Prince of Persia: The Sands of Time Xbox

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 74 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 49 out of 74
  2. Negative: 9 out of 74
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. FredH.
    Nov 15, 2005
    6
    Over rated game. Boring and not much for music or sound unless you crank up the volume but then when they talk, it blasts. The moves and puzzles were unique though, and the graphics were pretty good.
  2. BenJ.
    Feb 6, 2004
    6
    If you manage not to loose your patience with the infuriating camera movement within the first 30 minutes you're a better man than I.
  3. HeywoodF.
    Jul 2, 2004
    5
    Hello, Dr Floyd from France. Great graphics, great animations, good controls... but repetitive gameplay and the fight-system is horrible... very hard to progress sometimes. Overrated game ! Best regards. Floyd
  4. IanC.
    Dec 10, 2003
    5
    Great graphics, lovely sound, far, far, far too easy. Great idea to add the reverse-time option to avoid the frustration of instant deaths, but that was what gave the original its lifespan - having to go back and do it again. You'll pop in this disc, flip over the graphics, love the gameplay, and barely conceal your surprise when after what feels like about ten minutes you'll Great graphics, lovely sound, far, far, far too easy. Great idea to add the reverse-time option to avoid the frustration of instant deaths, but that was what gave the original its lifespan - having to go back and do it again. You'll pop in this disc, flip over the graphics, love the gameplay, and barely conceal your surprise when after what feels like about ten minutes you'll have finished the damn thing. This game isn't really a challenge, it is more a case of screw-it-up then get-it-right stright after or as near as dammit. This game actually reminded me of an old PS1 game called Pandemonium - the graphics con you into believing in a vast 3D world with depth and flexibility, but in the end is a simple, horribly linear platform romp which doesn't last long enough to get under your skin and just isn't fun enough to have any replay value. I preferred the original. Expand
  5. Warlock
    May 26, 2004
    7
    Great game but on the PC *and* XBOX versions I've got stuck at 93% for a really long time. Essentially you do a big long climb-round-the-building bit, then when you go to jump down you fall to your death. On the PC it took about 70 attempts before it decided it'd let me jump down. The xbox...I've given up before I put it through a window. Pity. Beautiful soundtrack, great Great game but on the PC *and* XBOX versions I've got stuck at 93% for a really long time. Essentially you do a big long climb-round-the-building bit, then when you go to jump down you fall to your death. On the PC it took about 70 attempts before it decided it'd let me jump down. The xbox...I've given up before I put it through a window. Pity. Beautiful soundtrack, great visuals, gameplay's pretty good. Lots of movement. Just some really really sh.t bits :) Expand
  6. EricS.
    Aug 8, 2005
    7
    Prince of Persia had great gameplay and graphics, but too much repetition in both areas to be as good as it should have been. Every room in the palace started to look the same after the while, and the puzzles largely became monotonous (with a few exceptions). The fighting was also flawed. The actual combat system worked fine, but there wasn't enough variety among the various enemies. Prince of Persia had great gameplay and graphics, but too much repetition in both areas to be as good as it should have been. Every room in the palace started to look the same after the while, and the puzzles largely became monotonous (with a few exceptions). The fighting was also flawed. The actual combat system worked fine, but there wasn't enough variety among the various enemies. It's not that there weren't enough types, but fighting them always felt the same. I ultimately got bored and ended up getting a little more than three quarters through. The main thing this game had going for it was the time-controlling elements, since it lessened the frustration of falling to your death and having to start the area over. Using your powers to easily dispatch enemies was also satisfying, although it got stale after the 300th time. If "Sands of Time" were shorter, it would have been much better, and deserving of its praise. I can understand the desire for a long gameplay experience, but not if their isn't enough variety to keep things interesting. If you have a lot of time on your hands, I would recommend giving this game a try. Expand
  7. LamePrince
    Jan 7, 2006
    5
