Halo 2 Xbox

User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1280 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. BillD.
    Mar 28, 2006
    6
    I'm going to rate this the same way I rated Halo (6 this time though because at least it has Live capabilities). Overrated and actually just straight up boring. Good AI is the only saving grace because multiplayer is nowhere near as fun as everyone says. Play a PC shooter instead.
  2. GarryH.
    May 11, 2006
    6
    Halo is just a cheap ripoff of half life the flood are just like the zombies and the game play trys to imitate half life but fails misarably. and halo 2 is just a quick rehash of halo 1 with litereally no additions.
  3. AlexA.
    Mar 16, 2007
    6
    Overall halo 2 was not as good as halo 1. the addition of ther sword was cool and the brute shot was nice but other than that all ther other covanant weapons were rip-offs of human ones. they also dithched the assault riffle and turned it into two useless weapons the battle riffle and the smg. the smg is weak it's only effective when dual wielded with a plasma pistal or plasma Overall halo 2 was not as good as halo 1. the addition of ther sword was cool and the brute shot was nice but other than that all ther other covanant weapons were rip-offs of human ones. they also dithched the assault riffle and turned it into two useless weapons the battle riffle and the smg. the smg is weak it's only effective when dual wielded with a plasma pistal or plasma riffle. compared to the assault riffle which could carry 660 shots the smg carries half that. the battle riffle is a 3 shot burst weapon with a scope it is pretty useless. the postol wich was god in halo 1 stinks now they got rid of the scope and it deos not do that much damage. dual wielding was cool but it's kind of annoying to use nades you have to drop one gun then throw the nade then find the gun again and pick it up. as for campaign i liked how you swithched between the master chief and the arbiter. liked how the elites unlike the marines had sheild generators and could carry swords. the story for halo 2 was ok except for the ending wich left me staring at the tv about 3 minutes after it ended expeciting some other cut scene to pop up, but in comparison to halo 1's story it was not as good. in halo 2 the sniper does not have the night vision scope it did in halo 1 and it carries a lot less ammo. the plasma riffles shoot faster in halo 2. in the levels you play as the arbiter you only fought other covanent and the flood, i thought you would fight marines but no. as for the rooms in pretty much the whole game one looks exactly like the other there is no vaiety within a level. also the vehicles explode a lot faster in halo 2 but you can hijack them. they also added the specter (the covanant warhog) and the wraith (the covonant tank). also in halo 2 your oversheild goes down over time regardless of if you've been shot or not so you opponent can just avoid you till it goes down. in comparison to halo 1 halo 2 was bad, but as a game on it's own not as a sequel it was pretty good. most people who play online can't except defeat if they lose they will make up bs exuses like oh i was taking a dump while playing thats the only reason you won. also on line the battle riffle and sniper are overused and once you get really high in rank they are pretty much the only waepons used. as for the super bounces which are really cheap people do it all the time and get places that let them snipe everyone on the level with ease. online play is fun the lower the rank you are. my final point about campaign is taking your allies weapons (or as I call them homies) you can take your allies weapons and give them yours. this gives you choices you can either give your homies good guns so they kick but or you can take the good weapons for yourself and your homeis will probobly get owned. the good thing is homeis don't use amo so you could give them a sniper with one shot and they could use it for the rest of the level. all in all halo 2 was a good game but not nearly as good as halo 1. Expand
  4. PeterW.
    Nov 11, 2004
    6
    Honestly i think this is a decent game for the x-box. It has some unique AI elements, some interesting encounters, and some really nicely detailed skymaps...character quality goes up in cinemas, and the customizing ability of the multiplayer is really cool. ...But, the controls are still clunky, very slow multiplay, does not compare to PC games like Unreal Tournament, and the single Honestly i think this is a decent game for the x-box. It has some unique AI elements, some interesting encounters, and some really nicely detailed skymaps...character quality goes up in cinemas, and the customizing ability of the multiplayer is really cool. ...But, the controls are still clunky, very slow multiplay, does not compare to PC games like Unreal Tournament, and the single player graphical glitches are unforgivable for this age. Horrible textures, bad inconsistent lighting, overused ugly bump and normal maps, unbelievable amounts of lod popping, lighting popping, normal map popping and popping popping, exists everywhere throughout the game. Graphically it is very boring, and the setups for characters don't compare to half life ethics. Design for the suits are boring, voice acting is terrible, check out other games like metal gear or metroid prime for better design first. Expand
  5. ElZilcho
    Nov 12, 2004
    6
    Halo 2 is missing the freedom and epic battles of the first game. It still has the annoying parts from the first game too, like repeating corridors, etc. The worst part is the story, which is like a dodgy fan-fiction compared to Halo 1 and the books. Great combat and graphics though.
  6. S.Harv
    Nov 13, 2004
    6
    I mean, hell, it's Halo, so the gameplay and action rock. The sound is some of the best I've ever heard. However, it's just too damn short! There was no "Flood Moment" in this game, where your expectations suddenly turned upside-down. I'm shockingly disappointed.
  7. JamesW.
    Nov 21, 2004
    6
    Umm well. wot the helll was that. i like fps games , and u can find me playing pretty poor games until i complete them, but. i couldn't wait to play halo 2, although i wasn't the biggest fan of halo. i still thought halo 2 would be fantastic. but it was just repetitive and boring. there is always the feel that the game has been rushed just to make deadlines. a game that had soUmm well. wot the helll was that. i like fps games , and u can find me playing pretty poor games until i complete them, but. i couldn't wait to play halo 2, although i wasn't the biggest fan of halo. i still thought halo 2 would be fantastic. but it was just repetitive and boring. there is always the feel that the game has been rushed just to make deadlines. a game that had so much potential, has become an almost exact copy of number 1. and if you want a game that really deserves 10/10. check out half life 2 on pc. Expand
  8. TerryB.
    Nov 8, 2004
    6
    Same as the first one. New levels. 6 on 10
  9. M.S.
    Dec 22, 2005
    6
    After playing this game on all of the difficulties (Yes even Heroic and Legendary level stuff) I felt absolutely abbandoned. This was one of the most non-thrilling, straight-foward, technically underwhelming, and totally monotanous games I have ever played! I am sorry but there was simply no gameplay variation, there was no logic in the level design waht's so ever, the weapons were After playing this game on all of the difficulties (Yes even Heroic and Legendary level stuff) I felt absolutely abbandoned. This was one of the most non-thrilling, straight-foward, technically underwhelming, and totally monotanous games I have ever played! I am sorry but there was simply no gameplay variation, there was no logic in the level design waht's so ever, the weapons were boring and all felt very much the same when I used them (Except the sword which was kick ass), the sound track bugged the hell out of me (Although Incubus was perfect), the story-let's face it-is perhaps the most worthless piece of game motivation I have ever seen, and may I mention that Halo 3 better improve upon this..this was high level crap. Compaired to games such as Half-Life 2 (10), Far Cry (7), Doom 3 (9), and Quake 4 (7), it pails and shivers. I already stated exactly why I disliked this indulgent crap...sub par graphics, atrocious story, unexciting level design, tedium...but why a six? Well because the mutli-player is the best thing to happen to FPS games...if you have a bunch of friends with Xbox's and cables..throw a party and play this game! It is the most fun you will have with a group of friends on the Xbox. It elevates on so many levels here. The extention of Maps is also a fine purchase for those who really don't give two shits about the single player...like me after I played through it. Expand
