User Score
5.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 10 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 10
  2. Negative: 3 out of 10

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. EvilGhostrider
    Dec 19, 2005
    7
    I'm surprised how much this game got slated, I don't think it's that bad. I like it.
  2. ArloV.
    Nov 6, 2005
    2
    One of the worst, least inspired pieces of trash to be released this year. Don't be fooled by positive impressions. Stick with the reviews and avoid this at any price.
  3. PaulS.
    Oct 29, 2005
    10
    I haven't beaten this game yet, but so far it is blowing my mind!!! The zombies attack in hordes and overpower you really fast! It'll get your blood pumping, and the creepy music doesn't help...
  4. RonH.
    Oct 31, 2005
    8
    GREAT GAME. I cant believe its a budget title.
  5. DylanP.
    Sep 11, 2007
    9
    One of the best horror games of the generation. Unlike the Resident Evil series, which is purportedly inspired by Romero's films, Land of the Dead is the only game I've ever played that really makes you feel like you're stuck in a world taken over by the living dead. The game is perfectly balanced; you're always just on the verge of running out of ammo, without One of the best horror games of the generation. Unlike the Resident Evil series, which is purportedly inspired by Romero's films, Land of the Dead is the only game I've ever played that really makes you feel like you're stuck in a world taken over by the living dead. The game is perfectly balanced; you're always just on the verge of running out of ammo, without actually running out. The game is at it's best, though, when it comes to little details. For instance, the fact that your character actually cocks his revolver after every shot (as anyone who's ever fired a double-action revolver can tell you, this is what you'd really do), or the way he pulls out his Zippo and lights Molotov cocktail fuses. Forget all the poor reviews; Land of the Dead: Road to Fiddler's Green is one of the best horror games on Xbox. Definitely recommended! Expand
  6. Oct 30, 2011
    6
    I am a huge Zombie fanatic, so when I heard about this game and about how it had to do with Romero's movie I had to play it, I have to admit I wasn't a huge fan of the movie, and the game is just about as good as it was, it like the movie is only ok, the game-play is your basic FPS but with Zombies, targeting is clunky for some reason, because turning is awkward, the story is passable butI am a huge Zombie fanatic, so when I heard about this game and about how it had to do with Romero's movie I had to play it, I have to admit I wasn't a huge fan of the movie, and the game is just about as good as it was, it like the movie is only ok, the game-play is your basic FPS but with Zombies, targeting is clunky for some reason, because turning is awkward, the story is passable but is brought down by bad voice acting, multiplayer is obviously dead, and the game does have melee weapons but they are completely useless, and it does have some weird glitches and random load times, and has one of the worst turret sections of all time, and the A.I. is at times brain dead and will lose sight of you when you are right in front of them and shooting them, and it ends up feeling much longer than it actually is at times, but I have to say the guns act like real guns (except when reloading), but like the cheesy Zombie movies we watch you aren't going to play this game because it the most polished thing in the world, you'll play it because you love Zombies, but with all the better options out there, I wouldn't blame you if you passed on this, no matter how big of a Romero fan you are. Expand
  7. Feb 5, 2013
    7
    This avant-garde game is suprisingly nice more fun to play than many polished, big budget games. Capturing much of avant-garde, lowbudget goodness found in the movie. Land Of The Dead crafts a very fun, unpolished experience found in low budget horror movies, with an enjoyable plot, porting of many of the traits mechanics of the zombies in the film. The atmosphere is also brilliant,This avant-garde game is suprisingly nice more fun to play than many polished, big budget games. Capturing much of avant-garde, lowbudget goodness found in the movie. Land Of The Dead crafts a very fun, unpolished experience found in low budget horror movies, with an enjoyable plot, porting of many of the traits mechanics of the zombies in the film. The atmosphere is also brilliant, creating the feeling of loneliness desperation you would experience in a real, 'land of the dead'. Multiplayer Co-op is one of the most fun parts of it. Review Score: 71/100 Expand
  8. Mar 11, 2015
    7
    This game was a lot of fun. It's glitchy but nothing where I wanted to stop playing the game. It's obviously an older game so don't expect hd blazing zombies. There are different types of zombies and the story stays interesting enough. People comparing this to zombie games of ps3/360 are being careless. This is probably on the top 10 list of best zombie games for the original xbox. AndThis game was a lot of fun. It's glitchy but nothing where I wanted to stop playing the game. It's obviously an older game so don't expect hd blazing zombies. There are different types of zombies and the story stays interesting enough. People comparing this to zombie games of ps3/360 are being careless. This is probably on the top 10 list of best zombie games for the original xbox. And even so, this game is better than many of the early ps3 360 horror games. This game looks and plays like Condemned criminal origins but what differs them is the zombies and guns. You don't have to know anything about the land of the dead films to enjoy this either. I'm sure they'll make an HD remake of this. Expand
Metascore
32

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 9 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 9
  2. Negative: 5 out of 9
  1. Battling zombies should be an exciting and frightening experience, but instead turns into a farce with laughable AI and linear gameplay.
  2. 10
    An appalling game. In fact it's THE appalling game, that legendary one that the kids drinking Bubblegum 20/20 down the park talk about.
  3. Paradoxically, any brilliance and beauty lie in the raw, unpolished stylized realism and mostly clever reworking of elements found in the film.