 better, but Halo 2 has more and cooler features than Halo 1 like boarding vehicles or duel-wielding. Even though the campaign was good, i was still dissipointed by the end of it. The multiplayer is so cool, espesially on live! Oh, and if you play on live, my friends I think halo 2 is one of the most major games of all time. I'd like to comment though that over all I would like Halo 1 better, but Halo 2 has more and cooler features than Halo 1 like boarding vehicles or duel-wielding. Even though the campaign was good, i was still dissipointed by the end of it. The multiplayer is so cool, espesially on live! Oh, and if you play on live, my friends account is KILLWILL09. I didnt register for live but i sometimes play as a guest at his house. Anyways, I would recommend this game for those FPS lovers out there! Expand

Awards & Rankings

1
1
#1 Most Discussed Xbox Game of 2004
2
#2 Most Shared Xbox Game of 2004
Metascore
95

Universal acclaim - based on 91 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 89 out of 91
  2. Negative: 0 out of 91
  1. Microsoft and Bungie have created a gigantic bell that sounds like thunder and reverberates with a fury worthy of a gale-force hurricane. It's not perfect, but get in front of it, and wonderful things - wonderful destructive things - are bound to happen. [Dec 2004, p.72]
  2. The digital surround sound is phenomenal (and the voice-acting peerless), and players with a good A/V system will enjoy hearing enemies approach from all sides due to the sharp positional sound.
  3. 100
    One of Halo 2 Online's best features - if not the best - is the statistics tracking system. [Online review]