Major League Baseball 2K6 Image
Metascore
71

Mixed or average reviews - based on 21 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 11 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Major League Baseball 2K6 is the newest baseball offering from 2K Sports and the only MLB-licensed game this year. Use the new Inside Edge scouting service to get detailed stat tracking and in-depth player reports. MLB 2K6 features detailed controls, letting you use the analog sticks to makeMajor League Baseball 2K6 is the newest baseball offering from 2K Sports and the only MLB-licensed game this year. Use the new Inside Edge scouting service to get detailed stat tracking and in-depth player reports. MLB 2K6 features detailed controls, letting you use the analog sticks to make precision changes to your swings and throws. ESPN broadcasters Joe Miller and Joe Morgan return to do the commentary. In addition to the single-player season and exhibition modes, MLB 2K6 includes a multiplayer mode. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 21
  2. Negative: 0 out of 21
  1. Outside of this, through its array of innovations, Major League Baseball 2K6 blows the doors off of what you could expect from a baseball game. [Apr 2006, p.116]
  2. New hitting and pitching systems add more intuitiveness to the two most important aspects of any baseball game.
  3. A good step forward and an idea of how 2K Games will utilize their exclusive license.
  4. It's not big on frills but it is loaded with modes, including online play.
  5. Solid baseball, with fun gameplay and great presentation, but poor graphics and annoying bugs means we might need to bring in a pinch-hitter.
  6. Most games will have you shaking your head (if not cursing) at the fielding. That's a huge letdown when the pitching and batting interaction is as strong as that of MLB 2K6. Inside Edge is such a fantastic addition that fans have to see it in action.
  7. If this is what we're going to see after the exclusive license was inked, then Xbox baseball fans are going to be worse off because of it.

See all 21 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 7
  2. Negative: 2 out of 7
  1. CK
    Apr 11, 2006
    8
    Don't listen to anyone who hasn't played this game for two weeks. It has faults, but the pitching is phenomenal and the swing stick Don't listen to anyone who hasn't played this game for two weeks. It has faults, but the pitching is phenomenal and the swing stick is great. Fielding, while it could be improved, is not as bad as many are saying - it's more realistic and takes some getting used to. Expand
  2. Dan
    May 15, 2006
    7
    The pitching i feel are much better than MLB: the show. But the problems exist in the fielding and the baserunning problems, when they round The pitching i feel are much better than MLB: the show. But the problems exist in the fielding and the baserunning problems, when they round first when the ball is on the way in. That is extremely frustrating when you beat the throw to first but round it and get tagged when you walk back. Also the sensitivity in regards to the wall is extremely annoying, fortunately that hasn;t happened to me all that often but i watched it happen to my friends. Expand
  3. Mike
    Apr 14, 2006
    6
    Saying the fielding and baserunning controls are clumsy is a huge understatement, but the 'inside edge' is something true baseball Saying the fielding and baserunning controls are clumsy is a huge understatement, but the 'inside edge' is something true baseball stat-heads like me have wanted in a baseball game for years. Its hit or miss for most people though. If you like the smooth, fluid, pick-up-and-play style of the MVP series then 2K6 will frustrate you to all end. Expand
  4. Troy
    Apr 27, 2006
    6
    Negatives: -Horrific fielding mechanic - its so bad that you are actually prompted when to dive/jump for a ball - players literally get Negatives: -Horrific fielding mechanic - its so bad that you are actually prompted when to dive/jump for a ball - players literally get knocked out if they touch the wall and it usually results in the park HR - the is no balance b/t pitcher and hitter. The game heavily favors the pitcher. It is very difficult to protect the plate. - online where lag can be an issue absolutely cripples the gameplay altogher. - very redundant commentary - weak player models - button mapping is absolutley ridiculous so much crammed into the game that alot of basic controls aren't intuitive at all. - things like catcher cam and base burner mode feel very tacked on as well. Baserunning is also infuriating. Positives: - has MLB license - some nice small details in the game - inside edge - hitting and pitching interface is solid - franchise is solid - for the most part offline is enjoyable b/c you can use the sliders to compensate for the games many flaws. - nice stadiums. Expand
  5. BlueFalcon
    Apr 26, 2006
    5
    Unfortunately 2k5 seems like a better game than 2k6. Maybe this is what happens with license exclusivity. Since there's no competition, Unfortunately 2k5 seems like a better game than 2k6. Maybe this is what happens with license exclusivity. Since there's no competition, there's no need for them to put much effort into the game. Expand
  6. MattB.
    Apr 10, 2006
    3
    I did not enjoy playing this game. I am so thankful I rented this game before purchasing. Baserunning and fielding flaws are a pain to play through.
  7. MarkB.
    Jul 11, 2006
    3
    Man, I am so darn disapointed. I REALLY wanted to play a good game, I Was so excited to mess with the swing stick and pitching interface. Man, I am so darn disapointed. I REALLY wanted to play a good game, I Was so excited to mess with the swing stick and pitching interface. After 2 months, IT IS A MESS, this game caused some serious anger issues with me, lol. I cant seem to not have a in the parker 1 every 3 games, doubles that should be outs, fielding that is a joke. Times when Turbo Slows my players down, oh and dont ever use Eric Gagne against hte computer, they cant NOT get a hit. Its very wierd stuff... Not a good game, not a good attempt, not a good company. Never again will 2k6 earn my business. Collapse