Madden NFL 06 Image
Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 39 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 40 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: With its new modes and enhancements, Madden NFL 06 offers an authentic football experience. Among the game's offensive enhancements are "QB Vision Control," which gives each quarterback a unique field of vision, and "QB Precision Placement," which lets you throw the ball more accurately. In the new NFL Superstar mode, you can experience the life of an NFL player by earning one of more than 60 personas ranging from MVP to movie star. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 39
  2. Negative: 0 out of 39
  1. 100
    Kudos to EA Sports for not being afraid to juice the complexity factor of an already complex game. Rookies will have to pay their dues, but veterans get treated to a brand-new challenge. [Sept 2005, p.82]
  2. It delivers with an innovative new mode of play and superb in-game additions. The overall presentation is drastically improved as well, and Madden 06 has the best soundtrack of any EA Sports game to date.
  3. The only thing is that it will take a lot of time to get used to the QB vision and precision passing, and you might fumble with the controls more than you are used to. While it is nice that this game is now more realistic, this sort of brings down the gameplay slightly making it not as fun, or just a lot harder than in the past.
  4. Madden NFL 06 ultimately turns out to be a mixed bag of tricks, and your impression of it will likely depend on a few different things - not the least of which will be your previous experience with the series.
  5. The best addition, the QB Vision cones will is also a definite change that will at least warrant NFL fans this game a rent.
  6. A superb game that'll only alienate those who don't really get American football. As that's loads of people, we're unfairly knocking off a point. [Xbox World]
  7. 70
    Tiburon have added a reasonable amount of new material for the 2006 edition of Madden, but we really feel as though they could have done more.

See all 39 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 34
  2. Negative: 8 out of 34
  1. Zach
    Jul 28, 2005
    10
    Best game ever.
  2. Faigenistic
    Aug 10, 2005
    10
    Great Game. Wish you could use the the R Trigger + Receiver button to pick your vision pre-snap while using the 2005 Madden controls though.
  3. MattW.
    Oct 22, 2005
    10
    This game is absolutely amazing and the graphics are sweet it blows any other football game out of the water.
  4. Ron
    Aug 9, 2005
    7
    Gameplay is average, but I think the graphics suck!
  5. FPSMaster
    Aug 10, 2005
    6
    Seriously, this is the same game we played on PS1 in 1996. The graphics are slightly cleaner and the animations are a little smoother, but that's it. If all the retards would stop sucking up to this franchise for being the way it is, maybe sometime in the next 10 console gens EA might decide to improve the franchise to at least be as good as last year's ESPN game and look as good as maybe Backyard Football. The way it stands, everytime another dumb, casual gamer buys these games they are just telling EA to keep giving them the same game every single year while only adding more gimmicks that have absolutely nothing to do with ANY sports game and letting everything else go. I just can't believe human beings can be so dumb. You piss and moan for something better, then you pay another $50 for something you owned 10 years ago. It was called Gmaeday '96. I think a box of dog**** is smarter than the people that keep giving EA $50 a year just for another roster update and first-gen PS2 graphics. I won't buy the game, but it hurts me as much as the next guy when people keep giving this monopoly more money to buy out more developers and make even more games as bad as this washed-up franchise. I can't imagine how bad this series will keep getting next gen since EA knows most that buy this franchise are idiots anyway and won't know the difference. You'd have to be an idiot to play this series to begin with. Not to mention it's the only one now, but that's just because EA didn't want to have to pony up and beat the better competition. And I can't imagine how much dumber the "supposed" most intelligent species on Earth will get next-gen when this series finally looks like an Xbox 1 game and everyone raves about how good it looks. I've got new for you. ESPN looked better last year than the new Madden does on Xbox 360. I don't really think people could be any dumber though. Giving EA more money is about as dumb as selling your brain for Advil. Why not give EA your blood and organs while you're at it. It's no dumber than buying another $50 roster update and making the rest of us have to pay for it in the long run. Get it for PS2 for God's sake and stop making the entire Xbox audience look as casual and uninformed as the entire PS2 crowd. We're supposed to be the ones that made the smart choice to get away from these Sony-like developers, then you guys basilally go out on a limb to make Xbox have as bad of a library of games as the fony PS2. You idiots that buy this will understand what I'm talking about when in 2 years every single game has the EA logo on it. EVERYTHING will play as bad as these Madden games then. And it'll be your fault, not the ones of us that were smart enough to see through EA's brainwashing. But we'll be the ones that pay for it since you guys that play this series aren't serious gamers begin with. You can't be if you play this garbage year after year. Collapse
  6. Andy
    Aug 11, 2005
    5
    I am so disappointed with this game. The thing I was looking forward to the most, Superstar Mode, is to glitchy to have much fun with. The passing cone effectively forces you to play with Manning or a created player with awesome attributes, or you take about 8 sacks a game. Even with all that, it is far to easy to score. I haven't scored under 56 yet. Very disappointing game. Expand
  7. [Anonymous]
    Aug 8, 2005
    0
    As someone who isn't particulourly into sports, I still decided to try this game out because it was highly reccomended by friends. Keep in mind that I am judging this based on gameplay, not the accuracy of the rosters and such. This is the same game as one of the NFL Blitz games I played on the N64 years back, which leads me to beleive that the other football games since then have been as well. Yeah, maybe the teams are updated and there are a few small improvements, but is that really worth 50 more dollars, not to mention hours of your time? Only if your a huge football fan who can't stand the stats and rosters being different. I don't understand why anyone else would waste their money on this. If people had any common sense, they'd ask for one game that allowed you to download updated teams and stats every year for maybe five dollars, because that's the only thing that really changes. It is also unfair to developers who put effort into creating new and original games, that the reviews and sales favor these repetetive sports games. Maybe Madden 2006 doesn't deserve a zero for quality, but it sure as hell does for being almost the same game as the previous installments in the franchise. And yes, I know this review has tons of bad spelling. Expand

See all 34 User Reviews