Max Payne 2: The Fall of Max Payne Xbox

User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 47 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 40 out of 47
  2. Negative: 3 out of 47
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. DexterM.
    Dec 9, 2003
    10
    I really enjoyed it; Rockstar/Remedy rules...
  2. CodyB
    Jun 1, 2009
    10
    FAR better than dead to rights, true crime l.a., and mafia, even gta 3. Sequel to the smash hit, award-winning original, a true masterpiece of epic proportions. 6 more months till the 3rd one comes out.
  3. BrentM
    Jan 10, 2010
    10
    Still the best game in my opinion, everything still holds up well today, better than anything ever achieved in gaming
  4. ConnorS.
    Nov 30, 2003
    10
    This is the best game I ever played!
  5. EricR.
    Dec 1, 2003
    10
    More often than not, I end up not finishing a game because the game becomes repetitive, excessively difficult for the average gamer, the story fails to keep keep me interested, and the length of the game is needlessly long - progress toward the end feels like work. Max Payne 2 negates those problems and makes for a highly satisfying game.
  6. HumbertoG.
    May 8, 2004
    10
    It's way too cool, I loved it but, it is way too short. Bullet time was awsome!. I loved the game,rockstar made the coolest game!
  7. Ryencoke
    Jul 25, 2006
    10
    Brilliant game & story. Short, but just amazing.
  8. BenH.
    Jan 4, 2005
    9
    Near perfect in most respects. Great absorbing gameplay and amazing sound (5.1 is great). Somehow blowing away hordes of grunts never gets old. Only significant disadvantage is the length, which many have mentioned - the shortness makes it better as a rental than a buy as you can easily beat this in one sitting....maybe a multiplayer option could have given it more replay value.
  9. Paul
    Jul 21, 2006
    9
    Some great twists and turns in the story, and a great sequal to the first. And of course, perfecting the bullet time styles established in the first game.
  10. Uter
    Jul 31, 2004
    9
    I'm usually one to criticize games for being too short. But here I can forgive it b/c it's just so great throughout. The story is among the best I've ever encountered in a game. The environments are imaginative and often brilliant. The gameplay is just so excellent. I'd rather have 8 hours of incredible gameplay than 20 of mediocre.
  11. JayC
    Dec 30, 2009
    9
    This game is the sequel to the smash hit Max Payne... I must say, this game impresses. The graphics, even to this day, are really something to look at. The Havok 2.0 physics engine used in this game is really something special as well. When the game was first released it was truly spectacular! And it still is by all means. The game has it all.... Excellent gunplay, superb visuals, This game is the sequel to the smash hit Max Payne... I must say, this game impresses. The graphics, even to this day, are really something to look at. The Havok 2.0 physics engine used in this game is really something special as well. When the game was first released it was truly spectacular! And it still is by all means. The game has it all.... Excellent gunplay, superb visuals, excellent voice acting, great art direction, fantastic story.. But the one thing is the length of the game. You know what though, Quality over quantity is what i say. Haha 9/10 Expand
  12. JohnS.
    Dec 26, 2003
    9
    Although it is pathetically short (10 hours of gameplay max), it is also superbly polished and satisfying. They've managed to trump the first game, which was very good for its time, and add many new features, maps, and thrills. It's one of those games that is so superbly done, I didn't want to stop playing it. But it's short length and no multiplayer makes it only a Although it is pathetically short (10 hours of gameplay max), it is also superbly polished and satisfying. They've managed to trump the first game, which was very good for its time, and add many new features, maps, and thrills. It's one of those games that is so superbly done, I didn't want to stop playing it. But it's short length and no multiplayer makes it only a rental candidate. Expand
  13. [Anonymous]
    Jun 15, 2005
    9
    A fine followup on the original game. The storytelling is really very strong and the action satisfying. Having played the original on the PC, I had trouble getting to grips with the pad controls, but it worked out fine in the end.
  14. GeorgeP.
    Dec 5, 2003
    8
    Great game. the only problem i had with it is it was too short.
  15. JeffF.
    Apr 19, 2005
    8
    Very short but still a great game.
  16. Duo
    Nov 29, 2003
    8
    I haven't finished it yet, so I'm not sure just how short it is, but it does have all the insanity you could ever ask for.
  17. TransculoVerspate
    Dec 31, 2003