  10. GordonU.
    Apr 19, 2005
    6
    In attitudes(relations) to campaign, levels are ridiculously long, plot (site) is soft, and is sincere in some parts a history would be more provided, if the huge aperture of plot (site) only admitted, instead of some awfully invented case. Recurrence (copy) - opinion - numbing. I find myself visiting rooms (place) of looking 20 minutes for a silly output(exit), it or is latent, behind of In attitudes(relations) to campaign, levels are ridiculously long, plot (site) is soft, and is sincere in some parts a history would be more provided, if the huge aperture of plot (site) only admitted, instead of some awfully invented case. Recurrence (copy) - opinion - numbing. I find myself visiting rooms (place) of looking 20 minutes for a silly output(exit), it or is latent, behind of a cautious corner, or in a stable (labyrinth) of tunnels, shoots also ladders, doing(making) the game more upsetting (more sad) both intense than entertainment and a relaxation. As soon as I really leave, I have returned with my exclusive (preferable) weapon, shooting the same guys who are many times not changing. Similarly to display on the green screen, the background changes, and it - about it. My account receives all his(its) items(points) (points) from a way of the multiplayer which I still feel, wonderful and... Anyhow more senseless than the halo 1. As a whole, rather unfavourable. Expand
  11. JimmyT.
    May 28, 2005
    6
    This is a decent FPS and nothing more. It has good graphics and audio, but it does not make up for the mediocre gameplay. It is a decent game smothered in tons of hype.
  12. JohnnyC.
    Dec 26, 2004
    6
    Omfg...this game is not all dat good.the ending was horrific,and the multiplayer is so noobish!the only thing that is ok on here is mayb xboxlive.and another thing.WTF WHERE THE ATV'S?!
  13. Dec 22, 2010
    6
    I think Halo 2 lost some of its score when they deactivated Xbox Original Live. The campaign still delivers, its epic but sometimes there are those "Where do i go?!?!" moments. Graphics are really good for Xbox, and the voice recording is good too. I think that they still could of worked on the graphics.
  14. Jun 12, 2011
    6
    Slightly better graphics and some online... almost the same game as Halo 1. I don't need more vehicles, and dual wielding on weapons I'm not going to use... I prefer the first game over this hyped fps.
  15. Jan 13, 2012
    6
    A disapointing sequel. I didnt like the new look that the game had and it didnt really fit well with me. The story was a little too similar to the first game. It was interesting playing on the covenant side and it was easily the best part of the campaign. Multiplayer was fun but besides an updated look, It didnt really have much different from the first game's multiplayer.

    It was an ok
    A disapointing sequel. I didnt like the new look that the game had and it didnt really fit well with me. The story was a little too similar to the first game. It was interesting playing on the covenant side and it was easily the best part of the campaign. Multiplayer was fun but besides an updated look, It didnt really have much different from the first game's multiplayer.

    It was an ok game but very disapointing.
    Expand
  16. Jun 27, 2013
    6
    This is probably the weakest of the main series Halo games. It's not bad, it just doesn't do much. The story is far weaker than the first Halo, the combat isn't much different, and the graphics are only a little better. The only improvement here is the multiplayer, however that alone can't make a game good. All around, it was disappointing.
  17. Apr 11, 2017
    6
    Globalement une suite très honnête, (un peu) plus belle mais plus spectaculaire... mais sans réelles nouveautés non plus. Contrairement au premier, les niveaux sont assez variés et plus équilibrés. Le doublage VF est bon et l'ambiance inimitable et "curieuse" est toujours là (sans oublier la musique). Jouabilité Halo fidèle à elle-même certes maniable mais victime de ses choix discutablesGlobalement une suite très honnête, (un peu) plus belle mais plus spectaculaire... mais sans réelles nouveautés non plus. Contrairement au premier, les niveaux sont assez variés et plus équilibrés. Le doublage VF est bon et l'ambiance inimitable et "curieuse" est toujours là (sans oublier la musique). Jouabilité Halo fidèle à elle-même certes maniable mais victime de ses choix discutables (deux armes seulement, vie qui remonte toute seule). L'histoire réserve quelques surprises... pas toujours les bienvenues et la fin apparaît quelque peu bâclée. Expand
  18. R.S.
    Jan 3, 2005
    5
    Ok people... i mean really was it that great. Ok to let you know my history... I bought the Xbox only to play halo back when it first came out, yes I admit it was one of the better first person shooters out there well considers consoles only I would say it was the best. so yes I was anticipating Halo 2, I couldn
  19. TonyC.
    Jan 5, 2005
    5
    The game was very repetitive and dull, although it had some interesting features like taking control of ghosts and wraiths, etc.. the overall gameplay was repetitive and many of the map designs were similar and dull. No real challenges or obstacles single player mode = 3 rating. The online play is much better, it is random maps and random the game and map selection is lacking. But once The game was very repetitive and dull, although it had some interesting features like taking control of ghosts and wraiths, etc.. the overall gameplay was repetitive and many of the map designs were similar and dull. No real challenges or obstacles single player mode = 3 rating. The online play is much better, it is random maps and random the game and map selection is lacking. But once you get in the game and play it is fun. Sometimes in team battles part of your team will leave and it makes the teams so unfair you can't win and takes the fun out of the online experience. Overall online experience nothing really new or exciting Online play is definately better than single player mode. Online rating = 7, however it gets old and repetitive quick as well. Expand
  20. DickSavage
    Jan 23, 2010
    5
    I despise halo for all of is bribed reviews and garbage game play. But the story of the Arbiter is actually epic. He is sent on suicide missions and they still cant kill him. This one is the best of the series, which isn't saying much. The 5 I give it is 5 points higher than what i gave the other two.
  21. D.C.
    Nov 10, 2004
    5
    HYPE!!! HYPE!!! HYPE!!! lots of HYPE. HYPO 2 oh I mean HALO 2 was the biggest Video Game Hype in forever. HALO the first one was a better game, for the simple fact that it was the first of it's kind. Part 2, yeah may have more things in it but was it really worth people standing in line in the freezing cold for hours HEEEEEECK NO!!!! The Master Chief should get a name change to Super HYPE!!! HYPE!!! HYPE!!! lots of HYPE. HYPO 2 oh I mean HALO 2 was the biggest Video Game Hype in forever. HALO the first one was a better game, for the simple fact that it was the first of it's kind. Part 2, yeah may have more things in it but was it really worth people standing in line in the freezing cold for hours HEEEEEECK NO!!!! The Master Chief should get a name change to Super Master Cheif because he is Unbreakable. He can jump on top of almost anything, fall from the sky and all this with out a scratch. Glitching is a problem to, empty chairs one second, then bam the whole Marine Core the next. Why was it pushed back is the question of the year or should I say three years. I gave the game a 5 because of XBOX Live, THATS ALSOME. My last words are HYPE!!! HYPE!!! HYPE!!!. Can't wait for Underground 2. Expand
  22. TomC.
    Nov 9, 2004
    5
    I am extremely disappointed with this game as is most of the fraternity I live in. I gave it a low rating b/c of the high expectations I had for it. The game resembles too much a computer game first of all and though XBOX is basically a computer, none of the previous games have resembled comp. games. The fact that pistol zoom is gone and that everything feels 10x smaller is already a I am extremely disappointed with this game as is most of the fraternity I live in. I gave it a low rating b/c of the high expectations I had for it. The game resembles too much a computer game first of all and though XBOX is basically a computer, none of the previous games have resembled comp. games. The fact that pistol zoom is gone and that everything feels 10x smaller is already a problem. Also, the fact that everything moves at the speed of light is another problem. The game feels like it was only built for xbox live. The fact that we had to wait three years for this is pretty sad in my opinion as the improvements are extremely minimal.... an extra few weapons and options... really nothing spectacular. Expand