    Overrated, repitious and inconsistent. I wanted to really enjoy this game, but there's so many little things wrong with it. Typical Ubisoft game with no polishing. When the characters talk, you can only hear them if the camera is in a certain position (and this is not because of my xbox settings). I've also found a glitch where sometimes you'll be in a black hole as you Overrated, repitious and inconsistent. I wanted to really enjoy this game, but there's so many little things wrong with it. Typical Ubisoft game with no polishing. When the characters talk, you can only hear them if the camera is in a certain position (and this is not because of my xbox settings). I've also found a glitch where sometimes you'll be in a black hole as you jump to something, then when you restart your character is stuck in the "falling" animation and dies repeatedly, even in the main menu. You have to turn off the xbox and turn it back on in order for it to go away. Then you get new swords that have no new moves or increased damage, your character finds it necessary to remove clothing for no reason, and the music is sparse and completely clashing thematically. Sometimes you get a Persian style score then there will be a random metal riff going, for instance when you get into the prison. The camera also gets really annoying as half the time you have to fight with it to give you a decent angle. People complain about fixed cameras, but those are much preferred to this garbage. Despite all these, its still playable, just note that this game isn't anywhere near in the same class as its competition: God of War, Devil May Cry or Ninja Gaiden. Rent it, or if you can get it for like $10. The Two Thrones thankfully is much better than this game. Expand
  8. [Anonymous]
    Dec 1, 2003
    7
    I rented it, and beat it. Great game, but very very easy.
  9. TheBeast
    Dec 19, 2003
    7
    This game is definitely the game of the year... for the rental market. Stunning visuals, captivating story, ease of play, fun, but far to short and easy to beat to merit purchasing outright. Once you sit down to play the time flies by, for about oh say 6 hours... then the games over. Defintely worth the rental, and an excellent game overall.
  10. ChrisD.
    Jan 21, 2004
    6
    Game is decent but nothing spectacular. Entire game is based around princes gymnastic-like moves and amounts to little more than figure out how to traverse terrain and fight repetetive battles with goofy zombies. The graphics are great, but I was expecting a lot more content-wise. Not realistic, and kind of cheesy even for a fairly tale. Game could have been greatly improved with a better Game is decent but nothing spectacular. Entire game is based around princes gymnastic-like moves and amounts to little more than figure out how to traverse terrain and fight repetetive battles with goofy zombies. The graphics are great, but I was expecting a lot more content-wise. Not realistic, and kind of cheesy even for a fairly tale. Game could have been greatly improved with a better story and more interesting gameplay scenarios. Expand
  11. ALEXLA
    Feb 22, 2004
    7
    The graphics is simply beautiful but you can only stare for so long and then gameplay becomes the dominant factor. There is too much repetition in this game and once you have the command of the various moves the prince can do, the game becomes tedious and at times annoying. There is NO CHALLENGE to this game because the choreograph is done to perfection! Press a button and he swings The graphics is simply beautiful but you can only stare for so long and then gameplay becomes the dominant factor. There is too much repetition in this game and once you have the command of the various moves the prince can do, the game becomes tedious and at times annoying. There is NO CHALLENGE to this game because the choreograph is done to perfection! Press a button and he swings perfectly; hold the button and he runs perfectly. He starts off with same movements given to him from the very beginning all the way to the end of the game. No variations in movements, upgrades, puzzles and gameplay. Essentially just beauty but without sustance! Expand

Awards & Rankings

3
4
#4 Most Discussed Xbox Game of 2003
Metascore
92

Universal acclaim - based on 41 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 41 out of 41
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 41
  3. Negative: 0 out of 41
  1. Xbox Nation Magazine
    100
    Brimming with heart-stopping moments where you've got to take big gambles....A perfect union of storytelling, gameplay, and technological wonder. [Mar 2004, p.96]
  2. The impeccably intuitive controls make this feel as magical as it looks, and the gorgeous graphics and music fully ground you in the fantasy.
  3. Edge Magazine
    90
    The freedom of movement requires a new level of spatial imagination. Before Prince of Persia, platform games were like playing Tetris with only the blocks and bars. [Christmas 2003, p.100]