    8
    Happy new year people. max payne 2....fun,fun,fun. i havent finished it yet and i have been playing it a while. maybe i suck at it, or maybe its not as short as people have been saying it is. whatever i say. i will re-play it over and over again just to enjoy shooting bad guys. i still play hitman 2, so i will also play this. anyway, the ragdoll system saves this game. without it, it wouldHappy new year people. max payne 2....fun,fun,fun. i havent finished it yet and i have been playing it a while. maybe i suck at it, or maybe its not as short as people have been saying it is. whatever i say. i will re-play it over and over again just to enjoy shooting bad guys. i still play hitman 2, so i will also play this. anyway, the ragdoll system saves this game. without it, it would have been a bore. i hate stories in games just as i hate plots in porn flicks...i am too old for both porn and video game plots...i can care less about max's life and his twisted life. bla,bla,bla...this little game has too much plot for its good. i just wannna kick ass like some john woo film, am i the only one? so, pretty please with sugar on top-skip the plots, give us more action i say. i click away the cut scenes, just play the game. i have noticed both max and mona move like robots, the enemies also dont have much movement in them, only when you enter shoot-doge and bullet time you get to see some cool moves. the blood could have been more, more brain on walls neededd like rainbowsix 3. i give an 8, because i think max payne as a whole package is getting old, but the action aspects of the game and physics are well done. the dream sequences are better this time around, but not entirelly absorbing nor necessary. max's dialogue is idiotic and much effort went into the "film noir love crap" as i put it, which sticks out like a barney in a tampon factory. buy it, kill bad guys and then kill more. Expand
  18. SimonT
    Jul 8, 2004
    7
    Max payne has all the looks and feel of a gritty cop film and boasts the excellent 'bullet time' but falls short in length as it easily finished in a few hours. not bad could be better.
  19. T.U.
    Nov 25, 2003
    7
    Shorter than I expected, you won't see too much replayability value in this game.
  20. NikiM.
    Dec 29, 2003
    6
    I loved the original, an action packed game, just the right difficulty, great plot and just the right length. What do you get here? An action packed game, a litttle easier(?), a plot that's all over the place and its WAY TOO SHORT. Rockstar have created yet another stylish game that stands out with a strong story, if a little patchy, but this seemed a bit easier than the original and I loved the original, an action packed game, just the right difficulty, great plot and just the right length. What do you get here? An action packed game, a litttle easier(?), a plot that's all over the place and its WAY TOO SHORT. Rockstar have created yet another stylish game that stands out with a strong story, if a little patchy, but this seemed a bit easier than the original and definitely far too short. The level design is imaginitive but why not give us something to tax our brains a little? Payne's a detective, let us pretend we're a bit more Sherlock Holmes than John Rambo. Overall I felt really short changed by the length of this sequel. Simply not enough here to warrant buying it over the original. Expand
  21. JohnD.
    Nov 17, 2007
    6
    An excellent game, but after a while it gets boring.
  22. BundisD.
    Jan 19, 2004
    6
    Looks awesome, plays great, impressive and immersive plot. But... WAY too short. I finished the game in 4 days. Hardly a good value for $50. The only replay value available is to play the story again on a harder difficulty. Highly impressed with the quality of the game, but sadly disappointed in the quantity.
  23. OliverW.
    Nov 9, 2006
    3
    Bad graphics, worse soundtrack for the enemies. The guys you kill do exactly the same movements and sounds. Max looks like he is 60 years old, bullet time leaves something to be desired and its very short

Awards & Rankings

#19 Most Discussed Xbox Game of 2003
Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 34 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 34
  2. Negative: 0 out of 34
  1. Xbox Nation Magazine
    90
    Overwroght melodrama and third-person-persepctive gunplay make for an excellent mix. [Mar 2004, p.81]
  2. As for its translation to Xbox, it's a revelation. Not only is it as visually faithful as anyone could reasonably expect, with no discernible compromises save for the resolution, but even the controls feel right.
  3. On the first run through, chances are you'll encounter the end credits in a mere six, possibly seven, hours. Fortunately however, this shortlived interlude will be one of the most enjoyable of your gaming life.