  23. SaketR.
    Jan 11, 2005
    5
    Hype can make or break a game, from a marketing perspective Microsoft did everything right with this title, but unfortunately the same cannot be said about the final product, which by an measure is no where near breathtaking. Quite simply, I feel conned into buying a game which can only be enjoyed by a minimum of 4 people at a time, and needs a Broadband connection or regular visitors. As Hype can make or break a game, from a marketing perspective Microsoft did everything right with this title, but unfortunately the same cannot be said about the final product, which by an measure is no where near breathtaking. Quite simply, I feel conned into buying a game which can only be enjoyed by a minimum of 4 people at a time, and needs a Broadband connection or regular visitors. As has been said by many others, the single player mode is totally underwhelming. Poor game design, recycled levels, slightly polished graphics and incredibly short, this game is a black mark when compared to the good effort that was Halo 1. Regardless, the multi player is better than most; only if you can manage 3 people to come over at a minimum. Some of the weapons are too powerful while others are remarkably weak. There seems to be no justice to anyone in this game: Sales have been too much, the public has been conned, and finally all the reviewers have been overrating, this is not the messiah of all games, oh no, its simply the snake which tempted all and ended up doing nothing but ill. Expand
  24. AndrewF.
    Mar 4, 2005
    5
    Overhyped. Seriously. How could anyone think that this game is a 10 out of 10? Have they played Brother in Arms 3? Have they played RE4? The graphics are great, but the single player campaign is repetitive, borderline boring, and features what could quite possibly be the most worthless story and terrible ending I've ever laid eyes on in a game. Sorry to rain on your parade Halo Overhyped. Seriously. How could anyone think that this game is a 10 out of 10? Have they played Brother in Arms 3? Have they played RE4? The graphics are great, but the single player campaign is repetitive, borderline boring, and features what could quite possibly be the most worthless story and terrible ending I've ever laid eyes on in a game. Sorry to rain on your parade Halo Fanboy, but this game coulda been, woulda been, shoulda been... but isn't that great. By the way, if you like playing online against 12 year old boys and their dads, then give the xbox live Halo experience a try. It's super neat. Give me something that requires the use of my mind any day of the week. Guarantee you won't find little children in Xbox Live of Brother in Arms. You know why? Because that game requires actual thought, instead of mindless, unrealistic shooting of anything that moves. C'mon! This game is ALL HYPE! It's gets a 5/10 from me, purely on it's techinical acheivements. Expand
  25. DK
    Dec 20, 2006
    5
    Such a disappointment. They changed so much of what made Halo such a great game... WHY!? The developers themselves are disappointed with Halo 2. Hopefully they redeem themselves with Halo 3.
  26. OliverC.
    Jul 13, 2007
    5
    Did the reviewers come up with their reviews for this game before it even came out? This game was a shameful sequel. The only welcome feature is the vehicle hijack. Despite how good it sounds, dual wielding is not a good feature, especially in multiplayer. It makes encounters really uneven. All this game does is make you want to go back to the original, and take out that pistol and blast Did the reviewers come up with their reviews for this game before it even came out? This game was a shameful sequel. The only welcome feature is the vehicle hijack. Despite how good it sounds, dual wielding is not a good feature, especially in multiplayer. It makes encounters really uneven. All this game does is make you want to go back to the original, and take out that pistol and blast away. I wont even talk about the single player. Expand
  27. RogerW.
    Nov 18, 2004
    5
    No multiplayer co-op. What were they thinking???
  28. SteveG.
    Nov 25, 2004
    5
    i dont get it. why is this game supposed to be the best thing out. plz explain to me, cause from what i see it ain't anything special.
  29. AndrewM.
    Nov 8, 2004
    5
    Plays like the original, has a few tweaks that make multiplayer gaming more entertaining but there are too many fireworks, too much "I save the world like a Starship trooper" elements and no innovation. Seen it somewhere before and done it... Good for parties though.
  30. Jamal
    Nov 8, 2004
    5
    Not so good.
  31. GaryW.
    Jan 1, 2005
    5
    If you dont have xbox live this is disappointing, graphical popup, over sensitive controls, stupidier ai than last time and very few memorable or smile inducing areas, not enough new ideas.
  32. JackRJC.
    Feb 16, 2005
    5
    Say over-hyped!
  33. JENNIFERJ.
    Apr 8, 2005
    5
    I like this game, but there are some people that are cheating. When you tell the workers that made Halo 2 they would tell them that they could not play, but they do anyway by using a different username.
  34. JohnL.
    Nov 14, 2006
    5
    Halo was fun, not Godlike, but fun. Halo 2 was not fun. It's boring, short, and definately not up to the hype. The multiplayer? Sucks. I don't understand how being thrown into a game that you barely choose any specs on is fun? Gee, I can't wait to have a sniper match when I want a normal deathmatch.
  35. BoBBoBBy
    Aug 7, 2006
    5
    Once again as in Halo one the campaign mode SUCKS! But no other multiplayer game is better than Halo, not doubt!
  36. Bob
    Nov 13, 2004
    5
    At first it was the greatest game ever!!! When i completed it the next day, it wasn't. Everything about it was so great and then when the ending sucked so much, i don't even consider it to be an ending.
  37. DanF.
    Nov 16, 2004
    5
    In regards to the campaign, the levels are ridiculously long, the plot is bland and frankly in some parts the story would be better off if a giant plot hole was just confessed, instead of some terribly devised event. The repEtition is mind-numbing. I find myself stuck in rooms searching for 20 minutes for a stupid exit that's either concealed, behind a discreet corner, or in a maze In regards to the campaign, the levels are ridiculously long, the plot is bland and frankly in some parts the story would be better off if a giant plot hole was just confessed, instead of some terribly devised event. The repEtition is mind-numbing. I find myself stuck in rooms searching for 20 minutes for a stupid exit that's either concealed, behind a discreet corner, or in a maze of tunnels, shoots and ladders, making the game more frustrating and stressful than fun and relaxing. Once I do get out, I'm back with my preferred weapons shooting the same guys over and over again unchanging. Like a show on green screen, the background changes and that's about it. My score gets all its points from the multiplayer mode, which I still feel is unbalanced and...somehow more mindless than Halo 1. Overall, pretty disappointing. Expand
  38. JohnnyBliss
    Nov 18, 2004
    5
    [***SPOILERS***] This game is a yawning, teary-eyed disappointment. The music is not near as good as the first. The levels are much longer than needed. Much. The backstory is convoluted and soooo unnecessary. Hopping back and forth between Master Cheif and Arbiter is more irritating than interesting. And what is with such a sparse time spent on Earth? Was it two, maybe three, measley[***SPOILERS***] This game is a yawning, teary-eyed disappointment. The music is not near as good as the first. The levels are much longer than needed. Much. The backstory is convoluted and soooo unnecessary. Hopping back and forth between Master Cheif and Arbiter is more irritating than interesting. And what is with such a sparse time spent on Earth? Was it two, maybe three, measley levels out of the other 12 repetitive (yes, repetitive) levels that we got to feel like we were defending something worthwhile? Our homeland for goodness sake is being invaded by Covenant and (shudder) Flood! Wasn't that supposed to be the big shocker?!? The whole reason for caring about the sequel in the first place?!? So obviously, as we find out in the much too abrupt ending, there will be more Halo to come. I for one hope Bungie will realize that there are many gamers out here shaking our heads in disbelief at this crapulent excuse for a game. How about some innovation next time, Bungie. Oh, and enough with the freakin' Xbox Online! I would rather play with my actual friends that I see on a daily basis than some virtual whosiewhatsit! Give us a break and a decent game worthy of our time. Expand
  39. NakedClam
    Nov 21, 2004
    5
    I've only played single-player mode thus far, but to date, I'm thoroughly underwhelmed. The story line is interesting enough, but I think I'd rather have read the book than wasted so many hours of my life for such a lame ending. The entire game was only about as long as one chapter of the original HALO, and the graphics are really no better. I do like the additional I've only played single-player mode thus far, but to date, I'm thoroughly underwhelmed. The story line is interesting enough, but I think I'd rather have read the book than wasted so many hours of my life for such a lame ending. The entire game was only about as long as one chapter of the original HALO, and the graphics are really no better. I do like the additional vehicles though. All in all, this game was NOT worth the two year wait. Unless multi player is better, I'll be returning this one to the store... Expand
  40. TheGamer
    Nov 9, 2004
    5
    Extremely overrated. This game dose not come close enough to all the hype. If this game completely sucked all the die hard fans would still give it a 10.
