Indigo Prophecy Image
Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 51 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 35 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Play both hunter and hunted in this psycho thriller. Set in New York, Indigo Prophecy gives you the chance to speak, explore, interact, fight, and confront unknown dark forces. In the story, you can play as Lucas Kane, one of the many ordinary people that suddenly begin killing totalPlay both hunter and hunted in this psycho thriller. Set in New York, Indigo Prophecy gives you the chance to speak, explore, interact, fight, and confront unknown dark forces. In the story, you can play as Lucas Kane, one of the many ordinary people that suddenly begin killing total strangers. Constantly burdened by strange visions, you must keep one step ahead of the police as you try to find out what's happening to you. Indigo Prophecy lets you control one of four characters and lets you make decisions that affect the storyline. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 46 out of 51
  2. Negative: 1 out of 51
  1. A completely engrossing game, designed for the patience of adult players, that will stand up to an almost infinite number of sessions. It's a technically marvellous achievement by David Cage.
  2. Indigo Prophecy may very well be the best adventure game for the Xbox...not much more needs to be said than that.
  3. Easily a contender for game of the year and, potentially, the last great piece of original gaming left for current-gen Xbox owners to discover.
  4. The adventure genre (hell, the industry in general) should take notes. If your mind's open, let this one in.
  5. 84
    The game's sound, story, and characters are so strong, and the variety of situations players will find themselves in is so large, that at no point is this a boring play experience.
  6. It's almost shocking how seamless, engrossing and accessible Fahrenheit is. It's sad, then, that it shows weakness in the one area where it needed to be stronger than any other game: the script. [Oct 2005, p.84]
  7. There are certainly some good ideas here, but its attempts at cinematic effect undermine themselves through sheer repetition, while the story goes from creepy cool to Fox Kids' Club silly faster than you can say "WTF."

See all 51 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 21
  2. Negative: 1 out of 21
  1. [Anonymous]
    Sep 15, 2005
    10
    Fantastic game. It's a lot of fun to replay scenes and handle things a little differently. Note: The US version, 'Indigo Fantastic game. It's a lot of fun to replay scenes and handle things a little differently. Note: The US version, 'Indigo Prophecy' is censored. The Euro/UK/Australia version, 'Fahrenheit' has not been modified. Expand
  2. JoshB.
    Oct 4, 2005
    10
    Intensely engrossing game that will keep you on the edge of your seat like a great movie. This is a definite step in the right direction for Intensely engrossing game that will keep you on the edge of your seat like a great movie. This is a definite step in the right direction for action gaming. I hope it creates a whole new sub-genre of interactive movies. In the near future, I'm sure our choices will have even more of an impact than they do on this wonderful game. Expand
  3. M3Rocket
    Sep 19, 2005
    9
    As close to the feel of an interactive movie as you'll get today. Forget the messy ending and the short length for a moment, and what As close to the feel of an interactive movie as you'll get today. Forget the messy ending and the short length for a moment, and what you have is a unique and sublime execution of a sci-fi thriller in an adventure game. The action sequences are very Matrix-like. The bonus movies are cool since you'll miss much of the details in these sequences because you're too busy trying to get past them. The voice acting is very, very good, while the music is excellent. There is a sense of "cutting edge" that I haven't felt playing an adventure game since, well, King's Quest on the IBM PCjr! This is a must rent at the least even if adventure games are not your cup of tea. Expand
  4. Feb 3, 2011
    9
    Ludicrous story aside, Indigo Prophecy is a stunning adventure game. Filled with great characters and memorable scenes, French developerLudicrous story aside, Indigo Prophecy is a stunning adventure game. Filled with great characters and memorable scenes, French developer Quantic Dream put itself on my list of developers to watch with this one. Expand
  5. JonK.
    Sep 24, 2005
    7
    This game starts off brilliantly - I mean, *brilliantly*. You have committed a murder and you have to decide what to do. You start out in This game starts off brilliantly - I mean, *brilliantly*. You have committed a murder and you have to decide what to do. You start out in control... but you soon lose that. It starts to over-rely on the two minigames it employs; button-hammering for "effort" activities and Dance mat style precision for "skill" activities. Fail in those games, and you have to try again; succeed, and all you really get is an extended cutscene. This game starts out as an exciting new experience, and ends up as an enjoyable movie. My disappointment was such that I am tempted to rate it lower, but in truth it doesn't deserve that. The real breath of fresh air in this game is that it doesn't give you time to explore all opportunities: it is an adventure game with a sense of pace, where you never feel you have tried everything because there are questions you could have asked but didn't. Expand
  6. Bagman
    Oct 21, 2005
    7
    Rather innovative game, gets a little repetitive towards the end and the story really falls apart in the final third. All in all not a bad Rather innovative game, gets a little repetitive towards the end and the story really falls apart in the final third. All in all not a bad way to blow 7 hours on a game. Some replay value. Need to ratchet up the graphics though for the next installment. Expand
  7. JohnL.
    Nov 1, 2005
    2
    When I heard about this game it reminded me of the choose your own adventure books I used to read when I was younger ... imagine.. a gameWhen I heard about this game it reminded me of the choose your own adventure books I used to read when I was younger ... imagine.. a game where there are consequences for your every action. The idea was fascinating to say the least , the game was hardly that!!! The graphics were sub par and I kept waiting for them to get better but it stayed the same throughout, I liked the gameplay but after a while the tasks get so boring you stop caring about the storyline...The controls were ok but the camera is where it gets frustrating and everytime you have to think twice about the mechanics of a game you get farther and farther removed from immersing yourself into it...I can see why a lot of people might like it but it just wasnt my cup of tea....Rent it then decide for yourself. Expand

See all 21 User Reviews