NHL 2003 Image
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 12 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 11 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In order to become a superstar in the NHL, you'll need a combination of speed, power, and moves. NHL 2003 gives you the abilities of all the stars and teams of pro hockey, but it's up to you to master them. This time, you have full control of the puck with Dynamic Deke Control and accurateIn order to become a superstar in the NHL, you'll need a combination of speed, power, and moves. NHL 2003 gives you the abilities of all the stars and teams of pro hockey, but it's up to you to master them. This time, you have full control of the puck with Dynamic Deke Control and accurate puck physics. The game also features four game modes, including Create-a-Player, enhanced sounds and animations, and dynamic camera work to bring you closer to the NHL action. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 12
  2. Negative: 0 out of 12
  1. 90
    You know this gameplay: There’s been a lot of excellent tuning but no mammoth overhauls.
  2. What accounts for the less-than-perfect score is the extreme amount of tweaking it takes to get everything just the way you like it.
  3. You can’t really go wrong with this one.
  4. It's everything you'd expect from NHL 2003, except - isn't it time you expected more? [Dec 2002, p.133]
  5. The Game Breaker special shots are, frankly, corny; and the Dynamic Dekes are just too hard to control. [Nov 2002, p.142]
  6. There's just enough innovation here to warrant spending another 50 clams, but only if you're a die-hard fan of the series. [Winter 2002, p.105]
  7. As always, the graphics in NHL 2003 are exceptional, especially on the Xbox. There were times when I thought I was watching an actual hockey game. [Nov 2002, p.88]

See all 12 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 8
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 8
  3. Negative: 1 out of 8
  1. SeanC.
    Feb 20, 2003
    10
    This game is the best hockey game i have ever played in my life. the best part was 100 million.
  2. MikeJ.
    Oct 22, 2002
    9
    Tons of fun for the true hockey fan.
  3. IannA.
    Oct 16, 2002
    8
    NHL 2003 is NHL 2002 updated. The cool thing about this year's version is the new gamebreaker add-on and a good bonus is the nice NHL 2003 is NHL 2002 updated. The cool thing about this year's version is the new gamebreaker add-on and a good bonus is the nice soundtrack added on. I miss the shoot outs options, I don't know why they removed it. Seasons and International tournament are fun, but after one, you don'T come back for more, IMO. Got friends? This is the right game for you. Expand
  4. AndrewM.
    Jul 24, 2003
    8
    Superb! A truly great game that suffers from a few minor glitches. For someone that does not own, or has never played NHL 2002, then this is Superb! A truly great game that suffers from a few minor glitches. For someone that does not own, or has never played NHL 2002, then this is a sound purchase. Having said that, this is the 3rd EA hockey title that I have purchaced and again it is still top notch...(I must say however it has been a long time between drinks for myself... NHL 94 and NHL 96 (SNES) which at the time were awesome) Graphically, NHL 2003 may not make the most of the xbox's capabilities, but the replays and soundtracks, and generally animations, (of players, refs and crowd) makes for a worthwhile experience. The statistically minded are also well taken care off with a very impressive aray of stats from the current and previous season, as well as playoffs! The only minor draw-back can be noted with the defensive linesmen AI. Leaving men alone infront of the net, giving away stupid penalties etc... However, with practice the advanced player can learn to ignore the puck carrier, and iron out those camping infront of the goalie (even if sometimes the action is not on the screen). Despite some flaws, this is a well rounded game, with a way cool soundtrack, and in-depth gameplay! A winner. Expand
  5. Uter
    Sep 5, 2003
    2
    There isn't a more disappointing hockey game out there. NHL went from being my favorite game series of all time to one of my least. They There isn't a more disappointing hockey game out there. NHL went from being my favorite game series of all time to one of my least. They keep adding gimmicky things, and fogetting to improve the realism and gameplay. Also, the graphics are almost unchanged from last year. I really hate this game. I will never buy another EA NHL game ever again! Collapse

See all 8 User Reviews