  41. CraigS.
    Nov 9, 2004
    5
    My initial thoughts are that it is to similar to Halo1, little or no improvement in graphics. Can hardly expect it to live up to the hype - the first version was the ultimate...and still is in my opinion. Damn.
  42. TonyThePirate
    Nov 9, 2004
    5
    TOO MUCH HYPE!!!!! I don't know what the big deal is but Microsoft sure did a great job in marketing. And, people sure got suckered into it. There are way better games out there.
  43. Jazzbo
    Jun 17, 2005
    5
    Biggest pros: lifelike graphics, story, changing viewpoints, destructable environment, vehicle usage (and being able to steal one in motion), split-screen mulitplayer customization Biggest cons: The ending. I felt like they just stopped somewhere in the middle of telling the story.
  44. NathanT.
    Nov 17, 2004
    5
    Come on people. i dont care how good it is, nothing is worth a ten unless JESUS himself came and made a game and a system to run that game. honestly, there are flaws in every game. nothing is perfect and halo 2 is no exception. seriously, all u halo fan-boys, quit smokin crack and realize that there are flaws to every game and halo 2 isnt that great neways. not the masterpiece everyoneCome on people. i dont care how good it is, nothing is worth a ten unless JESUS himself came and made a game and a system to run that game. honestly, there are flaws in every game. nothing is perfect and halo 2 is no exception. seriously, all u halo fan-boys, quit smokin crack and realize that there are flaws to every game and halo 2 isnt that great neways. not the masterpiece everyone wants u to believe, eh? Expand
  45. Dec 31, 2011
    5
    So, I had the chance to play the multiplayer of "Halo 2" thanks to a lock-in from our church. All I can say is.....STICK TO REACH, MY ****
  46. JimK.
    Dec 4, 2004
    4
    I enjoyed playing the new version but not worth the hype. The ending a shameless setup for HALO 3 on X-Box 2. The game was just getting intresting when it quit and ended. It was like microsoft pulled the plug on development and rushed it to market in time for christmas. They would have been better served to develop it fully.
  47. JamesA.
    Apr 23, 2007
    4
    This game is nothing different. The graphics are 7 but weapon choice gets a 1. The physics are 0, compare to Half Life 2. The online system is very well made but the habitual game play brings it down to a 4. The single player story is like watching a train wrech in slow motion.
  48. DoodleBerry
    Dec 1, 2004
    4
    Not a bad game, but not worth the hype. I waited too long for this game, and I'm disappointed. Like someone else said, the great scenes that were at E3 aren't in the game. Unreal 2004 is a much better structured game, and more balanced. Give me my pistol back! Too much hype over this game. Microsoft just lost one Xbox2 sale.
  49. C.H.
    May 16, 2007
    4
    95/100 based on 91 reviews. I never owned an xbox and I only just got Halo 2 to use on the Xbox 360. After years of hype and years of "omg this game is so amazing", I was pretty excited to play. I have never been so disappointed. Everything about the game feels weak or wimpy. They took away the Chief's health bar, they stuck a giant "Shields are recharging!!!" in the middle of my 95/100 based on 91 reviews. I never owned an xbox and I only just got Halo 2 to use on the Xbox 360. After years of hype and years of "omg this game is so amazing", I was pretty excited to play. I have never been so disappointed. Everything about the game feels weak or wimpy. They took away the Chief's health bar, they stuck a giant "Shields are recharging!!!" in the middle of my screen when I try to shoot. They took away my 60rd and massive 600rd reserve assault rifle and give me a crummy machine pistol and an M16-knock off burst-rifle with 180 reserve. Lame. I resent splitting the assault rifle, that on it's own was moderately useful, into two completely useless weapons. One is too weak, and the other doesn't have enough bullets. Who goes into a fight with 6 spare magazines? Sound effects are poor, level design is boring, the whole game is just... ugh. I cannot believe a game that is so mediocre is so popular. Expand
  50. RayS.
    Nov 17, 2004
    4
    I LOVED Halo, the gameplay, the story, the music, Playing it I felt like I was in a movie. With much hype and anticipation I awaited Halo 2. Boring.. they kept pushing the release date back for this?!?!?! save your money or play halo 1.
  51. ConnorB.
    Nov 20, 2004
    4
    I played and fell in love with the first Halo. In fact it's the reason i purchased an xbox. But WOW; this game was so boring i couldnt even bring myself to play it for more than 20 minutes at a time. I understand the first game was a labour of love. Years in the making, well scripted, innovative, compelling and just damn entertaining; so i expected something at least of the same I played and fell in love with the first Halo. In fact it's the reason i purchased an xbox. But WOW; this game was so boring i couldnt even bring myself to play it for more than 20 minutes at a time. I understand the first game was a labour of love. Years in the making, well scripted, innovative, compelling and just damn entertaining; so i expected something at least of the same caliber. That was a major error of logic on my part. This was obviously a cash-cow for bungie and microsoft. It was a sure thing for them, all they had to do was dress up the old halo, toss in some new guns and a meager few new gameplay additions and they had themselves a top seller. Well i, as a paying customer feel quite cheated. This game was as elementary in gameplay as the original castle wolfenstein seems today. Expand
  52. MikeR.
    Nov 28, 2004
    4
    Frankly, I'm tired of the worshiping Halo 2 has received.Single player is disappointing, both in story and originality. When there are two characters in the story going against each other, what's the point? Dual-wielding, while a great add to put on the back cover, completly overbalances the weapons. Going into battle with a rifle on multiplayer?Dead. Especially when some prick Frankly, I'm tired of the worshiping Halo 2 has received.Single player is disappointing, both in story and originality. When there are two characters in the story going against each other, what's the point? Dual-wielding, while a great add to put on the back cover, completly overbalances the weapons. Going into battle with a rifle on multiplayer?Dead. Especially when some prick has the energy sword. Graphics are about the same as Halo 1, which is still impressive,but there was just so much potential. A disappionting follow up, and terrible when compared to Halo1. Expand
  53. Nathan
    Jun 12, 2005
    4
    People, u all need to learn something about the video game industry. in order for a game to get a '10' it would have to be perfect. Those e3 demos we all saw? probly were pre rendered since most games arent finished to be shown at e3. id say more, but i dont have forever to tell u all that you are brainwashed morons, so now to the review. i played multiplayer at my friends housePeople, u all need to learn something about the video game industry. in order for a game to get a '10' it would have to be perfect. Those e3 demos we all saw? probly were pre rendered since most games arent finished to be shown at e3. id say more, but i dont have forever to tell u all that you are brainwashed morons, so now to the review. i played multiplayer at my friends house for 4 hours totla. multiplayer is supposed to be the highlight, right? i got my ass beat. im not mad about that. The gameplay sucked. The maps blew chunks. the graphics were decent, but nothing stunning. u want stunning? try RE4. overall, halo 2 is nothing new, just a mix of things that have been done before. attack on earth: done. aliens: done. vehicles: done. guns: done. running around and hopping like a frickin noob: done. come on people, look at the whole game THEN review it. and i dont believe all those 10's. where are the reasons? o wait, there arent ne, cause u guys are all xbox fanboys. Expand
  54. ChristianB.
    Nov 17, 2004
    4
    Great presentation. Unfortunately this game is simply a sequel to an already bland game. Maybe if Halo 1 wasn't like a million other video games this would be impressive. Improving an engine and making better graphics is what every single sequel does. Let's try something original for once. Overall it's a waste of money unless you're a diehard fan.
  55. Halo2Stinks
    Nov 24, 2004
    4
    This game was way too hyped up. The E3 scenes that everyone drooled over didn't even make it into the game. Poor controls, lack of real weapons, and repetitive screens. That's what I took away from this game. Crappy storyline doesn't exactly help either. Halo 3 is supposed to be the first game for Xbox2 so I hear, but I won't waste my money after this pile of crud.
  56. CraigK.
    Nov 10, 2004
    3
    Craig's Review 4U: The Guns are to damn big and in your face obstructing most of the visible area, especially in dual equipt mode. There is to much flashing to see what you are doing. Sets are to dark due to the new eviromental shaders. Story is awsome though but once again it takes a lot to get used to the interface. They should have left well alone.
  57. GTARocks
    Dec 1, 2004
    3
    Halo 2 is so unfairly rated by everyone else it's not even funny. In order to give a game 100%, there has to be new, innovative things that make you want to play it again and again. I felt this with a couple games like Vice City and Tribes Vengeance, but not here. There's little changed from Halo 1. Certainly not enough to scream about. The new additions are nice, but they Halo 2 is so unfairly rated by everyone else it's not even funny. In order to give a game 100%, there has to be new, innovative things that make you want to play it again and again. I felt this with a couple games like Vice City and Tribes Vengeance, but not here. There's little changed from Halo 1. Certainly not enough to scream about. The new additions are nice, but they don't really improve the game. Some of the weapons are a big step backwards. Too much hype, not enough substance. And for those of you who disagree - The single player campaign sucks! Admit it! Expand
  58. MonsterMash
    Nov 26, 2004
    3
    Sorry, I can't give this game a good review. I live in a rural area, so Xbox Live is no option for me. I otherwise have found a bland, repetitive, boring game with no improvements from Halo 1, and a much worse storyline. It's too bad that Halo3 won't be out for probably another three years, but then again, maybe it's not such a bad thing. After this stinker, I Sorry, I can't give this game a good review. I live in a rural area, so Xbox Live is no option for me. I otherwise have found a bland, repetitive, boring game with no improvements from Halo 1, and a much worse storyline. It's too bad that Halo3 won't be out for probably another three years, but then again, maybe it's not such a bad thing. After this stinker, I won't be holding my breath for the next game. I'm trading my Xbox in for a PS2 so I can get GTA:SA. Expand
  59. ZackO.
    Dec 11, 2004
    3
    I agree with C tunnel. This game is not near worth the hype it is getting. i just played it for about 2 hours at my friends house, both single player and multiplayer, and there is nothing great about this game. it is identical to any other decent FPS out there. The multiplayer requires no brains or strategy, and all you do is jump around and blast your SMG. The capabilities of the playerI agree with C tunnel. This game is not near worth the hype it is getting. i just played it for about 2 hours at my friends house, both single player and multiplayer, and there is nothing great about this game. it is identical to any other decent FPS out there. The multiplayer requires no brains or strategy, and all you do is jump around and blast your SMG. The capabilities of the player are so limited that it is hard to try to do anytyhing smart. all you can do is run jump and crouch. wow, thats AMAZING. The maps are god awful, and the mechanics of the sword are horrible. i played a swords only match, and it was the most boring experience of my life. there is no variety to what will happen. you just run up to the guy and try to hit him first. wow, thats fun. If you want a really good FPS, get Call of Duty for the PC. Expand
  60. PaulM.
    Jun 18, 2005
    3
    [***SPOILERS***] Simply the worst ending of any video game I have ever played. Switching from Master Chief to the Arbiter ruined the game. Overhyped trash. Halo was much better. At least it wasn't a rip off. Someone said who cares that plants get drawn in from 5 feet away. You know nothing about video games. Four years into the life of the Xbox console and Bungie should have done a[***SPOILERS***] Simply the worst ending of any video game I have ever played. Switching from Master Chief to the Arbiter ruined the game. Overhyped trash. Halo was much better. At least it wasn't a rip off. Someone said who cares that plants get drawn in from 5 feet away. You know nothing about video games. Four years into the life of the Xbox console and Bungie should have done a much better job. The game was supposed to take place mostly on Earth. It probably would have if Bungie wasn't concentrating all their efforts on Halo 3 for Xbox 360. A below average FPS with tons of hype still equals a below average FPS. We were all ripped off. Gaming sites and people scoring this game higher than 510 are mindless drones. Expand
  61. BryanM.
    Jun 5, 2007
    3
    I hope 3 will be way better. The story was ok until the end. and now they want me to buy 3 it better not have the gayest ending in the world or I will say good bye Halo and spend my $60 on a better game. Multiplayer is the only reason you should still have this game.
  62. RichardS
    Jul 4, 2007
    3
    Quite simply, the second most over-rated game of all time behind the even worse Gears of War. This took everything that was great about Halo - best game of all time - and ruined it. Horrid.
  63. RichardR.
    Dec 1, 2004
    3
    I loved Halo 1 and played it incessantly on every level. I loved the tactics, the choosing weapons etc. The only level that annoyed me was the Library which was really repetitive and I hate the Flood. I was hoping for more of the same. Instead the graphics are worse IMHO, the gameplay boring - more flood but now indestructable. New useless weapons. The whole thing is lacking. Even the I loved Halo 1 and played it incessantly on every level. I loved the tactics, the choosing weapons etc. The only level that annoyed me was the Library which was really repetitive and I hate the Flood. I was hoping for more of the same. Instead the graphics are worse IMHO, the gameplay boring - more flood but now indestructable. New useless weapons. The whole thing is lacking. Even the lighting effects on the needler you hold are rubbish now. Aagh! All the reviews giving it top grades are wrong. As a single player game it is miles below Riddick and the original Halo. It sucks. as with the majority of gamers, I don't have Live. The only trustworthy reviews are those at the bottom of the list who tell it like it is. Expand
  64. K-Rap
    Dec 13, 2004
    3
    After reading a bunch of reviews, it's pretty obvious to me that the average player of this game is one of two types. 1 - mindless idiot who just likes the run/gun game. 2 - Envolved player who likes to master every gun, controls, storyline, and feature of the game to its fullest. I am the second one. That's where this game falls flat on its face. No story, no difficult After reading a bunch of reviews, it's pretty obvious to me that the average player of this game is one of two types. 1 - mindless idiot who just likes the run/gun game. 2 - Envolved player who likes to master every gun, controls, storyline, and feature of the game to its fullest. I am the second one. That's where this game falls flat on its face. No story, no difficult gameplay, no real challenge except how fast you can pump bullets into the next 50 enemies that pop on screen. I'm bored of this gametype. The multiplayer is better, but not by much. A "No bots" feature doesn't help fill the huge maps, and X-box Live costs too damn much to justify it's existence. I refuse to shell out $200+ for the system, $60 for the game, and $40 per month for the ability to play online. Overall disappointing. I will be going back to favorites like Counter Strike and Unreal on PC before I touch Halo 2 again. Expand
  65. MattC.
    Mar 22, 2005
    3
    This game is absolute !@#$ the original was much better i dont know how many times i replayed the levels in the original i did not enjoy this game as much
  66. Ricardo
    Jan 11, 2006
    3
    Horribly over-rated and possibly the most boring FPS I have ever played. I loved Halo and have played it all through many times. The story was great, the levels were either intricate or expansive but always well thought out, the weapons were all brilliant too. Halo 2 however just plain sucks and is a letdown in every department. The graphics now look small and clunky instead of neat and Horribly over-rated and possibly the most boring FPS I have ever played. I loved Halo and have played it all through many times. The story was great, the levels were either intricate or expansive but always well thought out, the weapons were all brilliant too. Halo 2 however just plain sucks and is a letdown in every department. The graphics now look small and clunky instead of neat and shiny. The weapons are mostly weak and useless - why ruin the superb handgun? The level design is truly horrific - an appalling mess passing for cities or spaceships. The first level sums it all up - boring, ugly, pointless and a mess. The gameplay is just not on the level of the first game. The reviewers giving 100% are just cowards going with the crowd. There is one good thing - the dual weilding weapons. But that can't overcome the stench from the rest of the game. I finally completed it in spite of the boredom but won't pick it up again. Expand
  67. JohnW.
    Nov 21, 2006
    3
    Halo 2...well...it sucks. Yes, yes it does, Halo 1 slaughters this game, usually I woulden't think this, but after going through and playing Halo here in 2006 (almost 2007) I realized how fun it truly was! Sure the lack of on-line play was disappointing, but Halo 2 online play sucks, it's PAINFULLY repetitive and so...unintelligent. I guess the only GOOD part of this game is the Halo 2...well...it sucks. Yes, yes it does, Halo 1 slaughters this game, usually I woulden't think this, but after going through and playing Halo here in 2006 (almost 2007) I realized how fun it truly was! Sure the lack of on-line play was disappointing, but Halo 2 online play sucks, it's PAINFULLY repetitive and so...unintelligent. I guess the only GOOD part of this game is the graphical upgrade, second character, and beam-sword...everybody gotta love dat beam sword. Expand
  68. Mar 11, 2011
    3
    wow this was and maybe one of the biggest dissapointments in a sequel ive ever had the misfortune of playing. the good of this game can be sumed up very fast .controls are tight and graphics where great in there day and that would be it. every thing els about this game falls flat on its face . the story starts out kinda intresting then you start playing as the arbator which was likewow this was and maybe one of the biggest dissapointments in a sequel ive ever had the misfortune of playing. the good of this game can be sumed up very fast .controls are tight and graphics where great in there day and that would be it. every thing els about this game falls flat on its face . the story starts out kinda intresting then you start playing as the arbator which was like WTF!!!! i dont wana play as this **** i want to play as the master chief . i wouldnt have minded if it was a seperate campahn mode i could pick from the start but no it jumps back and forth and its HORRABLY annoying. then there is the wepons balance OMG! they just took a huge dump on that all the wepons ammo got cut by 1/2 or 2/3 of what they use to hold on top of that they gimped alot of the old guns. remember how sweet the pistol was? yeah now you might as well shoot spitballs as the enimy. the old machine gun use to be a pretty solid wepon to use now they tossed that for the gimp little smg which is like shooting a FKin BB gun. the enimy AI has takin a major dump . the brutes are complete idiots they just charge you over and over and over and never stop . so you eather get cheap killed up against a wall or you jump up on some thing high and laugh at them as they run into the object over and over again like a retard tryin to hump a door knob on speed. the ending is one of the worst in gaming history . it pretty much sets you up to what you think will be the final mission only to give you a big F U wait 3 damn years to play the next one HAHA dumbass . now you would think ok well the online will be awsome right i mean that was one of the coolest things about Halo 1 was how bad ass a multiplayer game it was . well WROOOOONG!!!! another Epic fail by bunjie . first off im not sure how many maps there are but i can say this much i played the same 2 FKin maps for 10 hours and thoose 2 maps sucked. this games search set up SUCKS and suck HARD! now toss in how the wepons where all gimped and you have a piss poor pathetic waste of a online game . people giving this any thing higher then a 7 ... try to defend that . you cant . this game sucks end of story. Expand
  69. Jul 20, 2013
    3
    Un total asco de juego unos estupidos con traje apretadito matando simios disfrazados.................................................................
  70. EthanL.
    Apr 30, 2007
    2
    I really don't see how this game got so overrated in the first place. Graphics aren't bad, but with a stupid, repetitive, and predictable story line it isn't even comparable to Half-life 2. Also, gameplay offers nothing new, everything is been there done that. MUultiplayer isn't bad, but with an online community filled with immature 12 year olds it isn't worth it, I really don't see how this game got so overrated in the first place. Graphics aren't bad, but with a stupid, repetitive, and predictable story line it isn't even comparable to Half-life 2. Also, gameplay offers nothing new, everything is been there done that. MUultiplayer isn't bad, but with an online community filled with immature 12 year olds it isn't worth it, especially since you can get the same online experience buy getting HL2 and dling mods with the same multiplayer modes as Halo 2. Expand
  71. RombieR.
    Mar 17, 2007
    2
    This game is highly overrated and no game reviewer wants to admit it. The graphics looked like a downgrade, the character acting was abysmal and the gameplay just sucked. If your a true fanboy of the series none of that would have affected you but as for me, I'll stick with Halo 1.
  72. MasterChump
    Dec 8, 2004
    2
    Is it just me that notices that people who give the game perfect scores have no reason? Answer - They've been brainwashed by Microsoft's advertising, waiting for the game, and preordering schnanegans. Meanwhile, those who didn't have a clock on their wall counting down the days to the release, see the game for what it really is. It's a weak, watered down version of the Is it just me that notices that people who give the game perfect scores have no reason? Answer - They've been brainwashed by Microsoft's advertising, waiting for the game, and preordering schnanegans. Meanwhile, those who didn't have a clock on their wall counting down the days to the release, see the game for what it really is. It's a weak, watered down version of the first game. The first game was linear, repetitive, and not that imaginative. There was so much more potential. The second game improves in some areas, but also makes others worse. Dual-weiliding is nice, but more tedious and ammo-wasting than anything else. The storyline stinks, and the multiplayer can't be played with anything less than 16 or so people - the maps are just too damn big. Vehicles are done much better in Unreal Tournament 2004. Halo 2 doesn't have the flair and solid performance of the first game. Hopefully, Halo 3 will be better, but I'm not holding my breath. It if is the first game for Xbox2 like people have been saying, I won't be paying my hard earned money for it. Expand
  73. BillyBob
    Oct 29, 2004
    2
    After completing the game i found that this game is no diffrent from the first game. because there are no improvments over the original gamplay and the fact that that they are being lazy in stating that halo 2 is all about multiplayer this game deserves a big 2
  74. KevinC.
    Nov 10, 2004
    2
    Good game for Xbox, really bad game for anything else. I mean, come on, face it - Halo honestly isn't that good. Especially if compare it to the likes to Half Life and Unreal Tournament. It's the same tired repeating scenes, limited number of weapons and enemies, and only semi-decent multiplayer capacity. Microsoft has a reputation for bad games, and this one just continues it. Good game for Xbox, really bad game for anything else. I mean, come on, face it - Halo honestly isn't that good. Especially if compare it to the likes to Half Life and Unreal Tournament. It's the same tired repeating scenes, limited number of weapons and enemies, and only semi-decent multiplayer capacity. Microsoft has a reputation for bad games, and this one just continues it. A large number of reviews I've read say that Halo 2 doesn't live up to the hype it's been given - but they still give it top score? Bottom Line: There's WAAAY better games out there. Halo 2 is mediocre at best, but it will sell a gazillion copies, because most people who buy an Xbox in the first place are too dumb to care. Expand
  75. JakeS.
    Nov 9, 2004
    2
    Just old and tired ideas.
  76. CormacH.
    Nov 8, 2007
    2
    I'm not giving this a 2 because the game is an utter disappointment but you are buying the same game with worse weapons, a confusing control system, familier game design (without any element of good game design), awful graphics and a storyline that has gone from biblical zeal to a story that has more to do with willy wonka. The multiplayer is an utter dissapointment compared to the I'm not giving this a 2 because the game is an utter disappointment but you are buying the same game with worse weapons, a confusing control system, familier game design (without any element of good game design), awful graphics and a storyline that has gone from biblical zeal to a story that has more to do with willy wonka. The multiplayer is an utter dissapointment compared to the original Halo as the maps are dreadful. If you want an online halo game, buy Halo (PC). It will even work on a dial-up modem! Halo 2 is just a hype that was actually the low point to xbox not to mind the series. Expand
  77. Mar 15, 2017
    2
    Halo 2 is one of the best games of all time, so why did I give it a 2? To understand halo 2 you must become the 2. Without the 2 you won't get the 2 ya know? They call it Halo 2 because you get 2 guns on this one, one for each arm. Combat Evolved was a very poor spin off and ODST didnt live up the hype to be a true successor. Play this one only because its the only good one. Just rememberHalo 2 is one of the best games of all time, so why did I give it a 2? To understand halo 2 you must become the 2. Without the 2 you won't get the 2 ya know? They call it Halo 2 because you get 2 guns on this one, one for each arm. Combat Evolved was a very poor spin off and ODST didnt live up the hype to be a true successor. Play this one only because its the only good one. Just remember you gotta be the 2 to get the 2 and if you aint the 2 you cant 2 the 2 ya 2? Expand
  78. C.T.
    Nov 9, 2004
    1
    What a waste of 3 years, we now have a new version of Unreal Tournament 2004, that's about it. The look and feel has now changed, and the first thing I can think of is...where's my Halo ONE disk!
  79. ChadB.
    Nov 8, 2004
    1
    This game dissapointed me very much. I can't believe I was lied to or led the wrong way. I got it and the game is not all that it is hyped to be. The multiplayer is good... yea yea so what. But there is a thing called single player, and that is what counts to me. That is what the first person counts to me. O yea... Bungie... you suck.
  80. C.Tunnel
    Dec 10, 2004
    1
    Halo 2 doesn't live up to it's hype. I was waiting a long time for this game - watching all of the previews, buying all the magazines, reading all the boards. I waited in line for this game, got it home, turned it on, and almost cried. It was CRAP! Single player was horrible, multiplayer has no small maps, no bots or anything. The weapons now suck and are all automatic for the Halo 2 doesn't live up to it's hype. I was waiting a long time for this game - watching all of the previews, buying all the magazines, reading all the boards. I waited in line for this game, got it home, turned it on, and almost cried. It was CRAP! Single player was horrible, multiplayer has no small maps, no bots or anything. The weapons now suck and are all automatic for the stupid players. I'm risking Carpal Tunnel syndrom for this piece of garbage? Not anymore. I think it will be funny. Ten years from now people who spent a whack of money on that game will be in debt, have bad wrists, and still will be delusional about the game's success. I agree with one of the guys here who said that people who give the game perfect don't ever point out why. A game needs to be flawless to get a ten. This game is nowhere near flawless. It might be a good rental, but that's about it. Expand
  81. Jared
    Feb 13, 2005
    1
    I didnt like the alien levels. all others were good the first time but only the first time except the first earth level and kind of the second. multiplayer was ok. 1'D
  82. M.Thrasher
    Nov 16, 2004
    1
    Very poor sequel, whats the difference - dual wield (you cant see in front of you when you do etc) different scenery blah blah.
  83. Distinct
    Dec 13, 2004
    1
    First off multiplayer was KILLED by people who cant play the game for their lives but like to be little f....s and take out ghosts in a team slayer game as soon as they start to lose. But oh they arent nooby enough to take the rocket launcher before killing everyone on the other team. Then there's the sword....in Lockout its unstoppable....combine that with a battle rifle and you First off multiplayer was KILLED by people who cant play the game for their lives but like to be little f....s and take out ghosts in a team slayer game as soon as they start to lose. But oh they arent nooby enough to take the rocket launcher before killing everyone on the other team. Then there's the sword....in Lockout its unstoppable....combine that with a battle rifle and you have someone thats about to beat the hell out of you like a noob....The makers screwed the game over by making it easy for noobs to grab a sword or a battle rifle or a vehicle and just take control. In Coagulation if theres like what ten vehicles there should atleast by 2 maybe 3 rocket launchers hidden in the map. The sniper should respawn quicker also. If you havent noticed Im a straight shooter....no hiding no tricks no b/s. I see you I kill you type of player. I dont care if your with 7 other players. Thats what the game should be about. Killing people with guns. Not lucky head shots or a sword or a vehicles because you have no aim at all. As for the campaign mode....it was boring but I always played it with a friend so we just messed around in vehicles and stuff it wasnt that bad when you dont take it seriously and just have fun. Expand
  84. DakotaG.
    Sep 23, 2005
    1
    The game was these worst i every play all you do is shoot and be stupid so my rate is a 1.
  85. MasterChef
    Nov 29, 2004
    1
    Without Xbox Live, this game is horrible. Single player is so bad and so short, it's not worth playing. Multiplayer is now so unbalanced there's almost no point, except to see who gets the sword first. Dual-wielding seems to just take up screen space, so you can't see. Even if I had Xbox Live (at $40 above the cost of the game and system), I wouldn't play online, just Without Xbox Live, this game is horrible. Single player is so bad and so short, it's not worth playing. Multiplayer is now so unbalanced there's almost no point, except to see who gets the sword first. Dual-wielding seems to just take up screen space, so you can't see. Even if I had Xbox Live (at $40 above the cost of the game and system), I wouldn't play online, just because there'd be too many idiots who have memorized every map and know where every powerup is. That's not a bad thing in most games, but it is here. When the weapons are THIS unbalanced, you only need to figure out where you start on the map to see if you have a chance of winning. The hype the game received even makes things worse. I've read so many reviews that people give the game 10/10, but then say "Well, it doesn't live up to the hype, and there are problems..". Expand
  86. Jan 19, 2011
    1
    Complete and total trash. This is a good example of companies milking good games for money. The story is crap, the graphics did not improve and it's just one incredibly repetitive FPS with nothing special. Only thing that stands out is the incredible overhype this game recieved.
  87. MankeeOfDoom
    Jan 8, 2005
    0
    Rarely does a game come along and absolutely blow our wildest expectations away. Well this game is one of them. And boy did it blow them away into the darkest voids of our universe, never to be seen again. Good god, what happened? Let me emphasis one inherent flaw plaguing the Halo 2 Single-Player campaign: the level design. Good grief. You'd think the most acclaimed console game of Rarely does a game come along and absolutely blow our wildest expectations away. Well this game is one of them. And boy did it blow them away into the darkest voids of our universe, never to be seen again. Good god, what happened? Let me emphasis one inherent flaw plaguing the Halo 2 Single-Player campaign: the level design. Good grief. You'd think the most acclaimed console game of just about all-time would demonstrate aptitude in level design prowess. But no. Every stinking dirt-ridden, crap-spewing level I was forced to endure not only had the gall to be LONG but also unnecessarily repetitive. If you can survive the SP, then you are either brain-dead or a devout Halo fanboy. Or both. I guess one implies the other, doesn't it? As for the graphics. Screenshots don't do the graphics in this game as much justice as they should. The screenshots look amazing. The in-game graphics look like they were constructed by soggy non-fat milk cartons straight from the dumpster. And did I mention they were melded together using fecal matter? And that they were constructed by traumatized children without hands, covered in bloodthirsty bees and screaming in absolute pain? I should have. Music is equivalent to the vilest blasphemy from the 80's. Halo 1, despite it's mediocrity in the gameplay department, had an excellent soundtrack. Halo 2 doesn't. Multiplayer. From a person who's used to the convenienve of online PC gaming, Xbox Live was a catastrophe of monumental proportions. No server browser? *croak* NO SERVER BROWSER?! Dual-wielding, in my opinion, was utterly useless (how could you sacrifice the use of grenades?). Melee attacks are oddly awkward in this iteration. And the new shield system encourages cowardice. Ladies and gentlemen, if you haven't realized by now, I hate Halo 2 with all my heart. I absolutely hate how such an overrated game with virtually no talent behind can get so much more recognition and support than other VERY deserving games. The Halo fanboys reading this and going "OMG WTF BBQ U IZ TOTALL LIEING L0LZ." Seriously. Step back from your ignorant delusion, and begin to look at this game that you've been blindly and fanatically supporting for so long. Expand
  88. TuomasK.
    Nov 5, 2004
    0
    Too Bad this game was ugly rubbish. No where near at Killzone.
  89. ShoaibA.
    Jun 2, 2005
    0
    It was not a very good game i would not give it more then a 0 because it is always the same missions over again and i thought we were supposed to save earth and we end up playing only 2 levels on earth it was nothing to do with earth will never be the same since it hardly had much to do with earth i enjoyed the first 1 much more. A lot of people got caught up with the hype just because itsIt was not a very good game i would not give it more then a 0 because it is always the same missions over again and i thought we were supposed to save earth and we end up playing only 2 levels on earth it was nothing to do with earth will never be the same since it hardly had much to do with earth i enjoyed the first 1 much more. A lot of people got caught up with the hype just because its halo if halo was good it doesnt mean halo 2 will be good is well. I also didnt like to play with arbiter because who really wants to know about the covenant we want to destroy them the ending was even worse all these people who are giving it a high score play the game again and see the diffrence between halo 1 and halo 2 Expand
  90. RyanD.
    Aug 5, 2006
    0
    Talk about over hype. This game just sucked, the only grace was 2 gun mode, thats it. the next time someone says hl2 was over hyped, look at this crap.
  91. Halo1Fanatic
    Nov 9, 2004
    0
    Extremely disappointing.. not a sh.tty game.. but for all they hype that it got... it sucks... weapons are not fun to use for hte most part.. grenades bounce all over the place.. you can fall from 100000 feet and live without losing any energy.. you jump about 50 feet in the air.. enemies look small and not intimidating.
  92. Ghost
    Nov 9, 2004
    0
    This game sucks. the weapons are weak, and i swear ive seen them somewhere else...oh yeah Unreal Tournament 2004. and that game is way better. like the other reviews said, you can fall from any distance and nothing happens. the maps look the same, just with different names, and the other maps are way to big if you only want to play with like 4 people.
  93. MasterChief
    Jul 18, 2004
    0
    Poor level design Uninteresting story Uninteresting enemies Dated gameplay Unbalanced weapons Sluggish controls only 30 frames per second Some poor multiplayer maps Those were all problems of the first, and so far it doesn't look like much has changed. While Halo 2 has some new features, it still features dated gameplay, and uninteresting enemies, story and levels.
  94. supersteve
    Jun 5, 2006
    0
    biggest waste of money in my life, this game has an incredibly terrible first person game mode. It is as if bungie resold the original halo and stamped a 2 on the end so all the fans would repurchase it.
  95. HaloExpert
    Sep 14, 2006
    0
    The story is the worst in any video game, Period! I killed the last boss with 1 hit. The story is so short I completed it in half an hour and the multiplayer...2 words: " Its Crap!". Only plus is the two weapons ability.
  96. RA
    Sep 18, 2006
    0
    Overrated. Halo 1 was way way better than this piece of garbage.
  97. Messiah.Roy
    Mar 16, 2009
    0
    Just as the Halo one game is. This isn't anything innovative. Nothing atall strikes me as good, entertaining, or new, I've seen it all in UNREAL. while I play this game I'm not awed, hud barely noticable update, guns basically the same. Story, although a continuation, still kind of the same. The whole game si nothing we've never seen in games. No new content. Truely if Just as the Halo one game is. This isn't anything innovative. Nothing atall strikes me as good, entertaining, or new, I've seen it all in UNREAL. while I play this game I'm not awed, hud barely noticable update, guns basically the same. Story, although a continuation, still kind of the same. The whole game si nothing we've never seen in games. No new content. Truely if you want a good multiplayer game that's exactly like this. Get unreal, it's better in anyway, PLUS they made it before halo = halo copied Unreal. Expand
  98. Eric
    Dec 19, 2004
    0
    Granted, I don't think that this game truly deserves a 0, but it is very far from the greatness of the first Halo: Combat Evolved. Consider the unsatisfying storyline, the poor implementation of XBOX Live, or the removal of much of the "skill" elements (too often, firefights become two people circling each other with twin SMGs). It is enough for it to earn the title of Halo 2: Combat Granted, I don't think that this game truly deserves a 0, but it is very far from the greatness of the first Halo: Combat Evolved. Consider the unsatisfying storyline, the poor implementation of XBOX Live, or the removal of much of the "skill" elements (too often, firefights become two people circling each other with twin SMGs). It is enough for it to earn the title of Halo 2: Combat DE-volved. Expand

Awards & Rankings

1
1
#1 Most Discussed Xbox Game of 2004
2
#2 Most Shared Xbox Game of 2004
Metascore
95

Universal acclaim - based on 91 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 89 out of 91
  2. Negative: 0 out of 91
  1. Microsoft and Bungie have created a gigantic bell that sounds like thunder and reverberates with a fury worthy of a gale-force hurricane. It's not perfect, but get in front of it, and wonderful things - wonderful destructive things - are bound to happen. [Dec 2004, p.72]
  2. The digital surround sound is phenomenal (and the voice-acting peerless), and players with a good A/V system will enjoy hearing enemies approach from all sides due to the sharp positional sound.
  3. 100
    One of Halo 2 Online's best features - if not the best - is the statistics tracking system. [Online review]